218829 User submitted reviews online!!
Alamogordo Roadrunner Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (505) 437-3003
CGID1838

Alamogordo Roadrunner Campground

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   3   4   2   3   8   6   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
Nice park that is undergoing changes/updates as a KOA. We were expected and check in was easy. Guide to our site was helpful; unfortunately; we only stayed overnight. Our site was a little tight for our 36' but manageable. There are permanent residents but most looked in good shape. Pool is still closed. WiFi worked great - fast and easy to login. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
This RV Park became a KOA in January. I was disappointed in the condition of the sites. The long term campers should be in the back of the facility. The condition of some of those RV's is rough. Brick walls separate each spot with just enough room for a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
This park is NOT set up for larger RV, at least where they placed us. We were a group of about 11 RV's and what they gave us was simply a slum area! I could hardly get my RV in the tiny space and had to ask the person behind me to move his truck as he was parked in the street! Had to really work so that i could open my slideouts! Lots of RV's here that have not been moved in 7 years. ( i.e. registration cert on windshields). Sidewalks cracked, cats everywhere, people had pit bulls in their residential mobile home and dog droppings everywhere. Cable TV was on the opposite side of the park and we were not told this. Would rather stay at a roadside park than stay here again! We used the club house which was nice and the laundry facilities looked clean. Dog area was VERY SMALL and the gate was broken! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
We stayed here 2 nights. The staff is friendly, however this place is run down. We asked for a space with cable TV, you have to pay $2.00 more for that. We hooked up the electric and cable TV and they didn't work correctly. We told the management and move to a different location. We finally did get limited cable and enough amps to use the microwave. I went to use the showers and they are closed from 11:15 AM to 12:00 PM. I found that strange because checkout time is at noon. I don't plan on coming back, but it is OK if you have no place else to go! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
The swimming pool was not in service in 2009 and will not be in service in 2010. This campground has seen better days. Trees have been butchered and overall landscaping is in rough shape. The campground is just across the street from two large trucking depots. Unfortunately, sleep at night is difficult as the sound of many large trucks loading, unloading and running their refrigerator units is overwhelming. The park's planned activities consist of a weekly potluck during the winter and a weekly game of dominoes, also during the winter only. The showers are fairly clean but unpleasant due to the shower heads. The water is like being hit by a sand blasting unit. Laundry room is so-so and ice-cold in the winter. Wi-Fi is really only available in the clubhouse. Propane is not always available since only a few people are qualified to pump it. They have also ran out during a very cold spell here in winter of 2010. There are small trees by most of the sites, but they give little to no respite from the summer sun. We are leaving here early spring and will not be back. People are nice enough but are letting the campground fade away. They do include electric in their rates and many people here are nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Several old mobile homes in this park along with numerous, run down travel trailers. This park is very old and run down. The site parking width is only 12 feet from patio to wall. Our 36ft fifth-wheel had to drive across a sidewalk to squeeze into space. There is free Wi-Fi that worked fairly well. Said to keep off grass: but there was none. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We were able to get cable at our site. There is a small dog park but not much grass and lots of stickers. The people at the desk were very nice and told us about a moon light program at White Sands. We used the laundry which was very clean. Also had a nice little gift shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
$28 plus $1.25 extra for cable is a bit steep, in this traveler's opinion. The property, a former KOA, retains the A-frame theme clubhouse building. Wi-Fi is at clubhouse only. The "heated pool" in the TL ad is only heated "in season"--July and August (won't it be like 100 degrees then?) Spacious sites and roadways, nice concrete screen block wall at patio with picnic table. Landscaping sparse, with just a few overscaled bushes remaining from the original plantings. Plenty of gravel and few if any weeds. The owners could easily justify the price with a heated pool, additional Wi-Fi repeaters, and a $100 per site investment in renewed and refreshed landscaping. Until then, it's no resort, just a one-night stopover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$29
Very clean and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Wireless works throughout the main building. We used the wireless in the laundry which was open all night. We had no problem getting a site with cable TV which had lots of channels. Some of the sites get direct wireless right in your rig and itis free! But the park was really crowded when we were there so we just used the main building for our online work. This is a gem, and our park neighbors say they have been repeat customers over and over. It is an older park, but very well maintained. We will return for sure if we go through Alamogordo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Just an update; I agree with the previous reviews. Bath houses are dated but clean and the laundy facilities, while mostly OK, had at least one washer that wouldn’t spin, requiring much dryer use. Don’t believe their claim to cable TV: on our site and the one adjacent it had been cut off at the ground. Never mind, there were lots of stations in the UHF spectrum on the amplified antenna. Club house was nice, with a really neat cafe area. Because the WIFI antenna had been installed beneath a metal roof (where do they find these technicians?) you have to be in either the laundry room or the cafe to use it. That said, though, in those locations the signal strength and speed were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
I may have my expectations up too high, but I don't think staying for 8 days is worth 255.00 for this campground. Owner said that the governor has to get his share. What is that all about? I should had called before and got a price quote. The last two weekly stays at other campgrounds were around 135.00 for a week plus one day. The rest rooms were nice and roomy. But the upkeep around the campground is lacking. It seems that half the campground is empty. I would move to another campground if I could get an easy refund. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
Nice park in downtown Alamogordo right off the main street. WalMart is nearby. Nice concrete patio area with a grill. Also had a nice laundry room. Some sites do not have cable TV connections. Staff was friendly. Propane and dump site were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$21
Friendly owners, great washer room. Sites very narrow. Walled area for cement picnic table and grill. Visually not very impressive, older long term trailers and mobile home park alongside. Great area for sight seeing, don't miss White Sands National Monument! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This is a terrific park. This family-owned park is very clean, attractive, has great laundry facilities (24/7) and a really nice gift shop. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. There are a lot of large shade trees, a pool, showers and propane is available on site. Some of the spaces had walls separating them with an attractive concrete patio area with built-in barbeque. The WI FI signal was not the best but a good constant signal could be picked up in the laundry room, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We don't know about cable or telephone hook-ups as we don't use them. The park was not difficult to find as there is a sign on the main highway. This park was quiet, restful and quite attractive with the park located just at the base of the mountains. What was especially refreshing about this park is that they made no claims to be anything but what they actually were. We will definitely stay at this wonderful park again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
It's located on 24th street, but not easy to find. Paved roads, level gravel sites, with concrete patios and tables, some shade. They honor Good-Sam and AAA. Free Wifi and cable TV. Nice pool, the restrooms and showers were clean. Small playground for the kids. Friendly staff. Only draw back was some train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Very clean park. A little dry for my taste. Overall, it was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The folks at this campground went out of their way to insure that we were satisfied with our site. They even took us on our tour of the grounds, pointing out where the dog walking area was located and where their son lived (for security purposes.) The sites range from gravel to grassy, some have short walls dividing them from each other. The restrooms are old but very clean. The office/store area has a microwave so campers can heat up the convenience foods sold at the campground. All in all, this is a great campground...one we will surely visit again. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Propane on site. Campground is tight on space and sites were skinny, we could not put our slides completely out. Convenient location just off of US 54/70 and quiet, lots of snowbirds. Would stay again for short type stay, would not stay more than a few nights. Staff and residents were helpful and very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com