220497 User submitted reviews online!!
Valley of Fires Recreation Area (BLM) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (575) 648-2241
CGID1855

Valley of Fires Recreation Area (BLM)

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   9   9   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$9
We were surprised by the quality of this facility and the scenery. We were able to call and contact a camp host to find out that there were sites available. The sites were paved, some more level than others, with lots of space between them. Large, clean restrooms with showers. Rate reflects Senior Pass 50% discount. We will stay here again when we pass this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
Overall what a great little public park. We had one of the last spots available due to arriving around 8 PM on a Friday night! The trailer spot we had did not have any hookups. However, most of the sites in the park had water and electric hookups. Our spot was a bit loud due to a party at the tent sites close to us and some loud walkers. But the park was clean and spacious. We really enjoyed the various hikes we were able to due the next day. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$9
This place was a happy find for us. All powered sites are paved, although not very level, and have a covered patio area. The views here are incredible and the paved nature trail through an ancient lava flow is wonderful; especially, first thing in the morning. It didn't hurt that we were here the night of the lunar eclipse and the cactus were in bloom - magical. There are lots of good places to walk a pet. Our rate reflects the senior federal discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Really hard to contact anyone here. Would be nice to know if there is a site available before driving all the way here in my RV that gets 8 mpg. Not much to do here except the lava flow trail, which will kill about 8 minutes. After that you can go to Carizozo to see boarded up buildings and eat at the only restaurant still in business. Wifi password not posted anywhere, you will have to hunt down a camphost, and even then they are reluctant to give it out. After that, you'll discover the wi-fi doesn't work anyway. There are some 50 amp sites up front. Very unlevel although plenty long. The scenery is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Very nice spot. Most RV sites have water and electric. Sites further into the camping area have a view of the lava field. Verizon works well. Camp host was friendly. Only negative was gnats which are a minor problem all summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$9
This is a former state park, now a B.L.M. recreation area. We had a roomy pull-through site with a great view. Sites look recently paved. Although on a slight incline, they are level enough to not cause concern. There is a drop box for payments at the entrance, however the host seemed to keep an eye out for new arrivals, and headed down to the entrance in his golf cart to collect the fees and welcome campers. Showers and rest rooms were very clean. Sprint cell and internet service worked well. Although the park is off by itself, you can easily spend several days here, using it as a base for seeing the many attractions within an hours drive . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$9
Very interesting volcanic area with a small visitor center, some guided walking trails and clean, well maintained rest room/showers. All sites are paved with water and electric and most have stunning views of the lava flow. Unfortunately, that also means that the winds can really kick up so don't leave your awning out! Rate reflects America the Beautiful pass. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$9
This park is for those who enjoy quiet and unique desert scenery. Staff in the Visitor Center are friendly and information about the area is available. The restrooms and showers are spotless. There are shaded picnic tables and fire rings at each site. We went to nearby Carrizozo for wi-fi and cell phone service. Our rate was based on the National Park Senior Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
Needed to find an overnight spot before darkness, and we stumbled across this recreation area. Payment is on an honor system. Super clean restrooms. No shade, but nice pull through sites with 360 degree views of the volcanic rock surrounding the site. We weren't there during daylight to read the information and do the walk out across the volcanic field, but from other reviewers this would be worth a look. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Great place to stop and relax for a night or longer. A little walking path with information on the area around the park. Great views in all directions and only 4 miles back to Carrizozo. Restrooms very, very clean and nice. Several back-ins and several pull-through sites. Dump station next to restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Great place to stop and relax for a night or longer. Nice staff. Very nice walking path with lots of information on the area around the park. Great views in all directions and only 4 miles back to Carazozo. A couple of places to eat in town and only one grocery store. Bathrooms, at the Rec. area, maybe the cleanest I have ever been in outside my home. Several back in and several pull thru sites. Dump station easy to access next to restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
When we were there the park only had four campers. The Host were very accommodating and the trails were paved but one could venture off them if you wanted to. The only problem was a lack of water pressure in the showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
