224108 User submitted reviews online!!
Lyman Lake State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (928) 337-4441
CGID184

Lyman Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   10   9   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
I really enjoyed my stay at this under used Arizona State Park, partially due to the appearance of the campground and partially due to the lake. There are an assortment of mostly level sites available for an RV. The full hook-up sites are crowded together, the most popular, a lack of privacy, and they do have the most shade. There are a few back-in sites with 50 Amp and they are nearest to the lake, which is well below normal levels. There are three 100 foot long pull-through sites with 30 Amp and they are the most spacious and most quiet of the sites. Each site has a solid large ramada with a concrete patio. Cell phone service can be obtained here with a reliable provider. Signal strength is strongest at the picnic tables near the petroglyph trail head. There is no 3G or better service here. I stayed at Site 13 for four nights and found Site 14 an attraction for the rude style RV people. I moved over to a pull-through site and decided to extend my stay. The lake is suitable for swimming and a host of other water recreational activities. None of the camp sites are near the lake. Each is a good walk from the current shoreline. The rate reflects water and electric site fee. I look forward to returning to this State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Nice park, no Wi-Fi, no cell phone service that works. Sites nice and long but can be a little tight for 40 or 43 foot DP's. Most sites have nice covered cabanas. Many really nice views worth the stay. I was really surprised we did not see more campers here. Although remotely located and the lake looked low, would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We were here late in the season and we were by ourselves most of the time. There are many camping areas to choose from. Dry camping next to the lake, pull throughs near the beginning of the park with full hookups, back ins below the full hookups area. Further down the main road are pull throughs with water and electric only. Wide sites with BIG ramadas with a separate power plug and lighting. Further up the road are more water electric site mixed in with dry camping sites. There are cabins next to the lake and yurts in the upper areas campground. Verizon cell and aircard even with an antenna and signal booster rarely worked. We went into Saint John's and used the librarys internet which was faster than Verizon. There's an easy access dump station near the full hookups. They didn't charge us a daily park pass fee while we were here. We stayed until the park closed for the winter. Peaceful location and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Nice park, but we drove by yesterday (29 Sept. 2010) and it is closed indefinitely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
This is one of the nicest state parks we have stayed in. We had a pull through with water and electricity since we only stayed one night. If we were staying longer we would have taken a full hookup site. The sites are paved, level, and large. The hookups work just fine and the pull through sites look right out at the lake. It is a bit remote and neither our cell phones nor our Verizon air card had any service. It was very quiet. The lake is large, and we saw people water skiing and boating. Seems like a great place to spend a vacation especially if you like boating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
Great Park, Lake front camping with no hook-ups, not all sites havee sewer, good hikes, Indian ruins in park, friendly staff, will handle any size rig in pull-through sites. Sites are large, park has cabins and Yurts so faimly can visit. No limit on boat size allowed on lake. Rate reflects weekly rate. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Clean and quiet state park with sites that allow you enjoy the wonderful lake and mountains that surround you. Great hiking trails! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$19
A nice clean state park with warm showers. About 14 miles off the highway, just outside of Summerville AZ. We arrived late and used self pay station, however, park attendant came out and helped direct us to a site best suited to fit our RV. If in the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
A very nice state park, we'll return again if we're in the area. There are several nice hikes within the park. Clean restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
This is a great place to either stay overnight or spend 2 full weeks, if you can live without TV reception of any sort, cell phones, or Wi-Fi. Nice, quiet spot on a lake in the midst of the dry high desert section of Arizona. Pretty mountain terrain begins a little farther south of here. There are several hiking trails in the park and petroglyphs as well as the ruins of a old pueblo to hike to. It's a very restful and welcome place. We will definitely return here. Only reason it doesn't get a 10 is the lack of modern communications on each site. There is, however, a public pay telephone up by the Entrance Station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
Was clean, near a lake, and was just a good overnight camp-out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
What a jewel of an RV park. Spacious treed sites with covered ramada and in ground fire pit, overlooking Lyman Lake. Trails, petroglyphs, hiking, walking, swimming, fishing, boating. Information available from personable and friendly rangers, including on-site ranger living in the park. It would be hard to do better than this. We will definitely return. Beautiful views in every direction and sites spread around large area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
We were the only ones in the campground and so it was very quiet. We had one of the pull-through sites which to our delight, had water, 50 amp service, and sewer. Each side had a sheltered picnic table with a light and 20 amp outlet along with a grill and fire pit. The sites were attractive, roomy, and clean and views of the lake. The back-in sights did not have sewer. Part of the campground was closed due to the season. There a number of hiking trails with petroglyphs. The rangers were very friendly. I did inspected the bathrooms/showers and they were very clean and heated. I did not use them. One set of bathrooms/showers were closed for the season. There was a boat ramp and docks. I would definitely like to come back and stay here especially in warmer weather and I am sure it is very pretty when the trees are leafed out and plants and grasses are green. We would like to boat on the lake and explore the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
This small man-made lake is just outside St. Johns, AZ and is certainly the jewel in that area. I was advised to stop there by some other campers, and found the site to be extremely clean, well priced, intelligently laid-out, etc. The camp host was (as are most) super-friendly and helpful, and there are Rangers living on-site. Aside from the lake, there are hiking trails and Indian artifacts to be viewed. No cable TV nor modem hookups, only a pay-phone at the office. Also, St. Johns has no broadcast stations and we were unable to get cell-phone service in the park. If amenities are what you're looking for this park isn't for you, but if you want relaxation in an interesting and fun environment, swing by. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com