223611 User submitted reviews online!!
White's City RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 61 user reviews. Phone: (575) 785-2291
CGID1853

White's City RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   7   7   1   1   6   2   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
We arrived without a reservation after watching the bat flight at Carlsbad Cavern. That was our first mistake. You have to go to the Rodeway Inn to check in! Stood in line behind half a dozen people checking in to the motel. Warning signs should have been that the hotel had lost all three reservations of the couples in front of me. Finally served by a very nice, very senior gentlemen who completed my reservation. After nearly an hour wait, he shows me a very poor aerial photo of the campsite, no campground map, and tells me to take #1 or #2! I unhook my toad, drive into the park, and then spent 30 minutes walking up and down with a flashlight trying to find these sites. Then we are joined by the next customer in line, doing the same thing. I sent my wife back in the toad to the motel for clearer instructions, to be told "Pick any empty site!" Myself and the other lost camper spent another 30 minutes walking and driving around in the dark before we found at the end of an obscure hidden road more sites. In desperation we walked these remote sites with a flashlight before we found numbers #1 and #2 written in 1" inch letters on an electrical box!!! Finally 2 hours after registering I managed to pull into site #1. I am wedged between two permanent campers. I am not able to open my slides fully, as others have mentioned. The sites face each other. When I open my door I am three feet away from my neighbours awning. We share a center table, his grill is three feet from my slide! This is the worst campsite I have ever stayed in. The most badly organized, poorly designed and most poorly run. Under no circumstances consider staying here. It is far too stressful, and at $40, it is ridiculously overpriced. If it was free I wouldn't stay here again, if I could give it a minus score I would. Horrible, horrible, horrible! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
As stated by others, most sites are too narrow for slideouts on both sides. We were lucky to get an end site which was fine. No reservations, so take your chances with a big rig. Closest place to Carlsbad Caverns which is only 7 miles up the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
We had an early morning ranger-led tour at Carlsbad Caverns, so we needed a site nearby. This one worked for us. No problem with registration; the man at the gift shop was helpful with a suggestion for a good hiking area. The site was narrow with a shared table and shade structure. The combination toilet/shower room, which we did not use, was austere and not inviting. If our unit was not self-contained, I would have to lower the overall rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$36
Stayed here passing through the Carlsbad, NM area. Okay for one night. Quiet but real windy when we stayed. We would probably return if ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
Registration is in the gift shop and when I entered the gentleman behind the counter did not acknowledge me so I finally asked if this was where I was to register. He said "Register for what". I responded "Camping". He asked what I was camping in and I said a 5th wheel. He then said "That is NOT camping! That is RV'ing and next time DO NOT say camping when you are not camping." I was astonished by his rudeness and should have walked right out! He was downright mean. Beyond that, the park was dirty. The ladies restroom/shower area was filthy and looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. No paper towels, hair & dirt everywhere. Overflowing trashcans. I would never stay here again even if it is the closest RV park to Carlsbad Caverns. Rate reflects a AAA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
We were directed by signs to book in at the store that is the gift shop and Visitors Centre. The gentleman was rude and sullen. Perhaps he wasn't feeling well as he sniffed loudly and disgustingly throughout checking us in. The campground is gravel, sites are cramped and litter is strewn about. The one women's shower/toilet combination room was filthy and the only camp rubbish bin was overflowing. It gets a one for a clean laundry. We would not stay here again and would drive miles out of our way to avoid doing so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
Pull-through sites are easy to get into although narrow. Full hook ups in decent condition, plus cable and good Wi-Fi. Register in the gift shop below, and if they are closed, register at Rodeway Inn. This park doesn't even have a website. Plenty of sites available right now. Literally footsteps away from Carlsbad Caverns entrance, then a 5 mile drive to the visitors center. You and your neighbor share a covered patio, picnic table, and a charcoal grill. The town of Carlsbad is 20 miles away, so I recommend staying here in Whites City if you are visiting the park. Also the sites on the upper loop have a nice view of Guadalupe mountains. This is an older park, and there many older long term units here, so not the most aesthetically pleasing park. There is nothing to do here at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2013
$40