This small park is really a gem. The rating is due to only 30amp electric, and not all sites are level or big enough for our rig. We had a fairly major water leak that was repaired before we got settled, the whole park is well maintained. The restrooms are very clean and seem new. We enjoyed the Valley of Fires paved walk. All the sites are situated to enjoy the view. Paved, covered picnic tables and grills are perched on the hillside. This park is a perfect 1-2 night stay, avid hikers would enjoy it for even longer. We probably won't hit this location again as it is an out of the way spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
One of the best parks in NM. It is Bureau of Land Management so Golden Age card holders get half off. It has 360 degree views. This is a high dessert area. Don't expect trees or lots of green grass. If it is full--it does not take reservations--you won't find another decent park until Las Vegas, NM if you are heading north. If you are heading South you can try Three Rivers Petroglyph Site 27 miles on US 54. Valley of Fires has electric and water hookups, a dump, gift shop, covered picnic tables, grills, fire rings, flush toilets and showers. This is a public park so expect to do some leveling. Note for tenters: This park has protected tent area in the back reserved just for tenters. I have one caveat about this park. In the spring time high winds can be a real problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
Views are great. Bathrooms are great. Camp hosts are great. You can't beat this park with value and accommodations. The area is beautiful and a pleasant surprise. Would camp here again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
With the discounted Golden Access pass, this has to be one of the greatest bargains you'll find. Paved access roads, paved sites, covered pavilions with table and grill, and panoramic views of the lava beds and mountains make this little park a gem. The pull-thru sites are easy to access loops, but none are remotely level; better choice are the back in sites; they also provide a better view. Our first attempt at a pull-thru resulted in a breaker that continually tripped. The host blamed it on our motorhome, but when we moved to a back-in site the power was fine. Not much in Carizozo, but there is a great nature trail through the lava beds at the park, and Capitan and the Smokey the Bear Museum and White Oaks ghost town are easy drives. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
Excellent BLM site. Pull thru sites are very large and the restrooms are clean with showers. We will stay here again. No road noise and the night sky will blow you away! Great paved nature trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
This is one of the best parks I have ever stayed in. It is a BLM site 4 miles west of the little town of Carrizozo. The price of $9 is with a Golden Age card discount of 50%. The campground overlooks a 2000 year old lava flow. There are 360 degrees of spectacular desert landscape. There is a visitor center and a nature walk. Flush toilets and showers are rare in BLM campgrounds but this one has a spotless large wonderful bath house. The RV sites are on the ridge overlooking the lava flow. All have covered picnic tables. The tent sites are in the back, are very private and have protection from the wind but limited views. Wind can be a problem in NM especially in the spring. There are no reservations but you can generally get a site with hookups if you arrive before 5. The old mining town of White Oaks is nearby. The No Scum Bar in White Oaks is fun as is the small museum. It is an easy drive east to the Billy the Kid and Lincoln County War sites. I have camped here twice. Once in a tent and once in a travel trailer. I hesitated to write this review for fear of outing this park so that it might be full next time I am in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$9
Fantastic view of the lava field and a nice path to walk through a little of it. Some sites are very unlevel but all are black top. We were able to level up OK in our 5th wheel. Dump is free for park tenants but $15 for dump only. Price reflects the GA discount. We had water and 30 amp. Also most all have a shade cabana over a picnic table and a cooking grate. A great bargain and a nice campground. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
Beautiful setting in the lava fields. We really enjoyed it. Would have rated a 10 if there was sewer. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
The handouts for the sites were hand drawn. These drawing did not have the site numbers and there were no indication of which sites had water and electric verses water only. Not very professional. All of the sites were paved, but not very leveled. The most leveled sites were the back-ins. The electrical pedestals were placed where it made sense to the builder not to the RV'er. Having said all that, the views were indeed excellent and a great place to camp. The bathrooms were new and spotless. Verizon air-card worked well. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Spaces are not very level due to minimal topsoil above bedrock. Host and manager are known to bad-mouth some guests to other guests. Power can be iffy due to the use of GFCI breakers on both 20 and 30 amp service on most spaces. View is excellent, and nearby White Oak begs for photos. Federal passes (golden access/senior pass) qualify for 50% off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
You can't beat the price for one of the more scenic campgrounds there is. The Valley of Fires is beautiful and they have a couple of nice nature walks around the park. We drove to Ruidoso Downs and it was a great scenic drive over the mountains and canyons. The town of Nogal was on the way and it was an interesting, well kept western town. Ruidoso Downs is a nice town with good shopping and a Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
