223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Brantley Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 77 user reviews. Phone: (575) 457-2384
CGID1850

Brantley Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   9   9   9   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$18
We previously stayed here about 5 years ago and enjoyed the visit. Except for a nationally known CG a few miles down the road, it could be considered the best option for a park in Carlsbad. The sites and access roads are generally convenient for any sized rig. There are minimal amenities so it is not a destination park, but the utilities work well. If you don't make reservations, it's a gamble to get one of the FHU sites. Even if you don't, it's a convenient CG to Carlsbad Caverns and the price is right for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$14
Nice area with great sites. The bathrooms great, very clean! We surely would stay here again. Good value for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
We were lucky enough to reserve one of the few full hook-up sites, at a very reasonable rate. The sites were large, with a nice picnic table shaded under a shelter with a rock wall wind break. Other than the fact that it was just so darn hot while we were there, it was a great spot, with lots of bunnies hopping around. Although it was about 12 miles north of town, so a little inconvenient for the caverns and other things in town, we were told by a waitress that the other campgrounds in town were full of the oil workers. We were here during the week, but it definitely wasn't close to full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed two nights at Brantley Lake State Park as a base for our day trip to the Carlsbad Caverns. We had a perfect site for our trailer with our back to the open plains that lead to the lake. We could hike within a mile through some semi rough terrain to the lake with our young family. We stayed on a Saturday and a Sunday night. Sunday was definitely much less packed and quieter, but we also had a rough wind storm in the area. I would love to camp at this same site again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 (after purchasing an out-of-state NM annual camping permit for $225 because we will stay in at least two other NM state parks) per night was for a 50A electric and water site on a level asphalt pad. In addition, the generously sized site had a covered picnic table with a privacy/windbreak wall, BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger), and 12x12 gravel tent pad. There is a dump station about .5 miles from the campground which was easily accessible with our 40’ MH and attached tow car—no grate to remove, just the step on cap. Dense desert shrubbery is in and around the campground as well as numerous trees, all of which were blooming profusely during our stay. Animals we saw during our stay included lizards, white-tailed and jackrabbits, 13-lined squirrels, roadrunners, Scaled Quail, and countless songbirds. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park is very quiet. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The campground is just 18 miles north Carlsbad, NM which offers shopping and dining. Mexican restaurants are not open on Sundays. Google maps does indeed show the state park on the wrong side of the lake. Garmin and Bing show the state park’s location correctly. The nearby Living Desert State Park and Zoo is worth the visit even though it’s not included in the annual camping permit; cost is $5 per adult. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone. We used our Millenicom jetpack as a Wi-Fi hotspot and it worked very well on four bars of Verizon 4G LTE. OTA TV had 12 channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed here 2 nights as a home base for visiting the Carlsbad Caverns. I would have to say the caverns are the best we have visited and really enjoyed the self guided tour with the audio box. We reserved a space due to being 43' long. There were only 4 spaces available 2 days before we arrived that would accommodate our RV, the online fee is an additional $8. Very nice campground with very nice hosts. We had a car hauler that they directed us to park in the space by their site. Wish they had sewer at more sites, but we were able to easily dump at the dump station before we reattached the car hauler. Not to sure what large grate the previous poster had to remove. There is a simple step on cap located between the 2 entrances. They must have missed that. Also. the small moth like bugs were very annoying and a week later we are still finding them flying around in our RV. But we were in a park and we were camping. I would rather deals with nature than be parked in the city at one of the other campgrounds we found while visiting Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
Great Park. Sites are paved, fairly level and plenty of space between them. Some tree coverage but most provide minimal shade. Lake level low and did not see anyone on it. Not that big - maybe good for kayak. Fishing available but signage indicated it was catch and release, advising to not eat any fish caught due to high DDT levels. Easy trip to Carlsbad Caverns - maybe 1 hour drive. Visit to Caverns well worth the trip. Roswell about 50 miles North. Easy trails for a nice walk - not challenging though. Very nice playground for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
W/E only, Sewer sites are taken by hosts. Have been full timer for 2 years and these are the best Host I've ever seen! Wonderful people. Dump station is mostly unusable as the entry/exit is very tight and has a giant sewer grate to move. Otherwise, what an Excellent place to stay! The wind can really blow as there is nothing to stop it, but an excellent home base for Carlsbad Caverns & Desert Bloom state park in the area. Good hiking trails and excellent restroom/shower facilities. Back-in sites area mostly level and at the right time would be Excellent star gazing options. Google has it listed on the wrong side of the lake - it's on the East side - but Garmin found it down a good unpaved road. No problems and I think you should check it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
Nice park and very inexpensive. Not much to see or do unless you boat or fish. No trees in the surrounding area but a few at the campground. About 5 miles from highway 285. Flat, blacktop sites. Sites could have been swept to remove some of the small rock that was everywhere. A good place to camp if visiting Carlsbad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
