217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Ames Brook Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (603) 968-7998
CGID1777

Ames Brook Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   8   9   10   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Nice campground for an excellent Passport America price (for 30 amp service). Full hookups, including cable and free Wi-Fi, were good. Restrooms were very clean. Park staff very friendly and helpful. Grounds were well tended. Small store in the campground had lots of choices. If the roads and sites were paved, it would deserve a 10 rating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This was our 3rd stay at Ames Brook Campground. Great "smaller" campground - smaller in # of sites, not size of them. There are about 80 sites in the campground, some in full sun and others in shade. Except for 3 sites, all sites are full hook up (the 3 are W/E for tents or pop-ups). Some sites offer 30 amps and other have 50. Facilities are spotless and camp staff always seemed attending to general maintenance. While we were there they were clearing tree limbs and brush to make sure roadways and driver visability were unimpeded. Bathrooms and showers were clean, laundry room offers 4 washers and 4 dryers. Store/office has just about anything you'd need if you forgot something, from food, to RV supplies to campfire needs and even toys for the kiddies or gifts and souvenirs. Everyone here was friendly, from owners to workers to campers. We really like the quiet of the campground. Daily rates are $37-$43 depending on the site. They accept Good Sam or Passport discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Secluded privacy with large sites. Some are very long back-ins. Plenty of room for slides. Most have woods between sites. Gravel roads were good. Extra fee for 50 amp. ATT cell signal non-existant. Verizon signal worked. Up fee for 50 amp=$2/night. Fee is with Good Sam discount. Free Cable TV which is decent and Free Wi-Fi. Pool and playground. Laundry 24/7 with decent rates. I liked the posting of the time the machines take so I could leave and return. Veterinary information posted in laundry for emergency. Not too busy when we were here so lots of peace and quiet. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Clean campground with nice, level sites that are graveled. We stayed Memorial Day weekend and it poured rain, but the site didn't get muddy. We had the creek behind our site which our boys enjoyed. Cable TV and decent internet helped with the rainy weekend. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Overall a great campground in a central New Hampshire location! Amenities include a playground and pool for kids, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Many sites are big rig compatible. Some back ins are very long, perhaps 100 feet. The camp warns that low lying sites are prone to flash floods. Interior roads are gravel and only in fair condition. Sites are sand and gravel and well spaced from each other. ATT phones and data get no signal but Verizon worked well. Small up charge ($2) for 50 amp. They offer Good Sam and Passport America discounts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We chose this park because they are Good Sam and Passport America - however, we came in on a holiday week, so no discounts. They did however, have stay 6 nights get 7th free. Also, Wi-Fi has a daily charge unless you stay a week or longer. We were a bit concerned as we drove in as there's a sign saying 10'9" bridge ahead (small sign below say 5 miles, ABC is only .5 miles in so no worry). Office is in store / general building. Very friendly and helpful staff - described what was where in campground (bathroom, showers, activity hall, game room, trash, etc.). Store has basic supplies and groceries - prices on par with other campground stores. Access roads are dirt and after a strong downpour, became mud rivers. Owner and work staff do a great job in campground improvements. Our site was a back in, but they also have a few pull-throughs. Site was on a hill, but ABC has terraced them so you are level. Some sites are only 30 amp while newer area, across brook and in woods have 50. Full hookups, 25+ TV channels. There are some sites right along the brook which are suitable for tents and pop ups - bigger rigs would do better to head up the hill into the wooded sites. All sites have picnic table and fire ring (dug in to the ground so you can't move it about). Swimming pool is on smaller size and old (tiles missing along edges) but kept clean. Several play areas for kids, swings, slides, single hoop basketball. Also volleyball net and horseshoe pits. Because it was a holiday week (July 4), they had some type of activity daily, but I get the impression it's usually just weekends. 82 sites, less than 1/2 are seasonal. Owners are strict in terms of quantity and quality of decorations and extras to those sites. Made me as a transient feel more comfortable not looking at everyone's kitsch. Although small in number of sites, it's a good distance between office and back lots so golf carts are used by a few seasonal folks (need to show proof of insurance). This is a great place to stay if you want to explore the area (Squam Lake 10 minutes, NHMS or White Mountains 1 hr). Very quiet and restful. We will stay here again if our travels bring us through this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
Loved this campground. Quiet and clean. Very nice staff! I would recommend this to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Loved this quaint little campground. Lovely office staff whose helpful attitude and friendly demeanor was immediately inviting and appreciated. Nice easy drive off I-93 and easy to pull into their check in area. Checking in was quick and efficient in the office/store. Store was well stocked and prices of the merchandise was all very fair. The dirt and gravel roads were a little bit rough as we wound through the park, up the hill and onto our site -- but we just took it slow and it was completely manageable. The grounds are well kept and maintained. The brook, Ames Brook, that flows through the heart of the park makes for pretty scenery and nice ambiance. Out site was big and level and very well graveled. It did rain during our stay and our rig didn't sink at all and our site was not at all soggy or muddy - nice! On site picnic tables and in ground fire rings were provided at each site. We had a good cable selection too. Water pressure and 50 amp power were good too. We took our dogs for a walk on the nature trail, which followed the brook and then shot us back out through a big, grassy meadow. Our dogs loved it and we loved it too. Staff looked like they were working hard on various improvements... Always nice to see a park continuously improving... They were using some heavy machinery but did the noise never bothered us at all. One drawback was the serious lack of cell phone signal, we have AT&T for our phones and Verizon for our broadband internet card. Our AT&T phones got NO signal, I could get text messages in and out from one spot. And our Verizon internet was very, very slow due to very weak signal (about 1 bar). Close to lots of area recreation as well as conveniences. Gas station off the same exit, Wal-Mart is North on I-93 2 exits. The little town of Ashland is very cute with some neat little stores and restaurants to check out too. Overall, a great little park in a pretty part of NH. We would come back and stay here again. We used our Camp Club USA discount for 50% off the nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
