220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Friendly Beaver Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (603) 487-5570
CGID1795

Friendly Beaver Campground

Camp Information
Sites
435
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   1   9   9   9   4   4   4   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
This was the first time staying at Friendly Beaver. The facilities are great, tons for kids to do, dinners, big tractor drawn wagon rides, antique firetruck rides, horses & goats....the list goes on. The bathrooms were all clean & relatively easy to get to. The not so great was the "200 section" we stayed in. It is a large oval camping area just packed with sites. The back-in sites (along the outside) are tight. I have a 23' RV with one slide-out. I was lucky to not have any adjoining neighbors during the weekend, otherwise I would have been staring at their rig (or they at mine). I mean, with my slide-out extended, my awning touched the next site when it was out. I practically didn't fit. We asked about a more private/wooded site and was told those are mostly reserved for "monthly/Seasonal" folks. There are a huge amount of "full timers". They say they are strict with speed limits, but not with the brigades of golf carts. Those people flew around like they owned the place. A bit of a pun because I had a feeling a large amount of family/family friends actually do stay there. All in all it was a nice place. Lots for kids to do, 4 pools, one of which is an indoor heated pool. If we could camp in a nice wooded site we would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
We reserved a week stay based on the website and conversation with staff. The site we reserved didn't even come close to fitting out 43 ft RV. After stressing to the staff the size, they assured us we would fit. It was late afternoon on our arrival. Not one person in office and no one answered the phone to let them know we couldn't fit. Finally found someone in rec hall and explained we need a different site. They said that we should fit and told the staff we had a truck pulling RV and couldn't swing turns. She said, well you didn't tell us you were in a truck. Hmmmm, 43 ft 5th wheel gets pulled how?? We left early in our stay. The campground was littered with garbage and pet "mess" was everywhere. There are mostly full time residents with old trailers covered in tarps and sites were unkempt. The horse and goat area was small and not much to look at. They did have a very nice indoor heated pool that abuts the rec hall. It is very unlikely we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
The Friendly Beaver campground we experienced didn't come close to the high ratings shown in some directories. In our opinion the campground allows seasonal sites to become trashy. We took photos showing cluttered, permanent campsites that look like dumps and storage for old, deteriorating equipment. There is no appeal in camping in that environment. They moved us to another site at our request but made fun of us for not wanting to stay "in the woods". We love the woods and normally prefer wooded, secluded camping. This is nothing but a trailer park in the woods with golf carts racing by every few minutes. The only great thing about this campground is its indoor heated pool but even that can't bring us back ever again. This campground's club affiliation should be questioned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
Great place, very clean and more than one pool! Had activities all weekend long everything was very organized. I will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
I am surprised by the reviews. We camp here a few weekends for the past 4 years now with 5 kids and a dog. The kids love it here. They visit and feed the goats, enjoy the nicely shaded paths to bike on and all the kids activities. We have always found a lot for the kids to do, especially on the Memorial Day and Columbus Day weekends. (Golf cart rodeo with kids bike olympics, or Halloween are ones that we love best.) There are usually kid games (carnival), crafts (cute small things), pinatas (homemade Frankenstein head on Halloween weekend), tye dye and wagon rides (with loud kid music I hate!). I don't recall trashy seasonal sites, most looked ok to me. Owners have aways been friendly and accommodating. Seasonals are friendly too. Camp store is reasonable with good treats for kids. We love the clean indoor and outdoor pools especially in early and late season. We camp in the 200's: it is a little close but a lot of fun. No sewer here, but pump outs are cheap enough. Game room may need updating, but we don't come here to play video games. Bathrooms are ok, showers have good pressure and pretty clean. It is a fun, clean, family friendly place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
A real JEWEL in a secluded area in southern New Hampshire. We stayed in an area with site numbers 200 through 235 which is flat with well planned sites, some trees just enough to give some shade, and an easy walk to the great swimming pool. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My AT&T Cell phone service was available with 1 bar in a couple of locations in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Not the worst place I have ever seen, but the praise stops there. Lots of seasonals and some of the roads can be tricky. Most site were deep enough, but very narrow, almost too narrow for a fire pit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
