223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Oliver Lee Memorial State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (505) 437-8284
CGID1839

Oliver Lee Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   9   9   10   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
Very nice state park overlooking Alamogordo. Great price for water and electric. There are not many sites with water and electric so reservations may be needed during peak season. There are lots of dry camping sites with access to water and restrooms close by. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
We camp here twice a year. We love the privacy, views and the price. This place is a real bargain. Actually it is by the side of a mountain but it is easy to get into; roads are wide and paved and sites are roomy for vehicles under 30 feet. Those larger can get in most sites but it may take a little work. Like most public parks sites aren't perfectly level,however, in the 5 years I have been camping here I have never had any trouble getting level. Park is well maintained. This is a great place to stay for a night or a week. You won't be able to beat the price anywhere else in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
I would have given this park a 10, except that it is built on a hill, so the sites are not level, and most were too small to accommodate our 32 foot 5th wheel. We arrived early on a weekday; there were lots of spots available but only two that we could get into. There was a wonderful cactus garden with the hedgehogs in bloom and at least two dozen hummingbirds hanging out at the the visitor center feeders, as well as some great hikes. With the proximity of Alamogordo, our AT&T personal hotspot worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
What a beautiful place to stay. The rate doesn't include the 10$ reservation fee we needed to pay to make sure to have a site for our 34 foot 5th wheel. Most sites are smaller. But even with the reservation fee the overall value is very good. Far away from any traffic noise, well spaced sites with some desert greenery in between. Hookups are in the back, easy to connect. Site was a little unlevel but very well maintained. No Wi-Fi, but Verizon worked well. Unfortunately in spring, winds are strong and lots of dust in the air. Therefore, we couldn't enjoy the views into the desert or up the mountains. But we will come back sometimes in the future and stay for a few days, not only overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
This is one of my favorite parks. Great park for the money. This park is getting to be a popular overnight stop. Reservations are iffy because less than half the sites are on the reservation system. We never get reservations, but we try to get to the campground before 4PM. After 5PM on week days you can usually score a site if you are willing to dry camp. I believe the dry camp rate is $10, so it is still a bargain. You can claim a W/E site the next morning as people leave. Besides hikes and the Visitors Center, the ruins of Frenchie's cabin is a short walk from the campground. Unfortunately, someone murdered the hardworking Frenchman and the finger of suspicion pointed to Oliver Lee's hired gunman. It was never proven. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This is a state park located 12 miles south of Alamogordo in the southern part of the state. It is located off of route 54 south about 12 miles south of Alamogordo and then another 4 miles on Dog Canyon Road. We were almost thinking of turning around because all we could see in front of us was a mountain and nothing else and then at the end of the road there was the campground. It is situated in a green oasis around the springs of Dog Canyon that is a deep ravine on the west facing flank of the Sacramento Mountains. There is a Visitor Center with exhibits and a mile away there are tours at 3 on weekends for the restored house of rancher Oliver Milton Lee. It seems Oliver was a Democrat and got into trouble with some Republicans. Pat Garrett tried to arrest him and there was a gun battle but he got away. Eventually he turned himself in. The campground has two loops and some of the sites you might have trouble getting level but we had site 1 and were able to get our 25ft RV level with the most beautiful views of the mountains behind us and the valley below. Some sites can be reserved and less than half of them have water and electric. There are some hiking trails - one about five miles up the canyon and then a pretty half mile hike down along the springs but beware of flash floods. The campground has a dump station, hot showers, interpretive programs, picnic, and wildlife viewing and modern restrooms It was not full on Saturday night but all the electric sites had been taken so you might want to reserve a site before you come. It was $14 for the site and on Reserve America another $10 for a transaction fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$4
Great place, great views! Campsites are spread out so you do have privacy. Bathrooms are clean with two shower stalls. The only bad thing I can say is that the showers have no temperature control and is only lukewarm to cold water while showering. The hiking trails are nice and the visitor’s center has a lot of history about the area. The price reflects the New Mexico State Park camping pass. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$14
A basic but beautiful park. We stayed four nights there and can recommend it. The strenuous dog canyon trail is definitely worth hiking. It has stunning views. Showers and toilets were in very good shape and cleaned daily. Park is located on a hill and offers a very nice view of the valley. Its location makes it very quiet. Only slightly negative experience was that the dump station was out of order. Apart from that, definitely would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
