223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Twin Tamarack Family Camping & RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (603) 279-4387
CGID1796

Twin Tamarack Family Camping & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   6   8   8   5   7   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Twin Tamarack is a run down campground with shady people both working and staying at the campground. We were only there for one night on the way to Santa's Village with small children. We were put in a wetland site with swamp weeds and mosquitoes near the front of the campground. It is overrun with seasonal campers and golf carts. The store is a joke as they only have a few items and all are behind a counter as if they are afraid people will steal something. The place appears dirty and in need of repair, trash was spilling over the trash bins and people working were unfriendly in the office. Didn't see a single smile from workers or patrons while we were there. We have stayed at many high quality and highly rated campgrounds and this was a very big disappointment. Mostly older clientele and few kids. I don't suggest that anyone stays here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Well laid out park with gravel roads and sites that are cut into the forest to give loads of privacy all around. WiFi is limited to sites fairly close to office. Good WiFi, good Verizon signal, well-kept campground with nice family feel. Very friendly on-site owners and staff. Pool was a little too green. Lake beach across the road was a nice plus. Nice walking roads around and near the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
We stayed here for a week to go to the NASCAR race in Loudon. It was a 'rustic' campground. Very few 50 amp sites so we had to settle for a 30 amp site. The electricity was not all that great as the voltage would get too low and trip my surge protector all the time, specially late afternoon when people got home from their daily outings and turned on their A/C units. Sister-in-law came and were told that the site they had did not have cable although they had asked for it, so she piggy-backed on ours. It was a quiet campground for the number of children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
It was Bike Week and several other campgrounds were full or charging 2x regular rate. Here they at least waited until the actual week of the races to up the price. Park is rustic with dirt roads and numerous speed bumps built in. Sites are good size and some have shade, others more open, with several in groupings so several friends could camp close together. Bathhouses conveniently placed though some walking may be involved. Getting to the pool can be a bit far for older adults or small kids if at the back of the campground. Playground looked nice and is near camp office and pool. Hot tub was delightful and is in gazebo with screening so no bugs. However, water was "murkey", they may need to monitor more closely. Campground is on both sides of the road, so your GPS may misdirect. We had to call to get better directions. The signage out front is partially obscured by trees and we were told it's on state land so they have to trust the state to trim; they can't. Owners were very nice and helpful; this would be a delightful spot to spend a week or so in the Lakes Region as it is highly accessible from the Interstate (but not so close as to hear it) and you have ready access to mountains, lakes, outlet stores, and many other places. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
The sites at Twin Tamarack were wooded but very narrow and somewhat close together. We had site 127 and we had to back up a hill to get into the site. The sewer connection was at the top of the site, on an incline and made emptying the tanks very difficult. I did not want to raise my trailer to compensate for the uphill stream. It is very well located to all of the Lakes Region attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A very dog friendly campground, we have three labs. Predominately seasonal campsites however the seasonal campers were very friendly as well. Roads were very open and clear, easy to navigate with a trailer in tow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
The park was basic, but we enjoyed. Needs some updating. The pool was good. Swimming in the lake was across a major street and very small. Not much else to do with the kids. Close to 93 and also Weirs area. We would return, but know that it is basic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Lot of seasonal sites. A small stream and marshy area bordered our site, which seemed to encourage mosquitos. Power and wi-fi were great! Some sites were larger than others. Campground is convenient to tourist attractions. Grass needed cutting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
We camped here last summer and our family had a lot of fun!! It is just minutes away from Weris Beach. There were different varieties of sites none were that great. The owners weren't exactly the friendliest but overall it was a great camp in Lakes Region. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
The campground was ok, my site had a lot of wet land around it which made a lot of mosquitos. The lake is across a busy road. Would return if they organized there site better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
A Good Clean facility, great friendly staff, well organized and easy to get to. Not sure what previous reviewers are talking about. All the staff we encountered were fun and happy accommodating people. The not-quite-so-good: The sites are too crammed in there for our liking. The site we had was 6 feet from the next trailer, (with awning down), and we were snugged up tight on the other side of the site. The whole row was like that, so we looked at (and smelled) the septic hook up from the trailer in the next site all weekend, (8 feet from our picnic table) as did the people behind us had the same view of ours. It was kind of like camping at the drive-in. As usual, when we go to a new campground, we walk around and mark the "desirable" sites on the map for the next visit. Very nice campground, but we didn't find too many sites we would call "secluded", but there are some nice ones. Another draw back is the lake, it is quite the walk, depending on where your site is, across a busy road, not fun with young ones. You can drive, but then you get the car wet and sandy on the way back . The Not so good, I was kind of set back by, their "no Motorcycle policy". I don't have, or ever had a motorcycle, but I found this policy to be grossly and unjustly prejudiced. Their justification is "because of the amount of children in the campground, no motorcycles are allowed" ??? I don't get that. Motorcycles are recognized by the government as "road worthy", the speed limit is the speed limit, and in my opinion, a 3 foot wide motorcycle with no blind spots has a much better chance of seeing and avoiding a child running in the road than a 6 foot wide Car, or Truck pulling a trailer. I personally, (God forbid), would rather see a child hit by a 1000 pound motorcycle than a 5000 pound car/truck (my truck weighs 7,800 lbs.). If I was a biker, I would be highly insulted. So to sum it up, again, nice people, clean facility, I would highly recommend this place, if you don't go camping on your motorcycle, and all your looking for is a clean place with a pool to bring your trailer or tent, (perhaps on "Race week") .But if you want a true camping experience, listen to music or talk at a normal volume after 10pm, without constantly telling your kids/dog to "keep it down", because the couple 20' away are trying to get some rest, you may want to go there first and pick your site, or go somewhere else. All just my opinion, camping is what you make it. I would not go back, but only because we prefer bigger more secluded sites. Not because of the staff or facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
