214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Wendover KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (775) 664-3221
CGID1772

Wendover KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   5   6   3   8   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We spent one night, on our way west. We went for a 30 amp site with no sewer and no cable to save money. We were very satisfied. Wi-Fi is slow, but it works. Staff is friendly. Gravel sites in the cheap seats (cheap sites?) are clean and level. Easy walk to the casino for a light dinner. Good Verizon coverage. We were satisfied. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
This all gravel park is clean and has all the necessaries. It was a very hot day and night so we didn't venture outside. The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. Sites were level, Wi-Fi and TV worked fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Our first impression of the grounds was abandoned drive-in movie. Spots are fairly level and a little close and the grounds could use some weeding and a little attention to neaten them up. Utilities worked, cable was good. Did not try the wifi so cannot comment. Yes, the trains come by and are noisy, and there was an obnoxious ice cream vendor truck cruising the neighborhood with very loud music playing. It was so hot, we kept our AC on the entire time we were here so, once inside our rig, we were not bothered by much. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Very empty during our stay on a Monday. Slight freeway noise, level gravel sites. Wi-Fi very weak. Couldn't even see the network at our site. Nice office with helpful staff. Cable TV worked well. Only problem with our site was the sewer connection was uphill and our trailer is low to the ground. Water doesn't flow uphill. As someone said, this isn't a destination site, but okay for an overnight. Might use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
The rate reflects a 10% AAA discount for a full-hookup 30 amp site. We stayed at this campground while passing through on Interstate 80. It is very close to the Interstate but far enough off so that road noise is not an issue. When we arrived, the office was closed, and there were directions on how to pick a site and register. The office did open later in the day, and the woman working there was very nice and helpful. Since it was off-season, there was no overnight management presence in the campground. This seemed a little strange at first, but we had no problems. The campground is a gravel lot with gravel spaces behind a large casino. They have made a small attempt at landscaping, but do not camp here for its beauty. The space we chose was fairly short, but we were able to park without unhooking the tow car. The utilities, including a great selection of cable TV channels, all worked well. (There are only six 50 amp sites.) The WiFi was very weak even though we were very close to the office. It eventually went off altogether. Our Verizon phone and data, with 4G, both worked well. We did use the laundry, and it was reasonably priced and clean. There was a barking dog, but other than that it was quite at night. There were many street lights so it was very bright at night, something we do not like. We are not “casino people” so did not avail ourselves to the service, but the casinos provide a shuttle if you call them. We would stay here again for an overnight if passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
Due to a change in our travel plans, we ended up driving along I-80 and stopped in Wendover for the night. We only stayed overnight and I am not sure I would have wanted to stay longer. The RV park was very empty during our stay, only six other RVs were onsite that night. The space we stay at was quiet, not near other RVs, and offered full hookups. The Wi-Fi did not function well. Wendover is a dusty, rocky, desert place and this campground is not hiding this. There was no grass anywhere and the gravel throughout the campground did not throw much dust around. The playground was excellent; our kids play in it for a long time. The pool was closed for the winter and the store looked sparse. I would have giving our stay three stars, but this is the second most expensive RV park I have ever stayed. Our stay should have been $30-35 per night, but we paid $48! The resort that I paid more for had many more amenities. I could not help feel we were being charged higher because they were the only campground for *miles*. Would I recommend this park? No. Will we come back? If we need a pit stop along I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
This park was not crowded as there was no major event in the area, so price was lower. Price listed is the total with tax. Sites were long, we did not unhook as this was an overnight quick stop off. There are some trees, but this is high desert so don't expect foliage and expect dust. Site was level, electric good, water ok. Used the cable TV - didn't use their Internet. Restrooms and showers and pool all very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$62
EZ in and out for big rigs. It is all gravel and the usual desert dust, but it's so convenient to the Bonneville Salt Flats and SpeedWeek. The staff was very pleasant. The Wi-Fi is almost nonexistent at the sites, but they don't make that a surprise. It is also in the midst of the casinos which are good for an inexpensive, but good meal. Try Montego Bay prime rib buffet. When you're traveling across this section of the country where not much exists, this KOA is an oasis even though it's a bit pricey for 30 amps. As mentioned, there are only a few 50 amps sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Dry desert sandy, dusty dirt site and roads. The white dust was very thick in places. Why couldn't paved roads be put in? We had to level side to side. There was an extra charge for kids. There was room for maneuvers, slides and awning. Desert type trees are at almost every site. The miniature golf had seen better days as there were weeds, sand and gravel on playing course. Why have the course if you don't maintain it? Not a lot to do in the game room. The pool was the best feature. It was clean and good sized. Cable TV had about 50 channels with a good picture. Wi-Fi available only at the office. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