With just a few fixes, this could be a great park. Bathroom showers have no benches or hooks to hang clothes on. The dressing area is about 2 feet by 2 feet shared with the other shower! Freezing cold floors, broken light over bathroom stalls. Yes, other campers left a mess, which is frustrating, like wads of hair in drain, razors on shower floor, not to mention what was in the actual restroom stall. But it does need to be gone through at least twice a day. Otherwise, friendly helpful check in, great location for caverns. Ticket buys you three days to visit so you can return at your leisure. No problem with electrical as mentioned by other camper. Make sure the power is off at post before plugging in your RV, this is true for all parks. Easy pull through gravel sites. Fix the bathrooms and this would be a winner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
I was a bit nervous camping here based on some previous reviews but we wanted to be close to Carlsbad Caverns NP. We were pleasantly surprised overall. The sites were plenty roomy, most sites are pull through, the road is very wide, the utilities were good and the location, right at the entrance to the park, was ideal. There was nothing wrong with this park and I felt the rate (reflecting Good Sam) was a fair value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Very close to Carlsbad caverns, otherwise not much to do there. Sites are very close to each others, couldn't open my slideout all the way. But for a night, it's good enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Price is for 30-amp water/electric/sewer pull-through site, fairly level. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. Saw large Motor Home with numerous slides in camp, you just need to be careful getting into your site. This is not a destination campground, but a good choice if you are planning on visiting Carlsbad Cavern. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2013
$33
Just as others have said small sites with a shared covered picnic table and phone poles between. The man who checked us in said we would not be able to open our slides on one side but we wanted to be close to the caverns so we went up for a look. I choose site J2, and it seems like the biggest one, and we did get our slides out with not much room in between. Wi-Fi was spotty, but all in all it met our needs just fine. Stayed one night in. Would do it again to be close to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$36
We stayed here on recommendation of friends due to it being close to the caverns. The man doing the check in gave us no information except a site number. We were unable to get into the assigned site and had to go back to change sites. The sites are extremely narrow and require careful planning to get in, miss the roof of the cover on the picnic table, and still have room to open slides. Electric, water, and sewer worked well. Wi-Fi was very weak and sporadic. Price was higher than we have paid for overnight before. We would not stay here again. Next time we'd drive from Carlsbad to the caverns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Really located in White's City...not Carlsbad. Easy to find as the town is tiny. Good Sam rate. Sites are dated as they are not really designed for the bigger units of today, but we did get our 40' fiver with three slides into a pull through. A bit close to neighbor, but passable. Entry roads are fine. A small cover is over your provided picnic table. Full hook ups with 50 amp. Some trees for shade, but satellite TV worked fine if you park right. AT&T cell was fine. Free wi-fi was acceptable. Just a short drive into Carlsbad Caverns NP. Cute store/gift shop, post office and other amenities at entrance/check in. There is a restaurant across street. Gas station appeared to be closed. I suggest filling up in Carlsbad. Pretty sunsets. Minor leveling on asphalt pads, gravel and thatch everywhere else. I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Yes, not the classiest place in the world and a little run down. And yes, a fair number of permanent residents. But not that bad, everything worked and nothing was horrible. The showers are all in one single room like gym class used to be. Not sure why anyone would consider that acceptable in this day and age but there are full hookups so no real reason to use the bathhouse anyway. Enough room for big rigs to maneuver but actual spaces are a little tight. One slide is no problem but opposing slides might be. Wi-Fi worked well and there was also AT&T 3G service. The real draw is the location, incredibly convenient to the caverns. Price is a little high for what you get but then again you would easily make up the difference commuting back and forth from Carlsbad, and being right at the park is more fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We were concerned after reading other reviews, but took a chance given it's so close to the Caverns. Though the park is far from luxurious, the sites are level, have fairly new covered picnic tables and decent hook ups. The bathrooms, well, some effort is being made. Women have two shower stalls, but only a curtain. There is no locking door and no place for clothing or shower tote. Also, almost unbearably hot because there is no exhaust fan. Men have the gym class arrangement. It is certainly unique, but my husband shrugged it off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This RV site was a surprise as to how nice it was. You have to stop at the market in a small shopping center to register. You don't see the RV Park from there. The RV Park is found taking a road that goes around the small shopping center and down a hill. Each site has a covered picnic table. Sites were gravel but are fairly level (still have to do a little correction). The showers were laid out nicely, but they were fairly dirty. Park is very close to the Carlsbad Caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
