219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Chocorua KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (603) 323-8536
CGID1811

Chocorua KOA

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   8   8   10   8   5   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
We stayed for 4 days in August. The campground is quiet, and they have an excellent camp store with almost anything you could want and more. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only down side to this campground is that the sites are not as spacious as I like, and the roads leading through the camp ground are very very tight, not easy to maneuver with an RV or travel trailer bigger than 21 feet. I also would not swim in the lake - use the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
This campground was perfectly located to explore the many beautiful sights this area has to offer. We used it as a base for exploring the Ossipee Lake; Silver Lake;, Lake Chocorua; the Kancamgus Highway; the Swift River and Mt. Washington and the surrounding Presidential range. Check in was efficient. Our site was spacious and clean. The bathhouse, although old, was clean and the showers were hot and strong. Even though the campground was full, there was very little noise. We enjoyed the network of nature trails. Our dog loved the off leash enclosure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
We noticed the previous comment about the location on the GPS and checked the campground's website. Sure enough, for some reason their street address entered into the GPS will not bring you to the entrance, and they provide their coordinates. We found it no problem. Campfire wood delivered right to your site, numerous campground activities and great location. This was probably the quietest campground we've visited in a long time. Facilities were clean, and every staff member had a smile and a "hello". We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$71
This campground needs a sign 1/2 mile from where it is. We went right by it. Their address in our GPS took us way past the entrance. Hard to find a place to turn around to go back. The entrance is very short, needs to be longer. The site itself was excellent. It included a deck with furniture and a grill and was on the lake. The road to get out isn't good, especially with big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
Nice well kept park with friendly helpful staff. Just what we expect when using KOA campgrounds. Close to shopping and tourist areas. Cell phone and Verizon air card had very strong signal. The cable TV was a pleasant diversion on a rainy night. The only reason I did not rate a 10 is because it is a bit tight for maneuvering with a big rig. We stayed in a 37 foot RV. We got around okay but had to be very careful not to hit some of the trees that were on corners. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$68
This is a clean, very friendly KOA. We enjoyed the kids' activities, boat rentals, playground and dog park. We stayed in a prime site on the lake with easy access. We walked through the campground and would have enjoyed most all of the other sites. There are a few seasonal sites, but they are kept tidy. The staff was helpful and we will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
Nice campground with level sites. The access roads are a little tight for a big rig but are accessible. The facilities were clean and the staff was friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Campground staff was helpful, however the mixture with transient and seasonal campers made us sometimes feel unwelcomed. Sites were small and cluttered (tenters was located within 5 feet of our sewer connection); shady, but very clean; roads were narrow. Fees are charged for gate keys, Wi-Fi, and more. I would only stay here again if there were no other open campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
Overall, this is a very nice campground and would stay here again. It has a lot to do both inside and outside of the park. The sites are good sized and are shaded (forget about satellite). They do have cable, though, with lots of channels. The staff is very nice and very helpful. There are a few things that I want to point out though. 1. The roads have some tight turns to make with a 31 foot TT. The entrance is also tight. There is just not a lot of room to swing wide in order to make the turns. If you have a big set up, you can get in here but be prepared to really watch the turns in this park. This could be helped if they cut down a tree or two and shrunk down the "islands" a little bit. I find this problem a lot in all the campgrounds in New England. They just were not built for big campers. 2. For some reason, they would not issue a gate card unless you put up a $10 cash deposit. So if you come back after 5 PM you have to get out and find the gate card left for the late arrivals and then return it. 3. They do offer Wi-Fi but it is terrible. It is hit or miss and it took me about 10 minutes just to log into my bank to see my balances. If they were smart, they would dump who ever provides their service. 4. The cable TV picture is not very good. Although I am impressed by the number of channels and it's great that they offer cable at all. The picture has a lot of static and lines. I know it's not my camper as I hook up satellite all the time to my camper. I only mention those four things as constructive criticism. All in all, this is a great campground and if you are looking for a nice place, this is it. One more thing, I just want to comment on the dog park. It is a nice park but it's not the best. It has a lot of trees and a lot of tree roots which makes it hard for the dogs to run and it makes it hard to throw a ball for them. There is no grass at all. They do have some agility equipment and toys which is very nice. They also have plenty of waste bags. They also have kennels. They are just fenced cages with cement floor and no roof. No shelter either to protect from rain. Sun is not really an issue as there are a lot of trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
This campground is very wooded and semi-private directly on the Chocorua river. We had a deluxe waterfront site that came equipped with a deck and grill-though we could not get the grill to work. No problem, we carry our own Coleman stove. It is a sort of quiet campground with some children's activities but the amenities are on the light side with only one medium sized pool and small playground. The grounds are dirt, rock, and pine needle covered. No grassy sites are available. The sites are fairly large and shaded but a slightly boring campground. Certainly more of a traditional campground feel rather than a RV park. More tent friendly in its atmosphere though full hookups are available. Big rigs would have lots of trouble navigating the narrow streets. Not the greatest place for kids as activities are light. We were able to launch our inflatable boat from our site which was fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
Nice campground. Has a nightly hayride, and numerous activities. Well kept and very nice staff. We would camp here again. Had a nice woodsy site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
We had a beautiful site on the river. A very comfortable and scenic location to spend several days exploring the mountains. One employee noticed we were having difficulty with using our calling card as our cell didn't have service and he said, "Go ahead and use my cell as I don't ever use all my minutes". This allowed us to notify our family where we were and all was OK. We'd love to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We have camped here for several years now, and we are always willing to come back. The staff is incredibly friendly, and the facilities are spotless! There are sites for everyone - seasonals, RV's, trailers, and wooded sites. There is swimming in river and pool (my only complaint is that the pool is not heated), and boats are available for use in the river. Rec center for kids is good-not incredibly modern, but its a campground anyway. We will always come back to CCV. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Great camp, wooded, nicely spaced. Old laundry and restrooms but clean. Some sites are easier to get into than others. There are a lot of trees and a fair amount of tight turns. We got there with plenty of rain so we couldn't enjoy any walking or trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
