206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Taylor Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (908) 496-4333
CGID1821

Camp Taylor Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   7   8   8   7   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Thank you Camp Taylor for appreciating our military with two free nights!! Our first ever camping trip was a success! The owners keep the place clean and orderly. The bathrooms were spotless. They have a well stocked store. The campsites were spacious, with a lining of trees between. The hiking was great and wolf preserve was a nice surprise. We'll be back for sure! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
I was pleased with our 2 night stay at Camp Taylor. We stayed in site 52 which was very large,secluded and located by a creek. Had a bit of trouble leveling the MH, but nothing that upset me. The park is an ideal secluded type campground for those who want to get away from the rat race and enjoy being in nature. It is very close to some great hiking. We did the 6.5 mile round trip Mt. Tammany hike. The view was gorgeous and worth it, but there is a short section of pretty vertical climb. The staff was very friendly and helped us with hiking choices and places in town. The only critiques I have are that there was a house under construction somewhat close to our campsite and there were times when the construction sounds were a bit disturbing. The showers are very clean, but they were a long walk from our campsite. Yes, the showers did require 25 cents per 5 minutes, which I found a bit odd, but did not bother me. All in all, we would gladly return to this campsite. We enjoyed it very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice rustic setting campground, large spacious sites and great location (Delaware Water Gap). We stayed on site 70, which I would recommend for larger RVs, or site 71. Some other sites would be difficult to level on if you are a larger motorhome, due to slope of site. Reason I didn't rate higher was the approximately 3 to 5 miles of over grown, low hanging branches on the road leading to the campground. I had to drive in the center of the road to avoid the tree branches hanging out in the road. Luckily, the road isn't well travel and I was able to go slow, would have been bad if someone had been behind me, or driving in my direction. The campground owner really needs to call State or County maintenance to correct this if he wants returning RVs. Also my surge protector did shut down twice for low voltage. I would still recommend this campground just for the location , atmosphere, and courtesy of staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
We had a wonderful weekend. The campground reminds me of what real camping is all about. Trails in the woods, bonfire at night, no loud music. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
What a great campground. We hiked to the Delaware Water Gap. Visited the Lakota Wolf Preserve. And enjoyed listening to the wolves howling at night. Campground had rocky roads: no good for bikes. Friendly staff. We had some loud neighbors, staff took care of it, even at 2 am. Quarter showers but clean and hot. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
This place isn't too bad. The workers are knowledgeable but prefer you stay out of their hair, if you know what I mean. Our site was clean and accessible. It was a very wooded area. You could easily hear the wolves howl at night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Decided to stay here due to all the positive reviews. Campground is nice but not the best. Wi-Fi is OK if needed. Stayed in the loop near stream, site 63#. Sites are tight when crowded. Nothing really to do in the area other then to go see the wolves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
It has very wooded sites. There is friendly staff and nice gift shop. There are no basic groceries like eggs, milk, and etc. Pet owners be advised that we had to remove ticks from our dog almost everyday. We use Frontline on our dog and still had to remove them everyday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Our sixth summer visit here, and we are glad to say, this Campground still tops our list of stays along the east coast. We came up for our 6 day stay during a major heatwave. Several surrounding areas hit the 100 degree mark, but not at the campground. There were nice mountain breezes and the evenings were comfortable. As always, we enjoyed hiking the miles of trails, visiting the Lakota Wolf Preserve, and relaxing at our nice shaded site. The view of the pond was beautiful from our site and the sound of the stream was very soothing at night. We slept well. The campground is still neat as a pin, the CG owners are very nice, and always made us feel welcome. This place is truly beautiful. There is plenty to see and do at the campground and surrounding areas. Something worth mentioning. It is more enjoyable traveling around the NJ side of the Delaware Water Gap as traffic is nowhere near as bad as Rt 209 in PA can get. If you want to get out and about, do visit. The Old Mine Rd and Millbrook Village, Space Farms Zoo and Museum, Sunrise Mountain and High Point State Park. The Appalachian Trail can be reached right from Camp Taylor Campground. Take a challenging hike to the top of Mount Tammany for one of the most breathtaking views on the east coast. We will be looking forward to our next stay, hopefully in the fall. We love the fall colors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