I called the office twice to confirm availability since we were driving quite a distance to get here. They do not take reservations, but the staff said they had room. We arrived today around noon, and there was a sign at the front door of the gift shop stating the RV park would be closed 4/16 & 4/17 due to chip sealing of the campground. Make sure you ask the person who answers the phone if the park is available before you drive the extra 20+ miles from Carlsbad to get here. We were very disappointed with the poor customer service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Great location near caves (7 miles to caves on a great road) good for a single night to see caves, showers were unclean, no locks on the shower, no kids stuff. Campground was clean and basic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
Those handling the phones are not well informed. Permanent dwellers using amenities of site next to them, leaving choice sites "unavailable". Trash containers full. Barking dogs kept tied up all day. Laundry room floor was dirty. Will not stay again nor recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
As others have said, the best thing going for it is the location to the Caverns. It was an acceptable campsite, level, with electricity and dump. The managers were friendly and helpful. The fudge in the grocery store was great. We've stayed in lots worse places. The only real negative is the price. Not worth $30 but cheaper than commuting to the further state park which I'd rate an 8+, All in all, we'd stay here again if we visit the Caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
We stayed here because of its proximity to Carlsbad Caverns, and it was a great overnight stop. It's right behind a shopping center that has a nice general store with a friendly manager and an attached store that sells fudge. There are some cool souvenirs in the general store like Navajo pottery, carved bears, etc. There is a restaurant across the street that looks nice from the outside, but when I went inside (it had just closed) it smelled bad and didn't seem clean or as nice as I'd thought it would be. The manager of the general store (where you check in to the RV park) explained that there were only 50-amp connections and that I could borrow an adapter if I needed one. He gave us a map and directed us to some spots to choose from, but I must have turned a little sooner than I should have (I think I should have gone another level up) and ended up in an older section of the park that hadn't been upgraded, because it was 30-amp. We decided to stay, anyway, because it was nice and quieter than the upper level (when I walked my dog up there to check it out, someone was playing music loudly in their motorhome). The spot we stayed in was level and had a good water and electrical hook-up. There were trees and a picnic table, and a laundry room and restroom with a shower. Maybe I'm not too picky, but I thought it was great. Just a heads up--there is a ton of construction going on in Carlsbad proper right now, according to some fellow tourists we met who said it was a real nightmare in their motorhome. If you're leaving the area and heading North you'll want to go around the city of Carlsbad if you can--just check with one of the people in the general store or the attached shop with the fudge and they will give you an update on the status of the construction and good directions to circumvent the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
I think we are rather picky about noise. Although this is fairly close to a highway, it was quiet enough to sleep. The sites are very close and the place is a bit run down. It is the closest to Carlsbad Caverns, just minutes away. And it's safe enough. There is a little store and a post office and a clean enough but no taste restaurant across the street. Overall, we would stay here again. They had the power switched to campsites, just had to plug in on the other side of the pole as did our neighbor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
This park has been improved in the past couple of years, but still has issues. New electrical service has been installed, but our site's power didn't work, and we had to borrow from the next site. All RV sites are now 50-amp only, so bring an adapter if you need it. The rusted-out grills have been replaced with new ones, and the collapsing shade ramadas are now repaired. The asphalt pads are short and still lumpy in a few sites. Wi-fi has been installed but didn't work when we visited. Verizon Wireless was spotty and unreliable. Still, if you want the closest camping option (by far) to Carlsbad, this is the only game in town. Otherwise, try parks in the town of Carlsbad 30 miles north or the cheap no-hookup camping at Guadalupe National Park 30 miles south. Register at the motel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a very rustic RV park. There are full hookups, 50 amps, they will loan you a converter with a refundable deposit. The sites are not super wide, with asphalt pad to park on and there is a table with a cover over it. The roads are gravel. There is a pine tree next to each site. WiFi