218131 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (609) 465-4456
CGID1818

Big Timber Lake Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
542
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   10   9   9   9   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Loved this RV Park. One of the nicest and cleanest I have ever been to. Great staff, fabulous miniature golf and having a swimming lake plus a pool was fabulous. Great location also. Will definately go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
All around nice park. Very clean bathrooms and showers, showers are 25 cents per 5 minutes. Sites are a mixture of sand, dirt, and grass. Lots of trees and most spots are shady. They have Wi-Fi, but you need a code for a free day of access. Nice lake swim area and very nice pool, but no chairs, so bring your own. Also have a fishing lake. A lot of seasonals, but mainly in one area. They do allow golf carts for their seasonal renters. Store was pretty well stocked but it was end of season. Make sure your site is clean, there is a neighborhood skunk that roams at night and I met him while sitting around the fire at night. Didn't get sprayed, but he seemed to be used to people so beware. Close to most shore areas (Wildwoods, Cape May, Avalon). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
This campground is in a good location to explore Cape May but, because of the tight turns and overhanging trees, this would be a difficult park for new big rig drivers. The entry way into the park is narrow with a brick pillar on each side so swing wide with your big rig when going in. Our 40ft Class A was fine on all roads leading to the park so you can avoid the tolls on the New Jersey turnpike. It is a large campground but only about half the sites are available to RVers for rent and the rest are occupied by permanent travel trailers. Of those sites to rent, two thirds are full hookups and the rest are power and water sites only. The roads in the park are hard packed gravel and the sites are level grass and gravel with a nice space for your table, chairs and fire ring. The trees are great for shade but make it nearly impossible to get your satellite to work. Sprint phone barely showed a bar and our hot spot was like dial-up at best. Bathrooms are large and clean but the showers were coin operated. Laundry room, pavilion, office and pool were all clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are a multitude of planned activities and there is a snack bar near the pool that serves fast food and ice cream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Lovely campground with excellent amenities. The site was large and level with full hookups. There is a store with a bit more than the basics and reasonably priced. There is a swimming lake as well as a fishing lake. They have a mini golf course which was the best I've ever seen at a campground. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were immaculate. The hosts of this campground were extremely hospitable and that was very much appreciated! Without a doubt, we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$79
Real nice place. Met 4 other families with kids and now we're planning trips together. Very clean bath and restrooms. Nice for guests to drop by for 1hr without charge. Didn't like the Wi-Fi 45 minute time limit. Many French Canadians on grounds. Most don't speak English so cross your fingers. We were lucky to have great neighbors on the lake front. Free coffee in the morning. Trash pickup every day was nice. Plenty of activities for the kids, very secure campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
This is a wonderful campground with lots of amenities to choose from. We camped here with our three children and two dogs in our 30 RV. The sites were wide and offered nice privacy. Their were lots of activities planned out daily for the kids. Both showers and bathrooms were clean. The only drawback is that the office staff could be rude and short at times to both us and witnessed to others. This has become our favorite campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$69
I have to say that this is a fantastic campground. The people are very friendly. We had four small dogs, and everyone was very friendly towards them. The bath houses were spotless. There is plenty to do for kids of all ages. We camped with another adult only party and had two very quiet spots. There are a lot of seasonal campers, but they are very friendly. I would have rated a 10, but the only negative was the fact that the seasonals all have golf carts and some do not follow the one way rule. The pool was kept very clean. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We really liked this campground. It was off season, so it was quite empty when we came here. The sites aren't level, but it didn't take much to level out our unit. There are way TOO MANY holly trees. I couldn't count the times I stuck my fingers while playing with our dog. Pay showers which was also disappointing. Cable was very snowy. In general though, a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$66
We stayed here for three nights with our daughter, son-in-law and their one-year old and six year old. All in our 34' Bounder... 'nuff said. The park is very nice. The sites are well laid out with a good mix of seasonal and transient areas. Roadways are wide enough for even the biggest rigs to navigate. We saw several 5'ers that were huge even next to our motorhome. Bring your leveling jacks, though, as not all sites are perfectly level. Bathrooms, laundry and shower areas that we used were clean and well done. Camp store is well stocked, but typically expensive. Nice pool, two lakes, one for swimming, one for catch-and-release fishing. Couple or three playground areas. Activity room, etc, as described on their website. Lots of kids buzzing around on golf carts, but we didn't run across any delinquents. Overall, a nice place to stay, but make sure you have transportation; outside of the park, there's not much within walking or even bicycling distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Very pleasant stay. We stayed here a few times over the summer and they have been very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. Everyone was so friendly and the amenities were nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
