214933 User submitted reviews online!!
Whippoorwill Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (609) 390-3458
CGID1828

Whippoorwill Campground

Camp Information
Sites
288
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   8   2   3   4   5   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Best thing about our stay was the location. Traveling in a big rig towing a car, the roads are tight and tree limbs are low. Very heavily wooded sites with still too many trees on each site to comfortably back in a big rig. Site was not cleaned, fire ring overflowing with past campers excess, and site needed to be raked. Had to ask the front desk to take care of. Last year it was already done when we arrived and that was right after Labor Day. This year we visited end of September and facilities were a disgrace. Half of the showers and toilets were closed with signs saying "closed for season" because they close October 31st. It was still a month away. There were two young men traveling around on a go cart cleaning bath houses, but you couldn't even tell they were there. A real disgrace. Big difference from a year ago. WiFi was only available at Camp Store or right outside at a picnic table. You had to pay for the internet access at your sight. Only reason to stay here was to have close access to Ocean City. I will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Nice campground but the spaces are tight, though there are very nice staffers who are here to guide you into your site . The roads are very narrow. Too many seasonals. They are dog friendly but there is no where to walk the dogs or allow them to be off-leash for a little while. (That would be a major help in tiring them out and for us to enjoy our time camping too.) There are a lot of dogs. Still a nice place though. The pool was nice but had an adult spa rather than a kiddie pool, which would have been a better use for that little gated area. The staff was very nice. The girls in the camp store were very helpful . Smaller size trailers will do well here. It's close to the beach and well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
This is the 5th time we have stayed at this campground and will be back for sure. We always visit during the off season to avoid the crowds since we are retired. The discount rate is also nice during the off season. Yes, the roads are narrow but can be navigated easily if you just go slow. Backing into the sites has never been a problem. The sites are perfectly level and most are a very nice size. Our site is plenty deep and we still have room to park the car in front of the motorhome. On each side we have 25 to 30 feet of space to the next RV. Yes, there are seasonal park models here, but they are all very nicely maintained. We have been RV'ing for 37 years and rate this campground as a 7 or 8. You will not be disappointed. Oh, almost forgot to mention: it's only a short 3 miles drive to the boardwalk of Ocean City, NJ. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. It was our first time at this campground. Upon check in we were told that we would have to pay an extra fee because it was supposed to be a hot weekend and everyone would be using their air conditioners! A good percentage of the park is seasonal, park model trailers so it has the trailer park theme. It is NOT big rig friendly, roads are narrow with many trees and only one road out. Many trees also meant many bugs, gnats, mosquitoes, and ants on everything! The pool area was nice but open to the public so it got crowded along with parking near the entrance. Wi-Fi only in a small area. Playground nice and looks like they're upgrading around the tennis court. The younger staff were friendly and helpful but management was rude & discourteous. There are a lot of campgrounds in this area and we will stay somewhere else next time. Definitely won't be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This campground is located near Ocean City NJ and is convenient to Cape May County shore points. We were happy with the wood like setting and the location to the shore. However, this campground is NOT big rig friendly. There are NO pull-throughs in the campground and because of trees and narrow roads, it is virtually impossible to back in without major effort as well as inevitable damage to the coach. Wi-Fi is only available at the snack bar and the service is not reliable. Management has changed and the friendly atmosphere we knew for 5 years has disappeared. The pool is very nice and fairly well-kept. The downside is that the owners open it to the public so it can be extremely crowded at times. We are disappointed in the change of management and in the rudeness that was shown to so many campers.It is not very camper-friendly. We will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We have stayed at this campground for 5 years. The woodsy setting is nice and the campground is close to Ocean City NJ. It is not suitable for large rigs. There are so many trees and the roads are narrow, so it is very hard to back in. There are no pull-in sites available. The pool is Olympic size and well-kept. The downside is that the owners open the pool to the public so it is pretty crowded most days. The owners are not friendly and the office manager is very abrupt and arrogant. We could not get out of our site when leaving because of the trees, so we were 10 minutes late for checkout. The manager would not give us the free nights we had earned until we persisted. If you have a small camper, it would be easier to back in. The activities are held on weekends only, but there is a great arts and crafts program on Thursdays and Saturdays. I would not return to this campground because of the changes that have occurred in management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
When we arrived,site was full of cigarette butts and wood ashes. The overly solar heated to 95 degrees swimming pool is packed on the weekends, as it is open to the general public. Place is probably 75% permanents. Access roads are very narrow and turns are tight. I would have given it a slightly higher rating if it were about $40 /night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We stayed at this campground just as a retreat from the rainy weekend near our home. It was only a two hour ride south so it was worth it. The staff seemed friendly enough and being off season, allowed us to essentially pick our own spot. What we found was a campground that was being allowed to become rundown. The picnic tables were rotting and the fencing around the tennis court had the gates lying on the ground. Perhaps since this was the next to last weekend they were planning on going over it after the park closed for the winter. We did notice that a high percentage of the seasonal occupants were living in the "Park Trailer" style mobile homes with attached sun rooms. It reminded me more of a trailer park then it did a campground. The main road in and out is pretty tight for a 37 foot MH so you have to look close to miss the trees. Although they advertise Wi-Fi, we were only 200 yards away from the office and had such a weak signal that it was useless. When we pulled out I decided to fill my Propane tank but found I should have asked how much first. At $4.00 per gallon that cost me $67.00. Live and learn. Although we did have a pleasant stay, this was near the shore so the sites were 100 percent sand and that was too much of a hassle keeping it out of the motor home that we most likely won't go back. I'll look for a place with cement or gravel when I do go back to the shore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