works fairly well. It has all the basic needs but the place is not much to look at. The real advantage is the RV park is close to Carlsbad cavern (7 miles). Good place to stay for a night. We stayed here in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Location, location, location. Super close to Carlsbad Caverns, only CG within even 20 miles of the Caverns. It is 7 miles up the road. Outside of location, it is a pretty funky, crummy CG. People do not pick up after dogs, and apparently this is OK. Sites are very close to each other, we had no one on either side so it was not an issue, but were someone next to us I believe our slide would virtually touch. I suspect it usually is not full nor busy, so you might also get an empty space next to you. Bottom line, don't expect much, stay for the convenience of location. If we went to the Caverns again, I would stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice that it was closest to the Caverns, this place is definitely not a destination but works for one or two nights if you are there to see the caves and bats. There is a large gift/souvenir shop where you check in and the staff was very helpful. We wanted a certain site but it was 50-amp, and we only need 30 and the staff allowed us to use a converter with a $30 deposit, and because we were leaving early the next morning, before the staff arrives to work, they arranged for us to meet the maintenance man early in the morning and he had our deposit for us. The only real positive about the park is its proximity to the Caverns. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
There have been many bad reviews of this park but it was not all that bad. It is close to the highway but not close enough to rattle your rig. The Wi-Fi was great. The best reason to come here is the closeness to Carlsbad Caverns just 7 miles up the park road. Guadalupe NP is just a half hour down the road. It beats driving the 25 minutes from Carlsbad everyday. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Best place to camp to visit Carlsbad Caverns, as it is right at the entrance road. A bit funky but friendly, and they are trying, adding new picnic tables, trees, armadas. Great host, though he is not there all year. Some of the bathrooms are recently remodeled but not cleaned very often. Very little road noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Rural, basic RV park. Dirt/gravel interior roads. Friendly manager. We actually went clear into Carlsbad looking for a nicer park. Most looked pretty rough and the KOA was several miles in the wrong direction for us (we were stopping at the Caverns on the way to San Antonio). We don't care about amenities, just that it's flat and the utilities are good. Spent two nights. Closest park to the Carlsbad Caverns. About a 15-20 mile drive into Carlsbad. We drove there for dinner and a movie the second night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
This park should be full to capacity all the time!! We were staying at another park in Carlsbad. While leaving the caverns we drove through here to check it out. It is literally right outside the gates of the park. Ed flagged us down and encouraged us to stay. Now what Ed officially does at the park I'm not sure. He quoted us $30/night but when we checked in the gentleman there told us Ed shouldn't have done that, but he gave us that rate (which he said was the discount/Good Sam rate) anyway. $33 otherwise. Ed helped us and everyone else when we pulled in and sure was a good park host! All sites have full hookups (no cable and no TV signal) but most are 50amp. They do have converters for sale/rent. All the sites are pull through. Don't be fooled by the cinder block bath houses. We stayed here in 3/11 and it looks as if the interiors are brand new. They have some of the nicest showers and bathrooms I've seen at an RV park. There is strong Wi-Fi in the park, and we had 4 bars of Verizon 3G while there. You can see El Capitan and Guadalupe Peak from the park (cant do that in Carlsbad) and I jogged into Carlsbad Canyons NP while we were here. Bottom Line: You can't get an RV park with hookups any closer to Carlsbad Canyons or Guadalupe Mountains National Park. We didn't initially come here because we weren't sure they were in business. They are, and it's great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
They are trying hard to make this a nice park. They remodeled the bathrooms and there is all new electrical. Bugs every where in the bathrooms, both alive and dead. No shower curtains on the showers and shower curtains were used on the toilet area. When the electrical was replaced they ran the wiring over head and placed poles on the site. This made it a very tight squeeze for us and the slides. This is a perfect location to visit the Caverns since it is only 15 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We arrived late on our way to the caverns an really had no other option without a lot of driving. The site we got was infested with no-see-ums and we were eaten to death in short order. Probably had something to do with the sewer cap being ineffective - tough to get a seal. Definitely would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This RV park was very nice and clean. The shower have been renovated and the the entire White City is under new ownership and there have been many improvements. They had nice facilities and it was so close to Carlsbad Caverns! After that long walk in the Caverns, it was just a 10 minute drive to the RV park. check in was across the street at the Roadway Inn front desk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
