223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Moose Hillock Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (603) 764-5294
CGID1806

Moose Hillock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
440
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   9   8   9   8   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
Very wooded campground and hilly, but no problem to drive thru. Sites are a good size with good space between each. No ATT cell service in area at all; wifi only available around pool area. Pool is a definite attraction. Family campground. Ice cream sundaes on Saturday night are awesome. Bears are a daily occurrence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
We found this campground to be an excellent fit for our family. The campground is clean, the sites are private, and the pool is fun and refreshing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Very Very large campground. Bathrooms showed the amount of people using them. Showers are pay and tiny. Super large sites. great pool and playground. Wifi is limited to a small area by the pool so I don't consider this "Wifi" as I want it at my site. the biggest problem I have with this CG is the 118 coming into it is horrible. Very remote and out of the way. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$55
While we've only visited about 5 campgrounds as we are new campers, this is our favorite. Why? It has large sites and large firepits! We've been to Moose Hillock twice; first in Oct, 2012 when the pool was shut down; second in June 2013 when we were all by ourselves in the back half of the campground. It was awesome having no one around us as you truly felt you were backwoods camping. The pool is a big draw to this place as it's has pirate ship with slides and is heated. The June 2013 trip saw a lot of rain the previous night really taking down the pool temps. This place is also very large so that kids can bike everywhere. Also, the rules on their site look strict with alcohol, but make sure you have your Red Solo Cups and you'll be fine. Don't walk around with beer cans in hand. We have not gone in peak July and August time frames as we've heard the place will be 100% capacity and the pool is quite full. So, this is our resident favorite that we will stick with in off peak season. They are opening up a NY/Lake George area location in Spring 2014, and we will definitely go try that one out as they told us they are building it the same with large sites and large firepits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
Ok so lets start with the negatives. Bathroom are out dated and are not cleaned as often as they should be. Fishing pond yielded zero fish. Did not see a big presence of staff doing maintenance and other type roles around campground. On the positive side: the pool was awesome. The pirate ship and slides was enjoyed by all ages. Campsites are large and spaced out nicely. Beautiful part of NH. Would go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$60
The reason that I didn't give this place a 10 is because it could use some more activities. They only had them on Wednesday & Saturday. The camp sites are huge and private with the largest natural fire pits I've ever seen. Our back rock was 6 feet high and I saw others that over 8 feet high! The had a great snack bar that was actually a small restaurant right at the swimming pool. The swimming pool was huge with a gigantic pirate ship that had water canons a small water slide a larger water slide. The have a very well stocked store with friendly employees. The kids spent hours and hours at the fishing pond. They also have excellent hiking trails with a natural swimming hole. Some of these trails go right into the White Mountain National Forest! We camped in a Hybrid Trailer and a large tent. Three adults and 4 kids 2 1/2 - 6 years of age and they kept us busy! This place is not the cheapest, but it was worth every penny. We can't wait to go again!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
. Overall we would give the campground an 8.5 rating. We would definitely plan on camping there again next year. The campsites were large, private and well maintained. We even had a few little chipmunks and red squirrels keeping us company all week. The natural rock fire pit was a nice touch. The bathrooms were clean. Showers were pay ($0.25) and the time was a little short. The pool was fantastic. The kids ages 16 to 4 all could not get enough of it. The two water slides were fun for all ages. Great mix of music played at the pool as well. Pool side cafe was a nice to have, when you wanted to take a break get an ice-cream, drink or grab lunch with out having to go back to your site. A little pricey but to be expected. Camp store was well stocked and had lots of souvenirs. There was a huge playground which my 4 year old thought was the best thing ever. Large play structures including a hip, train, slides etc, also well maintained. We never got to the fishing pond or any of the other available amenities such as the basketball court, volleyball, horseshoe pits, and biking and hiking trails. Kids just did not want to get out of the pool. Do wish their were more activities during the week. They did have an ice-cream social on Saturday and a sing-a-long with Bruce the Moose on Wed. They did have a religious undertone but did not in anyway push it on us. We were given a pamphlet and told about the church services. It is not a campground for those looking to party all night, definitely family oriented. We loved it and would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$77
