223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Saco River Camping Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (603) 356-3360
CGID1798

Saco River Camping Area

Camp Information
Sites
y146
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   8   7   7   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$47
Nice park and staff. They had nice showers that were separate for privacy. You had to pay .25 cents for 5 minutes in the shower, but you could adjust the water. They were very nice and hot water. Toilets were narrow and small, but nice. Park was very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
Very nice that if you are traveling with another unit, the pull through sites are so that you are facing each other. Good cable, slow and sketchy Wi-Fi, mostly sand in pull throughs. Back in sites have more grass. Nice access to Saco River and very convenient to downtown and all the mountain sights and trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
This is a good campground close to Traffic on Rt. 16 is heavy but the campground is off the road and backs up to the river. We had a site with very little grass and it was raining. Our site was muddy and water stood right where we stepped out of the rig. Not the best of places to be in the rain. Restrooms were in need of update but were clean. Understand you have to pay extra for the showers ??? Although we didn't need to use their showers I consider this a big negative. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
A very nice park - lots of playground area, sand volleyball, basketball court, baseball fields. The river is accessible for paddling. Some pull through sites are facing each other if you are camping with another unit. My only negative is our site was all sand, no grass for the dogs. The gate is locked from 11 pm-7 am so don't plan on being out late. Extremely friendly staff. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
A good base for exploring the area. Close to the Kancamagus Highway (hikes/waterfalls) and about an hour to the Cog Railway at Mt. Washington. Lots of shopping in area, along with lots of traffic on Rt. 16: take back roads. Campground is on the banks of the Saco River. We had a riverfront site which was very muddy when it rained. Recommend sites in 2nd or 3rd row back from river and ask for grassy surface. All sites looked level. Dated but clean bathhouse. $$ for showers, but they are strong and hot. Wi-Fi worked well. Efficient staff. Pool small, but looked nice: we didn’t use it. Tube and kayak rental available for river floats. We would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
We enjoyed our stay at Saco River. The campground could use a little spiffing up, but overall the sites are large, relatively level, and nicely maintained. The sites were dirt, not even gravel and it poured twice while we were there so the motorhome and tires were covered with mud splatters. The sites could have a little landscaping, but they were clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The river was great and the kayak rentals were $20/pp for 2-6 hours, so not too bad. The campground is located within North Conway where there are some great little shops, an outlet mall, easy access to Mt. Washington (crazy!) and a wonderful old-time railroad you can ride on. We recommend this site for anyone looking for a laid-back relaxing, outdoor place.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Right on the river! Lots of fun! A lot of families and children. Not a place for older people. Our family enjoyed it very much! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Great park. We stayed in the poolside area and it is a bit tight for big rigs. Lots aren't very long so a lot of people park their tow vehicle along side the road and that makes it almost impossible to maneuver into your space. Lots to do in the area and you are right in the middle of shopping and restaurants. We had an awesome time in the White Mountain National Forest. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Check in was done by a young lady who couldn't have cared less. Shower rooms full of mosquitoes but pretty clean. We had a level pull in site on grass. Overall feel of campground and people staying was not welcoming. I would not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$47
The only park we've been to that allows parallel parking on the river, awning side facing the water. The view and environment were excellent. Cable TV was ok, unable to get the satellite to work due to trees. Web access was fine. Lots to do in this area with the outlets very close. Excellent hiking trails nearby. We stayed in site #56. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We do a week camping vacation every summer, and this year we chose The White Mountains Region in N.H. We picked Saco River Camping Area mainly due to the location on the river and being so close to stores and restaurants. We ended up finding a gem and we couldn't have had a better experience. The grounds, restrooms, and laundry were clean and well maintained. The staff was pleasant and courteous. We also noticed the other campers respected the rules and their neighbor. Driving slow, picking up after their pets, no one walking through your campsite, well behaved kids (and pets), and lots of waves and smiles. Grounds were quiet by 11:00 every night. We had 3 kayaks and the staff bought us up the river, and we had a great trip back down to the campground. Only con I can think of was the Wi-Fi was hit or miss. After 6 days, we were having such a great time, and there was still so much we wanted to do, it was a BIG letdown to drive home. We'll be back soon for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This is a great place to stay if you are traveling/camping with children. Playground is in the center of the site area. Restrooms and laundry facilities clean and modern. For the rate we paid, we had 30 amp service with no problems at all. You can walk to the outlet malls from the campground. Many great places to eat and shop. A great place for breakfast is Peaches Restaurant, and if you haven't eaten at a Flatbreads, that is quite the pizza place! Many many wonderful hiking and biking opportunities in this area around Mt. Washington. We recommend the Mt. Washington auto road trip! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We have a 38 foot camper and the site we had was a back in, but at an angle. It was kind of tough to get into, but it was the last site available. They have nicer pull throughs and back ins. Paved roads, not sites though. Office and pool a little ways from sites, nice river. Nice park overall. Cable TV had like 60 channels. Would return if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
What a lovely campground. We had two units and had pull through sites that had us with our doors opposite each other and tons of space in between. Perfect for campers traveling together. The site was relatively level, grassy and had shade trees. We were just steps from river's edge. Camp office personnel were very friendly and helpful. The campground was walking distance to everything in town and very close to the Presidential Range and all the activities it provides. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
We stayed at this campground during the off-season. We arrived late for check-in, however, the owner was helpful in allowing us into the camp office to register even though the office was closed. The park appeared to be clean. The bathroom / shower house we used was dated a bit, but they were clean. There is a fee for showers. (I'm not a big fan of these as it usually takes a while for them to warm up and to figure out temperature-wise before getting in, hence, you 25 cents is gone fairly quickly) The main reason why we stayed here was to be very close to the Outlet malls in North Conway - which is directly across the street from the park and Storyland (20 minute drive away in Glen, NH). We would come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
Possibly one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. Staff were friendly. Great location. We had a riverside site which was very spacious. Overall very clean. The only negative comment I could make is that the office is upstairs which would be difficult if not impossible for some. However based on our interaction with staff, they would certainly do whatever they could. They also charge for pets. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Traffic in North Conway very heavy and you must fight it to get to this campground. The campground is along the river about 300 yards from main North/South street but you'd never know it. A peaceful campground along river with lots of shade. The staff and store are nice. I wanted to get propane on the way out but their access is poor. The park was about 50% full in early October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
This is our third time here. The last time I was not super happy with the bathrooms, but we gave it another shot. We got here in October and discovered that the owners had redone all of the baths and showers! There is nothing like the Conway area in fall and the campground was still holding the tractor hayrides and the staff was really nice. This was the last weekend that they were open for the year but you could not tell. Staff was happy and helpful and all the facilities were clean and up to date. I'm really looking forward to coming again!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Well maintained, big rig friendly and peaceful, located on the banks of the Saco River some sites are right on the river. Owners were present and are obviously interested in the upkeep and operation. Wi-Fi was $1/day and worked well, I personally don't have a problem with that, why should non-users subsidize my Wi-Fi use? We would stay at this campground if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
It was bad enough that this place charges $2.00 a day for our dog, and $3.00 a day for each of our teen grand-daughters, they have the gall to charge for the use of the showers. What's next, pay toilets? On the plus side, they are located next to the Saco river where you can go canoeing or tubing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Beautiful campground on the Saco River. Large facing sites which is very nice when traveling with another family. Wagon rides each night, movies for the kids, very nice clean pool. Very central campground for shopping district and close to several attractions in the area, i.e. Storyland, Mt.Washington, etc.. Stayed here for five nights. Will definitely return but will stay longer for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Overall this is a great campground. They have hay rides for the kids and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer a canoe and kayak shuttle to campers wanting to go down the Saco for a day trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This park is a classic for our family. We have camped here at least 5 times for a couple weeks each stay. The campground is very family friendly. The views are great and the river can be used calmly for swimming, relaxing etc, or take a raft downstream for more exciting time on the river. The area around the campground is great too, especially if you have kids. Theres lots of trains in the area, amusement parks, and the outlets and scenery wow. If your planning on staying in the area, make it the Saco River campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We camped in a 5th Wheel for a month. The camp was clean, well maintained and convenient to many attractions. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful providing local information (maps). We were there the last two weeks of September and the first two weeks of October for the fall foliage. The park was clean and the spaces were large. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
