219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Lantern Resort Motel & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (603) 586-7151
CGID1789

Lantern Resort Motel & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   9   10   8   6   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
This is NOT a resort! Just an average campground. As stated earlier, this campground is not designed for anything over 35'. Sites are good sized and fairly level. The campground is well maintained with gravel roads and grass/gravel sites. Utilities are well placed and function as designed. Wi-Fi is poor to none, depending on location of site. Verizon service is weak and very slooow. They do have two nice pools, one of which is heated. Definitely not a good value for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
While listed as big rig friendly, it isn't. The turns within the campground are too sharp, tree overhangs are many. If you are 40 feet or longer, look elsewhere. Many seasonal renters who were quite friendly. Has two pools and two hot tubs. A buffet breakfast is set up every morning for $8 for adults. Landscaping is tasteful. Internet was very slow or non-existent. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This campground is located across the street from Santa's Village amusement park so it attracts a lot of families with small children. For those families, this would probably be a 10 as it is neat with clean restrooms and nice looking swimming pools. Unfortunately we didn't realize this when we pulled in for a one night stopover. While we do like children, there were just a lot of them, many tired from a long day and some without adequate parental supervision, so a lot of crying, shouting, and other commotion well into the evening. So if you have small children and want a great place to visit the amusement park, this campground is for you. If you want a peaceful evening, then suggest looking elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
Great campground, it is a little open for our liking but made it great for the small group we were with. Two pools well sized for the campground and very clean. Owners do regular trash pick-up and staff was pleasant. Centrally located to a lot of white mountain attractions. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We have stayed at The Lantern many times with friends (camping) and parents (motel). Each time continues to impress, but this last stay exceeded our expectations. The facilities and grounds are spotless, and the service from the office staff and everyone is excellent. Couldn't ask for a better campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$59
Location, location. This campground is directly across the street from Santa's Village which is a real plus. Bathrooms are spotless. Two pools are very clean. Your privacy takes a hit here though, we stayed in a pop up and even though we had a tree on either side, it was trimmed so anyone could see inside. Lots of activities for kids which is good, but if you don't like to listen to kids crying because they up are way past their bedtime, this may not be the campground for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This is a decent campground but larger rigs need to beware that the interior roads are very tight. We were in site #67 with a 35' rig and it was tricky getting out. The sites also vary in elevation and are not level. The combination of the two can make for a tough entry or exit from your site. The elevation differences in the sites and the roads can cause the rig to drag the ground while turning sharply. The sewer caps were random sized rocks and the water pressure was less than #40. The grounds are well kept and the staff was friendly. I would probably try somewhere else next time just because of the close quarters of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Clean and well maintained. Lots of activities for kids and close to several amusement parks. The biggest negative was lack of shade; all sites are open and grassy. Some sites are laid out a little strange but easy to make it work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
To me this campground is more for the big rigs than for tents and pop ups. The sites are in fields and w/e/s are next to w/e so our little popup was next to huge motorhomes. There isn't a whole lot of room between campers and since there were no trees it got real hot inside. It is great location since you can just walk to Santas Village and Six Gun City is right down the road. The pools and bathrooms are clean. It's a great price, but unless we get a large motorhome I doubt we will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
We found this campground very clean and well maintained. The kiddie pool was a plus as we had our granddaughter with us. We would go to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$54
It was our first time here and overall are giving it a rating of a 7.5. It is not a big park, by any means. Sites are somewhat close together with few trees, and if you have a site with a tree like ours, you are not going to be able to deploy your awning. Hookups were good, but I noticed the water to not be 'sparkling" clean, so I installed an inline filter. Roads are tight but navigable. Parking our 37' was fairly easy, but I can see it being more difficult if sites across are occupied. Bigger rigs will most definitely have difficulties across the board at this park. The "seasonal campers" have their own section which is nice. The playground area is nothing to write home about but is clean and the kids (7 year old daughter and twin 3 year old boys) had fun. The pool areas are very nice. The laundry, showers, and bathrooms were all fresh and clean. The basketball court and the Volleyball court rank low due to the quality of equipment and condition of the playing surfaces. The noise level was low, but park was approximately 50% occupied. The only complaint here was the music is on at the pool area until 9pm, and fairly loud. It is obvious the owner(s) take great pride in this facility. The plantings