221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Roper Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (928) 428-6760
CGID179

Roper Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   10   7   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
No sewer hookups at the sites, but we were intentionally close to the shower building. The showers were clean and free when we needed them. Our site had plenty of room for our slides, though we could not fully extend our awning. I am not sure if I could have gotten into the back in site if there had been someone in the spot directly across the lane from us. Thankfully there was no one there. In fact, the Sunday evening we arrived the place was virtually empty. The rangers and other folks working the park were friendly. We stayed a week and many campers stayed a night or two and left. The park is very clean and well kept. The day use area and lake had some people using them everyday, but it was not what I would call busy. We like it here and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Nice park. Good separation between sites. Interesting walking paths and nicely landscaped and maintained. Like other Arizona state parks we have visited, this is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Stayed here one night. I paid and went to my assigned site. It had no trees, no view and was right next to the few RVs there. I drove through the loop and found 3 sites that were much better. I went back and asked for a change. The lady seemed surprised but gave me my first choice, an easy pull through with a view and privacy. I was bemused to see that a half hour later, she gave someone the site I had rejected. Wouldn't it be good customer service to know the sites and hand out the nicer ones first? Then I went to try the hot mineral pool, which was the reason I stayed here. It was occupied by a large family. There is a sign that says 15 minute limit, so I went to the dog park across the way and timed 20 minutes- they were still there. At 35 minutes, I walked over and asked if there was room for one more. Then they all got out, loaded in a car and left. OK, the much vaunted hot spring was all mine. Except it is not very hot. On further reading about this park,I saw that it is 98 degrees. So I'm sitting there in body temperature water, trying to figure out how this pool is self cleaning, as the water level was about a foot under the outflow. All those people? I start to notice a distinct odor of kerosene. I sniffed around and find it is coming from the inflow, which is a rather grubby looking PVC pipe. The inside of the pipe is black and green. I decided I would try this pool first thing in the morning instead. Next morning at 730, I eagerly went to the pool. Water was nice and clear and felt warmer, since it was early in the day. Ahhhh, except-- there was that smell again. There is definitely a kerosene odor in the pipe. I left well before my 15 minutes... I used the dump station, but I won't go back here. There are much nicer hot springs in Safford. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Spent two nights here. Park was quiet with few campers which made the stay nice and quiet. Campground was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
A big surprise thanks to the "shut-down" of the USA government. For this reason we had to change travel plans and ended up in this state park instead of a national park. This park is very well maintained. Clean showers and restrooms. Also day use areas are very well kept. Very large sites. When you would look at our site (#40), you would think that we would be the only one in the area, but behind the trees the other sites are there. Still, this gives a very private feeling. Staff was very friendly. Next times we will definitely look more to state parks instead of national parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
We stayed here several nights and had a nice level pull through. Showers/restrooms very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lake is nice to walk around. Not too far into the Walmart or eating places. Being New Mexico, and in drought, vegetation is suffering but there is still quite a bit of green. The small hot spring tub was relaxing. Would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is lack of sewer hookups. Dump station on site. Site #14 is quite private. Good birding here; many yellow headed blackbirds during our stay. Short drive in to Safford for all services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
Stayed just one night on our way west. Great restrooms although we didn't explore the area too much as we arrived late and left early the following day. Nice covered picnic tables by each site. Friendly check-in staff. The park was quiet this time of year, although they booked those campers that were there all in the same area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
Very quiet state park with a nice small lake for paddling and fishing. Nice views of mountains in the distance. They even have a natural spring hot tub available within the park! The town of Safford is small but has a Wal-Mart and some good Mexican restaurants. Great place to stop for a few days! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
Nice state park campground with pretty mountain views. We were in the Cottonwood loop which we booked due to reviews that stated that these sites were more spacious than the Hacienda loop sites. I would agree with this (we walked through the Hacienda loop) and also in Cottonwood, each site has a very nice shade structure with a picnic table. We were in sites 15 and 16 facing the lake and they were nice but next time I would opt for sites along the back side of the loop (1,3,5,7 or 9) as they were more private. Although 9 is next to a walking trail so although it's a huge site, the others would probably see less traffic. We found the campground easily accessible with our 40 foot rig and most of the sites I saw were fairly level. The hiking was nice and lots of space to cruise around on your bicycle. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
Lovely park, lots of wildlife, no virgin mobile signal, facilities worked well, staff were very friendly and helpful. Sites were level and easy to get into. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