The park is conveniently located to all the attractions in North Conway. We (and others) had trouble getting through a few tight turns to our spots. They have too many obstacles. People were temporarily moving fire rings and dodging posts to try to back in. We were not pleased about the $2 per day pet charge especially since we were told dogs were not allowed to be left in RVs and we had to take her with us whenever we left. Some of the staff were extremely friendly--a few were rather short. WIFI was not reliable. We would look for another place if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Very well run campground. Shady and open sites available. Definitely a family campground. Lots of kids and pets. Great outlet shopping nearby. Air conditioners and electric heaters not allowed, unless arrangements are made with the manager. This information was not provided up front before we paid. It was after we located our camp site, un-hooked our rig, attached our hookups that we read all the campground rules. The air conditioner rule came as quite a surprise as we have never come across a rule prohibiting air conditioners before. We got along ok without the a/c, but it was warm enough a couple of days during our stay that we would have used it. The no air conditioner restriction brought our overall rating down 1 point. Thank goodness it wasn't July or August. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Excellent staff. The new owner who is there on site all the time was great. The location is perfect. Better than promised. Cell phones and internet work well. Grounds were clean and maintained. Lots of shopping nearby. Excellent food choices when you do not want to cook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
It has clean, level, sites with paved main road and gravel secondary roads. Mostly travel trailers, pop-ups, and tenters. It does have big rig access and it does have a large over flow area for self contained units. Staff was courteous. It is now equiped with free WiFi access (ask for access code at check-in). There is a 2 dollar a day per pet fee. This a family campground with lots of kids. There were no planned activites for the kids despite being forth of July week. However it is close to town and there are a lot of things for people to do, so this would not be much of a drawback for families. Many kids were tubing on the section of the Saco River that runs by the campground. Easy access to put in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Nice road into CG. Staff friendly at registration. A variety of sites and most were of fairly good size. Very quiet when we were there, but was told the place fills up in July/August. Close to North Conway and walking distance to shops/restaurants, but far enough off the road not to hear or see the activity of Route 16. Staff took us up river for some canoeing (rental) on short notice. Paved center road and some fairly smooth dirt roads within park good enough to bike ride. Sites very level, most with some shade. I would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$32
This is the worst campground I have ever camped in. I have been camping for over 15 years. I have never been treated with such distain in my life. The management needs to find another way to make a living, because they will soon be out of business with their poor attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$27
This is a GS park and probably the first GS park we've seen that matches the rating (6.5/8/6). The main road into the park is paved as is the center road through the park. Check-in was average and there is a card activated security gate. The water front sites are pull-thrus (sideways). The vast majority of sites are dirt and most are under trees. There are a few back ins that have a large open grassy area behind them. One major problem with this park are the perimeter roads which are dirt and narrow. Turning radius at the ends of the roads is very tight for larger units,especially if the park is busy with a lot of pop-ups and tents along the perimeter road. This results in a lot of vehicles parked close to the road. Many of the pull-thrus,if accessed by the main paved road,can be very difficult if not impossible to get out of (onto the dirt perimeter road) for larger units. This is due to the fact that the waterfront sites are directly across from them thus leaving very little room to get the whole rig out and turned in order to exit. Bad design for larger units. We had to ask the people across the road to move their vehicle so we could get our truck backed in to hook up and then we had to back out of our "pull-thru" site. The sites are mostly decent size and most appear to be level. There are many,many tent sites, most of which are along the river front. This is an extremely active park with many families and many children. There is a lot of bicycle traffic and things can be noisy at times although it is quiet at night. The pool is up near the office and is clean but could be larger for the number of users. The same is true of the laundry facilities. Showers/restrooms are average. We would look elsewhere if we returned to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
A very nice place, I would recomend this to our friends and family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com