We used Brantley Lake SP as a staging area for our visit to Carlsbad and Carlsbad Caverns National Park. While is it 12 miles north of the town and another 30 to the caverns visitor center and cave entrance, it is a quiet and pleasant place to stay (at least in the off season). The sites are inexpensive and well maintained with resident hosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$14
Great place for what we needed. We had water and electric (30amp). We were on our way from Santa Fe south to Florida and decided to stop and see Carlsbad caverns. This state park is 45 minutes from there, but a good stopping point for us to get up the next day and go to the caverns and continue on. You could just drive to the caverns and back, but it just happened for us to pass thru. Good TV and Verizon reception. The lake was dirty, but we didn't go near it anyway. Good roads and pads with a table, cover and grill. Lots of rabbits. Easy enough, we decided to stay two nights because it was cold the first day and didn't want to travel. Fifteen to twenty minutes to Carlsbad. You are in the middle of now where out here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
Close enough to Carlsbad to offer excellent alternative especially for the price. Actually arrived by accident since I couldn't get any response from the ones closer to town. Waited on line for 12 minutes while the person who answered and ask me to wait, put the phone down, and waited on 7 cashier customers. Finally gave up and decided to keep driving. Would definitely stay again since it is the right distance for me - to or from Santa Fe. If only 30 amp sites are available might want to consider that for summer trip using A/C. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very nice state park. We stayed here for one week. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The playground was more than adequate for our three kids. Due to its rather remote location, we had lots of starry nights. We also saw several different types of rabbits - some were HUGE! We also enjoyed the coyotes howling at night (probably trying to catch a rabbit or two). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
Generous, level sites with asphalt pads and shade--sheltered picnic tables. Fair amount of pine and other trees, considering the desert environment. Several good hiking trails. Lake level is extremely low due to the drought, but this is a great base camp for visiting Carlsbad, the caverns, and the Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park. Verizon 4G works great, 3 or 4 bars of signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$26
We stayed here in order to see Carlsbad Caverns and Roswell. There are closer parks, so check your mapping software. For the cost, it was a nice get away. Very quiet and every site had a nice metal top over the picnic table. Plenty of room between sites and we backed in easily in our 40' coach. We had one of only 3 full hookup sites. There were 2 state employees living long-term, counter to park rules, in the other full hookup spots. I contacted the NM state parks director, who informed me that the public can lump it and those migratory state employees needed the sites more than we do. I paraphrase, but that's the gist of the email I got. There were plenty of water and electric sites available. The lake was pretty low, but there were a lot of people enjoying the water. We'd stay here again if we were ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$4
First time to this State Park and it was enjoyable and well maintained. The sites have covered shelter over the table, and a privacy wall, which is a nice touch. The park is under fire restriction so we couldn’t use the charcoal grill, but did notice that there is no fire pit in the camp sites. The site has a paved pad, water and electric, the bathhouse is clean with three shower stalls, hot water in the showers. Lake is low due to the drought, but still had some boats and jet skis on the lake. The town of Carlsbad is 12 miles away and approximately 54 miles to the caverns. The price reflects the New Mexico State Park camping pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Started at a campground on other side of lake then discovered this campground when checking out the area and decided to move the next day. The developed campground inside of the state park is called Limestone Campground. The roads and sites are paved with most sites being level. Very few full hookups and not all have 50 amp but a very nice park. We reserved two nights on an electric and water site but ended up staying two nights longer due to high winds in the area, but enjoyed our stay. Our site #16 was roomy enough for our 40' Class A and truck and had good views, but our personal favorite on the reservation side was site 14, but it was not available for our stay. You can stay on the reservation side for 1 night without reservations if the site is not marked reserved, otherwise you can stay on the walk-in loop up to 14 days. There is a self pay at the campground entry AND in Limestone campground so better to find your site then use self pay station over in campground by the shower house. The shower was just a hot slow trickle (on/off button only) so not very enjoyable. The campground lost water the second night we were there but it was repaired and back by first thing in the morning, so good job on their part. Rangers came through several times daily to check on things. The entire state park is well maintained with boat ramps, etc. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Our price reflects the 'convenience fee" for making on-line reservations. We only stayed three nights, so we did fine without a sewer hookup. There is a dump station available. The lake had water, but we were advised not to eat any fish we caught due to DDT. We used the campsite as a base for other activities in the Carlsbad area. It was only 10 miles from the edge of town and a whole lot cheaper than the other commercial campsites. Our Sprint cell phone coverage was good. Well worth the price, especially if you are not staying for the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