This park is so accommodating; wi-fi, activities for children and families,large sites which are big-rig friendly, free coffee in the morning, trash pickup at the site, easy access to Avalon and Stone Harbor beaches. There is a theme for each weekend, and all the activities can be enjoyed by all ages. The only negative is the dust from the roads. The speed limit of 5mph is not enforced, and this creates dust from golf carts and cars which is annoying. Overall, this was a great place to camp, and we highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$92
We checked in on Saturday when the CG was pretty full so getting a less desirable spot was not unreasonable. But after the weekend, when there were many open spots, we asked to move and were denied. We weren't overly thrilled with the CG (reasons below) in general so we took a ride to see what else was available. One nearby CG had a very nice beach on a large lake but overall none were better than where we were so we stayed put for the rest of the week. Gripes: Expensive extras = $10/day each extra adult, $10/day for the kids to sleep in a tent. $3 for a (nice) 9 hole mini golf course. Only one, late afternoon, trash pickup so trash from early checkouts litters the grounds all day. No set schedule for when "lake" is open for swimming. No chairs or lounges at the pool, its BYO. Kudos: Adult TV lounge with computer, Snack bar, beach passes, Pier discounts, friendly staff, spotless pay showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
I simply love this campground - especially the catch and release fishing. People are great, and the facility has everything to offer. Have stayed here several times. I will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
It is a large campground with a lot of seasonal sites. Everyone was friendly; staff and seasonal people. It is probably a great campground for families but we just wanted a quiet place to overnight and relax. Sites are close together, level, but just gravel or dirt (sand). For the services we took advantage of, it was way overpriced, but then we are old fogies. It rained the day we left and the mosquitoes were horrendous. We will look for other campgrounds next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$63
We reserved here about a month in advance. We were told then that we would have to move after our first night. This wasn't the best news, however this would gain us a day, we thought. Check out is 12 noon, the site we needed to move to was not vacated until 12:30. This meant that we were essentially in limbo from around 11am when we broke down our site until the people on the other site finally left. If the future I will not accept this, instead I will go to a different CG. That said, the CG has wide roads, generally level sites, activities, a fishing pond and a swimming pond as well as a large pool. It also has a nice mini-golf course, a basketball court, shuffle board and pentaque. The store while small is reasonably well stocked and you are in close proximity to stores. There are a large number of Seasonals here. Many in 'Park Models'. Personally I would prefer fewer of these as it causes a CG to look more like a trailer park than a CG. I understand that this is a business and that the Seasonal is a guaranteed cash flow as opposed to the transient population, but it would be nice to try and keep the CG atmosphere more in the forefront. If we had not been required to move and if this CG was a bit further south we would have rated it higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Very friendly staff. Lots of activities including free 9 hole mini golf. Sites were not large but roomy enough for our 35' camper. Sites have some grass but it is patchy and the rest is sand. Several times during our week stay there was an open sewer smell in the air. I saw no one pull out and all the sewers have sealed connections. Very quiet during quiet hours in our area. Campground is large with many seasonals. Most all are well kept. Also campground is clean with an attentive staff. Two small ponds, one for fishing and one for swimming in addition to a nice size pool. Close to Avalon beach. Avalon and Stone Harbor beaches require beach tags for everyone which cost $6 per person, but the campground rents them for $1 each. Very well stocked store and reasonably priced compared to many other campgrounds we have visited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Very nice campground. Short drive to Avalon ad Stone Harbor. There is an ACME grocery store just down the road. The sites were fairly level, mostly sand rather than grass, spacious, and some trees for shade. Free coffee from 8 to 10 AM, nice snack bar/restaurant, and plenty of activities. Mosquitos are a problem but use lots of bug spray and citronella candles and you should be fine. Pool is nice but no chairs so bring your own. The adult TV room has internet access to find local activities (fireworks, waterparks, etc.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
