224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Fransted Family Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (603) 823-5675
CGID1785

Fransted Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   10   6   9   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$49
This is a great little campground, our favorite. Great owners who are very welcoming. They maintain the campground and the rules very well. We were looking for a quiet restful vacation and that is what we got. WiFi was good as were all hook ups. Our site was in the open area and not the wooded area which was nice on the cool mornings as we got the morning sun. The campground is in a great area to visit all the White Mountain attractions. Will return for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
Very family oriented campground. Staff were friendly and helpful as we checked in at dusk. Would definitely recommend this campground. Had both secluded sites in the trees and open sites in a field RV park area (of course, not as much privacy as one would have in the trees). However, we had a great site on the edge of the field near the washrooms for our overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$49
This is my new favorite park. The location in the White Mountains is beautiful. It has some really nice hiking trails adjacent to the campground. The proximity to area attractions is great. It has plenty of space in the front of the park for folks to shoot hoops or play volleyball, horseshoes, a ball field, a playground and mini-golf. The seasonals are friendly and informative. One of them gave me directions to a trail that lead to a huge beaver dam. I went there at dusk and got some good pix of the locals. The rules some people complain about are part of what makes this a good destination for me. It's quiet time at 10:00 PM. Period. 10 years ago that might have been a problem. Now,it's a good thing. If you're a late night party animal, best to camp elsewhere. There appears to be a good amount of organized activities, however we were there for a long weekend and didn't get too involved with it. No problem, this is a place where you can do as much or as little as you want and have an enjoyable stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Just a beautiful, clean and well maintained campground. My only regret is I didn't see a bear. Maybe next time. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
This is the best park we have been to in 23 years of camping and has the most amazing owners we have ever come across. We just camped here for the first time and spent 9 wonderful nights here. The campground is spotless and the sites are so nice. The sites have rock to park the trailer on and to open the awning over so no need for rugs or anything. There are many tent sites and some real nice ones along the river. Each tent site has an area of raised bark mulch to set the tent on and then plenty of space for the car, fire pit and picnic table. Most sites are very private, we had a full hook up pull through that was real private. There are a few back in sites were you are lined up but they are plenty large enough. The bathrooms were very nice, the store had everything you needed. The front of the campground was an open field with a soccer field, baseball field, volleyball, mini golf, horseshoes and ladder golf among other things. I can go on and on about this campground because we just had the most wonderful week we could have and we cannot wait to get back there. I think this is the first 10 I have given to a campground without a pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
We had high expectations for this campground that just didn't come to fruition. The campground is definitely clean and safe, the creek is nice, and the play area for the kids is up to date. However, the sites are very close to each other, and we didn't have the privacy we were hoping for. In addition, the sewer connection at our site was high and nearly level with the camper's black/grey tank drains making it a challenge to empty the tanks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This is one of my favorite campgrounds in NH. If you looking for someone who really tells it like it is, it's me. I won't give a campground a good rating unless it deserves it, and this campground is great. Sites are spacious enough, and the campground is active but not noisy. The only issue: our camping neighbor's dog came over to our site to do its business. We scared it away, and our neighbor came over and cleaned it up. Pets are supposed to be leashed, and I'm sure if we had complained the staff would have done something. We felt it was taken care of just fine. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have an RV and camped near the river. For those of you who have tents there are some great options along the river where RVs don't fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
Great campground. Owners are very attentive to detail. If you are camping in a tent, then this site is magnificent. There are only 12 RV sites with full hook ups and some of these only have 30 amp. We were in a pull through 18A which was a 50 amp site, about 90' long, very wide, and private with tons of space. Great for kids, with lots for them to do. Just outside Franconia with a few restaurants, stores etc. within walking/cycling distance. Wi-Fi worked great, AT&T was patchy, Verizon worked fine. Great hiking close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Very, very nice. Absolutely a beautiful camp ground with nice spacious sites, wooded. and very well kept. If all camp grounds could be like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
One of the nicer campgrounds we have stayed in. Lots of trees, grass and foliage. Easy access for our 39' fifth wheel. The stream and roads/trails through the forest behind the RV sites was especially nice. Our rate reflects full hookups including cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
We stayed here for 5 days. Check in fast and easy. Owner and staff very friendly. Shown to our site. The site was large and private with fire ring and table. Bathrooms and showers very clean. Lots of activities on the weekend like movies, bingo, story telling, and ice cream socials. They have mini golf and a large athletic field. There is a small beach on the river. It is great for kids. We saw a lot of wild life. Store is well stocked. Very quiet at night. Look forward to going back. We started here in a tent trailer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
By far the best site we stayed on during our trip. We were shown to our beautiful, spacious sites by a man on a golf cart. Showers and laundry were spotless. Lots going on from film nights to mini golf. Only negative was all the rules and regulations we were given on arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