I got the only site available with full hookup, sewer: a rarity in state parks. This park is supposed to be a fishing lake attraction but the water is so low the park was quiet. We had a nice, back in site (38 foot rig) with covered picnic area and looking out to the desert, lake and dam. We spent 4 nights enjoying the area with day trips to Artesia, the Caverns and some hiking. Carlsbad isn't much to look at as a city, liked Artesia better. We didn't have internet at the park, not even Verizon MiFi, ATT cell service worked, satellite TV worked and we had a few ABQ on air TV channels. Left for ABQ taking 285 N to Roswell then 380 to Socorro I-25. It was a gorgeous ride through incredible mountain scenery and interesting small towns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$14
Rate listed is W/E fee. Self serve is confusing, they lead you to believe there are more sewer sites ($4 more per night) than there are, so I paid for a sewer site and didn't get one. No refunds. Sites are easy to back into, fairly level, Virgin Mifi worked well, facilities worked well. We would camp here again, but, we would find our site first and then register. They should tell you to do that on their instructions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
This is an excellent state park. Everything in this part of New Mexico requires an open mind to be considered scenic. The campground was well taken care of and clean. A great family park with a shade covered play area. The lake was significantly down during our visit, but the boat launch was plenty long. The lake isn't very big so plan on short joy rides then soaking in some sun while swimming off the back of the boat. Overall, no complaints! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Great park away from the city. Spent 4 nights @ $14/night + "reservation fee" of $10 which makes the rate $16.50/night in reality. Very nice quiet setting approximately 16 miles out of Carlsbad. About 40 miles to Carlsbad Caverns. Staff helpful, we would definitely stay here again passing through Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
Wonderful New Mexico State Park! This is a desert park with a couple short hiking trails. Most sites are water/electric only but there are a handful with sewer connections. Approximately half the sites are reservable. The pads were all paved and all had a nice shelter with picnic table. Verizon phone and data signal was marginal. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
We arrived to this very clean, well kept state park for a one night stop and decided to stay longer. The very helpful staff is on call 24 hours a day and a ranger came by later to check on us after we came in. We stayed in the overflow parking lot as it was very dark and we couldn't see our way around very well. We thought we would only stay one night, however, in the morning we found very clean facilities, lake access for the dogs to enjoy a swim after a long walk and an open 50 amp site that overlooked the big lake- all for $14. This is the desert, so everything is dry and dusty, but the RV campground is fully paved for nice walking and trips to the showers. Ice is for sale in the ranger office. There was good bird watching and the sunset/sunrise was stunning. Very quiet at night and friendly camp hosts made the short stay quite enjoyable. We are glad we stayed an additional day. Half of the RV sites are first come, first served and have hookups. The other 25 sites are reservations only, but if you get there and they are open, you may camp there. The Park also has a lot of space for some awesome "primitive" camping that is lake front and several spots would be accesible with a small RV. We would camp again in the RV campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
The campground is obviously in a desert setting, that was to be expected. It was a little bit distant from the highway, but not too far. The sites were nice and had great hookups. There was an asphalt slab that was nearly perfectly level (in site 4). Staff was very friendly; even though they had no record of our online purchase it was not a problem. Went down to 'Day Use' area by the lake and the kids were able to play in the water a little. Very quiet. May look for shadier parks in the future when in the area. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Second trip to Brantley which we chose for it's proximity to Carlsbad Caverns (1 1/4 hour drive). You are in the desert with nice vistas from most sites (we used #26 overlooking the lake). There are a few sites (4 or 5?) with sewer but most have water & 30 amp electricity. Spacious sites and quiet surroundings. Rangers were very helpful and friendly. Rate reflects $14 per night plus Internet reservation fee. About 1/2 of the sites are reservable and the other 1/2 are first come. We would come again if visiting Carlsbad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
Good view from site. Bathrooms were rough but it is a State campground. Had problem with neighboring dog. Campground host wasn't much interested but said he would report it. One strange rule is the additional vehicle fee. If you don't tow your car in you are charged an extra $10.00. We leave small footprint with only a 24.5 foot rig but choose not to tow our car and for that fee was $24.00 a night. We could have hooked up the car right at the entrance (as reported to u by ranger) or pretended to do so but seems like a bit much and we like to support the state campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
This is a wonderful NM state park. It is dark, to enjoy the night skies, and quite with widely spaced sites. It is a great place to come just to relax or to enjoy the features in the area. In addition to the Caverns there is a great state park called "Living Desert" that is on the outskirts of Carlsbad that is great. There are site with full hookups (closer together) and sites with electricity (50 amp) and water (wider spacing). we have always made reservations, just to be sure, but the CG has never been anywhere near full. As noted by another reviewer, there can be a slight petroleum smell in the air, but not bad enough to keep us away. We had the wonderful smell of the blooming desert when we where there. We always try to stay here when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
Very nice campgrounds run by the state. The cactus was in bloom while we were here which added something special. Windy everyday which helped keep the temps comfortable. Electric was good even the breakers at 30 amp held a full load without tripping. The cg is 14 miles is north of town. Short drives to sitting bull falls SP or Caverns NP. Would return if in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$14