This park was used as just a "stopping point" for us on our way from White Sands. The area was fairly easy to find, but our GPS announced our arrival just as we passed by a BLM gate. This was actually the park's border, not the campground, so if the same happens to you, just keep going. We were able to find a spot that our 33' MH fit in with some jockeying, but none of the spots were level and we settled for close enough. There is a visitor center but it was closed when we were here due to lack of personnel. There is a one mile trail along a stream that was quite nice and had interpretive signs along the way. There were several sonic booms at dusk that evening that were a big surprise but according to another camper this happens a lot. Things were quite before 9:00pm and stayed that way all night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
Pros: Amazing view of the Dog Canyon mountain and the moon rising over it. There is a great, strenuous hiking trail into Dog Canyon, which is peaceful and isolated. We could hear the fighter jets taking off each morning from White Sands and the occasional sonic boom that would shake the RV (though some may consider a con). It's close to White Sands National Monument. It has an incredible low price, cannot be beat. The sites are large, ours was flat, but a few we saw were quite uneven. Cons: The showers are pretty useless. There is no temperature control on showers, and you have to keep pumping it for water. The water was cool to lukewarm, and the room was chilly. Also there were only 2 showers, and the nozzle was broken on one in the men room. Also, there are only a few sites you can reserve, all the others are first-come, first-served, though there were plenty of sites available when we visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
Nice campground right up against the mountains a little South of Alamogordo. Has a short, unmarked hiking trail that can be a little confusing. There is another trail that is very steep. Good Wi-Fi hot spot reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This is the only great park in the area. However, it is 12 miles from town and the road to the park goes through a poor area. Don't panic, the park is very nice and safe. I have camped here twice. Keep in mind SW New Mexico is desert. There are no trees over ten feet tall. Views are terrific. The sites are mostly rectangular. The location of hitch-ups can be quirky. But they are easy to get into and fairly large. There is natural desert vegetation side to side. The park is clean. The visitors center is nice. Dog Canyon Hiking Trail is directly back of the visitor's center. The first .8 mile is almost straight up. After that, it is not too difficult if you are in fairly good shape. This park fills up on spring break and other holidays. Overnighters shouldn't have a problem getting a space during the week provided they arrive early. Late arrivals probably can get in, but may have to dry camp. This park is a great value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
This is a quiet relaxing park, with nice sites. There are hiking trails, and good views of the surrounding countryside. It's a few minutes out of town, but not bad for exploring nearby towns. The restroom/showers were closed for remodeling when I was here, but there was an alternate restroom in the visitor center, and outhouse in the group camping area. The ranger was friendly, and stopped a couple times to keep me posted on the water system going down one of the days that I was here. Like many of the New Mexico State Parks it gets most of its visitors on the weekend, and was fairly empty during the week. Even when it filled up it didn't seem overly crowded however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Beautiful: now we see what the fuss is all about! Astonishing views in every direction, mostly roomy sites with good privacy. There is a very pretty botanical garden, and excellent (challenging) hiking. Not too many sites with hook-ups: we considered ourselves lucky to get such a site, even during these 'off-peak' times. Many gorgeous non-electric sites; lots of sun so good for solar. The rest room w/showers will soon be remodeled, and maybe shut down for some time. Pit toilets will still be available. Remote location 12+ miles outside of Alamogordo, so get stocked up before you arrive. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
Our favorite park in southern New Mexico. Roomy sites affording privacy. Amazing views in all directions. Wonderful for hiking. We stay here several times a year. Off the beaten path so noise is never an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
This is a very picturesque park, and was very quiet when we were there (just 2 other units). The sites are large, well spaced out and all seemed to have good views: some thought had obviously been put into the layout. It looks very new, and has a few niggles to sort out: temperature control in the showers wasn't working, and the lights in the shower block appeared to be on a timer that was out of synch...the lights were on during the day but went off at dusk! Frustrating as there are no full hook ups so we were relying on the facilites to avoid filling our tanks too quickly! All that being said, we would return if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
