206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Twin Mountain KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (603) 846-5559
CGID1804

Twin Mountain KOA

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   3   10   8   9   6   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Most big rig drivers will go straight for the pull-thrus in a campground, but they are not always the most desirable spots. There are two rows of 30/50amp full hookup pull-thrus in this park, some longer than others, but all are side by side shared pedestal. They are parallel to Route 115, so the road noise, especially trucks using the engine brakes, will be constant. They are mostly treed with lots of shade so getting a satellite view may be difficult. The road around these campsites is hard packed gravel and so are the sites with easy in and out. These spots would be fine for an overnight or for the driver that hates backing in. But the best campsites are at the top of the hill. A narrow gravel road past the office goes up onto a forested ledge with huge boulders. There are 5 level full hook-up back-ins that face east to a clear sky and each site is separated from the others by tall trees and huge boulders. We backed our 40ft class A with 4 slides in to the shady site 81 and got DirecTV and privacy. There was a fire pit, picnic table and room for the awning and chairs. We didn’t get any road noise up there. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and well maintained. The front office staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were nicely groomed and the staff raked each site as the RV’s left. No Sprint service in this area and the park Wi-Fi works best near the office, but gets slower and less reliable as you get further away. This park is worth the stop, even if you can’t get a spot up the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
This campground really didn't meet our expectations. While the campground was clean and friendly, we were hoping for a site that was peaceful and wooded with some sort of privacy. What we ended up with is a full hook up site that had neighbors very close on each side and a constant, frustrating road noise. Honestly, you would have no idea you were in the White Mountains by staying at this KOA. What this KOA has going for it is the fact that there are many things to visit and do within 30 minutes of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
This campground is very tight with the majority of pull-through sites being side by side hook-ups. You can reach out and touch the slide of the people next to you. Some of the staff were very unfriendly. Gravel sites were not level and not packed down. We sunk significantly. We had to back out of our pull-through site because it was so tight. We definitely would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This is one fine campground in one fine place to visit. Spend a few more days than you intend. There is plenty to keep you busy from hiking to waterfalls to tram rides and train rides. Be sure and eat a pizza at Catalano's nearby. Best for 100 miles around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Nice campground close to great hiking. Staff was nice except one workkamper who fussed at us about our parked car as soon as we got here. Small camp store, but nicely stocked. Not super nice big rig sites, but we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
This is a really nice campground. The grounds are extremely clean & well maintained and the staff could not have been friendlier, or more helpful. The pool and playground area were beautifully manicured, and inviting for just relaxing or having a full day of play. Site was level although a little tight lengthwise with our towed. Plenty of room in between campers, though. The tent sights were very private, and I thought you'd really feel like you were wilderness camping staying in one of them, as apposed to being in an RV park. Lots of pretty foliage all around. The washrooms were well located, but we didn't use them, so I cannot comment on those. We travel with our dogs, and there ample green-space to walk them. The only improvement I could suggest for this park would be to have a small fenced pet run so that the dogs could do their business off-leash. Otherwise, this KOA gets my high recommendation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$46
Not so impressed. Our GPS had real difficulty even finding the place. Road noise was annoying. Staff was less than friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This is an outstanding park in every respect. The owners are great people and are intimately involved in the daily operation of the park. Their personal level of attention is obvious. Every member of the staff is friendly and helpful and the park is meticulously maintained. The store is well-stocked with the kind of items people actually want and need. There are lots of trees to provide shade, yet there are many sites that are satellite friendly. It is a great base for exploring the White Mountains. I would go out of my way to return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Twin Mountain KOA is a great campground. Very clean restrooms and showers. Friendly staff. Located in the White Mountains in NH. If you like the outdoors this is a good base camp to set out for adventures. Sites are clean and spacious. Stores are not to close by so you do need to plan ahead. The campground store is well stocked if your in a pinch. Mount Washington is near by and worth a trip to the top. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
It was pouring rain when we got there, but was escorted to our site, and the staff member stood by to make sure we got settled in and everything worked. Our pull-through site was well laid out and convenient to the entrance and the facilities. The play ground needs a little updating, but we had fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$55
We arrived in the dark after the office closed, and the directions to our site were ready. Only 2 negatives: they could have written, "Pull straight in." Instead it appeared to be a back in site, (23) we had to turn around in the dark to get parked. Cable TV hookup was faulty so they gave us complementary firewood to make up. A nice touch, it was delivered to our site. Nice store, nice office staff, kids enjoyed pancake breakfast one morning. The campground recycles bottles/cans, picks up trash at your site. Close to our hike up Mt Martha. Last minor negative was it is close to a road: can't escape the road noise. We would camp here again for White Mountain activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Nice, scenic location which is central to many attractions. Nothing fancy but everything was functional. Energizing walk up the hill to the office which I tried to avoid. We used the toad to travel about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We don't pay too much attention to all the frills of a campground. This place had nice level sites, gravel, but hard packed. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Nice laundry (small, but adequate). Owners are on site, they were friendly and helpful. The view front your front door is awesome. We would have no problem recommending this campground/motel to anyone. Very convenient to all of the Mt. Washington area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