We spent Columbus Day weekend at Camp Taylor. First off: Believe the other reviews about getting directions from the Camp Taylor website instead of using Map Quest or a GPS. There is a ridiculously steep hill on Mt Pleasant Rd. Take the extra 2 minutes and go down to Benton Road (skip the bottom of Frog Pond too). Benton to Frog Pond to Wishing Well to Mt. Pleasant. We took a ride out and tried Mt. Pleasant on our way to the DE Water Gap – Completely understood why one should avoid trying to pull up (or down for that matter) such a hill. Anyway, enough about the mountainous terrain. The Park is simple and they have a lot of rules, but they seem to have their reasons. The place was clean and nice. The showers were indeed hot (for 25 Cents) and the bath house was clean. We were given the last site that could accommodate our rig 3A right off the playground. It took some jockeying to get in, but a more experienced driver may have backed right in. The playground was convenient for our kids, who enjoyed the swings and sand, but spent more time exploring the creek than anything. The campground put on a haunted house in their pavilion. It was impressive, and pretty scary. My 9 year old went through – pulled the 6 year old out when a few older kids came out fairly terrified. I will give them credit, the 'monsters' in the haunted house saw that she was clinging to me pretty tight, they did not get in her face or try to scare her, they let us slide through pretty quickly and concentrated more on the other adult in our party. There are quite a few seasonal sites listed, but we never felt the 'What are you doing in OUR campground' vibe that you sometimes get from seasonal folks. The dump station was conveniently located on the way out and a sewer hose is actually available so you don’t have to dig your own out. Cell reception (Verizon) was fine all weekend. We didn't try to use Wi-Fi, I'm honestly not sure if they had it at all. Lastly there was no cable TV and I couldn't pick anything up on the antenna. Most folks don't care when they're camping, but I wouldn't want anyone to say I didn't warn them! We're considering another trip next year to take advantage of the hiking trails and the proximity to the Water Gap. The Lakota Wolf Preserve (associated with, but not owned by Camp Taylor) was fantastic. A highly recommended trip, especially for school age kids, scout troops, etc… Very educational, a little pricey at $10 per adult, $8 per child but they are funded solely by visitors and donations. Amazing to see Wolves that close. They also have 3 Bobcats and 2 Foxes. Watching the foxes circle Becky (who gave the Fox & Bobcat part of the tour) for grapes was hysterical. There's also a local winery that sells a few bottles related to the wolves sharing the proceeds with Lakota. Mention that you stayed at Camp Taylor and get 10% off! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We arrived at Camp Taylor about noon on Thursday. There was only one other camper in the "Loop" so we really enjoyed the quiet. Our site (#67) along the stream was spacious, level, and nicely shaded. The area did get more campers by Friday evening. Most were tenters with some noisy children. We were pleasantly surprised that our fellow campers were not rowdy or raucous, particularly on Saturday evening. There was some music but mostly live instruments—a guitar in the distance and a fiddle next door. The live music was delightful. My husband did have problems with the showers. Most of the men’s showers were closed due to repairs. They should have reassigned some of the women’s showers so that there would have been a more even distribution for each gender. There was a porta-potty in the “Loop.” It was fine when we got there on Thursday but by mid-day Saturday, it was horrible. It should have been cleaned on Friday to prepare for the weekend. I didn’t even want to walk near it on Saturday! Fire wood is $4.50 a bundle—both regular and kindling. Maybe if kindling were a bit less expensive, it might encourage folks to buy some. Finding kindling was a challenge so we weren’t too surprised to find a fellow camper helping himself to some of ours as were returned from a morning outing. Turned out to be a young child whose mother had him apologize!! Overall, we would return to this campground. Fall would be beautiful there. We spent two mornings biking on the Paulinskill River RR Rails to Trails bike path and visiting Blairstown Airport. For you Catholics, St. Jude in Blairstown is just a few miles north on Rt. 94. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