This is one of the best state park campgrounds we have ever stayed in and we have been camping for close to 50 years. Wish we could have spent more time here. Close to Carlsbad National Park, a great cave to explore, but we missed the bat flight which we were told starts around Memorial Day. Brantley State Park would be a fun destination in itself. We camped on the reservoir. Our site had electricity and water hook up. The dump station was easy to get to and seemed new. Bathrooms were nice and well organized. I like the way they had the campground separated into reservation and no reservation areas. We did not waste time picking out a site only to see it was reserved. On a Spring week night the place was about half empty. Nice desert foliage. Picnic tables are sheltered. Very quiet with dark night sky. I do not think there was a bad site. Signs at the reservoir caution against eating the fish due to contamination with pesticides. We saw a lot of wildlife. We did not try our TV but Verizon worked fine. Nice boat launch. You should buy gas and groceries in Carlsbad or Artesia. As I write this the main street through the city of Carlsbad is under construction so pull in your mirrors and add extra travel time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Any RV sporting a wind generator would likely love this place. The wind howled through (40+) on our first day there. The park is at a reservoir behind a dam, on the high ground in the Chihuahuan Desert, about 20 miles from Carlsbad. About half the sites can be reserved and the other half are first come first served. We did not see a single FC-FS site open during the four weekdays we were there, and no one flipped the reservable site signs to allow over night use the sites for one night. Accordingly there were sites that went unused sometimes. The sites are paved and have a modern picnic table under a metal roofed shelter with a stone wall to block winds from the predominant direction. Some sites were quite short; #14 is very long and has a separate car parking spot. We thought it was the best site in the park. Our site had both 30 and 50 amp service and plenty of water pressure. The barking dog at the campground host's RV was annoying. The dump station on the way out of the park is easily accessible and well designed. There are hiking trails to the visitor center and down to the water. The visitor center was intermittently staffed during normal hours. The gouges in the top of one of the speed bumps suggests caution when driving through the park. We didn't find any campgrounds nearer to Carlsbad that we wanted to stay at. We'd stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Beautiful park. Had a full hook-up site (there are 2 available). All picnic tables on cement slab with shade cover. Can see for miles. Some sites overlooking the lake. Hiking, biking and water sports. About 1.5 hour to Carlsbad Caverns. Loved the park and would go back. Very peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
The 6 is for the campground overall. It is actually 2 campgrounds in 1. As you pull in (7.5 miles from US 285) turn left and you go to a primitive campground that caters mostly to tents and small rigs. To the right are sites that will hold up to a 45' class A. Our site (# 4 which barely held our 42') had a full hookup. We looked at most of the other sites and did not see one that had sewer. There is a dump site as you leave, but I doubt you could get a Class A into it. The CG is full of bushes with lots of VERY sharp thorns. I had to use some wire cutters to prune one of them so that I could get to the sewer. They are growing into each trail that wanders through the CG. Many of the sites are too small for anything over 30' and all of them are not level. Despite the attraction of Carlsbad Canyon there are not many choices in the area. This would not be one of ours unless we got site #4. Doubtful we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
Campground is a distance from the main highway and far from any stores and at least 45 minutes fro Carlsbad Caverns. The park is perched on high ground and we had lots of strong wind. It overlooks a reservoir...not a lake. It is quite a hike down to the "lake" but there is no beach and you cannot swim in it. There is not much that you can do here it is basically a quiet place to camp. The sites are large and have nice concrete picnic pads with shade. There weren't many RV places in the area that we would want to stay in...this was the best option. If we returned to see the caverns we would probably only stay overnight and be on our way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
Nice park about 30 miles from Carlsbad Caverns. Wi-Fi hot spot did not work well. Got dropped a lot. Clean and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$15
We chose this park because it seemed like the nicest option while visiting Carlsbad Caverns NP. The campground is pretty nice, nothing that spectacular. The sites are spaced apart nicely with shade covered tables. They also have a really nice park for the kids, that looks brand new. I have 3 complaints about the park, though. First off, it's pretty far from the Caverns, at least 45 minutes, longer for us because there was road construction. Secondly, the next day that we were there, a group of inmates (orange jumpsuits and all) arrived and used the bathrooms right next to the playground. We were leaving for the day to go to Caverns, so I can only assume that they were there to clean/maintain the park. They weren't there alone or anything, there were 2 armed guards with them, but with 2 little kids, it didn't give me a warm and fuzzy feeling that they were there at all. Thirdly, every night a petroleum smell would blow in that was pretty overwhelming. There aren't very many options in the area for RV parks that looked any better. Next time, we would probably just drive into the Caverns and drive through Carlsbad and stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