This was our second visit to BTL, 10 days of lakefront camping with 50 amp service, full hookups and 30 cable channels. The park is family owned and operated with a caring, courteous, and professional group of employees. The sites are mostly large, wooded, and private with tables and fire rings. We consider the park Big Rig friendly. BTL is very close to Avalon and Stone Harbor beaches (both have skate parks), Cape May Zoo, and a supermarket is a five minute drive away. First rate amenities including boccie, shuffleboard and basketball courts, lake and pool swimming options, mini golf, and beach tags to Avalon or Stone Harbor are available in the camp store. The activities are well planned and first rate, Monte Carlo night our first weekend was great fun, followed by the Christmas in July theme week which culminated with a Santa Claus visit during a large well attended Saturday evening beach party complete with DJ, Hot Dogs, and a bonfire. This park is an excellent choice for a family vacation, thanks Big Timber Lake! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We really enjoyed our visit to Big Timber Lake. We were there in mid-June which is before the busy season. The park felt very spacious, and most of the sites around us were empty which was nice. Our site was larger than most that we've encountered. It was level and partly shaded with lots of greenery around. The sites are more sand than grass which is my only complaint. If they would put in cement pads, I'd never stay anywhere else ever :-) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - even moving us to a different site when we showed up with a camper that needed sewer instead of the pop-up we had originally planned to take. The activities for the kids were lots of fun. The pool was clean, but there are no lounge chairs, so bring your own. The bathhouse was very clean and air-conditioned. I love our little bathroom in our camper, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here without one since theirs are so nice. The mosquitoes are a problem. But lots of bug spray took care of them. There are a lot of seasonals at BTL, but they were very friendly and welcoming. We can't wait to go back to Big Timber Lake!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We enjoyed our stay. This was a nice campground. We camped with another family and at this time of the year it was not very busy which is always nice. We had a site that was very rocky and unlevel which wasn't the norm but, not the less that's what we had. I really think they were trying to spread all the guests out and that's ok. We definitely would camp here again. The staff was nice and overall it very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
Great campground!! Camped here last August, returned this year for 4 day Memorial weekend and left trailer to return for 2 more days this coming weekend (have pre-season leave your trailer on site promo). Lots of planned activities for the kids, great pool, swimming lake, fishing lake and playgrounds. Great set up (bath houses are very conveniently located among sections), great location to the Jersey shore beaches (only 5 minutes to Avalon and 15 minutes to Wildwood) and great staff. Staff is super friendly, caring and helpful. Another benefit to staying here is you can rent a beach pass for the beaches that require it for only $1/day. Avalon requires a beach pass for anyone over 12 years old but parking is free and they have a great bathroom at the parking area with a foot shower to get the sand off your feet and a great playground. Only downsides to this campground are the insane amount of golf carts flying around and the bugs! My guess is it's about a 60/40 mix of seasonal site to transient and it seems as if all the seasonals have golf carts, sometimes more than one per site, so they were everywhere. Most were cautious but watch out for the many pre-driving age teens. Not sure why as even though the campground is big, you can get anywhere you need to go within it via walking in a few minutes. Be prepared for the bugs -- Bring your own bug spray as the store charges $7/can. Bugs were not as bad in August of last year so not sure what was different this time around, but mosquitoes and these tiny biting gnats were kept at bay using the bug spray. This is a pet friendly campground, lots of campers with dogs, and Big Timber Lake has a great walking area along the backside of the lake to take your dog. We camped here with family on an adjacent site and the staff was very accommodating in getting us close to each other. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Have been there in the past also, the facilities are good, clean laundry rooms, bathrooms, the store is nicely equiped too. The staff is a bit "barky" and sharp. They do monitor the entrances well so it feels secure, specially if you have children. We liked the campground but found the staff a bit "abrasive" at times. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
We stayed in the pull through section. Sites were a bit sloped and were a little narrow, but very good access and length. Off-season is the best time at Jersey shore campgrounds,in my opinion. This campground is really busy in the summer,so in the off-season there is a big difference in the number of campers. Well maintained and staffed. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
We enjoyed our stay at Big Timber Lake. The camp site was a nice size and we were next to the lake. The pool is an okay size, but if it got crowded, we went to the lake which was nice and clean. Lots of seasonal campers with huge set ups, but everyone was very friendly. Avalon and Stone Harbor beaches are very close by with lots of things to see and do. Wonderful place to stay at the Jersey shore! We will be going back for a week next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
Our site was private, shaded, and was located next to the catch-and-release fishing/swimming lake. The campground had very little vehicle and foot traffic in our area. The pool, store, restrooms, snack bar, and other facilities were clean and well maintained. The staff was courteous as well. We were particularly surprised at how well the seasonals were maintained, and how friendly most of the residents were. Overall, an excellent campground and a positive experience. We would camp here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Have to give it a 9, ONLY because the bugs, especially ticks, were terrible. I know of campgrounds that have at least traps for insects. Other than that, excellent. Probably the first "resort" we stayed at that I would actually call a "resort". Great for bike riding. OK game room. Snack bar was above average. Activities were excellent. Friendly staff with many employees. The septic ran uphill at our site, but that was a minor distraction. We would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