We had 2 sites. One with 2 tents and one with our 35' fifth wheel and a tent. We could have easily all fit on one site! They are the largest sites we have ever found. The fireplace was amazing. They are all built into the site using existing rock ledges. The pool was just great. We were in it every day. We were camping with our 4 adult children, their significant others, and our 3 year old grandson. Everyone agreed that Moose Hillock was great. The only drawbacks we saw: There is a 30 minute or more drive to do anything over poorly maintained roads. There is NO cell service (between us we had 3 different carriers) and only one small area of the cafe that gets Wi-Fi. The bathrooms and showers smell kind of mildewy. This would be easily remedied by cleaning with bleach and putting in fans to move the air. But NONE of these things we deal breakers for us. We truly enjoyed our time there and will probably be back. We already have family members who are booked there because of the way we raved about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$71
We just returned from our stay at Moose Hillock. We have been told that this campsite is amazing: but I have to say it wasn't amazing. The campground did have some great features, but it went dull after the first day. We have two boys: 8 and 4 years old. We chose this place for the fishing pond and pool. We were told that fishing was great and stocked. That is a key feature for my 8 year old but the pond was over fished and murky. The fishing was a flop. The pool was cool and fun. The slides are a nice added touch but with the little kids it was hard to keep them out of harms way from the older pre-teens and teens. They came flying down the slides before my small one could even get out of the way. The pool was clean and warm. The campground has a cafe which was nice, but bring your credit card for everything in the cafe and store is very expensive. Bathrooms were concrete floors and they were presentable. The office staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. The sites were spacious and roomy. Between the sites looked a bit unkempt but ok. Wi-Fi signal was weak but ok. We were supposed to stay for a week but left after 3 days. We got bored. I would suggest more activities, not just on Saturdays and Wednesdays. If we were to go back it would be just for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
This is a great campground with very large sites. Our site was wonderful, we could have fit a second camper on it. The pool is real nice as well, it is large and the pirate ship and slides are great fun. They had entertainment Sat night which was nice as well as an ice cream social. This was a real joy to be at but why only an 8 and not a 10? First off the total lack of cell service was a negative, granted they do not have control here but in todays world, cell service is important. The other is the rules, rules are great but they pick and choose which ones to enforce. We were written up for a dog issue (our fault) and a noise issue after 10 PM where we were quieter than the surrounding sites but we were the ones spoken to at 10:10 about noise. In the mean time, no one follows the speed limit here and they did not seem to do anything about it as the same cars kept traveling over 5 MPH including all of the gators the employees were driving. Anyway, great place to go, just watch the rules and don't step in front of the speeding cars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
I am 42 yrs old and have been camping since in the womb. I have camped from St. John Virgin isl. to the top of Canada. I would rate this campground in the top 5 I have ever camped at. Sites were very private, nicely wooded, flat for the most part and very large. The fire pit was amazing as were most that I saw as walking around. The pool is amazing, especially for kids, as they have a pirate ship with slides. The general store and snack bar had everything. The reason for a 9 instead of a ten, although the campground was quiet by 10pm, but one night when our new neighbors got to their site around 10 to set up, they were very loud; I think a campground should have no check ins after 9, and maybe a holding area for late arrivals. Also there should be no alcohol except for on your site. I can go either way with this, seeing both good and bad behavior, but I like to have a beer or 2 while at the pool with the kids for 3 or 4 hours. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
This is the 2nd year in a row we have camped here. We love everything about it. Large sites, the waterpark is the best we have seen. Not a party campground.. great family activities. We gave it a 10 last year and a 9 this year. Only reason we did not give it another 10 was the girl that checked us in was a little rude. We were 20 minutes early. But the ride from home was 3 hours and 15 minutes. There was no traffic etc. so we made good time. She let us in.. no one had the site the night before. But scolded us for being early and warned us to leave on time. Started with a sour taste in our mouths. But the rest of the trip was fantastic! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$49
