206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Shadows RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (775) 752-3525
CGID1771

Mountain Shadows RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   3   5   5   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
We chose this RV park because it had 50 amp service (didn't have our 50 to 30 converter with us), only 30 amp in all other parks in Wells or Jackpot. The lady in the office was very friendly and answered all my questions. The sites were close but wide enough for our slides. No grass (this is desert) but a few shade trees. Large area to walk your dog(s). The restrooms were very clean and had several stalls and showers, also warm. Downside were the trains that ran though nearby during the night, at least 4 (the reason for a rating of 8). We really didn't notice because we were so tired. Other than that the park was quiet. I have to comment on the Chinese restaurant next door. Some of the best food we have ever had, the owner/chef makes everything from scratch, including the cocktail sauce which was delicious. We would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We just needed an overnight stop and this was the first park we came to after getting off the interstate. Our first impression of the park was good. There was a comfy ambiance to it and the people in the office were friendly. Checking in was easy. The sites were narrow, but since we have a small travel trailer this wasn't a problem for us. The restrooms were somewhat old, but overall were in good condition and very clean. The park is in close proximity to a train track and about six or seven trains went by during our time there - they can be quite loud. The park has many permanent residents and quite a few of them are living in poorly kept up rigs with lots of stuff stored around their sites. A neighbor's yappy dog, kept tied up outside, kept us awake at night. The park Wi-Fi was not working well and we could only get an internet connection by taking our laptop down to the office. This was an OK park for one night but we would probably check out other places if we ever need to stay in Wells again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We had a nice experience here. Owners were very friendly. Electric was just upgraded. WiFi worked well. Smaller sites, but was just fine in our 33" TT without having to unhook. There were quite a few permanent residents, most seemed to work in the Elko gold mine. Not your resort-style place, but I was only overnighting here. I would do it again without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Stayed 2 nights and will not be back. We were here 2 years ago and there appears to be quite a change. About 2/3 of the spots are full time residents with some very rundown trailers, etc. One guy lives in a small van. Tight spots. Nice people and to be honest, we had no trouble with any of the residents, but this is not what we RV for. Noisy at 6:15 in the morning as some were going to work. Back across the fwy for us next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
For Wells, this is one of the best parks in the area. Sites are close and there is a tight turn as you come around the bath/laundry house. Some trees are close to your rig. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Good on and off of I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is an older park in need of some TLC. It would be a great stop over for one or two nights but we will not be staying here again as the sites were to narrow for us to have all our slides out. The park roads and sites are gravel. Most sites have a tree but this is high desert and the trees are short which caused the problems with our slide. If you are in a smaller rig this is a great place to overnight, larger rigs need to pass this one by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Pretty tight when this place gets full. This is a nice park for in the desert. I feel the owner is trying to make it a nice park but I also think its about five dollars too high in price. We would probably stay here again if hot, but if weather is cool then probably will boondock somewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Nice shaded sites in a desert area. Long pull thrus where you can leave your tow vehicle attached if leaving the next day. Big clean bathrooms and showers. Giving it a 9 due to the fact that the site we pulled into at first had no electricity they did move us to another site. Could also have used a playground area for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We pulled in mid afternoon, after a long dusty drive. The staff were really friendly, check in was easy, Good Sam discount applied. Sites were adequate for overnight, some shade from trees. Freeway and train noise not overwhelming. Did not use bathrooms, but laundry was clean and reasonably priced. Would stop here again if passing through Wells. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Nice, clean park for an overnight. The pull-throughs were long enough for us to not have to unhook our car. No specified dog area, but as long as you picked up after your pet, you were free to walk anywhere. We would stay here again when going through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
We have stayed here before and enjoyed the park. It has many more permanents than before so it is a bit trashy where they are parked. Lots of train noise. The interior roads have large puddles, but will hopefully be repaired before the summer season. We would stay again as it is the nicest park in Wells. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Nice park with easy freeway access. It has a railroad track right behind it and if you are a light sleeper you will be awakened. When we stayed it froze at night and they did not wrap the water stand pipe. They asked us to disconnect our hose . Go out at 6.30am to hook water back up to find their water pipe frozen. No shower and cold does not make for a happy camper. Will probably go down the road a little farther next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We stayed there on our way back on a trip. We had stayed at another Passport America park earlier on our way up. This was a nicer park and the Passport America Rate was $18.50 for a pull-through site, $5.00 more than the other park. The amenities were worth it as there was cable & Wi-Fi. The site was more spacious with gravel and grass in between sites with a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Many worker trailers here, and some have trashy looking sites. Two of them have dog kennels in the back. Barking is common at all hours of the day and night. We won't be back. Too bad, as this used to be a very pleasant park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Park has great restroom/shower rooms: very roomy, private and clean. Look recently upgraded. Same with the laundry room. Nice long, graveled sites, with grass between sites, a picnic table and trees. Owner/manager is on site, friendly and helpful. Great location: just off I-80. Grocery store and post office is on the same street. Nice little town. Would have given rating of 10, but no swim pool! Definitely would stay at this park again. Used Good Sam Discount. Only complaint: Passport America directory says the discount is not good in July. On arrival, informed the discount not good in July, or August. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Very nice campground, we would stay here again. The staff was friendly and the campsites were nice. A very nice place in the middle of the Nevada desert. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Our spot was a flat, level, gravel pull through site. Not necessary to level our 30 foot trailer. The free Wi-Fi was very slow. Each spot has grass, a picnic table and trees. Bathroom and showers were very clean. Right next to rail road tracks. Three times at night, a train woke us up. Park is nothing special, but it is more than adequate for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Fine for an overnight. Level gravel sites with good WiFi and cable TV. Chinese restaurant next door. Very friendly staff. We stayed here twice. Train tracks are nearby but didn't bother us. Very clean restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This RV Park does not provide many amenities but is perfectly adequate for a stop-over. Our pull-through lot was level with very good, free WiFi and large selection of cable TV channels. All lots are gravel. There is a field behind the park where I could exercise my Labrador Retrievers off-leash. We could hear the whistle of the occasional freight train passing nearby. However, freeway noise was almost not audible. Good freeway access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This place is very close to the railroad tracks and we heard the very loud trains and their whistles many times during the night. There were a few full-time RVs here, but not too bad. The Wi-Fi worked well after we had the attendant reboot the server. The spaces are very tight and we could not have put out our awning if we wanted to. Luckily it wasn't too hot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
We came in under Pass Port and the rate we paid reflects that program. The park is small but laid out so large rigs can maneuver without much problem. Our site was level and the Wi-Fi was strong from where we parked. The cable TV was clear with plenty of channels. The roads and sites are gravel but we did not experience any dust issues. The office staff was friendly helpful. We would return to this park should we be in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
This is a small campground and well cared for. They had just put down fresh gravel and the grass between each site had no weeds. When our slide hit some of the branches in the pine tree, I asked if we could trim it and they said 'yes'. I decided to 'check out' the restrooms and I was awestruck they were so nice! They were clean, all tile and huge for such a small campground-the very nicest we have seen in our full time travels of six years! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Adequate for our needs. We parked in a pull thru with our pickup and 24 ft trailor w/slideout. Spent one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
This is fine for one night if you cannot find anything else. The sites were very crowded. There were dogs barking and a black lab ran loose the whole time we were there. I would not stay there again. We did not have room for our slideout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
This is a good stop over RV Park. The sites are narrow and you need to watch the tree limbs. The Passport America rate was not a full 50% off the going nightly rate, but was reasonable. The Cable TV signal was good. The town of Wells has seen it's best days many years ago. The 3 truck stops, 1 Casino and 2 Nevada Houses of the night are about all that's left. The main street of the town was in ruin. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
The rate is a Good Neighbor rate (thru coast to coast). Although this is a nice clean park with wonderful staff it is a little tight for big rigs. We have a 40' Motorhome with four slides and because of the trees we could not bring out one of our slides. They could trim the trees up higher and it might help. On the electric pedestals the 30 amp was towards the back but if you want 50 amp it was way to the front. We were lucky we had an extension cord. Most were just hooking to the 30 amp instead of messing with it. Not much in Wells but we did take a drive up to Angel Lake which was nice. The park filled up almost every night with over-nighters so I would suggest reservations. Big Rigs be careful and bring an extension cord. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Friendly office staff. We stayed for one night just passing through. Sites are a bit tight. Be careful of overhanging tree limbs. We seemed to be the only people in some time to be willing to pick up our dog's business. I doubt we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Wells is pretty much dying, but this is a nice little spot. The owners were quite friendly and helpful. There's a grocery within walking distance and you can gas up, etc. Everything worked fine. Great spot to stop, but I'd call ahead as there are a lot of people who use it on their way across N Nevada and it does seem to fill up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Nice small campground. Only downside is the trains very close to CG. Only had two, one during daylight, one at night, but loud. Reservations suggested. I saw several rigs turned away, on a Monday night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
This is a small park but it has long sites available if you need them. The office staff is cordial, helpful and very friendly. This is a stopover place for most people, but it is a nice, clean place with wifi. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
RV park is well located with easy access from interstate 80. Super clean park, level sites, superior management. We have stayed there 3 times with pleasant experiences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
We only give this location a rating of 4 because of the friendly service and clean location. Traveling from Lake Tahoe to Jackson Hole, this looked to be the best middle point to stop. However, starting at 12:30 in the morning and every hour thereafter trains came past the park with loud and continuous air horns sounding. Do not stop here without earplugs if you plan on any sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
Great little RV park. Nice owners, quiet, clean, well-maintained and excellent WiFi service which had been installed shortly before our visit. Will definitely stay here again when we next head across Nevada. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$19
A nice enough little place, but a little too close to the railroad tracks for our taste. The people were great, very helpful and accommodating. But the sites are pretty close together, and the railroad tracks are within 100 feet of the end of the facility. We just couldn't get used to the noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com