218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Sea Pirate Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (609) 296-7400
CGID1837

Sea Pirate Campground

Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$63



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   7   8   7   8   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$63
Great RV park. Roomy, level sites with picnic table and fire ring. Hookups good. Nice dog park. For a refundable deposit they will loan you beach badges good for any of the town beaches on Long Beach Island. They have activities for kids. Lots of seasonal sites. Wi-Fi was not usable from our site. We recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
Pretty nice park. Clean, quiet for being pretty full. Restrooms were clean, showers were push button type, and a little hard to control the temperature. Pool was nice. Playground up-kept and a new one going in on other side of park. A LOT of seasonal campers here, but no problems with them. Most sites are fairly large, except in the new pull-through section (those sites are obviously longer, though). Camp store was very well stocked. Only real issue were the folks taking up chairs at the pool just to sunbathe. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
This was a nice campground. They have many seasonals, but the transient part is separate and very nice. Easy access to the beach if you have a car. I was there in October, so it was pretty empty. Hook-ups all worked. Sites were shaded. Bathrooms were clean, but had push-button water which is hugely annoying. I visited there just to check the place out on Memorial Day weekend and it was a bit of a zoo. I generally don't camp on holiday weekends, so this is probably par for the course. They have activities like kayak rental which would be a bonus in my book. I would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$57
We stayed here a little over a week because we were in between moving to a new home. We live about 20 minutes from this campground so we knew what we were getting with this CG going in. The positive part of this CG is the 500 section. We stayed in 507. I can see why they are in high demand. The sites here are spacious, and easily housed my 35ft TT. Some of the sites have excellent privacy backing up to the woods. Your also located fairly close to a baseball field. Many of these sites however did not have any grass, (just dirt) which turned out to be messy during heavy rain. The cable TV worked fine. I would not stay at any other site in the park even if you paid me to come. Shady isn't the right word, run down may better but not an element I want to be around. I'm really not trying to be harsh, just honest for anyone with a family of young children. The main office staff was friendly. They give you an access card to get in and out of the CG. My overall rating is a 7.0 because of the 500 section. If I had stayed anywhere else in the CG I would be giving it a 2. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$52
We stayed at Sea Pirate over Memorial Day weekend. We went in a group of 2 young families. Overall, we had a pleasant experience. The grounds were very clean, the sites were clear and level, and there is a lot to do right on the campground. The marsh is a really cool area and so beautiful. Management seemed on top of any troublemakers and were constantly patrolling in the evenings. Bugs are a BIG problem here (specifically gnats and mosquitoes). I know that bugs are to be expected, but as soon as we pulled onto our site, while we were still IN the truck, we were being attacked. I think they should really look into spraying or at the least turning on the fountains in the pond to circulate the water and help stop the mosquitoes from breeding. By the time we left, we had used several cans of bug spray, foggers, and citronella candles and we still were covered in dozens of bites. The women's showers were dirty. Hair clogging the drains, toilet paper in the drains, and a bit mildewy. It could be cleaned more than once per day in my opinion. The pool area is very nice, and the little cafe is great and has very friendly workers. Store is large and has everything you may need (except bug spray because it was sold out, lol). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
Our family has been going to this campground for 10 years. We camp in our motorhome and sometime we use a tent. This last trip we did the tent. Family had a good time everything is clean. Our only complaint is this campground is getting very Expensive! A lot of people must feel this way I have never seen this campground so empty. We walked the entire campground during the week and counted only 5 sites rented including ours. Last year there was maybe only 5 sites available during the week! This year a full hookup is $57 a night and a pull thru site is $62. We will be checking out other campgrounds prices in the area, as we love going to LBI. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Very family orientated campground. Friendly staff and plenty of activities in and near the campground. We have vacationed here for a week each of the past three years. The deluxe pull through sites are roomy and easy to get in and out of. The only negative is the bugs, but I guess this to be expected, being the back of the campground is the marsh and bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
I agree with all the previous post. Very nice campground. Clean a lot of activities for the kids. Movie night in the ball field. Near to many beaches. Large level sites. The only bad thing was the Green heads but your going to run into them on the east coast in the months of July and August. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