This is the second time we have stayed here. We weren't as pleased with the location of our site this time, as it was near the front where all the noise is. However, it was still a large site, which is the reason we came here again. The sites are VERY generous in size. There are plenty of activities, but I was a little disappointed they didn't do anything in the way of fireworks, and it did not appear there were any fireworks going on close by either. I love the fire pits, and the staff was very friendly. My husband and I were up quite late many nights with our campfire going and no one ever told us we had to put it out, which I really appreciated. And as usual, the pool is absolutely awesome. I will come back here again, but hopefully will be put in the back the next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$53
This is the third year we have opened our camping season at Moose Hillock. We had site 223 for the second straight year and absolutely have not found another campground with such spacious sites. Rest rooms and showers were clean. This is a dog friendly campground which is important as we have three labs. For the kids, there is the heated Pirate ship pool with slides. We used the air hockey and pool table in the rec hall. We walked around to look at the rest of the sites and found some even larger than ours. I don't mind paying more to get privacy for the weekend. I wish more campgrounds considered that. It gets a 10 again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$58
We love this place and this Memorial Day weekend was no exception. They did appear to do some site and dirt work to prep. We had site 115 and found it to be fine, less the picnic table that when we moved it the corner was rotten and broke off (thus the 9). Pool was warm, clean and fun. Kids had fun fishing and playing on the play ground which clean in and good shape. Everyone was friendly there. No golf carts allowed which we love and the rules are fair. Cannot wait to book another long weekend. They are pricy but for what you get, we don't mind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We were seasonal here for a few years. A great campground for kids, small and elementary age, great pool, pool cafe, ice cream and shows on Saturday nights. Not much to do for teens. Great tent sites at the top of the mountain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$58
This was our second stay at this campground. The sites are very large and easy to get into. Each site has a great fire pit, and most are wooded. You can hear your neighbors but are not looking into their windows. We love the pool and activities that are available to the kids. It is quite hilly in one section, and you certainly get your workout walking from you site to the pool, store, and office. The only downfall is that you need to drive down the road 7 miles to use your cell phone since they do not have cell phone service. We will definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$61
Excellent campground with the best swimming pool we've ever seen. The site was awesome, large and very private. Everyone, including the staff, was very friendly. The price was a little high given what we've paid at other comparable campgrounds but we would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
This campground is the first campground that I can say you can spend the whole day at and never get bored. The pool is like a water park in itself. Went to the ice cream social and got a heaping amount of ice cream. My only complaint would be they need more bathrooms. If you are down in the front sites that bathroom gets used a lot with the pool being right there. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
This place was outstanding! The sites were very large. The pirate ship water park and pool was alot of fun for the kids and parents. They have two waterslides that were fun for all. They have a game room, fishing pond, playground, snack bar, etc. We are not big drinkers and have been looking for family friendly parks. This park does not allow drinking anywhere other than at the campsites. They strictly enforce quiet hours. The campground was quiet for the four nights we stayed there. In our opinion this is what camping is. This park is in the woods! Lincoln NH is about 30 minutes away, so is Plymouth. Other than that, there is pretty much nothing. We were about a one hour drive from Santa's Village. We will without question return here! Out of our five trips this summer, this place was the best! Our kids: ages 7,5,3, and 14 months also had a blast! A+ all the way!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$58
Park is very nice; it is as advertised on the website. The pool was a huge hit with the kids and having the restaurant on site next to the pool is appreciated. I found the sites to be very nicely sized, level and private. We enjoyed the acvtivities as they always had something going on. One note though, when they say quiet time is at 10:00, they mean it. We were approached a couple of times by the staff who very nicely asked us to keep the noise down from the kids. Resort is fairly close to all the major White Mtn attractions Polar Caves, Whale's Tale, Clark's Trading Pos,t etc. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$61
Great place for kids with nice people. Site was big and easy to get in and out of with a 31 foot travel trailer. A little pricey but the pool makes it worth it if your kids swim. Only reason why not a 10 is price. Would and will go again Very kid friendly, no golf cars to run them over. My son caught his first fish in the stocked pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