We read the reviews, good and bad, and wanted to judge for ourselves and we'd have to side with the poorer ratings. The seasonal sites were really run down and cobbled together. The site we were directed to was basically an open field surrounded by a small stream. I did see some really nice wooded sites that would have been great instead of the plain field but weren't offered and weren't used. No sewer hookup for any of these sites. For an overnight stay, it would be fine, but for us it didn't work. The kids were bored (game room was a joke), and the scenery wasn't nice enough to walk around. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Some really nice improvements underway. Great swimming pools. Lots of activities for the kids and a nice playground. What really hurts this campground is the horrible condition and impression left by the substantial number of seasonals. Crap everywhere. We went with a group so we had a great time. I would be more likely to go back if they cleaned up some of these seasonal sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is a cross between a carnival, refugee camp, and a Grapes of Wrath hobo town. All of the RV sites are "seasonal" except for about 20. It appears many campers come and stay. With the downturn in the economy, and with this as a year round campground, quite a few families have moved in permanently. This campground is about 35 minutes West of Manchester, and down a remote country road, and then a dirt road that ends in a trash heap next to the office. Wi-fi is at the office and community center. There is an indoor and outdoor pool which looked okay. Roads are gravel and pads are gravel. Access to some sites is limited due to trees. Very noisy and smokey on the weekends with kids everywhere. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
My husband and I choose this campground to stay in as a "seasonal". We were not impressed with the upkeep of this campground. With all of the money that this campground is taking in, one would think that it should be in better shape. The area that we are in is actually a nice area. For the most part, it is clean. However, the closer you get to the front entrance, it looks dirty and rundown. We have noticed that MOST of the "other" seasonal sites are very trashy and overcrowded with "junk". The owners/staff don't enforce most of their rules... This is a joke! Speeding golf carts, smokey buildings and very rude people! When my yearly contract is done, we are going elsewhere! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
My family and I stayed here on Labor Day weekend. We found it to be a pretty good campground. They had Halloween weekend and alot of activities for the kids. My son liked the trick or treating. The pools were great. I saw them clean and test them every morning. I did not go to the haunted house but heard it was really good and scary. It did have a long wait though. We did like the fact nobody told us to put our fires out by a certain time. Also for the amount of people that were camping it was very quiet. The roads could use some leveling. We stayed on site 220 and found the sites to be very close with really no privacy. I do not recommend staying at site 16 (as my friends did) due to the horses right next door: the noise from all the people going to the store, wagon rides and the amount of dust from the constant traffic of vehicle and golf carts. It was a pretty bad site for someone that wants some quiet time. I did find all the sites around to be very close to each other and the golf carts do go little fast (seasonals and staff). Overall I found this campground to be good, just wish the sites were bigger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This campground was a huge disappointment. We had researched this campground prior to arrival. However, it was not at all like what was advertised. In fact, we didn't even end up staying. The campground is dirty and run down; seasonals are poorly maintained. The sites were way too close together and there were golf carts everywhere. Although we did get our money back, we had to explain ourselves to a very rude staff member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We choose this campground based on the extensive advertising in Woodall's. What a big mistake!! First it started with the potholed dirt road we had to travel down to reach the campground and then the same condition of road continued throughout the campground. There were several permanent residents with extremely old trailers with makeshift porches and shelters. Our attempt to use the indoor heated pool was deterred as the pool was closed. We felt the $38 rate was rather high since it didn't include sewer, cable or Wi-Fi - just water and electric. One good point was that the sites were level. I would never camp here again, nor recommend this campground to a friend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
We have been wanting to check this place out for a very long time, because of the bad reviews some left we didnt do it and finally did decided to go. Put it this way, we were supposed to stay for 10 days, and after the first night we decided to go seasonal. There are tons of activites for the kids and adults as well. Smoking is only allowed in the ADULT REC HALL. There are smokers there, just like anywhere else, but the only place that smoking is allowed is in the adult rec hall. This campground is huge, theres alot of seasonals, tons of children and alot of golf carts but its the same at alot of other campgrounds. For the amount of people that camp here, its very quiet at night, and I didnt see one person driving a golf cart who was drunk. Everyone is friendly and they always pass by and say HI. If theres a problem and it gets reported it gets taken care of right away. Theres nothing bad to say about this place at all! If you enjoy family camping and want your kids to have fun, this is the place to go. Dont let the other reviews get to you. We hope to stay here for a long time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
If you don't smoke DON'T GO!! You walk into the recreation room and you can't breathe! If you don't like dealing with alcoholics, then don't go. So many drunk people driving around golf carts. Campground is too big for the amount of pools they have. The workers are very rude and nasty. The positive: you don't have to pay extra for the activities but if you want safety for your children don't take them here unless you want them to possibly get hit by a drunken golf cart driver. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