The pool was open but a little green. The lake is across a very busy highway. We drove over and parked in the boat launch area. We did swim in the lake. The beach is small but the lake water is clear and sparkling. In the Summer I can see it being crowded. They have boat rentals also. The owners were quite friendly to us. They did stress driving 5 mph in the campground and their no barking pet policy when we checked in but did not see them patroling at all. It was off-season so the campground wasn't even half full. The campground hosts did have a yippy barking dog that was left unattended though. The hot tub was nice. You have to get the owners to open it every time you use it though. The office/rec hall was large. They have several couches, a big screen TV, internet booths, pingpong, several video games, puzzles and board games to keep campers of all ages busy. Playground was large. Campstore was well stocked. We forgot spaghetti and the owner couldn't find any in the store at first. She was going to get some out of her own home. But she eventually found some. She went above and beyond to help. We will definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$34
Stayed here both NASCAR race weekends at NH International Speedway. This campground is about 20 minuted north from the track. The campground is also about 15-20 minutes from the Weirs Beach recreation area. The staff was very friendly. While we did not go swimming, the pool appeared to be very clean. There is lake access to this campground but it is across a very busy street. This campground has both flush toilets and a few outhouse toilets through the campground. The flush toilets and showers were very clean. I will be going back tp Twin Tamarack again for the 2004 races. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$34
Have visited many campgrounds in our 22 yrs of camping and enjoy this campground very much. The family that runs it are very socialable and try to make it a happy experience. From the comments received it looks like those people haven't visited many other campgrounds. Everyone has different rules and regulations to abide by. They have someone in the park who watches their children and yes their son is allowed to ride his bike around the campground with his friends but their daughter DOES NOT run free, she is watched at all times!!!! Where are your kids and who is watching them? They are just trying to make it a pleasant experience for everyone and need a break. Will be there for many years to come! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$34
This is our 2nd year as seasonals at Twin Tamarack and although we cannot attest to the past owners, we will assure anyone the current owners are working hard to make their new venture a place campers could appreciate. They do welcome children of all ages, and have taylored their activities for young and old alike. People that are "just passing through" comment on the cleanliness of the bathroom/shower houses on a regular basis. We think the complaints originate from people that are not "true" campers, and want to "race" through the campground, and not adhere to "common sense" campers rules. We are there for the relaxation and the friendliness of the surroundings, and other people there to enjoy the campground, not to go to New Hampshire for the weekend and "raze cain". All in all, we are glad we found this campground when we did, and am sorry we didn't find it earlier when our son (age 19) was younger! Please come and visit for yourself. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
This campground has been unfairly rated from previous reviews. I totally disagree with former comments made. A very family oriented campground, the owners children are supervised by someone in the campground and the new owners are very kind and considerate to campers. The rules are clearly on the brochure and as far as harrassment I have not seen it at all. The comment made about unattended fires is a safety issue and a campfire should not be left unattended. We have enjoyed this campground for over ten years from the past owners to the new owners who have brought fresh life to the campground with lots of improvements all for the best. I would give this campground 2 thumbs up!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$32
This is an excellent campground for families, the new owners are working on some new improvements to make this campground even better. There were plenty of things for our kids to do and the campground was clean, safe and fun. We already have reservations for next year! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$34
The owners seem friendly when you first check in but then you begin to get all the DO NOT rules and husband rides around the park on a bicycle looking for the slightest rule violation as per his interpretation. He was abusive to several campers. Numerous campers left before they planned to because of constant harrassment from owner. Lots are not level, hard to get into because of trees and rocks, roads are dirt and hilly, so dust is a constant problem and hard to navigate big rigs up & down the hilly roads. Beach on small pond is a long walk across a very busy highway--no boats or canoes available. Ad in Trailer Life is a "joke" We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$34
Would have been adequate campground except for management. They did not give out rules of the campground - had them on a little tiny piece of paper on wall behind a bunch of other stuff on wall. They had two small children (two and four approximately) who were allowed to roam at will on bicycles (with training wheels) and cross the street alone to go to the playground. The owners very seldom checked on these children but were quick to get on their bicycle and yell at people for "not watching out for children", going too fast, etc. Campfires were allowed - but you if you went inside to get marshmallows or a drink, the management would knock on your door and tell you to put the fire out because it was not to be left unattended. Had several more confrontations which made stay extremely unpleasant. So much so, in fact, that we left early and did not even try to get a refund - didn't want to have to talk to owners any more. Claims they have water front - which they do - but you have to walk about 1 mile to get to it and cross busy highway. No parking at swim site. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
1999
$34
We had stayed in this campground on two occasions app. 1997, 1999. Both times were a big disappointment. Seemed that the rules were made up as they went along. They were rude to us on two occasions and when they found we were in the right there was never an apology. This is not a family oriented or friendly campground. The swimming area is on the other side of a very busy highway. I will say the sites are a nice size and spaced out well but it ends right there. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com