This was our second stay on Memorial Day. We used the showers which were very clean and our site had just been landscaped. We plan on making Moose Hillock our camp season opener every year. I have yet to find a campground with as large and spacious sites as there are here. Our site was 75 feet long by 40 feet wide wide a 25 foot wooded section between the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
One of the best campgrounds in all the U.S. Sites are clean, roomy, and private. The whole place is kept spotless clean and the staff is great. Best swimming pool I have ever seen with a nice pool side cafe. An A+ campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
This campground is awesome! One of the best we've been to. It is very large, but spread out. The sites are the largest sites I have ever camped in, and they are very private, set back from the road and away from your neighbors. I cannot say enough how we enjoyed the spaciousness of our site. There are plenty of activities for the kids, and the pirate pool is just wonderful! The campground was very clean and just beautiful, and so large. My husband and I went walking every night, and I don't think we saw the whole thing! The staff was very friendly. There were plenty of trees; one night it was pouring, and we were still able to sit around our campfire because the rain did not come through the trees. Now, that's camping! We will definitely return here next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$52
Fun place for the whole family. The pirate ship is what brings us back every year. Clean playground and facilities. A must visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$53
We camped here Memorial Day weekend. Campground is very spacious and nicely wooded. We had site number 226 which is a water and electric site. The site was 80 feet long and 40 feet wide. There were no campsites behind us and our neighbors were 30 feet away with nice walking paths between the sites. There is a neat swimming pool with a pirate ship with slides. Quiet hours were a little too strictly enforced for a Saturday night. It was 10:30 and the kids and I were laughing and having a great time when a staff member asked us to quiet down. We found it a little odd. Place was very clean. There is great hiking in the area as well. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$52
The campground is wonderful in and of itself, lots to do, swimming, playground, fishing, hiking, etc. The owners/staff leave a LOT to be desired. It is their way or no way, they actually called me and my husband liars because of their mistake. They breach their contracts and don't seem to care. Just beware if you camp here. It's really a shame the owners ruin a great thing. Campers beware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is a really great campground. It is a little expensive but well worth it. Definitely take advantage of their awesome pool. It has a pirate ship/water slide in the middle of it. Kids loved it. The sites are really secluded and are the biggest I have seen at any campground. You can barely see your neighbors in some of the sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$61
I gasped at the $61/ night campground rate at Moose Hillock in Warren, NH. I mean, I have stayed at hotels that have cost less than that. So when we committed to a Memorial Day Weekend stay, I was expecting great things. We got it. Warren is a sleepy little town located about 15 miles west of Plymouth. As you pull into the campground, you are greeted by a well-maintained office and store. The office staff is friendly and clean. The store is well stocked with everything you could have possibly forgotten. When you come around the corner, you are greeted by the pool. The reason you pay $61/ night. It is a big Lagoon pool, supposedly designed by the Disney folks. A sunken pirate ship shoots off water cannons and has a waterslide. The pool is huge and can accommodate a TON of people. Hundreds of well-maintained beach chairs line the pool. The sites are big, level, clean, and private. There is enough shade to keep you cool and enough sun to keep you warm. Our fire pit was big with a huge boulder on the backside to throw off heat. Bathrooms were clean with individual private showers. They are pay showers, which is my only complaint about the campground. A $61 campsite should come with free showers. And, for a pay shower, the water was lukewarm and more like a dribble or spray bottle, depending on the bathhouse you used. Other recreation included a huge playground, basketball court, catch-and-release pond, and access to White Mountain bike and hike trails. There was also a trail along the river with small waterfalls and natural pools. The campground enforces quiet hours, and we were surprised at how quiet it really did become at 10 pm. The pool, big sites, clean restrooms, and access to nature make this campground absolutely worth every penny. Midweek rates and post-Labor Day rates are a little more reasonable. Be warned, however: this is not a campground that you go to for peace, quiet, and solitude. This is a place designed for families with children: there are kids everywhere! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$62