First let me say I read all the reviews before going and was very skeptical. I even wrote to the owner before going requesting my money back and boy am I glad I did not get it. We loved this campground and plan on going next year at the same time. Let me talk about some of the critics in the following postings. First of all the people were so friendly, yes even the seasonal people everyone you pass will say hi. We even had one couple driving around offering drinks to people that is the kind of people that camp here. The indoor pool was beautiful there were no rust spots and the place was clean and the pool was warm no smoking in the indoor pool. The camp store was also smoke free. I did see people smoking and wont deny it but at no time did it seem too much and I hate smoke. They had so many activities and they had the best haunted house I have ever been to and it was free. The only thing we had to pay for the whole time was a dance they put on and that was well worth it they had a professional DJ which is most likely the cause for the admission. I would recommend this camp ground to anyone but do yourself a favor go with the attitude you would want someone to come to your place with an open one. We had one small thing come up with loud people across from us (they were seasonals) and it was taken care of quickly and respectfully. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
The staff and seasonals were very rude and the campground looks like sanford and son.The indoor pool was getting moldy and my son got a screw in his foot on the deep end because there was no drain pipe covers. The golf carts are crazy and they tell the kids to slow down on there bikes. Would not refer to anyone. The seasonals called us weekenders. It's a white trash trailer park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
If you do not like smoke, look elsewhere. You need to pay attention to find the campground. There is a sharp, steep climb off Route 13. Rough, gravel access driveway, leaving you in the middle of a parking area to check in. Cigarette smoke filled the check in desk, store and has contaminated everything inside, although the store was well stocked. Our site, 204, was at the low end of a field and was very muddy. There were 4 pools and many scheduled activities for kids. The facilities were average to below average in terms of cleanliness and upkeep. The campground had a distinct hill-billie atmosphere from the mud covered golf carts driven by smoking, beer drinking adults, to the crowds of unsupervised children running around. Not a campground I would recommend for a weekend getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
This place should be renamed "Smokers Paradise." I am surprised that they don't hand out a carton at check-in. I was disappointed in the size of the site (200 section). If you like to be drunk by noon, drive a golf cart like a maniac, and chain smoke (all at the same time) this is the place for you! On the good side, I did appreciate the late check-out policy that is available on Sundays. I thought the outdoor pool area was very nice. The indoor pool needed a little attention, and some enforcement of the no-smoking policy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
The pools were nice. My kids loved the wooden playgrounds. However, the place was loaded with wild teenagers that were not acting very nice (swearing, touching and kissing each other, rude behavior in general). The biggest problem was the golf carts zooming around with drunk drivers. My kids lives were in danger. The tent area where they put us, was a big mess-you couldn't tell where one site started and where one ended. Also, the tenters were drunk the entire weekend. Staff did not care. Everyone smoked and my daughter really enjoyed playing in all the cigarette buts. All of the areas smelled of smoke. The office staff, were not friendly beavers. I really did not fit in since we don't sport tattoos or drink from sun up to sunset. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
I agree, and second all the previous reviewers, except the person who thinks these bad reviews are from former campers who don't want to play by the rules, or were troublemakers. My review, again, smoke and more smoke. The seasonals I ran into were disorderly drunks that seemed "above the law" of the campground. We were witness to the fast drunken golf cart driving, and had the unpleasantness to be four sites away from a seasonal who had an all night loud party with what seems like all the rest of the seasonals. We even had some drunk get sick in front of our site about 1:30 AM, and his drunk wife/partner trying to get him home. We went once, and will never return. Not For Children. Campers Beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
We made late reservations to go camping on Memorial Day weekend with another family, and were only able to get a full-hook up site even though we were tenting. There was a $10 per night add-on fee for the holiday, plus $4 per night for third child. The site was very uneven and not really suitable for a tent, would have needed a good raking/shovelling to get an area set up for the tent, but we did not bother. Ended up with most of us at one end of the tent by morning so it must have been sloped more than it looked. Staff was trying to keep the bathrooms clean, but it was an uphill battle with the number of campers using them and the soil type in the campground. Bathrooms in our area were individual bathrooms with shower, toilet and sink, very modern and lots of hot water. Plenty of activities for the kids, three pools including an indoor pool, decent rec room, brook for the kids to explore. Lots of seasonal campers and golf carts, and lots of smoke. Not much to do in the area. Roads are unpaved and crowded, some sites are in a field, others wooded. Some of the wooded sites looked like they would be difficult to get a trailer into. There were some large seasonal trailers in the CG, no clue how they navigated the roads to get them in. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