Nice state park, especially the hot tub with natural mineral water and the view. Big with local or state people. They are asking for 2 weeks notice to get reservations. That's difficult or impossible for people crossing the country. Luckily we got the last spot on a busy weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Very nice state park now being run by almost all volunteers/workampers, and they are doing a fantastic job. The natural hot tub was a comfortable 92 degrees and very clean. The restrooms and showers are old but clean. Paved mostly level large sites with great views all around. Nice gift shop and trails are nicely maintained. Very dog friendly, just keep 'em on a leash and cleanup after them. We will look forward to coming back. Stayed 4 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
One of the nicer state parks. Large sites, large pads, covered picnic tables, hot tub, view of the mountains: really nice. The employees are friendly too. If they would have sewer I would have given a 10. I'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
There are two loops - Cottonwood has 50A electric; Hacienda has 30A. Both loops have big rig sites for a 40' motorhome. The roads and sites are paved and topped with small rock. Some sites are reservable. The bathrooms and showers are old and kept somewhat clean. The bathrooms in the Cottonwood Loop were closed when we were there so it might be wise to check this out beforehand. There is a natural hot spring which seats about eight persons. The outhouse/changing room nearby is awful - smelly and no place to hang clothes. Would recommend changing at your site. The fish able lake is 30 acres and stocked with large mouth bass and Rainbow Trout. Electric motors only are allowed. There are a few cabins to rent. There is a swimming beach at the day use area. There is a dump station with easy entry. The park is located off Hwy 191, 6 miles south of Safford. Safford has good restaurants, groceries and a Super Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Well maintained and easily accessible campground. Big rigs will have some navigation challenges around a few corners. Great trails to walk dogs on and around campsite. They also provide a natural spring hot tub! I had view of mountains and lake from my site! Town of Safford within 10 miles of campground with plenty of shopping and restaurants available. Drove up Graham Mountain to 9500 ft (without trailer!) and had panoramic views of valleys on both sides! Would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
What a great park! We really enjoyed our stay at this small Arizona state park. Our site looked out over the lake. The staff was very friendly. The water did not work the first night, but they got it all fixed for the second night that we were there. There are walking trails, and the natural hot tub is very nice. We definitely would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
A great camp ground with three sections. We stayed in the Hacienda area. Wonderful hiking and biking trails around the park and lake. There is also a terrific natural spring, stone-lined hot tub which should not be missed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
This state park is in a pleasant setting under the backdrop of the Pinaleno Mountains. We stayed here at the end of February. The Pinalenos were snow-capped and the predominant view from our picnic area and rear window. Both back-in and pull-through sites are available. All sites are paved, level, have a fire ring/BBQ grill combo, and picnic table. The Cottonwood loop also has shade ramadas over the tables. Sites are reasonably well spaced, but there is little to provide visual privacy. There is some small vegetation between sites, but it was not leafed out when we visited. Big, mature trees were on the day use island, not in the campgrounds. Showers had plenty of hot water. Bird life was abundant including gambel’s quail, roadrunners, and yellow-headed blackbirds. One trail goes around the lake and one takes you to an overlook. This park is closing March 29, 2010 due to Arizona budget reductions. In the future, after the park reopens, we plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
Really nice park. I had a great view of snow covered Mount Graham from my front door and a lake view out the back windows. Nice trails in the park, good hosts. Lots of birds and bunnies. I finally saw an Arizona cardinal here. Sites rough paved and fairly level. Most sites I saw looked fairly large with fire pits and picnic tables. Lake supposedly good fishing but didn't try. The rock hot tub is nice but is only about 100 degrees, not nearly hot enough. Essence of Tranquility is a 5 minute drive off of Hwy 191 and has 6 different pools of 101 up to 106 for only $5 an hour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
Another great State park, and a good value. This park had a rock hot tub available, although we didn't have the opportunity to use it. Several hiking trails, we walked one that was a easy hike and about 1.5 miles long. Well marked and a great view of the surrounding area. We had internet from our Verizon air card. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Two hook-up loops are Hacienda and Cottonwood. We stayed 2 nights in Hacienda then moved to Cottonwood for 5 nights. Both loops are nice, Hacienda is older but has more mature trees for shade. Cottonwood seemed to have a bit more room between sites and also had some 50 amp sites. All sites in Cottonwood have a shade structure with picnic table underneath. Hacienda has picnic tables but no shade structures. We had what we thought was the best site in Cottonwood (space #14) -- right on the lake with 50 amp power. Other sites in both Cottonwood and Hacienda also have great exposure to the lake, but we preferred space 14. Every day we swam in the lake (about 64 degrees), used the hot mineral spring (about 98 degrees) and rode bikes around the park. Nothing but electric motors allowed on the lake so the setting is very peaceful with mountain views all around. A great family park for traditional camping with fire rings and lots of outdoor time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
This was only our second RV camping trip, but heard such good things about the park and knew we wanted to stay here. We made a good choice. The facility is near Mt. Graham (which still had snow on the top) and near a lovely small fishing lake. Our site (O) was paved and relatively level, but not a problem. The site we choose was a pull-through with an unobstructed view of the mountain to our right and the lake from the bedroom window. Our site was ultra private and filled with yellow headed black birds, quail, rabbits, cardinals, chipmunks, squirrels, mice and other assorted wildlife including some evening bats! There are walking paths everywhere, a lovely picnic area that reaches out into the lake, and even a hot tub in the desert, great for a romantic evening under the stars. The one drawback would be the bathrooms and showers. They are very clean, but have seen better days and could use a bit of paint and some new tile, but that's a small complaint. The rangers are extremely helpful and keep a close eye on park, making it feel very safe. We would (will) stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