Very nice campground. Sites are very large. Getting into most sites is easy. The site we were on, there was a gully right across the road that made it very hard to turn in with our 30' trailer. Some of the sites are up very steep hills. Seasonals are in separate areas. Pool is great, the boys really liked it. WiFi is centered around the office, with spotty reception. Cell phone reception is non-existent. We were told to drive 20 miles in one direction or 6 miles into the other to get a cell phone signal. Staff is very nice. We are planning on going back, just a different site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$52
Our 1st time at the campground. Check-in went smooth. Campground is wooded rustic dirt road dirt sites. We weren't impressed with the looks of the new 50amp sites. Couldn't quite tell you exactly why they just looked weedy. We drove by these sites on the way to ours. Our site was the best site we've had, it was huge, fairly level, wooded, and very private, with a large bolder fire place. Behind our site was a rock bedded river flowing nicely with some nice natual water holes, cascades and crystal clear water. It was awesome listening to the river cascade over the rocks all night long. All the sites in our area were larger than average. We took a walk over the river to a larger section of the campground and all sites looked fairly large and roomy. Seasonal sites were done quite tastefully. Pool is enormous and very clean with a great pirate ship water slide that was a blast. Nice little store and restaurant. Owners are a bit strict on quiet time which is a little bit early (10pm) for my liking. I prefer 11:00. Restrooms were all clean and well maintained campground appeared to be in good shape and well maintained. Staff was friendly. We will definitely be making this a regular yearly stop hopefully a few stays a year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$61
We stayed here for three days last year and was given a nice site: thus last year, we gave it a nice review. This year we had our new 5th wheel and were given the campsite from hell. The road was terrible, full of pot holes, backing our small 24 foot 5th wheel up was quite a job: and I am fairly skilled at backing up. We almost hit the bed of our truck MANY times as we were heading to our campsite. The internet service was the worst we had on our whole trip. I would recommend that if you have a 5th wheel (of any size), or a motorhome that you ask for a site close to the office / pool area. They seem to be better in this area. We will likely never stay here again, because of this last visit, nor will we recommend it, like we have in the past. We are quite disappointed: in the internet service, the quality of the roads and the over all appearance of the campground this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
I camped out in a tent with my five children ages 8-16 and we all decided that we would definitely be returning to camp here again next year. SITES: We stayed midweek and were able to choose between several tent sites. While most sites were rather close together and many were on the small side all had a very hard dirt area to set up camp. (Sites 301-30,50, 53,57-59, 224-225 were our definite NO's and 51, 54, 55 were OK and 49, 52, 56, and 310 were quite nice. Note* Access to 310 can be tricky as it is VERY rough with large roots and rocks) Also, all sites have great natural rock fire rings- make sure to bring your own grate/grill though if you'd like to cook over them! I sent my troops to the adjacent woods (allowable by park mgmt) and they collected more than enough downed branches and logs to keep our campfire going until 11:30pm when it's time for everyone in the camp to douse their fires and get to bed. PETS: While it's great to see responsible pet owners, and the majority of them here were, in 3 days we encountered numerous doggie doos on our walks to the bathroom and recreation sites. It was also hard to ignore the two dogs (separate sites) that had been left alone in their sites to bark for 45+ minutes. The latter was at about 7:15 am. Sigh. POOL: The pool and its slides were definitely the highlight of our trip and we spent countless hours here. While there is a small corner that is 5 1/2 feet deep, most of the pool is a comfortable 3- 3 1/2 feet deep. There is no lifeguard on duty but most of the children we encountered had parents present and MOST of them adhered to the safety rules. The larger water slide is quite long, it takes 5-6 seconds to travel from top to bottom, and children are supposed to go down it singly and they are NOT supposed to climb back up into the slide at the bottom. After the 4th or 5th time my smaller children were landed on and/or collided with a child that had ventured back up the tube I figured it was alright to point out the rules to other people's children! THE FOOD: The Poolside Cafe offered a decent variety of very reasonable meals for both breakfast and lunch/dinner. Favorites were the french toast & homefries, chicken strips, potato salad, chicken deluxe sandwiches and french fries. Unfortunately, the veggie omelet and the pizza were very disappointing and the coleslaw (a "required" side item on meals) was practically inedible. Also, sundaes were great and slurpees were a no-thanks as they were mostly ice and servings were very small. FISHING POND: Sorry to say, but this "stocked" pond was very dismal looking and while my avid fisherkids tried for hours with a variety of bait they never even got a nibble. A bit disappointing, but they consoled themselves by spending more time at the pool! RECREATION HALL: While this dimly lit hall with its pool tables (2), air hockey (2) and video/pinball games (6 working) called to my teenagers- our rule is that unless it's raining we stay