This is now my favorite campground. No WiFi but had excellent service with my Verizon air card. There is a dump station. The hosts are volunteers, but take care of the place like they owned it. My rate is lower because it reflects the Golden Age Pass discount for a site with water and electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
If there is a nicer, more well-maintained, more scenic and more peaceful campground anywhere, I have yet to find it. A previous reviewer described it as a gem and it is that and more. The views are spectacular and the nearby landscape is surreal. If you are venturing anywhere in central New Mexico it is a must see. The rate given is for a beautiful, secluded, perfectly level site with no hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
This is a great BLM campground, with one exception. For some reason, they put GFI breakers on the 30 amp power. I could not get my power to stay on, as apparently, many others have had the same problem. I found one site with no GFI breaker and was able to get power OK there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Fantastic Park! Not one to miss on the way through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
WOW!!! We were in need of finding a place to stop for the night and were just about to just pull of to the side of the road in a pull out when we came across this place. When we pulled in and saw the view it was amazing. You are surrounded by a lava field. We arrived just as it was getting dark so we could not see much. The next morning we spend time walking the trail thru the lava field. It was such a surprise to find this in the middle of New Mexico. We wish we had time to spend the whole day looking around. We do plan on coming back. The sites are all asphalt and very nice. The park overlooks the lava field. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
When we first arrived at the park we noticed that the first 5 electric sites were not anywhere close to being level. It would have taken quite a few blocks to level out our motorhome. It is totally going up hill. When we reached the crest of the road we saw that most of sites were level and there was only 1 site left. The sites have 20/30 amp hookups but their breaker kept switching off. We tried 2 sites and when the park host came over she didn't seem surprised that we were having electrical problems. Seems they are in the process of updating the park and I guess the electrical is next. We've stayed in lots of National Parks and National Forest Campgrounds and this was really paved over. Not really our cup of tea so we ended up heading to Sumner Lake State Park where we aren't having any electrical problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
The rating is based on similar type campgrounds. The spots are very spacious and there are pull-throughs. The roads and RV pads are paved. Plenty of room for a big rig. The pads are not quite level because of the inclines in the access road but it was not a problem. Each site had a covered sheltered table, trash can, and a grill. The hook-ups are on the "wrong" side but that was no problem as we had extra long connectors. The electric service was stable this time of year and the water pressure was OK. Verizon cell service worked great. The views are stupendous and there is a great paved signed nature trail. It 4 miles west of Carrizozo which does not have a grocery store but does have a few cafes and convenience gas stations. It is in a great location to see many of the area sites. The heated bathrooms are roomy and were acceptably clean but not squeaky clean. There was three shower stalls with locks and the water temp was fine. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The campground hosts were friendly and helpful. I would definitely return and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Very nice, quiet campground. Good 30 amp, electric, and water pressure. New restrooms and showers. Well laid out and spacious. They were kept fairly clean, but not spotless. Plenty of room for our 40' and toad. We will stay there again when in the area, but not in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$7
Very cool in the middle of the lava flows. We stayed in a primitive site which was down in a low spot with trees and lots of shade. Other sites were on top of the hill with a great view but no trees and out in the open. Nice trail through the lava with many info stops. Great staff and very clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Nice little place for a stop over. Very quiet. We stayed here going down to AZ and coming back to Nebraska. Would have liked to had the chance to stay longer & explore. Campground hosts were very nice and helpful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$12
Nice little campground out of the way and seems to be overlooked. Stayed one night and my kids really enjoyed it. Walked the Lava flows and was amazed, never seen anything like it and would stay again however probably wouldn't stay more than 2 nights. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$12
This is a great place to stay for a night or two, has great views of the lava flows, and is a good place to stay and take in the local area! The park gets passed over because most people who come thru this town stay in Ruidoso. The lava flows are interesting, you can see the test site for the first atomic bomb(through a telescope), and the local town is worth visiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$11
Park is four miles west of Carrizozo off US 380. 14 sites have water and electric hookups. Sites a relatively level and are generally well separated. Sites, while not shaded, have cabanas that offer some protection from the sun. Focal point of the park is the 1,000+ year old lava flow (only one of its kind in the continental USA, similar to the flows in Hawaii). Also near several other attractions. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com