Pulled in late, expecting the best, based on the previous ratings. Most of the sites are very short. A couple of pull-through sites were occupied. Many of the sites are not near level. Some were blocked by overhanging tree branches. The numerous speed bumps on the main loop road get very annoying. Driving through the entrance to the Park is very tight. This is a typical State park, which was designed for much smaller rigs. There is no comparison between this Park and the State parks in Arizona, Oregon, or others. On the redeeming side, it does offer great views of the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Back-in sites, very limited 50 amp with sewer, most are 30 amp with water, no sewer. Extra $10 for online reservation (plus $10 for site and $8 for 50 amp with sewer). Very large site, with covered picnic table and space for a tent. Tight for 14' wide (with slideouts) 40' foot long RV. Anything longer won't fit and larger popouts would hit trees. Sewer at back of site, so be sure you have enough sewer hose. Water pressure at 70+ PSI, power at 123 volts. Very nice views, wooded area, playground and bathrooms nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Very nice campground with widely-spaced sites, numerous trees, and mostly level pads. The shower rooms are modern and clean, with somewhat strange fixtures; the hot water is not adjustable. There are very good hiking trails. The campground is six miles from the highway, but the road is fine, with no potholes or bumps. Verizon connectivity is good. We will definitely stay here again if it fits our travel plans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$4
I am providing this campground with an overall rating of which I have only honored one other place. The Limestone Campground of this State Park is a well designed, spacious and attractive desert shrub campground. There are three pull-through sites available and we had one for our nine day stay. The pull-throughs, three sewer sites, and site 14 and 15 have 50 Amp electric. The campground is divided into two section, the reservation side and the first come first serve side. The reservation side has the better appearing, longer pad and more level sites. Only three or five were occupied each night. Our big rig fit just well into the pull-through, which had a terrific view of the lake and surrounding plains. The access road is paved, wide, and each camp site is paved. Each site has a covered patio and native plant landscaping. Most sites have shade provided by low growing trees. The trees are not big enough or tall enough to block satellite TV. Our PDA net worked great for the internet. If you have a WiFi dish the Carlsbad KOA WiFi can be acquired. Brantley Lake was a birding hot spot for us. There were ducks, geese, pelicans, cranes, loons, grebes, and more each day on the lake. The rate reflects the discount with the annual camp pass. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
I loved this park. I came for one night but stayed 2. The only down side is the park is 12 miles NW of Carlsbad and the Caverns are on the SW side of town so it is a bit of a drive. It is fairly convenient to Sitting Bull Falls. Nothing is really convenient to the falls. There a 6 miles of good paved park road into the campground from US-285. This is one of a handful of NM public parks with water hook ups. Water is in short supply and laying pipe is also very expensive due to the rocky enviroment. People who expect all the bells and bangles should go 2 miles north of this park on US-280 to the KOA. Should anyone really expect WiFi, cable TV, and full hookups for $14? What I love about public parks is the space between sites and the feeling of camping in a natural enviroment. And Brantley Lake is tops in these respects. No, it doesn't have much shade. It is in the high desert and trees taller than 15 feet don't grow here, but there is a nice covered picnic table at each site. Our site overlooked the lake but most sites do not have a lake view. Half of the sites, including the 2 with sewer, can be reserved. Yes, when you get reservations in any public parks you do have to pay a small fee for the service. The nice thing about NM state parks is that reserved sites with green tags are available for one night. So if you are just passing through, you can use them. Reserved sites with Red tags are not available. Unless it is a holiday weekend or spring break you rarely need reservations for one night stays in NM state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
Low-key campground, nice sites. Some have distant view of lake (reservoir). Some might come for the "lake" but our purpose was to visit Carlsbad Caverns. Campground is almost an hour north on US-285, and several miles east of US-285 (6 or more) on crude road, lengthening the trip. That's the downside. But compared to reviews of other Carlsbad area campgrounds, it seems like a good choice. Campsites each have metal pavilion, picnic table, grill, lots of space. Trees, good site separation, far better than commercial RV parks. A few sites have sewer, must be reserved. We just drove in to first-come area, probably better sites but lacking sewer; dump station just outside campground. No cable TV, but our pop-up antenna picked up all the major networks, most in high-def (need to rotate the antenna in different directions to find them). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This is a very nice state park. The ranger was very friendly and helpful, he needs help though. Somebody had thrown toilet paper all over the mens bathroom, it was not cleaned for the 3 days we were here. Our rig is 30 feet and it 'just' fit into the space we had, #26. We had a nice view of the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
We stayed 2 nights while we visited the awesome caverns and Sitting Bull Falls. The campground is remote, but has a quiet and serene atmosphere. The only complaint I have is there is no internet access. We had one of the few sites with sewer hookups and made reservations which cost extra. Each site has their own covered table and BBQ grill. We would stay here again and recommend it. Take the truck bypass to go around part of the Carlsbad downtown area on way to the caverns. Nice Wal-Mart on side of town nearest to the caverns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Remote and away from town. On the lake and crowded. Loud music playing near us. Park ranger had to go over a few times to get it turned down. Had a good breeze and pretty sunset. Cement driveways and picnic areas which have an awning above. Not big rig friendly. Only saw back-in sites and it was difficult to maneuver. Shower had no shower-head and little water pressure but it was large. Staff in office are very friendly and helpful. Would like to stay here again but will not in a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