Tight pull through for a 42+ RV. Road noise. Great location to visit Mt. Washington. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$80
I went to this KOA specifically for their Kaboose, which is a refurbished actual train car. My son had been waiting since February for this trip! Upon getting here we noticed that the train smelled like mold. The campground obviously knew because they put in an airwick oil freshener. The rugs in it were wet, and when came back after going out, found out the place was infested with flies! The top windows of this Kaboose were covered in them! It was too late to complain that night, so we waited for the next morning, (my son carrying some in his bug catcher for proof: his idea), and we were switched to a lodge. The toilet in this lodge had great suction, but we had to push our stuff down for it to go down. (disgusting, hello!) We moved to another lodge, and that toilet didn't work at all! It was plugged the first time we used it! They brought us a plunger to undo it, and then took it with them when they left. We had to buy one for the duration of our stay. The place was in the middle of nowhere. They don't tell you the nearest grocery store is 26 miles away, and there was almost no cell reception. I had to go to Breton Woods for a signal. The very first day I complained and asked for a refund and was told there are no refunds, and told me I had to stay here or loose my money. All four hundred of it! I emailed corporate, and was told tough luck. Now that I know KOA doesn't about it's members I will never stay in one again, and neither should you! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
We are traveling across the country and have stayed at a lot of RV parks so far on our journey, many of which have been very nice. This one make our list of the top 3 so far, primarily because of the management. We hardly interacted with the people as we arrived late and our reservation (made 3 hours earlier) was on the board and the office closed when we got there. But the campground is impeccable. Bathrooms/showers are spotless, sites are pristine (they even rake the site after you leave), and the campground is well laid out. If you were far away from the showers, it would be a definite hike, but we were right there. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Good solid KOA with great access to hiking, biking and natural assets of the region which are extensive. Would advise requesting an upper level site if you are staying any more than one night. The lower level is subject to truck traffic noise starting at 4 o'clock in the morning. With that proviso we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
Has all the KOA amenities, however the sites are a little tight. Very close to a busy highway that seems to be a favourite of heavy trucks with resultant noise. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Our only real complaint with this campground was the typical KOA overpricing. In particular the cable TV charge of $3.00 a night is unjustified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
The side-by-side sites mentioned in previous review were also near the road and were a bit noisy. Great place for tents and pop-ups in the back areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Most everything was very good at this campground. The only down sides we found was that cable TV was expensive, $3+ per day and some sites were side x sides. Trash was picked up at site each day and after RVers departed, staff was out pronto to rake the site, clean out the fire pit, etc. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
We stayed from Sept. 26-Oct.7, 2006 this year and had a great time. This is a great location for fall color observing, moose watching, and a lot of local attractions such as Mt. Washington, many hiking trails, rivers/lakes, and much more. We have stayed here many times and keep coming back in late Sept. and early October. You will have to do some driving for groceries etc...but it is worth it. We saw 15 moose in the area while staying at this KOA. We saw the peak of Fall color which is too good to describe...you have to be there. I highly recommend it to anyone I know that wants to stay in this area of NH. They also added a cabin or two in the past year if you do not tent camp or have an RV. Very clean and QUIET campground. I do not think you will be disappointed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Quiet and wooded. Typical KOA, well maintained, but pricey. Because it was mostly wooded it was difficult to get our satellite to connect. Staff tried to be accommodating. WiFi available but not free and signal was weak up in our site. A nice place to stay if satellite is not an issue. Kind of an out of the way location; not close to restaurants, grocery or attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
We stayed at this KOA based on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed! We were close to everything in the White Mountains and the KOA facilities were wonderful! The natural surroundings were great and we really enjoyed the camp hosts. The restrooms and showers were updated and clean. The laundry area was also clean and stocked with information on area activities! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
One of the best campgrounds we've ever used, despite it's small size. I have a few basic requirements - clean bathhouse, clean pool, clean laundry facility, good store. This place met and exceeded these expectations. Their pool even had a 2-feet depth at the low end. I know it doesn't seem like much, but that means toddlers can touch the bottom, it was big deal for my littlest one! Bathhouse was in perfect condition, something I really, really appreciate. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Wonderful owners, very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to assist us. We arrived in the dark and the owner helped up choose our site and helped back my husband in. Well stocked store, immaculate kept bathrooms and pool and grounds. Excellent location for shopping and site seeing. Beautiful scenery and good sized sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$37
The sites on top (newest sites) are very nice, roomy, quiet -- away from road noise and closest to the newest restroom building. A lot of things to do in the area. We drove to the top of Mt. Washington, fall color was fantastic, visited friends in Maine, and were able to observe several moose on early (crisp) morning drives along likely areas. Had a great time. Owners have the grounds in great shape. We are going back again this October. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$30
This park was a small gem. The facilities were immaculate!!! The pool was small but adequate and the playground was open and spacious. Great location for sightseeing to the White Mountains and outlet shopping. The sites were a bit close but still room for double slide outs. The office/store was well-stocked and the laundry facilities were more than adequate for the number of sites. A small game-room and lounge with TV and hot coffee and cocoa rounded out the amenities. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com