This was a very beautiful park. There is a island around the lake which has picnic tables and also a beach where you can swim. There is so much to see and do. Fishing is available in the lake which is stocked by the park. The water was clear and cool. There is also a natural hot tub but it is small. The bathrooms were clean and spacious. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
We went out of our way to stop here because of past good experiences with almost all of Arizona’s state parks and in large part because of the reviews on this website. We were not disappointed. This is a good one. We planned to stay 2-3 nights but decided to take advantage of this park’s nice setting on a small lake, good sites(some with lake views) and great value. The daily rate is $16 but they offer 2 free nights when you stay/pay for five. So, $80 for a week equals about $11 a night! We are really enjoying our week here. About half of the sites are reservable which is a nice feature that not many AZ state parks offer. The bathrooms will probably need some refurbishing soon with newer fixtures and flooring but they are very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$16
One of my favorites. Large level sites, beautiful views of lake and mountains, friendly staff and close to town. We were here in Nov of 2008 and are back in Feb 2009. We will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Best surprise overnight stop we ever made! Stayed 6 days but will be back for a longer stay in spring. One of the best organized and run RV parks we've ever been in, private or public. Immaculate grounds, level sites, beautiful sunsets, great spa and great personnel make this one of our top stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
Great place to stay. Very clean and close to town. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
Quiet desert campground on pretty lake with spectacular mountain views. Very spacious sites with ramada, picnic table and fire ring. Nearby town has full range of services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
This a very nice state park and the bonus is that it has a natural hot tub--not real hot, mid 90's. Very nice setting, clean restroom/showers and pretty cheap. The sites are not always real level but adequate. We've stayed here twice, recently over the MLK holiday weekend and had to share the place with several more people then earlier in the month-- it was very lightly used back on 1/8/08. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
This is a quiet park with great views. The natural spring hot tub is small but we found everyone taking turns. There is also a designated swimming area with a sandy bottom. You won't hear traffic out here but the frogs and crickets are really loud at night and will lull you to sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
Clean, well maintained, and reasonably priced. Natural spring fed hot tub is something different. Not much to do in the area, but very peaceful and relaxing. Park staff was top notch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Friendly and helpful hosts made the stay enjoyable. Fishing, hiking, and hot spring pool were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$14
We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The hot spring is great, and we sat in it during a light rain storm. The hot tub is very clean and has a continuous flow of warm water from the spring. The views are wonderful and the sites all look out toward the lake. The park has hiking trails and a lot of area to explore. The restrooms are clean and have two showers per facility. The camp host at the gift shop was very friendly as was the park ranger. We would with stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
Very nice campground with lots of ducks, quail and other birds. Small, natural hot spring spa with walking distance. We don't understand the reservation policy. The state park website says that they don't accept reservations, but when we arrived, all the lakefront sites were reserved. All the sites are nice, however, with lots of space around them. Be sure to take the drive up Mt. Graham. It is absolutely beautiful, winter or summer. Great spot for winter season camping. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2004
$25
Roper Lake SP is a very nice, older SP campground. It's quiet and away from cities, which is what we like the most. It's not fancy, and doesn't have cable/internet/telephone hookups, but it was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the hot springs fed hot tub, and also took a drive up nearby Mt Graham, which had snow on it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Nice Arizona State Park campground in the southeast part of the state. It features a small, but nice, man-made lake that is fed from the snow/rain runoff from Mt Graham as well as a natural spring hot tub to relax in anytime of the day or night. Sites are good sized but offer little privacy and limited shade. Bugs were a problem when we were there but after talking to many people who have been there many times before said that was very unusual. The restrooms and showers were clean. Swimming and fishing are allowed in the lake in designated areas. The campground is very dark and quiet at night which make for great stargazing. Each site also has a picnic table and fire ring with grill. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
This was a great state park! The cg had 3 areas one for big rigs with pull throughs and small trees, and water and elec, another area had water, elec, and covers over the picnic tables, the third area had no elec, they all had small cottonwood trees at most sites. Ther is a spring fed lake. It was low because of a drought. The ranger said that they were going to have the spring put more water in the lake. No boats were allowed, and had a handicap fishing dock. Had a natural spring fed sauna. GREAT! Love the stars at Night no light pollution. The gate closes at 10:00pm for security. Was very hot in the afternoon 100. The mornings and night were real nice. We will go back in Dec!Great Park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com