I agree with the last review. This campground has the basics and no frills. But if you want to see the Carlsbad Caverns, you can't get closer than this. It has everything we needed for our motorhome, including 50amp, sewer hookup, and fresh water. The bathrooms and showers were not in good condition, but while we were there, they were being renovated, so they should be in good shape shortly. The staff at the check-in were very friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
This is a very basic park, good for an overnight stay while visiting Carlsbad Caverns National Park. Don't expect any extras such as internet or TV reception. Sites are level and easy to access. RV park office is at the motel which is about a 1/4 mile away. Power outlets are 50 amp only but office will loan you an adapter if you have a 30 amp plug. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
What a trashy campground, one of the worse I have seen. Half the sites either did not have working water spigot or power. How do they provide the 30-AMP service? They put a 25 or 30-AMP fuse into a 20-AMP household outlet. My power strip showed that the outlets are not grounded. The sewer smell in our first site was so bad that we had to re-hookup the trailer and move. Couldn't move to the upper sites, because they only have 50-AMP outlets. The 30-AMP sites do not have sewer hookups. There appears to be very little cleaning and maintenance being done at this campground, although the upper bathroom is closed and being renovated. Yes, it is close to the Carlsbad Caverns, but I would travel the extra 25 miles to camp elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
Well, we read several of the less than flattering prior comments about this park and still decided to give it a try. As I read the prior comments about poor showers, poor toilets, lousy picnic tables, rusted out grills yada, yada, yada. I got to thinking that I'd paid quite a bit of money in purchasing this RV so that I WOULD HAVE a clean toilet, clean shower, tidy kitchen, etc., with me at all times. So, as long as the park has adequate water, sewer and power hook ups and has reasonable sized and arranged spots, I could care less, quite frankly. We pulled in in the early afternoon, pulled out early next morning, went up the road to see the caverns and went on our merry way later that afternoon. This park served its purpose well for us. Now, if you're the type who is driving a half million dollar MH, pulling a pricey toad and quibbles endlessly over a measly $38, you should stay way away from this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This place was a dump! It looks as though perhaps in the 70's it was a very nice place, but somehow between then and now the owners have been lost in a time warp. Windows were broken in the bathrooms to allow nature's residents free range. Included the bats from the local caverns. Toilets were clogged and not working. Showers were old and in a dark, cold, "dungeon" setting. Critters got into the park trash during the night and it was spread throughout the park in the morning. This appears to be an ongoing problem as management will not spend the money to critter proof the trash cans. I thought parking near a light pole would be helpful when using the bathrooms after dark, but turned into a bitter-sweet decision. I was unaware of the number of bats that come out of the caverns and into the RV park at night. It's cool if you like to watch the bats catch bugs right before your eyes, but it's not so cool trying to wash their waste off your RV. Carlsbad Caverns is a breathtaking experience, but I can't say the same for this RV Park. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The park was terrible. Campsites are in very poor condition. The restrooms were filthy and in disrepair. No pool, no cable. The sites with 50amp service did not have a 30 amp plug. DO not waste your money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Campground is not much more than a parking spot right at the entrance to Carlsbad NP. That is what makes it worth while. No shade, gravel spots. There are covers over the picnic tables. Racoons are everywhere at night, especially in the garbage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is the closest campground to Carlsbad Caverns, and that is the best thing about it. It is better than when we stayed here in 2007 with updated electric service and more gravel on the roads (fewer potholes). I would have given the CG a better rating but we were charged $4 more per night than the rate that we were quoted in Feb. Internet is available at the hotel and a swimming pool is also available for campers to use. We did see Javalinas and deer in the CG which was pretty neat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
The only thing going for this campground is the proximity to Carlsbad Caverns. Sites are very tight, area around campground not maintained, the grill was rusted out. All looked like it was left over from the 50's except it did have newer electric and sewers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
If you want to see the Caverns, this is the place to stay. Gravel sites, roofed picnic tables by each site. Hey, this is desert country, and it is an older park, but it is right at the caverns. We stayed there two nights, quiet, reasonable rates. If you want KOA amenities, go to the KOA but expect a 1.5 hour drive to the caverns. If you need groceries, cigarettes or liquor, buy them before stopping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