This is beautiful park with a great valley view. All roads are paved. We picked a non electric & water site. The Dog Canyon trail hike begins behind the visitors center & is a real leg burner to the top. We were there on a week-end so had some noisy teen-age tenters nearby on the Saturday night. Aside from that, our stay was great & we would definitely stop at this park again. Very quiet, very clean & very well looked after. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
A wonderful State Park. Sites rest at the foot of the San Andres Mountains, with easy access hiking trails. It is only 9 miles to Alamogordo, nice town, and 13 miles to White Sands. If you are in New Mexico is a must visit, you will not be disappointed. Our kids (that includes me) had a blast sledding down the dunes. They rent the saucers at the gift shop. I recommend spring or fall camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$4
Great views. Friendly staff. Good hiking. Lots of wildlife. Cell phone coverage ok. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$4
This is an excellent state park in the New Mexico State system. Views are incredible! Great hiking up the Dog Canyon trail. It's hard not to search for Apaches along the way. Staff is very friendly with a very good visitor center. The best thing is we dry camped here free for the first three days before moving to a water/electric site for $4 a night with the annual state park camping permit. I recommend this park for hiking, bird watching, and just plain easy relaxation. Verizon Air Card and cell phone services were outstanding. We'll be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Good park with a nice variety of sites. The position of the services make it tough to get set up. I used every hose and every electircal extention I had to set up in site #1. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
Another great NM State Park! It's about 12 miles south of Alamogordo and 4 miles East of the highway, up the slope of the mountain (great views of the sunset). It's nestled against the mountain (sorry, forgot the name of the mtn.) but the hike up Dog Canyon looked great. There is a grotto at the top, see the visitor center for details. If you can, call for reservations and you'll get the top most (closest to visitor center) sites. They are also the largest and most level sites. I have heard it costs an extra $10 to use the reservation system (!?) but if you're staying more then a few days, it's worth it. The bathrooms are spotless and the showers have very warm, bordering on hot water. We found this a great park to use to see the White Sands and the Museum of Space History. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
Very nice State park. Friendly staff. Excellent views, either of the mountains or the desert. This is our second stay and we will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$10
Nice remote area. Clean. Up on a hill and not much protection from the elements. Picnic tables, some with roofs over them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$4
Very nice park with great views from every direction. Very good water pressure, excellent cell & air card reception (Verizon), level sites (gravel & dirt) with paved roads. No problems with the electric. Located about 9 miles south of Alamogordo off of hwy 54. Very quiet here at night and during the day. There are a few hiking trails going up into Dog Canyon. Alamogordo has a Walmart Supercenter that was well stocked. The $4.00 we paid was because we purchased an annual camping pass($225.00 out of state, good for 12 months from date of purchase). They charge $4.00 for electric and another $4.00 if there's sewer. Otherwise it would have been $14.00. We stayed here for a week and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Great views of White Sands and spectaular sunsets. Large level sites. Friendly staff. A great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$14
We spent the Christmas holiday and there were only about 5 sites occupied. The views from this quiet campground are awesome and the desert vegetation beautiful. Only 4 of the electric/water sites are reservable. The sites are very large and have a fire pit and picnic table. Some of the sights have picnic tables beneath a shelter. It is very hot in the summer. There are nice low level lights that light up the trails to the bathrooms. The hookups on some of the sites are in an odd location. If you have a large rig, you can pull in but then have to maneuver to get in the right spot to access the hookups. We have a 35-foot fifth wheel. For example, in site #1, no matter from what direction you would pull into, your door would open onto the road side. Very odd. If you have a small rig, you could back into that site. The visitor center is very informative and the tour of the ranch house was very interesting. The Dog Canyon hike is beautiful but challenging. There is a pretty riparian trail. The weather was unseasonably warm. There are some good roads that would be great for bicycling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Park is great as stated in previous post, but it should be noted that only about 1/4 of the sites have electric. Very quiet here at the base of the Sacremento mountains with lots of hummingbirds, Javelina's and of course you must accept the tarantulas and rattlers too, after all this is the desert. Great hike, (strenuous) right out of the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Incredible beauty, look one way and you are at the foot of the Sacramento Mountains. Turn around in your site and you are looking at the Tularosa Basin and the desert with the White Sands national Monument in the distance. All sites have tables, some with large well contructed shelters. Lots of wildlife. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com