This is our second stay at Big Timber. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The camp had fun activities during the weekend that where outstanding. This is a big plus when you have children. Wifi was available but is not free. Our pull through site was spacious and pretty level. The pool was well maintained. Bathroom and laundry facilities were cleaned daily. Enjoy the fact that it is within 20 minutes of all the Jersey shore activities and beaches. We plan to return here next year for the Memorial Day weekend and would recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
Nice woodsy lot Full Hookup, need longer than 30ft water hose for front. Teens loved the 2 fishing lakes. Very clean areas and large woodsy lots. Seasonals were kept very nice and mostly away from Transits sites. Very relaxing and somewhat private sites. After 11:30PM the wild golf carts were all over and annoying. For all the rules listed, they did not enforce this one. All through the night the lights flashed in/out of empty sites with partiers. Very dark at night/dangerous if you go walking with crazy riders out. Will return but request they control the golf carts after quiet time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$52
The C.G was really not that bad. The one bath house was a lot newer than the one by the store. The newer one was very clean where as the one by the store was a little more "used " This C.G had beach tags because in NJ some of the beaches you have to pay for. So you would give them $4.00 for a tag and when you returned the tag you got back $3.00. The activities for the kids were not that bad. The sites are a bit small. I have been to some CG that had smaller sites, so it was really not a big deal to us. We would go back to this C.G. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$56
One of our favorites! Very accommodating. When I had a family emergency in 2004, and had to leave in a real hurry, they let me leave my trailer there for almost a week at no charge. Pool, bathrooms, etc are always clean. Free coffee in the morning is a plus. Sites are large and easy to get into. They have lots of activities for the children. Only peeve is all the "extra fees". Great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$55
We finally broke down and decided to buy our first fifth wheel RV. Big Timber Lake Camping Resort was our first outing. As newbies we had a lot to learn about all the fine points of RV'ing. The staff at Big Timber where extremely helpful and came out to show us all the little details our salesman didn't. We were so appreciative of their help and friendly disposition! The site we had was a pull through located right next to the pool, club house and office. A bit noisy at times but that is to be expected in a family oriented enviroment. We participated in the numerous activities with my 15 year old daughter and her friend and had a blast! The public bathrooms were clean and neat as were the laundry facilities. Key for me was they had excellent wifi service for those of us who are workaholics. The lot was a bit uneven but workable. We had full service hookup (WSE & Cable) which worked perfectly. The camp is only about 20 minutes from Wildwood so we were able to enjoy the boardwalk too! All in all we loved our first experience and would recommend this family friendly campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
A great home base to explore the Jersey Shore, large sites, friendly staff, and plenty of amenities make this campground a great choice for any camping family. Lots of imagination goes into the activites. "Survivor" was the theme at the beach during our stay. A terrific arcade/ restaurant/ice cream parlor/pavillion area can handle large crowds. Beach tags are available from the store, recycling is strongly encouraged, and management strives to make your stay memorable. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$37
We really liked this campground. So far this year I would have to say it was the best one we went to. We had a pull thru which was nice. (not leveled but okay) The campground is very clean. Staff are nice and helpful. It was opening of the pool when we went and the kids had fun there (pool is heated). Plenty of activities for the kids too. They have a miniature golf area which is decorated nice and lots of fun. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$39
We chose this campground based on the ratings on this site, and we were disappointed. It's easy enough to get into and out of from the parkway, but the entrance is small and the office staff is not the friendliest. When we signed in, we were given a very outdated packet of papers of happenings in the area, clear garbage bags, a cable listing, and the rules of recycling in the campground. We were also given a site map. It was easy enough to find our pull-thru campsite since there are only nine of them; but we were at the end of the row, next to 3 seasonals that looked as if they'd been abandoned for years. There were rusty yard decorations and pieces of junk lying everywhere. Because several sites shared amenities off single poles, water lines were run back and forth, and we felt as if we had very little privacy regarding our water supply. The lots were not even close to being level, and we had to dip the trailer nose down considerably to accommodate the slope of the land. It was raining when we arrived, so the sandy soil was packed down considerably, but that didn't stop it from getting everywhere. We had plenty of room for the awning before the neighbors arrived, even though our slide-out was within 6 inches of a tree. But once the fifth-wheel