Why, oh why, did I want to ignore the other reviews and trust the White's City website? Because I wanted to believe that there was a leafy, green oasis, gated, with swimming pool and shopping, convenient to the park entrance. THERE IS NOT! KEEP LOOKING! IT'S NOT THAT FAR TO DRIVE TO STAY ELSEWHERE! OK, sorry for the shouting, but really! Grass that has not been watered since 2006. A pool that holds no water. A grocery store without lettuce (or any produce whatsoever). A museum permanently closed. A gas station with no personnel, credit cards only. Restrooms that may never have been mopped, ever. A gate that, clearly, has been missing for years. And weeds with seeds so spiny and sharp that I am still pulling them out of my bare feet days after we left, as they lodged everywhere inside our trailer. And yes, "No Refunds" is the standard policy. Note to the owners: update the (mis)information on your website. Honesty, about more than your proximity to the park, would be nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
I really can't imagine a worse park. The spaces were small, there were no trees, no grass and a person shouldn't even go close to the bathrooms. It was close to the Carlsbad Caverns but I would never send anyone there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
I had heard bad things about this park but it's so close to Carlsbad Caverns that I tried it anyway. Things are improving and they have just installed 50 AM service boxes. Note that they only have 15 Amp and 50 AMP receptacles in the new boxes so bring an adapter if you need 30 Amps. Also note that the old boxes are still on the sites but do not work. Wild life walks right through the park and that's pretty neat. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
We're giving this a 10 rating for two reasons. First, the amazing landscape around the Carlsbad Caverns entrance. Second, we were here for 4 days in winter, so there were only 4 or 5 campers in the whole park; and while walking our cat we met raccoons, a skunk, a family of deer and a family of white-collared Peccaries (wild boars), The wildlife and setting of this park was truly awesome, and it was very quiet. However, it should be noted that this park is more of a 'campground' experience, and what amenities they advertise are not actually available. (Water park, restaurant, beer, cigarettes). They have a general store, but it sells nothing you'd really need. Anything you need you will have to go into Carlsbad to get (about 30 miles away). Since we were here in the winter, White City is just 'kind of' open. Most of the attractions were closed. But to stay so close to the Carlsbad Caverns, and experience the caves was amazing. The showers were... interesting. The men's room has a YMCA-style shower system; 4 shower heads in one big room! The woman's showers (2) are open to the entrance of the restroom with no doors or curtains. Neither restroom was very clean, and the women's was overrun with mosquitoes. Wi-Fi is available in the office only, but is open all night. Staff is friendly and helpful. This place is wild, adventurous and highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
We drove by this campground on our way to visit a friend. Definitely NOT what the brochures claim it is. It was run down, dirty, trashy. We decided not to stop there and go on to visit our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
White's City Resort RV Park is a disgrace. The location and the layout seem valid but the park is in terrible condition and the bath houses need to be closed until they are cleaned and repaired. The person at check-in assumed that I wanted to stay for only one night. When we drove around the hotel to the campground, I understood why! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
The sites where we stayed were side-by-side hookups and very close together. Our slide outs would have been touching the next RV is one was able to get in beside us. We could not use the sewer because it was overflowing. The only good thing was that it is just outside of Carlsbad Caverns Entrance. A very run-down campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Good part was plenty of area for dogs to run, and that its just outside of park. Those are the only good parts, restrooms are poor, no security lighting, no cable for $20. I should have taken the time to go the extra 20 miles back to Carlsbad and stayed at one of the campgrounds with good reviews. Don't stay here if you don't have to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
As long as you want to get away from everything, this is not so bad, but it is a long way from everything but the Carlsbad Caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Overall I found this place to be very bad. The electric gates were both broke. The place had litter throughout the sewer dump lids were very hard to get off. The power was only a 30 amp and if another camper pulled in an plugged in on the same power outlet it would blow both curcut breakers. The only redeeming value was the location to the Caverns. I WILL NVER STAY THERE AGAIN in our Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