We drove through this CG to check things out before committing to a spending any time here. It reminded me of the projects. Enough said, camped elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
Well reading the reviews we should have known not to go to this camp. But we decided to give them a try because everyone has a bad season. Well I wish we would have just stayed home. Where should I begin? SMOKE SMOKE SMOKE is everywhere filled ashtrays in the indoor pool and even the store where ever you look you saw one. I was so grossed out to be in the store and where you can prepare food there was an filled ashtray and when I checked out the cashier was smoking. I always thought that it was against the law to smoke in buildings. The playgrounds need LOTS of work. Most of the equipment was broken and there was trash in the playground. The Pools. Well the outside pools looked great but again the inside pool was filled with smoke. I didn't have any problems with the seasonal campers they all seemed very nice to me but when we went for a walk through the camp there was so many broken down campers that should be at the dump but they were at sites and it looked like NO one was there or would be there. They need to either trash the campers or make a storage place for them. The sites were very small; they put a site where ever then they fix them. Another thing that I hated was the trash all over the ground. The employee's also need to learn how to be people friendly. We were told that they would do a second wagon ride if there was people waiting. Well when the wagon ride came back the guy told me that he was only doing one ride. When I told him we were told that they would do a second one, he was screaming with one of the workers in the store right infront of all the kids. Do you self a favor and just stay home. This campground needs a lot of work. I do see that they have fixed a few things but they are forgeting the rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2005
$37
My wife and I drove through this campground to see if it had potential. The only potential we saw in this place was a potential to harm the average camper. Granted it was early April, but there was junk all over the place. The office stunk of mold and cigarettes and was just as dumpy. Our decision was an easy one. No way! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$37
This campground was is the perfect example of a shanty town. The seasonal campers were rude and unfriendly. The seasonal sites (3/4 of the campground)most were garbage dumps with a dirty campers parked in the middle. There was one site that had three broken lawnmowers and 1 foot high grass. The port-o-potty needed to pumped badly. The rec hall and indoor pool smelled like a dirty ashtray. You were not allowed to open any of the windows. The hot tub is the first metered hot tub I have ever seen. Beware of the golf carts, they are everywhere. This campground has potential but is in need of an upgrade and repair of facilities. This beaver and her family will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$25
I agree somewhat with previous posts. Frist of all, if you are a non-smoker, you may not like to use the indoor pool or the rec room. (Where consequently all of the childrens arts/crafts/bingo plus adult bingo, etc. are held). It smells like any bar I have ever been to, FULL ashtrays on every table, with absolutely no fresh air being let in. Indoor Pool as well allows smoking at any time with no fresh air, and a sign stating "Leave all windows and doors shut" GROSS. I am an ex-smoker, but this really was obnoxious. The office/store is a smoking building as well. Obviously run by smokers...I would advertise this place if I were them as "caters to smokers" -- which I have nothing against but don't care for the second hand smoke especially with the kids. On a second note, my sister called to leave a message and was told "they already have two messages on the board (which was not true--there was 1) and they have not picked them up so NO you cannot leave a message" she likes to refer to this place as the "unfriendly beaver" we won't be back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$37
The above reviews sounds like some former campers who didn't want to go by the rules or were the nosey neighbors of the campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$48
Ridiculous! Meanest people I ever Met! Most unorganized, unhappy, money stealing, greediest place I've ever been. Some one should close this place down! I watched 12 trailers (Seasonal) leave. They broke their own contract! We watched them take a lot of guff from staff. We were put in a position by the owners to try to find information from them. They wanted us to pretend we were their friends and then report back to them HOLY MARGARITAVILLE! I guess they weren't fooled by us. The Dirtiest, dustiest, place I've ever been. Nice pool though. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$37
The worst run campground anywhere in the U.S. The most unhappy, unfriendly, miserable people anywhere in the U.S. Mean staff, full time campers yell at other peoples kids in the afternoon, go the wrong way down a one way road with their golf carts when the rest of us would have our carts taken away, bathrooms are filthy even the new one which was just finished is already out of order. Don't bring your teenager!!!! Bring a babysitter because you can't go to the rec hall with your children. Owner is a select man for that town and since she married into the campground, it's gone down hill!! Stay away!!! Your fun depends ON IT!!!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com