We arrived mid-week without a reservation and had no problem finding a site that would hold our 40 motorhome in the 'no reservation' section. The park only has thirteen 50 amp spaces and only four of these are in the no reservation loop. Our Verizon phones and air card worked here. We had no problems negotiating the roadways and Carlsbad ( the city ) is a short drive away. We day tripped to Carlsbad Caverns ( a must do!! ) and out to Sitting Bull Falls ( also a must do - take your suits! ) We would not hesitate to recommend this park or to stay here again if we are passing through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
We stayed here for a couple days in the middle of the week and there were only a few other campers. The sites are very spread out. We had site #7 it had lots of flowered bushes and opened to the desert in the back. The park has a visitor center where you can buy ice for $2.50. It is 45 minutes to the Carlsbad Caves and 10 minutes to Living Desert Zoo. It was a very clean park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Beautiful campground located close enough to Carlsbad Caverns National Park. (45 minutes). Based on a previous reviewer's comments, we reserved site 4, which had a sewer hookup. There are just two other sites with sewer, and they are first come/first served only. Our site barely fit our 34' motorhome but was still acceptable. Half of the campground (the east side) has reservable sites, while the other half is first come/first served. If we hadn't wanted sewer (they do have a dump station), we would love to have stayed at site 14, which was spacious, private, and had a fantastic view of the desert. Non-sewered sites are $14. Very peaceful campground and not a bad campsite in the whole place. Large spaces between all sites. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
I don't think the private parks that we passed on the way, can compete with Brantley. We used it as a base to explore Carlsbad and the surrounding area. We gave ourselves 45 minutes to get to the Caverns, but could have used an hour or even more. Spring in the desert is lovely, and the Caverns are awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
We reserved Site #4 on-line which added $10 to the total cost; however, it was worth it to know we had a spot waiting. I found the turns OK, but wouldn't want them any tighter. Site #4's paved/gravel length just fit our 40' motorhome with maybe 2 feet to spare; however, the overall site is spacious and the desert view was fantastic. It appears that a few other sites may have been longer. The park was 60% empty on Thursday & Friday. Carlsbad Caverns was about an hour drive. We would stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$14
Nicely laid-out campground. As previously mentioned, some corners are tight and paved sites are a bit narrow if you have a larger rig. Beautiful views overlooking the lake, and a nicely-maintained foot trail which loops back to the campground, as well as T's off down to the lake shore. Enjoyed the site layouts, which emphasize the natural desert landscaping. Each site has its own little picnic table roof and a wall which helps make it feel very private. My only complaint was the restrooms: a sign on the door saying, due to maintenance issues, heat is not available until 3/8/2010. Showers have the single buttons which you have to continuously push in order to get water flow. All in all, though, a very nice park, and we'd certainly return. Having to slow for road construction, and driving through Carlsbad city traffic, it took us just over an hour to get to Carlsbad Caverns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
This is a nice park. We camped in the dispersed campground this time (Jan), but camped in the main campground a couple months ago. The restrooms/showers were always clean, as were the grounds. We had the dispersed campground on the bay all to ourselves: and the night sky was fantastic. There are unofficial pull-through spots with rock fire-rings, but you basically find what you like and camp. The main campground is nice as well, and has good views of the lake. The road is narrow, and some of the spots are hard to get into with a trailer however. New Mexico State Park visitors should be aware of "furlough" days. Due to budget cuts, there will be several days during 2010 that the state parks will be closed and the gates locked. The ranger stopped by our campsite to let us know about an upcoming furlough day, which was appreciated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
This is a New Mexico state park located 15 miles north of Carlsbad (it is not that bad though because there is a cut-off that allows you to skip the traffic in town when traveling from North to South). We made reservations online so the price was impacted by the $10 (that's right $10!) to make the reservation; anyways it was still cheaper than the Carlsbad locations. A cool side-note about the park is that as you exit onto the highway if you cross straight you can drive 30 miles to Sitting Bull Falls. Overall we are falling in love with state parks. Instead of worrying about cramming as many sites into a location as possible they actually consider views and privacy. Coyotes howling at night and a family of road-runners (meep meep) hanging out in our camp. The spot itself was paved but the pavement is very narrow; just wide enough for your rig. On the depth end we have a 37' fifth wheel and we had to back ALL the way in to fit both the truck and trailer in spot (took some fancy maneuvering with the truck too). Full hook-ups available at the site but they ask that you only drain gray at the dump station. I think they purposefully setup the drain way in back so a standard drain line won't reach; we used the macerator and hose and were careful about the volume dumped at any one time. Silent at night with bright stars and open sky. It feels like you are the only people on earth staying here. Just leave the "Burning Man" at home and enjoy this great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Very nice park with very nice views of the lake. If you are going to visit Carlsbad Caverns from here, allow extra driving time. Hwy 180 through Carlsbad is being worked on and the traffic is very bad. Take the Relief Route (Happy Valley Road, Hwy 524) around the city instead. Windy! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
Beautiful views of lake. Good water and electric. Clean dump station. Very nice picnic table with metal shelter. On top of hill so there is wind. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Nice park with good views. There are several pull through sites with 50 Amp power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