We choose this campground for the semi closeness to the Loudon Speedway. The grounds and sites were clean and easy to get into. The pool was good. The wireless connection was not very good and since there was a charge was our only disappointment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Good Verizon Voice & Data. Cable TV included, Wi-Fi extra unless staying 7 days or more. Easy access to Freeway. 1/2 price for PA except weekends. Lots of permanent rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Came back to Amesbrook for a stay, and we must admit that the seasonals seemed to be much more friendly this year. What a great group of people. The sites and bathrooms were extremely clean, and the campground owners were of great help to us. There were fun activities for the children. (We had gone to another campground where they had several "hey" rides and it was quite annoying. All the kids drove me nuts.) This is a much more relaxed campground where we could have great family time together around the fire. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
The roads are bumpy and unpaved. The game room is outdated with games that do not work. The store is over priced. There are very few activities for kids if any at all depending on what weekend you go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
The restrooms and showers here are very nice and well-maintained. There is a $2 daily fee for WiFi, which is discounted for monthly guests. The WiFi was fast with a strong connection. The sites are very wide with room for a tent or shelter as well as a tow vehicle and RV. Cable TV connection is very good. The only down side has to do with the unpaved interior roads which are quite hilly, rutted, and bumpy. This is not an RV resort but it is a quiet, rustic campground in the woods with mainy seasonal guests who take pride in their sites with gardens and various types of shelters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We stayed overnight. Mostly a park for seasonals. Quiet and wooded. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi is $2.00 a night extra, extra person charge is $10.00 a night, plus $2.00 for 50 amp service. It was OK but we probably would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is a clean well kept park with large private wooded sites. Yes it is a long walk to the main restrooms from out back, but that is what we like! The owners are very nice and helpful. Do they ride around on golf carts? Yes!! They check on their campers and many times they will help a rookie set up their rig or assist in minor repairs.I would recommend this campground to any one who likes to camp. If you want luxury go to a hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We had a wide, long pull-through, but many sites were short and narrow. Interior roads were among the worst we have seen in 30 months of full-timing. They offer GS discount only if you ask for it: no GS signs at all. TV is not cable, but satellite with only some 25 stations. Walk from our site to office/laundry/pool/rest rooms would have been long, so long that they placed porta-potties throughout the CG. Directions we were given had us pulling into our site in the wrong direction. There was a car for sale partially blocking the CG entrance. I do not understand at all the two earlier glowing reviews. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Just got back from spending the weekend here, would not recommend. All the owner does is drive around in his golf cart looking for you to do something wrong it, he does not give you a good feeling. The sites are very small, I mean they are deep but very narrow. Quiet hours and fires are strictly enforced. Not much for the kids to do they have some old games in a game room but not for little kids,store does not have much for sale unless you want to buy their apparel. Other than that there is not much in there. Pay the extra or go the extra mile and stay somewhere nice where you will feel wanted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$39
The park is not very good, the roads were still a mess, the pool had way too many people in in. The lady who checked us in was very rude to us. The only guy who was nice to us is the one the drives around in the golf cart doing all the work. Stay away from this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
I love this campground. Our family has been to a few, and this is by far the best one yet. The people are friendly, the bathrooms are so clean, great shaded sites and lots to choose from the roads are 5mpr and easy to drive on. My kids are 5 and 7 and there is plenty for them to do games, movies, and ice cream socials and for the adults water aerobics and the horse shoe tournament are so much fun. As a family who loves to camp we would recommend this campground to everyone who wants a nice quiet relaxing vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This is the nicest campground we have ever been to. It is very clean and the owners are the nicest people. They are always there to help you. If you need propane, you can get it there. The only thing you would ever have to leave for is major groceries. They have alot for the kids to do so they enjoy their stay. We have been to alot of campgrounds and this one rates ten times better than any other campground. We love it there. All our friends go there now, and say the same. Great for all kinds of campers.Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
We spent an extended visit to this park because of a death in the family. The park was very flexible with our stay and helped us leave the rig there. The roads into the spots are terrible. We really needed 4WD to get to the spot. WE had to pay for WIFI. I'm not sure we would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$33
Nice clean park, very friendly, had activities for the children. We want to go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Location of campground is close to the interstate and the town of Ashland. Within reasonable driving distance to many atractions. Overall, staff is friendly, although not very helpful. Pool is on the small side. There is only one bathhouse, in the main office building, at the entrance. A little pricey as their rate is for 2 people. We camped over a weekend and extended our stay into mid week, after receiving ok at the office. On the day that we were origianlly due to check out, I went to the office to offer to pay for the additional nights - but they do not take personal checks. Later that day, the owner came by our campsite at dinner time demanding payment for the additional stay - with a $55K rig at the campsite, did he really think I was going to stiff him $61? During the week, there are many opened sites, but the owner would not allow us to have a late check out, even if we were to clear out of our site. He would not let my 12 year old daughter swim in the pool past check out time. As the park was not at all full nor was there anyone else in the pool, we thought such strict adherance to the check out time was quite unfriendly and uncalled for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com