This is our second stay at this typical KOA park which has most amenities. Park is clean and appears to be well-maintained; though it is showing its age. Pool was a pleasant reprieve on this 105 degree day. Park's WiFi did not work for us; but they are up front and tell you that it is not available at all sites. Our Verizon cellular service and MiFi were strong. Please note there are only a small number of 50 amp sites available. Make reservations if you need 50 amp. Even though we feel this park is over-priced, we will stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Overpriced. Level full hook up site. It was hot and there were few shade trees. We were right next to the lot they shot fireworks from so had a front row seat. Clean campground. Close to casinos if you like to gamble. Close to prime rib for $9.95 also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
They advertise WiFi. However, it is not available at the sites, only in the office or laundry room. The park is all gravel. However, leveling was easy. The office staff is obviously hassled and will mellow if you continue to speak nicely to them. With the lack of internet access from the sites, this was a very expensive choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
I usually avoid KOAs because I find them over priced for what you get. This one is over priced for what you don't get. Snippy reception when checking in, had to drag info out about wi-fi and dog area. Sites are all dirt and gravel. Not level. The site we were given had a gully in it that was covered by the picnic table making it hard to pull in. It hasn't rained in months, why not fix the washouts. Wi-Fi was barely usable. Poor reception and slow speeds even late at night. Dog area was a dirt run. The nearby casino allows overnight parking. I think I will stay there if ever through here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We have stayed in some nice KOAs across the country, but most are like this one. All dirt and gravel, not many trees, not real attractive and too expensive for what you get. This one is real close to a real nice casino (the Rainbow) and is easy on and off of I-80. No road noise, but freight trains to the rear. Just some rumbling, not many horns. OK for a quick stop, but the hotel rates are cheaper right close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Great Stay!! Thank you for your friendly service. I am going to stay there again. Recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
The park was basically all gravel. Our site was level, washrooms were fine. Short drive for groceries and gas. Not much else in town other than casinos. Best wifi I have ever had in an RV park (we were very close to the office so maybe that helped - but it was as just about as good as at home.). Good for an overnight. Close to the highway, so some noise, but I am getting quite used to that! Quite expensive for the area, I thought. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Very costly even with the KOA discount. Long sites to stay hooked up, but narrow. Fenced dog area had two gates for the area so first time in one of the gates was open! Good thing the dogs did not notice. The Internet was not working. We would not stay here again. Not worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Very clean park. The entire park is clean, crushed rock with a few shade trees. It's hard to support grass in the desert. Nice pool and store. Short walk to casinos and restaurants. Friendly staff. Will stay here again. . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The office staff was nice and helpful. The sites were mostly level but were all gravel. There were a few small trees but no shade. It is a newer park and well designed. There were areas for a dog run but no fenced areas. We were within walking distance of the casinos. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
It features friendly staff and a clean campground. There is not much shade to hide from sun, and the pool closed at 7 pm. It would have been nice to use the pool for a few more hours considering the heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
Park is easy in easy out but does not offer much, they rely on the casinos and actually they are very over priced, but that is KOA's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
No problems at all, nice overall park. The location is near the casinos within walking distance. If you don't want to walk to the casinos they have a shuttle available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
Typical KOA. Sites aren't bad, but the fire ring for the space next to ours is in the middle of our hook-ups. Spots are a bit short. Pet area wasn't great either. Will stay again, but only beause it's the only show in town. Wi-fi is ok, but they put us close to the office, in the outer areas of the park it's iffy. Office staff was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Typical KOA campground. Was crowded as it was the weekend of the airshow. Spaces could have been longer or more room to park extra vehicle. Was OK for overnight although price seemed high but really the only place to stay in an RV in town other than a casino parking lot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$44
This was our second stay at this KOA but its adequate for the only park in town. It was a Friday night and West Wendover was lively with shuttle service from the RV park to the casinos. True its dusty but the whole area is, and the spots are large enough for big rigs. It is dry but clean with a nice office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