The mosquitos were awful! It truly ruined our trip because there was no way to get away from them. This was made worse because the grass on our site was above our ankles. No one had mowed in a while. It was especially high where the electric and sewer connections were. The site was big and pretty level. We went fishing and, again, were swarmed by mosquitos and gnats! I have camped in Southern Jersey before but have never encountered such a bug problem. The restrooms were clean and pool was nice but I don't think we will be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Do not forget your bug spray at this campground. Our site was spacious and backed up to a wooded area that led to state preserved marsh land. My 12 year old son was bitten 27 times, we counted them, by mosquitos while my hubby was backing up into our spot! We literally waited in the car as they swarmed my hubby as he ran for the bug spray so us girls could be sprayed as soon as we got out of the car! I did not hold this against the campground as we have many relatives in Jersey, and you can not escape swarms of these insects! Our site was mostly sandy dirt but level. When it rained lots of puddles formed but quickly drained. Since it is so shaded, however, it never really dried and our camper was soon a muddy sandy mess so bring outdoor rugs! We are new RVers this year and we now see why those outdoor rugs are so nice! This is the reason for the 9 and not a 10. Roads are mostly gravel but were being raked when we left. Seasonals were friendly. Very dog friendly. Upon check in were were given a doggie poo bag with dog instructions and a dog biscuit! Bathhouses were very modern and very clean. It was a 15 minute drive to Beach Haven. Pool was clean and looked very well maintained. Fish pond was pretty. Playground was nice for the kids. Would camp here again if going to Long Beach Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
We stayed here off season. The sites were roomy and private for a pop up trailer. The staff was very friendly and everything seemed very clean, neat and modern. The bathrooms look new and modern. Free showers. The seasonal people were very friendly. The kids rode their bikes and made friends. The only downfall is that during the summer you have to book for 4 night minimum. We booked this campground again for July 4th weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$52
Another great stay at the Pirate. We always stay here when we hit Jersey. Close to the beaches and Great Adventure. They always have a lot of things to do for the kids. Lady's at check in are always friendly in that Jersey type of way. Great crab fishing and store is stocked with everything you might need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
What a fun campground. My kids and dog loved it. The sites were spacious and private. Staff were always readily available. Lots of activities for everyone, even in the rain there was a lot to do. We had one night of downpours and not one puddle anywhere. Check in was quick and staff was very friendly and helpful, they even joked with the kids. Security was great, you had to go through a gate using a key card. Snack bar at the pool had great pickings. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
We loved it here. Clean, level large sites, pool was nice, close to the beaches. Movie night in the baseball field, loved it! Laundry facilities clean. Crabbing was fun but the green heads were awful. They spray for mosquitoes. The staff very friendly and always helpful. We camped here for a week and we were glad we did. We camped with 2 other couples and they liked it as much as we did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$99
Our cabin was nice on the inside but could of been cleaned up a little on the outside. I think their chili contest should be for amateurs and not for people who own a business. The band was not good at all. Kids were not complaining which was good. If the kids are happy were happy. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$50
Large level sites, very well maintained. Staff was friendly. If in the area again, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$51
A very nice quiet campground near Long Beach Island. We had a premium pull thru site a little pricey but worth it. Clean restrooms and nice showers. Nice pool well stocked store with a large stock of RV supplies. Plenty of daily activities for the kids. The staff very friendly. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Nice.. Clean.. Fun great Staff. Crabbing and fishing. Security gate. 1/2 hour from beach 45 min to Atlantic City. Limited full hook ups so call early!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$46
Went on Oct last year and again in May of this year. Nice campground, clean and good for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Typical NJ shore area campground. Lots of seasonal sites, most had not arrived yet when we were there. Mostly dirt roads that did get dusty, would say campground was 1/3 occupied with the seasonals and weekenders like us when there. Site was large and had no problem getting to it or fitting with our 38 ft MH, though sites on either side were empty would say averge 30 ft. wide. Sites in the 500 section seemed easier for big rigs and a little larger. All had large pine or oak trees for shade and 50 amp electric/water(check website for sewer). Tuckerton Seaport is an interesting day trip for young and old. Very pet and kid friendly. Also for those with dogs that like water 1/4 mile south on rt 9 is Dock Rd that leads to a small sandy beach in Barneget Bay. We camped in site 208. Rates go up to $46 a night after Memorial day for full hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
This campground was very nice and had lots of things for the kids to do. Most sites had trees and were somewhat private. It was a bit larger than campgrounds we normally like to stay in, and at times was quite noisy, however, we were situated quite close to the playground (Site 208). Did not use the washrooms, however did do laundry - some of the machines weren't working and the dryers took a long time (and a lot of money). The staff were fine - not overly friendly, but certainly, not rude. On the whole, we enjoyed this campground and would probably return again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$39
The Cabin was clean.Nice pool. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$36
We camped here in mid September. The campground is a great place to stay for all the shore activities(crabbing, fishing, beaches, etc.)The showers and bathrooms were very clean. The camp store was sparcely stocked (with food items) and wasn't open until Saturday. Some roads were rocks/gravel and others paved. Unfortunately, the pool closed the day of our arrival, but looked nice. Seasonal sites kept nice. Crab Fest was great. It rained the whole time but that was what made it even more interesting. Tons of food...crabs, mussles, steamers, hams, beer, rootbeer and desserts. Site was spacious and no puddles when raining. Campground near (outside) of Long Beach Island. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$37
This was a very clean campground with the excellent bathrooms. Fishing, crabbing, and boating available on site. Lots of activities and special events throughout the year. 20 minutes to the beach and amusements of Long Beach Island. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$33
Its nice place to go camping and clean bathroom and shower too We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com