next to us pulled in, our space became cramped and tight. In order to hook-up, the man and several of his friends from the other pull-throughs had to stand in and trudge through our site, within feet of our door. We had to move the picnic table right up against the trailer because it was blocking their paths. The slide-outs from the fifth wheel were within 3 feet of our awning once the gentleman next door extended them. However, we adjusted quickly since we were stuck inside with torrential rain. Due to the drought in NJ, we weren't allowed a campfire until a solid third day of rain, and by the time they took the no campfire signs down, they had closed the store so we couldn't buy wood. Using our wood blocks from storage, we were able to build a small fire but put it out and went inside before too long because the lights from the slide-outs from the fifth wheel lit up our area too much, and we just weren't enjoying the evening stuck in such a tight spot. I do have to say that though the pull-throughs were not wide, they were back-to-back campsites at one point so they were extremely long, but it wasn't helping our width issue. The lake for fishing was empty of fish, even when using fresh bait; every single amenity was closed for the season; and we didn't come across one seasonal person who was friendly. The comment about the speeding golf carts was correct. Teens were driving them around consistently, well into the night. My major complaint was that we were not told that there would be nothing open in the campground upon our arrival. I was told only the pool would be closed, but most everything was packed up tight for winter upon us pulling in, and what wasn't picked up yet was gathered while we were there. The park has a list that is literally a foot long telling you what you can't do, and they insist on recycling; I have a feeling that's what the clear garbage bags were for. I felt very confined because of the rules, and very worried that we weren't following them as closely as the park had wanted. There is a note that stipulates the park inspects their seasonals yearly, so right as we were packing up, the owners of the trailer next door finally showed up to clean their site. Throwing rusty grates, grills and bikes into their trailer door, they whipped around us in a flury to clean up their area. We were eyed suspiciously and the wave we initially gave was not returned. My husband was very dissatisfied and doesn't believe we will return. I think if it were summer and the amenities were open, things might have looked up for us and our teen son. But this park definitely caters to their seasonals and transient campers are treated as second-class. Overall, we were disappointed and probably will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$50
Lots of flies, too many permanents that thought they owned the place, especially the pool. A bit rude there. Great location close to everything; good bike paths. Alleged lifeguards were mostly teenage girls hanging out with their friends not watching pool. Good entertainment. Swimming lake brown, stick to the pool. Store way too expensive. Staff friendly, overall a good place - would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
The back-in site we had was good sized and we had a lot of shade which was appreciated as it was at least 93 degrees each day! There are a lot of seasonal people that camp there and most of the ones we met were fairly friendly. All of the other reviews about the speeding golf carts are an understatement! I can't count the number of times we almost got run over by a speeding cart and it wasn't just the teenagers driving them either! We felt that the restrooms near our site (which were by the office) desperately need to be updated. The worn and stained toilet seats and dingy showers made it appear dirtier than it probably really was. The pool was always crowded and there were a lot of unsupervised kids that were causing problems, so we didn't spend much time there. That being said, the staff was really friendly and the activities were entertaining. We enjoyed the ice-cream at the snack bar several times during our stay. It was an easy drive to any of the nearby beaches and the discounted beach tags the office sold were a great deal (make sure you get one because we were asked to show one each time we went to the beach!). Our experience at Big Timber was overall pretty good, and we would consider staying here again, especially if they updated the restroom facilities! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
Decent CG. Overall, the sites were a good size, although ours (311) was narrow. Heated pool was nice. You can purchase beach tags for $1 at the office instead of paying the $5 daily fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$52
This is our third year camping here. Very close to Cape May, Wildwood boardwalk, Atlantic City, and Avalon Beach. Many close knit seasonal people with speeding golf cars! Some scheduled activities for kids & adults. Nice snack bar and campstore people very helpful. Site are shaded but bring plenty of bug sprays! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$50
We camped at Big Timber Lake for one week for the past 2 years. There are plenty of amenities, we do not really use them. Sites are big and clean. Avalon beach is only 15 minutes away. It is the most beautiful beach in New Jersey. The only complaints I have is that you get alot of sand in your trailer and the bugs are very hungry. Bring your bug spray. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$52
Large campground, lots of seasonals with about 200 transient sites, lots of different types of sites - wooded, by the lake, pull through, etc. Good activities, well run and organized, good security also. We had a very nice site right on the lake, sandy but private. Only negative was dust from the roads, otherwise great! We have been coming here for over 5 years now, and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com