The only RV park left in Wendover. KOA is expensive but when you want a space, this is what is available. All gravel interior road, dusty but adequate. Good electrical power to run A/C's. Friendly staff. RV park is adjacent to a mobile home park that is accessed through the RV park. Would stay here again, since it is the only park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$47
Park is convenient to Interstate and casinos, the sites were gravel and unlevel and the WiFi was fair in our location. We were given a site but when we went to it, it was occupied so we had to find another. Dog walk was full of pricky weeds to fill my dog's paw where she couldn't walk. It appeared their pool was open and looked clean and they had a nice miniature golf course. Like many RV parks there is a train track nearby but it did not blow whistles to wake during the night. It seemed pricey for the area but location was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
This is an RV park for stopping off for the night. The views of the mountains were very pretty but the park is plain. I would stay again and might have to as we return to California, as there are not a lot of RV spots along I-80. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Park was located next to an airport and train tracks. Nice amenities with a pool, small store, etc. Place was fairly barren (gravel and dirt sites, no scenery), but so is the entire region. It was fine for a one-nighter. Not a destination campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
Horrible! Would prefer the hotel parking lot. A ridiculous rate! Has little or no security. Shuttle would only be available for the hotels if "not too busy." Could not wait to get out and won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Thought I was back in history by 30 years at this campground. Poor maintenance of roads and sites. Mine had a broken 30 amp plug. Not very level and has not had new gravel for several years. Yet the rates charged were for a 4 star place. Will pass up this site next trip through here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
I did not run into any of the problems recent reviews complained about. Then again, the park was sparsely occupied: maybe 30 of 120 sites. It has FHU, Wi-Fi, cable TV and a pool. We did have a problem with our dirt site. Since the low branches of the small trees brushed against the RV no matter how we positioned the RV, we asked to move over a site or two. After setting up, I discovered that I couldn't get a cable TV signal. I also tried the boxes on the sites adjacent without luck. The girl in the office insisted that she thought the system was working fine and there was no one else available to help me until the morning. I didn't feel like moving again so we went without the cable for the night. Before we left the next morning, I queried a different office girl and she admitted that they were having problems with the cable in that row. I don't appreciate it when office staff are poorly informed and the customers suffers as a result. I dropped my rating 1 point for that fiasco. There are a number of small and fairly large casinos and restaurants within walking distance of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
Overpriced at $46 for desert gravel unlevel site. Was used for over night stop only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
The gravel sites are level with small trees. The pool does look green so it would help if they repainted it. The casinos are handy and they are very nice. This is a truck stop area and there are lots of motorcycles in the campground so it can be a little noisy. Lots of stickers for your pets to step on and bring into your motorhome like most places in the west. Would be nicer if they had blacktop or cement pads and the price is high for what's here, but we would stay here again for the Casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$58
We moved here after camping at "The Bend in the Road" attending Speed Week at Bonneville Salt Flats, as we ran out of water and needed to hook up! The rate was a rip off as we were in the overflow campground with no wi-fi or cable hookup. Obviously they told us that the rate was due to it being Speed Week, and we needed facilities, so didn't have a choice. The "stickers" were so bad that our dogs couldn't step outside the RV without getting about 20 of them stuck in their paws! The dog run is tiny with no grass, just gravel and my dogs looked at me like I was insane when I took them in there. So I ended up putting them in the car and driving down the road to some waste land. The pool was an odd green color, although plenty of people were enjoying it. No shade in the area we were in and quite a few permanent residents alongside us. However, the on-site store had good supplies, with a sitting area and coffee and snacks available. The laundry area was small and VERY hot, but clean and well maintained. The showers were spacious and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here one night as a stopover between Lake Tahoe and Salt Lake City. With kids, the casinos were not a priority but the pool was in the 100 degree heat! With the kids ready to hit the water, we found that the pool was filthy; it appeared that the filter had been off for a significant period of time or was broken. It was not possible to swim in it. The teenage girl at the office had no clue; said she'd leave a note for the maintenance man in the morning but didn't seem to really care (she was more interested in her boyfriend waiting in the office). The entire park was dirt and rocks. It was overpriced for what you get; we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