We just returned from our second trip to Camp Taylor. This is one of our favorite places to relax. We stayed in site 66 again, right on the stream. Our children love to find salamanders and catch frogs. This trip we used the pond swimming beach and mini golf. All were satisfactory. Our camping loop was 99% capacity but our spacious secluded campsite offered us some solitude. Lots of families camping with early rising, noisy kids. I try hard to keep mine inside and quiet (hard to do with neighboring kids playing soccer at 7 AM). We will hopefully return this Fall. The wolves were quiet due to the heat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Another perfect autumn retreat at Camp Taylor! Our site was large and wooded and it was awesome at night to hear the howling of the wolves in the Preserve while sitting at the site roasting marshmallows and hearing the trickle of the creek behind us. This is what camping is all about! We spent 4 days here and could have stayed more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We travel up and down the East coast and always look forward to making this place one of our destinations. Four years in a row. Why? This place is beautiful, the owners and staff are great people, and the place is very clean. This place is truly a great camping experience. Alot of wildlife in the area and the NJ Skylands area and Delaware Water Gap are spectacular. Hiking is a must do. There is so much to see right in the campground. It is also great to see the wolves at the preserve. We hope to become seasonals there. This is one place we can stay at for a long time and never get bored. Thanks again and we hope to be there soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Unique campground due to its location with the wolves (if not for that I would rate CT a 2). Campground was clean and had a nice swimming area. Very quiet at night which was nice. Be prepared to pay for everything extra, including showers. We found the staff to be not the friendliest we have encountered. Beware of Mt. Pleasant Road and the ridiculously steep climb to get to this campground (ask about the alternative route when you call CT; wish we had or they had mentioned it). Bottom line is that if you enjoy wilderness camping and all that it has to offer, you will like this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground was great, just like old time camping. Big sites, great people, friendly service. Couldn't ask for more. Of course, seeing the wolves was great too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
We visited in Oct 08 (cabin rental) and had such a pleasent time, we went out and bought an RV and now have a seasonal space there. Perfect for the outdoors type, great place to teach the kids about nature, great people who own and work there. Quiet, relaxing, yet stuff to do on site and locally. Highly recommend for the weekend or stay all summer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
My husband and I are in our 50's and camped in our 27' motorhome. The staff were very friendly and helpful; the campground was well managed and taken care of. If you like hiking and biking, this is the place to be; if you like rules enforced, recycling and a safe place, this is the place to be. We will definitely go back. Our friends stayed in rented RVs on the premises and were also very happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a great family campground. My family and I have been coming here for over 20 years. The owners and staff are friendly and very helpful. It’s great to see a campground that is so earth-friendly and nature conscious. Aside from all the different attractions in the area, which they are more than happy to guide you to, they have a different activity almost every weekend. Also, the Lakota Wolf Preserve is located right on the premises and if have ever wanted to get a close look at these beautiful animals, it is a must see and the howling that you may hear at night is the most incredible sound. I doubt there is another campground in NJ that will offer that! And just in case you may have forgotten a necessity, they have a store right at the office for you to pick up stuff. And “The Buck Stop” shop they also have offers lots of beautiful nature-themed gifts, t-shirts, jewelry and many more items. I would recommend this campground to anyone looking for a family-friendly, nature themed, outdoorsy campground, as opposed to the ones that are theme park free-for-alls. It’s so nice to know that you can just sit back and enjoy nature without the rowdiness of campers in the next site making noise into the wee hours. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We had a wonderful time at Camp Taylor! The facility is beautiful, way up in the mountains by the Delaware Gap. One thing to remember though, if you go, make sure you get directions from their website and not from Mapquest or a GPS. There is a really *really* steep hill on the route our GPS sent us, and we only barely managed to get our trailer up. The folks at the office explained and gave us the alternate route which is a tad further but much easier on the tow vehicle! The restrooms and showers were very clean and the park itself was really quiet and serene. The staff was polite and friendly and was happy to advise us about local fishing areas and hiking trails. My husband was a little disappointed that there was no fishing on site, but they had a map in the office with places to fish nearby (the closest being at the bottom of that so-steep hill). The staff did warn us about bears, but we followed their trash and recycling policies and didn't see any. Too bad. The lake was beautiful and very clear but of course, too cold to swim in in April. Our site was very quiet and secluded in the section across the street from the office. Make sure you sign up to take the tour of the Wolf Preserve! It was definitely worth the $10 and it was amazing to hear wolves howl while sitting around the fire at night. We really had a lovely time and hope to return with friends later in the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