and overall aesthetics are very nice. With a few improvements this park it will be an "A" location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We stopped for an over night. The park was full. It is well maintained and the sites are a comfortable size. They have planned activities for the kids. We were level enough to leave the travel trailer and truck connected. Roads are gravel but not rough. Water & electric service were good. For the amount of families with kids the facility was very quiet at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This is our 2nd year of coming to this campground. We usually come during the off-season twice a year (mid to late June and early September). The park is usually very quiet at these times of year and site selection is good. We are always very pleased at the cleanliness and upkeep of the campground. The bathroom / shower facilities are top notch. The showers are free and there is plenty of hot water. Most lots have plenty of room and are situated on lush green grass. It is a meadow setting, but there are a few trees depending on the campsite. The park offers 2 large heated swimming pools and a jacuzzi tub. The park is very family oriented with many kids activities in the evening (and this is even during the off-season!!) My children enjoy the hay wagon rides, the campfires, candy-bar bingo, and sleepy time Sue who comes around on her golfcart when reserved at the office, to read bedtime stories to the children before bedtime on her rounds. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The campground has a small petting zoo with a cow, and a couple goats and a couple sheep. The park is conveniently located close to Santa's Village which is a hit for young children (3-10 years). The campground offers a store with limited hours during the off-season and the closest full supermarket (Shaws) is approximately 10-15 minutes away. There are a few small general stores in Jefferson that offer the basics. This park is a true gem and we will be back. Looking forward to September with the changing of the leaf colors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
A great family campground with lots of organized activities for kids. The campground is extremely well maintained. It is very near Santa's Village amusement park. Seasonal campers occupy a section of the park, but they are in their own area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
What a spectacular campground! Very spacious sights, two beautiful pools, hot tubs and clean clean clean! I would take a close look at this campground-it is beautiful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We stayed at this park with our two small children ages three and two months. The campground was very clean and the staff was very nice. They had activities for the kids each day and my three year old was never bored. There was a cute petting zoo with a cow and goats that he liked. The staff kept the facilities clean each day and they were not so visible that it interfered with the camping experience. There are two pools and hot tubs that were easily accessible as well as clean. The only thing that I saw with the campground that needed help were the playground facilities. They could use updating. However, it did not affect my son and he had a blast on the playground anyway. The campground was very convenient to Santa's Village which is across the street. We walked there with the two children although it was a short walk uphill to get back. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
This is a very clean and well run campground with many activities for children planned. It is located across from Santa's Village, so you do hear the music from that location playing while they are opened. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This is a very good destination for families with small children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Very clean campground, very nice manager. Recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
This campground has 2 pools and 2 spas. Sites are only shaded around the outside border which are for seasonals. So we were not shaded. Sites were not level, and close together. No privacy at sites. Owners were friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
This is a wonderful camping area that we have gone to for the last 3 years. The sites are large grass level sites, some trees for shade in the lower section. The campground offers activities for the kids like bingo, smores cicle campfire, animal petting zoo, playground, arcade, bedtime story telling, and daily activities. The restrooms and showers are clean and stay that way as well as the washer/dryer area. The staff there is friendly and just can not do enough to make the stay a wonder time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$50
Wonderful, family run campground located in a beautiful area of the country. Owners and their employees very friendly. Our children loved the clean swimming pools. Many of the campers are from the local area and remarked that they come back quite often. The full hookup sites (pull throughs) are not shaded, but that is a small price to pay. Great small amuzement park right across the rode for the little tykes. Towns of Jefferson and Lancaster great for visiting. We love the area so much, will be soon looking for land to settle down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$35
Just the nicest campground in NH. Close to Santas Village, two pools, two hot tubs, with great people that work and run the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
A great resort, cannot fault anything here. It is across the road from Santa's Village, is exceptionally well run and caters to children with many activities daily including hay rides, games and campfire story telling. There are three pools complete with hot tubs, a playground for the kids and a small petting zoo. Not only would I highly recommend it I intend to return next year. Definitely put this one on your list of must stay at places. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com