After reading other reviews I was worried, but this spot turned out to be OK. The pool looks green because it is painted KOA yellow and with the blue water it looks green. I didn't use the restrooms, showers or laundry. They were still mostly out of order, but the RV spots were fine. There are trees at every spot. The park is all gravel. Big kids play area & mini golf. Staff were very helpful & the park is very close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
This campground is overpriced and somewhat run down. I asked for a good place to eat and was directed to the local casino. Again, too expensive, $24.95 for the seafood buffet. Unless you like to gamble at the casinos there is really no reason to stay here. We stayed because it was late in the day, and we could not make it to Salt Lake City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$58
We landed at this campground passing through with no idea of the fact that it was Speed Week in Wendover. We got the last site on the lot. I would recommend calling ahead to this location for reservations especially in August! Everything was clean and nice, glad we choose it.It was close to casinos which shuttle service was provided to but we walked back on the cool August night! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Given the bareness of the surrounding terrain, this was a very nice campground. The staff were wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Stephanie was very nice to us when we checked in at The West Wendover KOA. There are some places that are just on the way from here to there, and most of the folks staying here are for the night only, we certainly were. Close by (9mi) is the Bonneville Salt Flats and raceway. There is also a Casino, and an air force museum (The Enola Gay team trained here.) This is a gravel campground, but the sites are very level. Wireless Internet was good from our site. P.S. During our visit - the pool really is the color shown on the web page (green). We also had many hitchhiking moths that gathered on our rig during the night. Security issue, during our stay the "Night Watchmen" booth was empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
There is no shade at this park. It was a nice spot to stop on our travels. The laundry room was very small, the pool was ice cold. The playground was the only real kid friendly place for them to really stretch their legs. We would stay here again but only because we didn't know of anything else in between on our travel from WY to CA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
It seems like the place is managed by remote control, but our stay was not in the busy time of the year. Yes, it's high desert gravel and stunted trees, but that's the way it is around there. There were cared-for shrubs and flowers. There are things to see in the area: Bonneville Salt Flats and the adjacent mountain drives and Wendover Airfield. We would have appreciated a little more visible security. The free WiFi is not dependable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
Lots of gravel but our site was clean and level. We had a tree at our site and that was some shade. Staff was friendly but does not live on site. Several washing machines had out-of-order signs on them. The park is right behind a casino but we did not notice any loud noise. The park was quiet at night. We would stay here again but would feel better if staff / hosts lived on site. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
There is nothing to see in Wendover so it really is just a place to spend the night. This park is old, but well maintained. Staff were friendly. There are trees but not enough to really afford much sun and it was so hot. Although they advertise WiFi, it really is not powereful enough to reach our 100 ft away as it fades in and out, so do not count on that. The one thing nice is that the Casino's provide a free shuttle service to their facilities and there are some wonderful placed to eat inside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Rude Staff, WI-FI was lame, Washers out of order and an overall dust bowl. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$37
This is the highest priced and worst KOA I have camped in. Half of the washers in the laundry room would not work. There was no trash dumpster on the campground, only a small trash can. The Recreation room was locked and empty. All sites are gravel and not very level. If you camp here use caution since the water pressure is high. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
The front desk people were friendly and helpful. That was about the high point of the campground. Very dusty, no grass, dead trees, unlevel sites. The table was a joke and the showers were unairconditioned. When it's 104 degrees outside you can only guess what it would be like inside with no air conditioning. I will say that it's positively the best RV park in Wendover. It's the only one. It is at best someplace to park overnight and have hoopkups. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Not too impressive! No one in office when we arrived, and no answer to phone on way here! As we pulled by the office, 3 guys (workers there??) were standing behind the office drinking beer. As I pulled in to the site I picked, I saw someone unlock the office door. I went up, and it appeared high school kids were in charge. The older girl put her books down & checked me in. All I got at check-in was my receipt. Ditto the other folks comments, however with the partying going on by the office, we did not use their facilities. I would not stop again unless it was the only thing available!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$24
Basically a gravel parking lot with a few trees and lots of dust. No grass to speak of. Have a store stocked with basics. Casino within walking distance. In April the wind was very gusty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Nice friendly check in. The sites are pretty dusty and dirty but are a reasonable distance from each other given the norm for an RV Park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com