First the GOOD: beautiful park, wooded sites, clean. It's local for us (well about an hour and half away) so that was a plus too! Very clean toilets and showers. Based on only these facts, we would undoubtedly be repeat visitors. Now, the not so good (i.e. BAD): the management. In a nutshell these were some of the most unfriendly, and unbusiness-like owners of ANY business I have patronized: ever. I'd like to say that we were in some way problematic or troublemakers which would give them an excuse for treating us like intruders on their land, but that was hardly the case. Upon arrival we were grilled to the 9th degree on how many members were in our party; even after we had repeatedly spelled out exactly who would be on site and what time the additional family members would be arriving. Mind you we were traveling with a 6 year old, and two twelve year olds, 5 adults (all over 40) and two young adults (26, and 27), so perhaps this was confusing. To us it really wasn't; and we were prepared to pay whatever amount was spelled out as advertised. The two younger adults were staying for one night, we all were staying for 2. The fun started when the park manager came to our site after we had set up (in a relatively empty park) on two sites and told us that one of trailers was sitting on a third site (even though it clearly wasn't). There was A LOT (too much) discussion of when members of our party were coming and leaving: this after we had already spelled all of this out at the office. Long story short, this park manager ended up collecting an additional $2.00 from us for some reason which we never figured out, but were laughing about for the rest of the day. Imagine: we spent about $120 on trinkets for the kids in the store upon arrival and spent over $200 in camp fees, and this man "negotiated" another $2.00 from us for fees, and actually took it in cash. JOKE! We laughed about this for a day until the next day, when the two younger adults hadn't yet departed (a Sunday afternoon) at 3:00PM as they wanted to stay for dinner; A BIG NO NO!!! We were charged more money for them because yet another park manager came around with a clipboard and said those two weren't paid up to stay past 3:00PM, and there would be additional charges: even though they were packed up and gone by sundown. There is actually even more to this story of being treated like an intruder, but it's not worth the energy to continue typing. It's a very nice campground that needs to have it's management put through some "people skills" lessons. All I can say is, it's a shame that this place is run by people so blatantly insensitive. It's a really beautiful park, and it doesn't escape us that good campgrounds need to be run by disciplined management. The good things are good (clean environment, etc, etc,) but if you don't like management snooping around your site with a clipboard and making you feel unwelcome, this isn't the place for you. We were there on a "slow" weekend early in the season, I can only imagine what it must be like during the busy season. It's a shame because barring this circumstance, we would have easily been repeats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
Great place for the kids to learn about the outdoors. Wonderful live wolf preserve shuttle bus, $10 admission. Seems they like to make up their prices,stayed for 4 days and paid each morning per day in cash. Went from $30-$36 different days and different rates. The posted rate is $33. When asked why was told that's way it is out in the boonies off season. Never got a receipt. Told me the water was not on too early in the season. Weekend came and four other people were now camping there and two in camping cabins, two in my party and six others. Major problems in management. Owner rude. Went out of her way to not be helpful. Need to rent a car, said don't know anyone asked. We asked for a phone book, was told there was one at payphone. We did not find one. We were never told that the water was put on, even though we saw the owner every day. We found out on our last day. A friend came to pick us up for dinner. The friend was told to get off the property because he had a dog in his vehicle. There is really bad phone reception for cell. I did not find out my party would not be coming until two hours later when they called from home. Even then it took them many tries. No one from the office bothered to tell me that my friends had been thrown out. There is way too much more. I have been full timing for 27 years now up and down the East coast and never seen anything so bad as this woman's behavior. Others there also complained. Unfortunately they can't tell you. So if you wish too see some wolves, nice surroundings, and be treated like you're at Gitmo or just plan being belittled,and you're doing them a favor of just being in their presence, you have found your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