We stayed 6 nights and were happy with the park, facilities, hosts, and rangers. We originally reserved online paying the $10 fee but asked the host after the first night if we could just move to the First Come/First Serve side of the park where there were sites with some shade and better views. Check out time is 2pm, check in is 4pm. Most campers we saw didn't stay longer the 3 nights. Fires are permitted but only in the site grill, no ground fires. Close and convenient to Carlsbad, Rosewell, Carlsbad Caverns, Sitting Bull Falls, The Outdoor Living Museum, etc. The lake wasn't that pretty. We didn't even take the time to put the Porta Boat on the water. It's also only a catch a release due to tainted water and fish. We did see deer, and of course cows and horses on local private property. On a couple of nights there was a strong odor of sulfur from the surrounding wells. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$4
Our rate reflects a New Mexico annual camping pass. This is a really nice campground and one of the better ones in the New Mexico State Parl system. We had a pull-through site, #44, which had 50 amp service. We camped here on the way to and back from our destination. There weren't too many campers. I really have nothing to add to the other reviews. There is not a bad site. Note, the sewer on the four full-hook-up sites is to the rear of the campsite. This may be an issue, like it would be for us, depending on the design and location of your sewer hose. This is a great location to visit the Caverns even though it is about a 30-minute drive. You can't beat the price and the setting. We definitely will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
The lake is very pretty but do not go there if you plan on swimming or fishing. The water was contaminated and "no fishing or swimming" signs were everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$4
Saying the host is disinterested is a major improvement from the reality. His dog was one of the problems. A camper in a ragged trailer, and ragged vehicles kept two dogs tethered out near the street. They barked at every little thing that happened. The ranger was not interested in quieting the dog problem either. The park is well kept physically and in the middle of a huge amount of things to keep you busy. Carlsbad is in the middle of a major construction boom so traffic is tough in town We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
I generally agree with all previous positive comments, but would like to clarify some of that review information that is in error. The park isn’t actually ‘remote’ in that it’s only 12 miles from Carlsbad, which includes the 4.5 miles off the main highway. The park is landscaped with plenty of trees, but in the high desert area of SE NM they don’t grow high enough for shade. $4 won’t get you into a site unless you have some form of NM park pass. The rate posted for my review is the current published price. The one-way mileage to the nearby attraction of Sitting Bull Falls is actually 45 miles. There is 50 amp service in about a third of the sites to include the only three pull thru’s. About one third of the sites require at least some back to front leveling. Only about a third of the sites will accommodate big rigs, but those that do are nice, level, lengthy sites. Access roads and pads are paved. Water pressure and voltage was good, but the park wasn’t full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$4
Remote desert environment which is interesting for someone unfamiliar but but stark. Nice nature trail from camp to ranger station. Very windy in the spring. I suspect the area would be very uncomfortable in the summer. Cell phone coverage is good. Warnings are posted not to eat the fish from the lake since they have DDT. Host was moderately disinterested. Ranger staff are friendly and helpful. Carlsbad has very nice stocked lake for fishing and recreation. Very interesting area for geology study. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
We camped here for five nights in March 2008. This is a Chihuahuan desert park so be prepared for great scenery, few trees and big skies. Expect cold nights and warm days. There are a few short walks/hikes within the park. The park is well maintained with large, mostly level, paved sites. Campsites have a wonderful sun shelter with a picnic table and many have a lovely stone wall to block the wind. The staff were very helpful. The restrooms are very clean, but hot water in the showers was limited. Birding opportunities are also limited. BLSP is an excellent home base for trips to Carlsbad Caverns National Park and Lincoln National Forest. The former is an outstanding attraction and the latter has terrific hikes and scenery including Sitting Bull Falls and Five Points Vista. All suitable for hikers and non-hikers alike. All these attractions are about one hour’s drive from BLSP, but the drives are worth it followed by a return to a great park for camping. TV reception is great: no trees to block signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Brantley State Park is a nice place to stay on the way to Carlsbad Caverns National Park. The sites have a sturdy shelter and table with large level pads. Everything was well taken care of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Nice and remote, but worth the drive. This is an outstanding State Park with everything you will need for a fun camping trip. The lake has good access and there are National parks near by. Some sites are small, but there are some bigger sites. We have a 37 foot 5th wheel that fit into site 19 just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Lots of trees. Some sites were very private due to trees and rock walls. Every site had a table with a roof. Very clean, and nice paved roads. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Nice park, close to town, shopping and attractions. Owner and family who work here are very, very nice. Free WiFi was nice, but our Verizon card worked well here. The WiFi is faster, so we used it. Lots of animals for kids to check out. Turtles, ponies, goats and chameleons. These folks try very hard and we like staying at family owned parks. Would definitely stay here again. The only drawback is that some of the permanent residents have let their rigs look tacky with stuff laying around a couple of flat tires. Makes it look bad, but ignore that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$4