This campground is a great location for visiting Ocean City. Enterprise car rental comes to location if rental car is needed. Close to old bridge crossing bay where you can walk, rent boats, etc. Grocery shopping close by as well. Staff friendly and helpful. On site breakfast/lunch place. Large pool with activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This park is awesome! Very friendly people. They are willing to go beyond the call of duty to help you with anything you need. Loved this campground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$59
This was our first camping trip ever! Staff very nice. Campsites in good shape. Pleasantly quiet for Memorial Day weekend. They put in some great new play equipment. They still have some older things but my 3 year old daughter loved the big slide. We paid for firewood to be delivered to our campsite and all went well. Showers and bathrooms were very clean and looked to be recently remodeled. Only criticism was that the walkway to the restrooms was a little dark. Great campground!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This campground is just wonderful. The sites are wooded and well-landscaped. There are activities on the weekend such as bingo, ice cream, night swimming, dances. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. We have been coming here for three years, and this year we are staying until August. The roads are a little tight, but we were able to put our 43 foot MH in our site with no problem. This is an excellent place for children because of the playground, pool, bike riding areas, and arts and crafts building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Well maintained campsite, clean showers and restrooms, friendly receptionist, huge clean pool. Not crowded and quiet after Labor Day. Convenient for Ocean City. Only negative was mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Nice family campground. Activities for the kids and nice swimming pool. Also it was a great location for visiting Ocean City Boardwalk and Beach. One drawback was it is definitely not big rig friendly. We have a 30 ft travel trailer and felt like we hit every tree branch from the front gate to our site. Roads are very narrow and winding. Other campers were really friendly seasonal and transient alike. Staff was knowledgeable about area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$27
This was a good campground for an off season visit to the NJ shore. Majority of campground are large seasonals. Roads very narrow and sites difficult to get into because of the trees. Would not want to be backing in to these sites on a busy weekend. For our visit at this time of year it was very nice and I would probably return. Sites were spacious once you got your rig in. Campground was clean and staff friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$44
Very nice campground. Bathhouses very clean and updated. Plenty to do in and around campground. Very nice and friendly staff. Only suggestion would be to locate another bathroom facility around non-seasonal sites. We will go back again,and request site closer to bathrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
This is a very nice RV park. The sites are well laid out and very tree lined. The campground has plenty to do, including tennis, basketball, pool, arcade, and arts and crafts. We camped with family, and our sites backed right up to each other, very nice and convenient. My 12 yo nephew loved the experience and esp. the arcade, where he enjoyed beating me at friendly games of pool and air hockey! Overall, this is an excellent park with friendly staff. We will visit here again for sure! We camped with a 31' Class B+. The roads can be a little tight for bigger rigs, so just take your time. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
A wonderful place for anyone. Our site was clean and the workers rake and clean all sites as soon they become vacant. The pool is very large, only goes to 6 feet which is fine for us. Lifeguard on duty and water was nice and warm. Many seasonal sites, a great playground, well-equipped campstore, SUPERIOR arts and crafts program with a teacher who is ever so patient, friendly staff who did whatever they could to accommodate us. We are returning this week with a new motor home 43' and know our site will be acceptable for the size. Cable TV is very clear and there is a hotspot near the store for wireless internet. Laundromat clean and showers were well-kept considering the number of campers this past weekend. The sites are not tight at all, so there is never the feeling of being closed in. Whipoorwill seems to attract a very considerate, friendly type of camper and this was much appreciated. We will definitely return there next summer. Don't forget to buy a Whipoorwill coffee mug for $5. This entitles you to free coffee for your stay. I have to applaud the young workers at the campground. They were so polite and friendly and exceptionally hard-working no matter what their duties were. We camped here in a fifth wheel for a week and will return with a motorhome this week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$32
I booked at the last minute for a one night after another campground in the area sent me a scathing message about one night stays. Whipoorwill was kind and accommodating about my stay. Had a great time. Everyone was very nice and very accommodating. Bath houses were very clean, new and were thoroughly cleaned each morning. Will return!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$30
This park is NOT big rig friendly. Roads are very narrow, over head trees not trimmed up. Once on pad, they are big. Rules not enforced and sites looked like trailer trash, rather than a nice place to camp. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$35
Well maintained park. Owners very accommodating. Nice cabins with AC and screened porch. Mid summer activities for the children. Clean pool and bathrooms. Small general store, gameroom and snack bar. Would have been nice to have music on weekend at poolside. Close to beaches. Cabin has tv/vcr. Enjoyed the 4 days we were here. Will go back in the future. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com