We just returned from a weekend stay at Camp Taylor. What a beautiful campground! If you like rural and heavily shaded, this is for you. The sites on our "cul-de-sac" were spacious, shaded, and mostly level. (We were in site 66, our neighbors were in 67-both excellent) Each site had a true rock fire pit. Best of all, we were right on a stream. Our children (2-4-7) enjoyed dam building with neighboring kids and it was peaceful to sleep with the babble of the brook for background. I LOVED the howling of the wolves from the wolf reserve. It is located just beyond the campground. It was an incredible educational tour/hike there. We will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This campground gets a 9.5!! Beautiful setting and very relaxing!! The sites are good size with plenty of shade. This is the kind of place to camp and relax and enjoy nature. Plenty of wildlife to enjoy. The Lakota Wolf Preserve is right next door and is well worth the trip to visit. The animals are just beautiful and the tour was a lot of fun for kids and adults. This campground would be a perfect 10 if they made a few improvements. A pool would've been nice, but the small swimming lake was fine. The shop at the office was nice, but a little shy on supplies. Some basic grocery staples would have been nice. There was a grocery store just a few miles away, so no big deal. The surrounding area offers plenty of activities and I would highly reccomend this facility to any one!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
There is a lot that is special about this park. The adjoining Lakota Wolf Preserve is a must. Very interesting, but some kids might get bored. The views, after a nice hike, are amazing. I was upset with a frequent smell of sewage, that was resolved by the end of the trip, but made the swimming lake unappealing. Still, it was a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We absolutely loved this place! The trails were endless and the Wolf Preserve was amazing! The campground is clean and quiet. We had a terrific site that had a small creek going through it. At night, we heard the crackling of the camp fire and the babbling of the brook. It was so peaceful. It is also very dark at night, so bring lots of flashlights. Fall is a great time to go because of the view of the changing leaves through out the mountains. We are making Camp Taylor an annual fall retreat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
We are going to make this place an annual vacation spot. This is our second summer trip to this place and as last year, was fantastic.The owners of this CG are very nice and very helpful. We have stated to the owners not to change a thing. The lake is beautiful and clean. It is a hikers paradise with all the trails and the wolf preserve. The surrounding area is great with plenty to do. We stayed for 8 days and could have stayed for 20 more. We will be back... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Camp Taylor could be a "10" if they had a pool for recreation, if the store had basics like bread, milk, newspapers, and a laundry room. The campground is beautiful however, the walking trails and the wolf preserve are awesome, so peaceful! Follow the campground's driving directions to the letter, unless you like braving a 20 degree road incline! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
AAA++ in our book. A very nice and quiet campground. The cg and surrounding area are beautiful. Delaware Water Gap is close by with awesome views. Plenty to do at cg, They have a nice clean swimming lake, beautiful streams, and excellent hiking trails. They charge .25 for showers, but they are spotless and you get instant hot water. Nice game room and mini golf. They have wildlife pens with deer and the Lakota wolf preserve located right on the cg. Well worth the $ for guided tours. Sites are large and staff are excellent. This is what real camping is all about. We will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
I have camped here twice once in Oct 2003 and again in Oct 2005. Adult lounge comfortable, rec area nice. Staff very quick to address problems and correct. If visiting follow directions to campground from the web site or call, mapquest tends to send you up very steep road. Besides the Lakota Wolf Preserve, which can create a nice atmosphere when the wolves howl at night, there is access to the Appalacian trail for a hike to the Delaware Water Gap, which is a very nice view, and Sunfish Pond. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Nice campground that could be soooo much more. They have a great location close to the Delaware Water Gap. Lakota Wolf Preserve is located on site and is very intersting. Campground has a beautiful office, loung and bathroom facility. The rest of the campground needs basic maintenance. Signs, benches, etc just need to be brought up to standards. With some investment, this could be a really beautiful campground in an area without many great camping opportunities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This is a nice campground that is across the road from a wolf preserve. The swimming pond looks nice(we had a cool weekend).There is an adults only lounge and a gameroom. It is a nice relaxing campground to take the family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com