I camped here with my parents in the late 60's and decided to stop in to check it out. I ended up staying a week it was so nice. Large sites far enough apart for privacy, very friendly and motivated owners to provide a great campground. River is not swim-able but there is a nice beach to sit by or in the water. There are trails to hike at the back of the campground and much more in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
FIVE STAR Campground!! I started camping at Fransted when I was a teenager, and have come virtually every year for the last 25 years. It is beautiful, immaculately clean, fastidiously maintained, and a wonderful, wonderful place to bring your family and kids of all ages for a few days...or a whole summer! in the woods. The owners did an amazing job turning this place from a small, basic, campground, into a lovely resort-like setting while maintaining the peace and tranquility of the mountain and riverside location. Just GO. You will not be disappointed!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
This is a very nice campground conveniently located near Franconia State Park. The staff were very friendly, the bathrooms very clean. They do charge per each child over 13, but there is a lot to do even though there is no pool. They have a nice field with baseball, volleyball, horseshoes. There is mini golf, ping pong, movie night and a nice beach area on the river. My son caught a small trout from the river. There are mostly tent sites near the river, our motorhome site with full hookups was fine. I would give this campground a 10 except that the bridge leading into town, (Franconia) was closed so it made it a little inconvenient. We would definitely stay here again, the area is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Large extremely clean campsites, very clean bathrooms and laundry. Very friendly owners and campers. Beautiful spot, convenient to White Mountains scenery. We had a nice FHU site in the field, parked on gravel but rest of site was grass. Very nice tent/popup sites right along the creek. Our Golden Retriever enjoyed swimming in the creek. Families with kids enjoyed swimming in creek and floating down creek to swimming hole. We paid a weekly rate. Would have stayed longer had we not had future reservations and definitely will return if we are back in the area. Plan on a ride to Littleton for diesel or major groceries. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Very clean. Sites are private (wooded ones). Some may not enjoy swimming in the rocky river, but my two kids (age 8/11) loved it. Owners were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. We would definitely stay here again - we didn't even get a chance to hike the trails located at the campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
This is a great little campground. Our site was right next to the brook. The kids had a blast walking on the rocks near the brook. The site was good size, level and with just the right amount of shading. The campground has a great field as you enter which is perfect for playing a variety of sports. This was our second stay here and we look forward to staying again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This the first time we camped at this campground and we were very impressed. The staff was very friendly and the campground was extremely clean. It was very quiet at night and security drove by many times in the evening and in the morning. I would recommended this campground to anyone looking for a campground to stay at in Franconia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We have camped here many times over the past three years. It is our favorite place to camp in the White Mountains. The owners and staff are extremely nice. The camp ground is well maintained and the bathrooms, showers, and laundry are spotless. You will not find a better place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
We have camped up in the White Mountains many times and have driven by this campground. Big Mistake. We liked it a lot. My only negative comment is that the most of the full service sites are all in a field. There are great wooded and river sites, but not for bigger rvs. Quiet, comfortable, easily our top choice when coming to the White Mountains. Very easy to get to off of I-93. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Everything about this campground was excellent. The owners do a very good job taking care of the grounds and the visitors. A+ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
This CG was very nice, quiet, friendly and clean. Many sites are private. Because of the length of our truck, the site was a bit tight to back into. The owners helped by pulling our TT in with his tractor. Nice field to play horseshoes, putt putt golf, softball, soccer, etc. Very clean bathrooms and the showers were free and each shower room had a decent area to change. Pets are allowed at the beach. Lots of attractions nearby. Plan to visit here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
Very clean and well kept campground. The staff and fellow campers were all friendly. Will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$37
Nice campground. It was 37 dollars because we had 3 adults in our party so there is an extra person charge. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and well kept. It is well supervised, the crew must put on alot of miles on the golf carts driving around. We enjoyed our stay. There are bears so they warn you not to leave food out overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Just got back from a weekend at this campground (mid-May 2003), and we had a wonderful time. We have a lovely campsite (two-way) hookup right by the brook, though there were three-ways available they are, of course, not by the brook. The campground was well maintained and the sites were good size, particularly the non-three-way sites. There is an approximately mile and a half hiking trail which runs along the brook (more like a walking trail, generally very level, which you can take to get into the town of Franconia. There in town you'll find a grocery store, restaurant, etc. The people that run the campground at very helpful and friendly. They keep an eye on the sites but aren't in-your-face. They let us come in 4+ hours before the "check-in" time, but still only charged us for one night ($26 for the two-way site by the brook). We are definitely planning to go back. Apparently they offer some recreational activities in the summer, they have a large canopy (to be replaced next year by the timber structure) where they hold a lot of these activities, they have a mini-golf course (which at the time of our visit looked in need of some repair (which they may plan on doing before the full season starts). They have volleyball and badmitton. There isn't any swimming pool, but the kids, etc., do wade in the brook and create warmer pools of water by making stone walls of sorts in the brook. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com