We were looking for a get away near North Conway NH for the labor day weekend. I found this campground back in June on the internet. This campground became a KOA recently, so we figured that it must be OK (we could not find reviews about this campground). When we arrived it was about 7:00 pm and the office was closed and the CG gate was down. It was by chance that a camp worker showed us where the card key was so that we could open the gate. We had reserved a pull thru site for our trailer and after following the camp worker on very narrow and rough roads we arrived at our site. Our rig just fit on the site and my truck was at about a 30 degree angle pointing downhill, it was a bit tricky to un-hitch. After we went to bed that night we were waken up by the trucks on route 16 using their engine brakes all night. The next day we checked in and talked to the manager about the road noise. She basically told us that the noise was our opinion and that the constant traffic did not bother her, she was just plain rude!. There were other issues that we did not like about this CG and we were not the only guest at this CG the manager was rude to. Other guest left early because of poor CG conditions (we left early also). The CG did have plenty of stuff for kids to do. We would never recommend this CG and we will never stay there again. One last thing, this was our first experience at at KOA and we are not sure if we will visit another KOA CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
This campground has the friendliest and most helpful staff we have encountered in years - for people and dogs too! We would rate the campground a 10 in customer service. The reason we've listed it as an "8" is the interior roads are difficult to navigate. The sites along the main paved road that runs between the entrance and the store (see campground map on their website) are easily accessed, but all other roads are dirt and gravel. There are some tight turns and a few short but steep inclines. An escort will help you get around the turns and into your site. There are canoes, paddle boats, small kayaks, and rowboats to rent for $5/hr. There is a new dog run and a separate swimming area for dogs. On-site dog daycare available for $3/hr from 8AM-8PM. They were so kind and patient with our dog. By the time we left the staff knew us, our kids, and our dog - incredibly friendly! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$52
Very woodsy type of campground just the way I like it. Main road paved, all access roads gravel. All sites cut into the woods, many very roomy with nice privacy. Check-in staff very polite, cheerful, and helpful. We got guided to our site #48 which was a Supersite located right on the water. Site was huge with large patio deck overlooking the pond, complete with patio furniture and gas grill. Large fireplace and facilities well placed and in great shape. Good Water pressure with 2 spigots, lots of cable channels. New electrical distrubution panel. nice sewer hook up. Campground: Very pretty, well maintained campground. Big rigs beware, although super sites are huge, leaving the campground can get tight and a bit tricky. Functional little store for small items but lots of stuff in the area. Campground has a great hiking area that is well maintained. A very picturesque hike in the woods. Staff was very friendly and professional and gave the impression they loved working there. We even got an escort for the way out. Summary: My wife and I love wooded New England style campgrounds over the large RV resorts with open sites and paved roads and sites. This campground fit the bill perfectly. Very in the woods rustic campy feel to this place. Only drawback is, campground is close to Rt 16 so sites near the entrance will get road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
I have camped for over ten years. We have been to so many campgrounds that I have lost count. However, I will remember this campground as being the nicest, cleanest, prettiest and friendliest campground I have ever been to. I LOVED it. We had a beautiful campsite on the water. The view in the morning (and all day) was spectacular. The staff was beyond nice. They had a pirate themed weekend and the staff put so much effort into the activities, my kids had more fun that they did at the Pirates and Princess Party at Disney World! The staff member on the hay ride was so funny and fun. My kids learned a lot from him as well (he was a former teacher and you could tell). The manager was so kind to my kids and put so much effort into the activities-I don't think she stopped working the whole weekend. The staff remembered their names and always said hello when they saw them. It was like we were seasonals. This was impressive since I sometimes feel that seasonals take over at some campgrounds and the transients feel awkward. Not here. The staff was delightful. The whole experience was wonderful. I loved the real camp atmosphere but everything was clean. I cannot say enough about this place. I will be going back soon for a week or more. It is close to all kinds of attractions but you will never want to leave the campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
This campground is GREAT. there are lots of activities for all ages. The staff is VERY helpfully and friendly. playgrounds are in great condition and the pool is new *** New to the campground is a HUGE dog run and when i say HUGE i mean it. Its at least 12 campsites big and they have even keep the ground very natural so the dogs love it. They will be adding some kennels very soon and I did hear something about a doggie day care.. Again this is a great campground I would go there every weekend We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
This park was very very nice! One of the best we have been to. I really liked the quiet atmosphere. We were right next to a small playground, which was great for the younger kids we were with. The only downside was that it felt a bit boring at times. I didn't feel like there was a whole lot going on, which is good sometimes though. There was also a Llama Walk, which sounds like not so much fun, but it was actually very cool. It was a hike, but some llamas came along and everyone took turns walking them. I participated in an epic game of capture the flag int he woods, in which all the other campers were very enthusiastic. Overall I would definitely recommend this campground to anyone, especially people looking to get away for a while We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
Stop over for two nights in the month of September during the off season. The campground was very quiet and staff friendly and accommodating. During the "season" a different world may exist. Would use again if needed. Close to the Conways and the Maine border. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Camped over Labor Day, swimming fair as pond is low and weedy, some sites had cable, bathrooms clean but dated, showers fair (C+), sites average size. Park has large seasonal population, excellent walking trails and excellent activities program for kids thru teens. This is a nice, quiet, older campground, the owners talk of it as their "beloved camping village". We liked it, although it's not one of our favorites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com