unplugged while we're camping. VOLLEYBALL-BASKETBALL PAVILION: The full-size double court always had many multi-aged groups of kids playing friendly games and the volleyball net was big enough for a full game. PLAYGROUND: The structures are very inviting to younger children and the chipped wood grounds make it very safe. Quite nice. THE CAMP STORE: The store is well-staffed with "friendlies" and there is a fairly extensive offering of last minute forgotten but necessary camp items. As expected, the mark up is pretty high (ex. $2.25 for a small bag of marshmallows and $4 for low-quality hot dogs) so while there isn't a large grocery store around there is a small corner store deli about 5-10 minutes away in Warren where we did our food shopping. RESTROOMS & SHOWERS: The restrooms were OK, small but usually pretty clean. The showers, bring quarters, were coffin sized and by 8:30am the hot water was unavailable (I'm assuming that there was some before then...). Sorry, we weren't around for any of the live entertainment or weekend activities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Visit this campground every year. Always considered it our favorite in the past. Now I'm not so sure. The service personnel are just great, always have been. But the upkeep of the facilities seem to be lacking. 4 days and 2 cold showers, no hot water? Even after complaining no change. Minor complaint, but previously I never had any complaints...Oh, WIFI by the pool was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$61
Great place with a fantastic pool for the kids, and adults. Very peaceful with plenty of space between sites. Most sites are separated by woods and dirt hills which gives you plenty of privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
Moose Hillock is everything we love about camping, private wooded sites, activities for the children, endless local attractions and a swimming pool the children won't soon forget. The only complaint we had was the speed in which people and staff travel through the campground makes it very dangerous for the children riding bikes. We stayed in site 35, it was very close to the pool and the front gate which may have been part of the reason for the excessive speed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
We cannot say enough good things about our experience camping here. The pool is amazing, the staff is friendly and the grounds/sites are very clean. Our site was a w/e/s/ctv site close to the pool and so large that we could have fit another trailer on it at the same time! There was a free magic show for the kids one night we were there. We will be camping there again next season! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
The best campground I have ever stayed at. Friendly people, great staff, a christening atmosphere. I will make this a regular part of our vacation each year. My kids loved it here. And we will love it more in our new to us 5th wheel. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Our favorite campground! We have been going for over 5 years now. The largest and best swimming pool in New England! The kids absolutely love this place! Near Conway, the White Mts, many other nice places. The food at their pool cafe is very good! Great breakfast! The owner and crew are simply fantastic. This year we left early as did many others, it simply wouldn't stop raining, for days, too bad, cause again this is our favorite place! Maybe we'll just have to go back again later this summer! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
The campground is great. The kids had a great time in the pool. I would have to say its one of the best around. Everyone was friendly and we will be booking a week here, every year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
This campground was excellent: the pool was the highlight of this campground. The lake was also great to fish in, we caught a bunch of little fish. It rained almost the whole time but it did not stop us from having a good time. The only draw backs were the bears trying to get into the dumpsters every night, and the location is pretty far from anything like a Wal-mart. I would stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
We really liked this campground. However, when I made reservations a month before, I stressed I needed to be near a bathroom. She assured me I would be but upon check-in, realized I was not. I asked her to change me and she said she could not. Even when I stressed I have a special needs child and a two year old in the middle of toilet training. I was told the policy is they cannot guarantee sites unless you stay a week or more. Ok, but when we drove around we saw so many sites available near a bathroom. She told me she positively did not have anything. With a smile on her face and very pleasant but firmly standing her ground. So I went back and spoke to the people in the store. I explained our special circumstances and they gave me a site near the handicapped bathroom with no problem. I was not happy with the girl in check-in. I felt she could have listened to me more and tried a little harder to accommodate us. I understand rules, but in this case, bend a little. The pool is great. It rained two out of three days but the kids still swam since it is heated. The pool has no shade and gets so crowded on hot days (the day we checked in) so it was better this way. It was very fun for the kids. They kept going back to it the whole time. There is no life-guard and you really have