224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Capulin RV Park & Camp was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (575) 278-2921
CGID1849

Capulin RV Park & Camp

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   9   7   8   4   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
Campground is a level, crushed stone lot, with the sites somewhat close to each other, but sufficient room to get slides out. Each site has water and electric, and some sites also have sewage. You can see the Capulin volcano from the lot, and it is only about a 3 mile drive to the entrance to the road that goes up the volcano. Restrooms are a bit dated, but clean and adequate. Showers took a while to heat up, but were sufficiently warm once they had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$15
Capulin RV Park is a small ( about 15 sites ) immediately off of Hwy 87. It’s a family owned park and they honored our Passport membership $14.50. The sites are gravel, levelm and gave us a view of the Capulin volcano ( long extinct ). We had strong water pressure and no trees to obstruct our roof top satellite dish. Their WiFi was weak or non existent ( we were a distance from the office ) but not a problem for our one nite stay. We would stay here again if passing through this very small town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
I've seen this park from the highway many times and now glad to have used it. This is a very nice park for traveling to and from east to the Rockies or the other way. Sites are level, easy to get into and very nice people running things. Will definitely use this place again and recommend to travelers between Raton and Clayton. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Rate reflects the Passport America rate. A quiet, cozy and very clean little park nestled in the trees, run by a Christian family. Nice level pull-through sites, water/elecrtric sites, in shade; full hookup sites, no shade. Clean restrooms (hot due to no ventilation) and nice laundry. Only 1-2 full-timers. Wi-Fi operation is line of site to the office. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Very friendly family run operation. Right on the highway but not a real busy road. Did not notice road noise at night. Gravel sites. Ours was level, did not need any blocks. We were asked if we needed sewer and told them it was not required. The man said he would put us in his favorite spot then. It had water and electric. Some of the other sites did have sewer. This is a small park and looks like it might be a little tight if full. One very large rig was already in place but we watched another large one pull in, with a toad. They were able to just pull around and did not need to unhook. Very close to the Capulin Volcano. We stayed here one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
This is the only campground near Capulin National Monument (3 miles away), so if that's your destination, this is the place. Considering that the owner has a virtual monopoly, it's quite a good spot. Nothing fancy, gravel parking lot with hookups. No amenities other than laundry room and showers. About six sites were occupied by seasonals and one was permanent. Wifi worked and was about average in speed. Verizon reaches the area reasonably well. Very little traffic on the main highway, so even though the sites are close to the road they are quiet. Owner was friendly. He also sells premium beef from a local cattleman. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
PA not accepted in summer. Nice level gravel sites. Full hookups. Three miles from the volcano. Family run. Kids help run the place & are the most respectful hard working kids that I've ever seen. We stayed 2 nights & would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
PA discounts are not always 50%. We Paid $23.50 instead of $30 and they wanted to hit us up for a kid tax on top of that. Which was ironic, because all that were in the home were kids (no adults around until evening). The Park was overall clean and the Wi-Fi worked good. The Volcano makes the stop worth it, a nice small National Monument with lots of Ladybugs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
We paid full rack rate. Did not see the little PA sticker until after payment & offer of available discounts was not given up front. Ah well, our fault I suppose. Otherwise the CG is what it is. Nothing fancy but worth stopping off at to go see the volcano which makes Capulin worth stopping off at. Wi-Fi, close to office anyway, worked well. Grounds generally are neat & tidy. A few long term folks. Minor vehicle washing OK & appreciated after crossing dusty Texas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
The owner met us at the coach and directed us to the pull through site. We used the 50 amp electric hookup and the Wi-Fi. Both worked well. We did not use other facilities. The site was gravel and level. Access in and out was very easy in a 36' coach with a car in tow. Because of the season, we were the only RV in the park and parked at an easy angle to get in and out. We heard no noise from the nearby highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
This park has a notably helpful and friendly staff. Contrary to some postings regarding it, they do take advanced reservations (they did so for us). There is no cable TV, but excellent satellite reception throughout this small, but very neat and clean park. The Wi-Fi was satisfactory. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
The owners live on-site and are very friendly and extremely helpful! The RV area is all gravel, but there are shady areas of buffalo grass and dirt. Everything was well maintained and clean. No playground or pool, but the Capulin Volcano National Monument is in full view and only a few miles away. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Easy overnight stop, right off Highway 64/87. Adequate sized, gravel sites, fairly level. Everything well maintained, restroom/showers/laundry a little old, but clean and nice. Wi-Fi worked excellent. Owner/family lives on premises and is friendly and helpful. Only 3 miles from Capulin Volcano National Monument. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Nice O/N park between Amarillo and Raton, close to the Capulin Volcano, which really is a nice diversion. Very nice host/owner. The rate reflects Good Sam discount. We stayed in a Class B motorhome - not a BIG one, but plenty of room. Yep, will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Arrived after dark in the rain. Owner came out and assisted in hooking up water and electric. Very pleasant, helpful people. Convenient location on a road we travel often - this is the first time we've stopped at Capulin, but it won't be the last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Level, graveled space. Owner directed our parking. Quiet and convenient. Bought the "natural beef" through a local rancher. Excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Quite level, graveled park. Good condition with reliable utilities. Pull-through sites available. We were parked with easy in/easy out for our 40' MH and toad. Very peaceful location. We definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Gravel park, very, very close quarters, friendly owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Several pros and cons to this park. It is 3 miles from the Capulin Volcano National Park if you are planning on visiting that. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They sell some great, premium grass fed beef that a neighbor raises. The downside to all of this is that the sites are short and some are narrow. The advertised WiFi works well if you are the only one using it, but otherwise you can forget about it. Verizon aircard signal is weak here, but does work. Our site accommodated a 38' 5th wheel toy hauler. We would only stay here again if we wanted to see the volcano, or needed an overnight park. The rate listed includes tax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Very clean grounds, very friendly staff. Easy access and exit. Stayed here just for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
I've stayed here before and found it a handy place to stop after a long day on the road. It's adjacent to the Capulin Volcano. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Nice small park near the volcano national monument which is the main reason for staying here. The wi-fi works good, and owners are friendly. Good gravel parking lot, and the site was level. With a 38 foot 5er we had to park diagonally across two sites but no problem. I would stay here again. Good AT&T cell reception and clear satellite signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Very friendly campground with good facilities. Convenient to Capulin Volcano, NM. W-ifi was excellent as was the satellite view. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
We stayed one night and will definitely go back. The owners of this campground are some of the nicest, most helpful we have met. When we arrived, they helped us park, helped with an auto problem and were friendly and delightful. It is not fancy, but clean, and sites are spacious. The only reason it does not get a 10 is because there is no place to eat nearby year round. They were also very generous with information about the volcano. A definite place to stop when traveling between Raton and Clayton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very nice family runs this clean little park. Not a resort but a nice place to park and rest with hookups. Did not use Wi-Fi but our Verizon signal was good. Would be nice to have cable TV as antenna reception was minimal. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Small park, right off the road. Sites are short, but the owner will accommodate even a large Motorhome with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This was a very nice place to spend the night. The nearby trains did not disturb the peace. Hosts were super. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Great place to stay for an overnight. Friendly owner takes you right to your spot. Smooth, level gravel sites. Spotless bathrooms and showers. Good Wi-Fi. A very welcome resting place after a long day's drive. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Capulin, New Mexico is quite isolated and the town is really small, but surprisingly the RV park is really excellent. The owners live on site and have several children who are very polite and help every way they can. Not to many places where the owner greets you and helps you park. The place is clean and very well maintained. They have no concrete pads but the gravel is good and quite level. The only thing that keeps it from being a "10" is that it is out in the middle of nowhere and the TV reception is very poor but that is offset somewhat by good Wi-Fi. It is a very good place for an overnighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This is a very clean, neat, tidy small park right on the highway and is great for an overnight stop. The owner/manager was very nice and helpful. All the sites are clean, well kept and paved with crushed rock. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
A smallish gravel patch right in the middle of the tiny hamlet of Capulin. Friendly owners, clean but dark bathrooms. Laundry room and camping cabins available, though I didn't go exploring either one. No picnic tables. Campground has an excellent view of Capulin Volcano National Monument, which is probably the main reason folks would be through here. We did not see tenting sites anywhere. Hookups available. It's only a couple blocks from the entrance to the park, which is a great place to spend at least half a day, with some great hiking trails up and around the top of the volcano (long extinct, don't worry!) Not a place to hang around for a long time, perhaps, but fine for a night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Great park, easy in-out, gravel, roomy sites with a beautiful view of the old volcano. We decided to stay here instead of trying to go to Raton for the night and were very pleased. Now it will be our preferred choice for our overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
Nice owner. Well maintained. Great park for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
A cool spot when heading to Colorado from Texas. The volcano monument is about 2-3 miles away and is worth at least a few hours to a day of exploration. The park itself is fine, but has few features beyond the utilities and restrooms. There's not much else nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
This is a great "on the way" place to stay. Clean, level gravel lot. Super nice owners - we were running late and they stayed up to wait for us until 10 pm and parked us. They normally close at 9 pm. Great location for Capulin Volcano Nat'l Monument. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$19
A super little RV Park located right across from the Capulin Volcano National Monument. The park is clean and the sites are level, with easy access on and off the highway. The owners are on site and friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$19
This is the cleanest RV park I have ever been too. There is a new owner and he has done alot of work to the park. I hope he keeps the good work up. The park is nicely lit and quiet. There is also a good view of the Capulin Volcano. Stop in and see this park, you will not regret it. They also have gravel at all the sites and they are level. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com