Everything I read in the above reviews is accurate with the exception that Wi-fi is available in the motel lobby, if you don't mind walking all the way back through the entrance to get there (or you could drive). The ONLY reason to stay here is the close proximity to the park entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
The only thing this place has going for it is its location literally at the entrance to the Carlsbad Caverns NP. Pay at the motel office down the street and get the code for the CG gate, then if you are in a motorhome, send the navigator out to press the buttons on the gate while you drive through. The entry road is rough and has ruts and mud during the rainy season. Grass had not been mowed in a while when we were here. Each site does have a concrete pad with a picnic table shelter, but it is old enough that you may not be able to open your slide if you park right on the pad. All that said, so what? It is rather inexpensive, and you are 5 minutes from the caverns, the reason you are here anyway. The restaurant was closed when we were here, so it is apparently seasonal, check if you are planning to eat there. If I were going to stay more than a day or two, I would look elsewhere, but for a trip to the caverns and moving on, this worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
This park was a vast disappointment compared to their web site. It gives the appearance of being very run down, largely due to lack of maintenance. The weeds needed tending; the bathrooms are falling apart; the laundry was out of order. You register at the motel lobby, but you can only register for one night at a time; if you want to stay longer, you must go back each day and register again. There is a very finicky card-lock security gate that you must negotiate, which includes a hard corner for trailers to navigate. This gate serves no purpose that we could see, other than to irritate the campers. There are no assigned sites; you take whatever is open. If you have to drive your RV up to the caverns, you need to leave something in your site or someone else will take it while you are gone. The sites are arranged with hook-ups every other site. Rigs have to alternate directions in the pull throughs in order for the hook-ups to come out right. This means that your door will face your neighbor's door. There is only 10' of space between sites, with two picnic tables crammed in. We will definitely not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
This was an all new low. Very rundown, dirty place. Bathrooms should be condemned. We did not use them. Restaurant smelled across the way. The only reason to stay here is because this is close to the Caverns. We only stayed one night which was enough. Stay in town at one of the other places if you are staying longer. The resort is scary, the people a little scary and overall I would just drive by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This campground is not a place one would stay for any extended period. But its the perfect place to see Carlsbad caverns during the day and then go back for the very worthwhile night bat flight... The check in is up the road from the campground at the hotel lobby... The entrance to the park is a few hundred yards down the road. The turn in and exit are very tight, our motor home is a 40 footer and we just barely cleared the corners.. This is note worthy since you are given a magnetic card to gain access to the campground which has the reader on the entrance but is about impossible to reach if your in a class A.. The exit is where it gets interesting its a little tighter turn than coming in but you have to get it right on the first pass because There is no backing up because they have one of those pop up spike arrangements which will puncture any tire that rolls the wrong way on it...We only hooked up to electricity as the septic lines were stopped up.. I think this is also a place where you don't drink the water as well.. Having said all that the setting is nice if your into dessert scenery.. There is a good but small market across the street. If our travels take us to Carlsbad again we will stay there again... Prior reviews in rvpark reviews had given us the heads up on what to expect so we arrived expecting what we found and prepared to be self contained. We were there in mid Sept we pretty much had the place mostly to our self. This is definitely not a place to camp if you need anything else besides electricity or when it is crowded... But during the off season for one night it is the best place for seeing Carlsbad the campground is situated just outside the park entrance.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This park sits at the entrance to Carlsbad Caverns National Park. This is the only reason to stay. It works alright for us. We were gone all day anyway in the caverns. At night it was close to drive back up to see the bat flight. We did not use the bathrooms this time because in the past we have found them dirty. It was hot, but it is the desert. The pool is across the street at the hotel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$22
This place is very poor. You will not find this site in your books. Next door to Carlsbad Caverns. This park was set up years ago and little has changed. You can only pay one day at the time, gate code to get in and out is changed each day. We looked at other parks North of this one and found the same thing. We did the Cavern trip and left for Texas. Cavern was great! The people who own this place will not spend the money to fix it up. Motel across the street is nice. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com