221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Windmill RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (505) 887-1387
CGID1854

Windmill RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   4   2   10   5   3   7   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
We were assigned site B1. The site was terrible with gas station nearby. Could hear traffic all night long, not to mention the commercial diesel truck running at 5:00 in the morning. Park is a low income trailer court and should not be called an RV park. Found the bathroom clean, but our site had paper and cigarettes littered on the ground. We had Passport America discount and wanted to save a few $. If I had to pay full price I would have demanded my money back. Recommend staying at her sister park as it's maintained better. Downside with Passport America is you can only stay two night to get the discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
All full hook up, pull through sites with Cable included. We were not particularly comfortable in the neighborhood. The campsites are right next to a gas station that caters to trucks. Noisy and bright! They also made a point to tell us to keep our dog on a leash, but dogs were running around loose in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
We stayed here 3 nights. The entire park was rather shabby and un-kept. Looked like a lot of permanent residents. They caution high water pressure, but when our water would not work, the office sent help. The help was living in the site next to us. He was very nice and helpful, but his area was terrible. When we pulled in to our site, you could not step out of the drivers side without stepping on dog waste. It was all over the place. All around where we had to connect our hookups. Very stinky. The park is very cramped and in a bad neighborhood. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The laundry and recreation area was fairly clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
We would not recommend this park to anyone. We requested a 30 amp site but they said none was available so they would put us on a 50 amp site. This has happened in the past at other CGs and we were always charged the 30 amp rate and usually offered the loan of a 50 - 30 adapter if we needed one. Windmill insisted on charging the $3 per night premium for the 50 amp site even though we were not using 50 amps and the sites otherwise were identical. As other reviewers have mentioned, it may have been a nice park once but it needs lots of maintenance. A strange feature of the park is that it has no walls or fences and it opens into a rather run down neighborhood of old mobile homes. One morning an 18 wheel tanker drove thru the CG just two sites away from ours. The evening before, two junior-size 4 wheel ATVs driven by children looking to be 10 or under were racing up and down the camp roads and cutting through empty sites. The entrance is gravel/dirt and is so full of holes and bumps we had to carefully thread our way into the park to avoid wrecking something on our trailer. The park has a swimming pool which we looked forward to using after a day on the road in 90+ degree weather. However we were informed that the pool was closed because the water was so "yucky." They advertise WiFi - we were near the rear of the CG and were not able to even see a network let alone connect. All the sites we saw appeared to be the same size pull-thrus. We have a 30ft. travel trailer and we could not park in line with the trailer - the site was too short. On the plus side they do have some nice size shade trees between some of the sites and they are conveniently located for visiting Carlsbad Caverns which is why we stayed there. Ironically, in the material they hand out they encourage campers to submit a review about them to this site - we're sure they didn't have this kind in mind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
I highly suggest you stay at the Windmill RV Park when in Carlsbad, New Mexico. It is a very clean park with a friendly staff. We will return to this campground whenever we are again in the Carlsbad area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites are a little close together and there are a lot of long term campers in that have several vehicles and come and go at all hours of the day and night. The area around the campground is not too nice. We walked the dogs but the neighborhood was a little seedy. All in all it must have been a nice campground at one time but is a little run down now. As a need a night's rest and can't go any further I would stay but not one I would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
This might be the cheapest place in town but it is also the most cramped one. Don't stay here if you need your space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
Ok for the 2 nights...had long term campers,lots of barking dogs and lots of dog mess in my site. Nice laundry, heated clean showers, wifi charge from a company for 3.95, passport america 2 night max, the area had higher priced RV Parks. Good price for the area and close to shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2007
$33
Lots of trash in the park. Poor overall appearance. I noticed lots of dog waste in the sites. This park looks like nothing has been done to the sites for a long time. I recommend passing on this park. Also the price for value was extremely poor. (The nightly rate was $33.50) Even using Good Sam, we still paid $33.71, tax included. They charge a tax rate of 11.8%. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$27
The sites were extremely narrow and short. It is rated in the Good Sam Directory. The first time that we have been disappointed with a Good Sam park. Will never return to this park and will advise anyone going to Carlsbad to avoid it at all costs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
Ok for overnight stay, but nothing special. Thought park over priced for what they had to offer. Over half the park is long term units. Area did not have allot of parks to choose from. Not any real good area to walk your dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
Nice enough campsite just out of town, but close enough to everything not to be bothersome. Not a resort by any means - moderate shade trees throughout the park. Staff was helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. We were parked on the last row next to a side street which accommodated the morning construction traffic (think heavy equipment rumbling by at 6 a.m.) The sites were wide and level - outdoor amenities were sparse; each site had a picnic table. Mini-mart and gas station right next door (they had reasonably priced diesel) Phone & modem hook-up in the RV office. Free wi-fi and nice cable. This is a Passport park and just right for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Roads were rutted and hard to drive over but sites were level. Reasonable rate due to Passport America. Office staff was friendly and helpful. 20 minutes from Carlsbad Caverns. Laundry had to be started by 5:30. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com