to watch your kids go down the slides. It can get a little hairy. They are very strict about people watching their kids so that was somewhat reassuring. The bathrooms and showers are clean. The handicapped shower was not working but the others did and there was no lines. The snack bar is great and prices are reasonable. The store is clean and well stocked. The rec room was fun but not too overwhelming or interesting enough that the kids wanted to go there all day. The trout pond was disappointing. No catches from anyone we met. But the kids had fun anyway. Overall it was a fun place to be. Staff in the store, not overly nice but not rude either. Everyone else, very nice and friendly. It is a great family campground. They enforce quiet hours and do not allow drinking anywhere but your site. I found the campers very family oriented and not interested in partying and ignoring their children like some other places we have gone to. They allow dogs and have many places to walk. I did not see one golf cart the entire weekend. I loved this since the last place we went to was non stop golf carts with drunks driving. We will return. It really is our type of campground. It is near fun activities in NH such as the Polar caves and Clarks. That was a plus. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
Pool is awesome. This is one of our favorites. Sites are spacious and private. Quiet (away from the pool area!)We go here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$39
While I would agree with most of the positive comments left by others, I would add that whether or not you like this campground all depends on what you are looking for. The showers were clean (but is it really necessary to charge a quarter for 3 minutes when the nightly rate is $39 and $49 on the weekends?), the staff was pretty friendly, the pool is cool, and the place is clean. There are many things to do - fish, playground, shows, the pool complex, etc., but my family just found this place too big, too crowded, too noisy, too touristy. We camp to get away, not to be surrounded by more people and noise. The steel drum Muzak at the pool got to be annoying; I was glad that our site was well away from the central pool and snack bar area. The site was large, wooded and private, which we loved, but the place was just too overdone for our taste. Young children will have a ball here and the teenagers seemed to roam in packs, but my middle-schoolers were a bit non-plussed by the activities. The magic show was great and I will say this campground has a lot going for it and will appeal to many people, but we will probably not go back simply because we like a little more peace and quiet. The owners do a good job with cleanliness and friendliness; it's just not our kind of place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
All previous reviews are correct. Campground was well maintained, staff were friendly and sites were cleverly secluded. The huge pool has a Spanish Galleon shipwreck complete with water slide, skeleton pirates and cannon water shots. Our kids wanted to spend every minute of the day there. Tropical steel band music is piped into pool/cafe area and it truly gives you the feeling you are in the tropics. The stocked pond provided the kids with successful visits each time we went fishing. The activities included a fairly decent magic show, make your own sundaes, candy bar bingo and even a chapel service. We will certainly be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Great Park 2 waterslide and great staff. Great pool. Overall great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$39
This is a very nice park. The owners and employees are exceptional. . . They are constantly working to improve this park. The pool is very very nice. The interior roads are rustic and the sites are sandy; but if you like the feel of being in the woods this is the one for you. The sites are not close to each other and pretty level. It rained every day we were there or the roads would have been better. We would not hesitate to stay again. The area is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$45
One fine campground. Most sites are copious in size and have some privacy between sites. We have camped here three times over the years. Only complaints are, lots and lots of noisy kids, and a long drive to "local" attractions. We have camped here in a tent, a pop top and: We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$49
We liked the cg. Sites were a good size with privacy. Staff were friendly. They had a large pool with waterslides for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$31
Perfect campground. We have been going here for years. The owners have continuously improved the campground without sacrificing what makes it great. Spacious, secluded sites, family activities, GREAT pool with two water-park quality slides, clean arcade, snack bar. 10PM quiet time is adhered to by families without stooping to gustapo tactics. Very clean facilities - extra friendly staff. Overall A+++ We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2003
$40
Very nice campground. You can have pets, but not in the cabins. The best part is the pool which has a waterslide and a Ship in the pool. The campground is very hilly and very big with over 400 sites. There are many nature trails and a very nice pavilion with lots of stuff to do. Has lots of fun activities. The best campground I have ever been to. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com