This is a very nice quiet state park with the best water pressure we’ve ever had at a park. Our cell phone reception was good but my aircard for our computer was iffy, (Verizon) The town of Carlsbad has an Albertson’s Market and a Super Walmart that we found to be well stocked. The park is close to the Living Desert Zoo & Gardens State Park which is an indoor/outdoor living museum ($5.00 per adult ) displaying more than 40 native animal species and hundreds of succulent plants from around the world. It’s a 1.3 mile self-guided tour which is a leisurely walk through various habitats. http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us/PRD/LivingDesert.htm Directly across from the entrance to Brantley Lake is the road leading to Sitting Bull Falls which is about 30 miles in. You will be traveling near some of the oil fields and there is a nasty smell every now and then. There are numerous picnic shelters, a modern restroom, drinking fountains and a very short walk to the falls. This is maintained by Lincoln National Forest and there is a fee of $5.00 per vehicle(half price if you hold a Golden Age Pass).We know they will take you on a guided tour of the caves that are behind the falls but you must call ahead. http://www.fs.fed.us/r3/lincoln/recreation/caves.shtml We spent a week at Brantley and really enjoyed ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Beautiful high-desert campground with view of dammed-up lake from every campsite, distant mountains, and desert meadows. Lots are 80 ft wide, paved, with sewer available in 2 of 51 sites. Ours was a sewer site and our fee was $18. Non-sewer sites are $14. There are both reservation and non-reservation sites. Grills and picnic tables are provided on a cement slab with steel and stone-wall shelter at each site. A nature guide is provided for easy hiking across the desert terrain trails. The campground has some trees. Access roads are paved. The camp is about 12 miles from town. There is a boat launch but eating the fish in the lake is not recommended. Staff is friendly and helpful. Campground host also.This campground is about one hour's drive from Carlsbad Caverns National Park visitor center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
Very Remote, not bad is all you intend to do is get away from everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$14
We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed the time at the park. Many of the sites look out onto the lake however access to the lake is very limited due to heavy brush along the shoreline. The other downside is the smell from local oil wells in the area which is usally strongest in the mornings. The campground is very well maintained and the sites are nice. We would stay here again and we have been impressed with the new mexico State Parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$14
We stayed here while visiting New Mexico for 5 days last Christmas. Park is a little drive out of the city but GREAT for nature lovers & those that don't like the "RV Park" type atmosphere all the time. Sites were separated, some shaded, with picnic tables under shelter. Very quiet & nicely kept State Park. Small playground & hiking trails down to the nearby lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
Nice spacious sites with lots of room and nice views. Having electricity is really nice in a state campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2004
$14
We visited this park at an unfortunate time because the wind screamed and howled the whole time we were there--it was rather disconcerting. The lake was whipped into foam and whitecaps. The camp host was friendly and helpful, we appreciated her phone call in advance of our arrival telling us that the main road was out and giving us alternate directions. Hated the showers, the nozzle was too low, projected at an awkward angle and the on button had to be held down continually. The water temp also could not be adjusted and it was just lukewarm; in the summer it probably feels just right but was chilly in November. Sites were pretty level and spacious with nice views of the lake. The trees have grown since we were there about 12 years ago but they don't provide much shade, we liked the covered picnic tables. Given the backroads we had to take to get in and out due to the main road outage it seemed a bit remote but we enjoyed a visit to Carlsbad Caverns and the town of Carlsbad. We would stay there again if the forecast did not predict strong winds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Sites are well separated, roomy and easy for even a big rig to back into. The friendly workcampers at the visitor center asked how big our rig was, then suggested a particular site--we had a beautiful view of the lake and all the privacy we could ask for. Don't bother paying for a sewer site when you use the automated payment station. There are only 3 and the camphosts have them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Arriving at the site in the evening was conveniant. There is an "ATM" style terminal to register at and pay (talks to you pretty loud, too!). We met some friends up there, and finding a couple sites to park together is difficult as they are more private than others I have seen just by distance from each other, which is great if you're going alone. Spaces were nice, pavement pretty level, gravel around, nice shelters with picnic tables and nice BBQ grills (anytime we don't have to dirty ours up we don't!). Shower and restroom facilities were clean, but showers not very functional. Most had a pushbutton timer for water (which is NEVER long enough), but handicap stall had an on-off valve. Problem for me was shower head faces the bench in the stall, making it damn near impossible to standup for shower (I know, I know, I shouldnt be using it if I don't need it, just didnt want to mess with the pushbutton!) Nice gravel trails to take you to the lake. One dump station on the way out of the park. Only problem is, when I went to pack up and get ready to dump, I noticed one of my bumper caps on the ground, and sewer drain hose missing. Overall, enjoyable and nice, but lock up your things, first time I have been a victim of thieves in an RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$14
Park is approx 15 miles from Carlsbad and 30 miles north of the Caverns. Sites are level, wide and deep with cabanas, picnic tables and trees. Has a dump station. Fishing and boating on Brantley Lake (boat launch is about 1 mile from campground) as well as numerous hiking trails and a Visitors Center. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com