224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Turquoise Trail Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (505) 281-2005
CGID1857

Turquoise Trail Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   9   6   5   7   8   3   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
This campground is located in a nice area with views of the mountains and a cool climate. The roads and sites are dirt/gravel and rough. Most sites are a bit tight getting into and some very close with patio areas facing each other. Much of the gravel/rock has been washed or pushed away from the sites which become a muddy bog during the frequent afternoon rains. Areas around the sites are trimmed weeds/local vegetation. The laundry room was dirty, basically a wood utility shed off level to the point the washer (front load) doors wouldn't close without lifting up on them. Utilities worked properly, no cable or off air TV, water pressure just a bit low. A reasonable place to stay but in the future will go to some of the nicer parks on the opposite side of the mountain (Alb.). On the positive side, the camp hosts are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Rate reflects monthly rate divided by 30. We also paid 12 cents/kW hour electricity. Gravel sites, fairly level. Super quiet and peaceful. We were here in April and it was often windy, but the temperature was decent: 35- to 70-degree days; and 25- to 35-degree nights. This RV park is 20 minutes from Albuquerque, but it's almost like a different world. The Park is close to plenty of mountain hiking. Nearby Albuquerque is a lovely, clean city with plenty of good shopping, restaurants, museums, etc. The Park hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly. The sites were well maintained and spacious. The bathrooms and showers were closed due to the weather and water shortages. However, due to the overall atmosphere and location, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a very quiet and peaceful park. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. I would have rated it a 10 except their laundry facility was out of service. Others have written that the entrance road is rough--it's just a pretty good gravel road, and we had no problems with it. Sites are level, and the park is conveniently located to Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Their Wi-Fi service was outstanding. The views of the mountains are wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
On the other side of the mountain from Albuquerque, so it is about 10 degrees cooler. Rough road getting into the park. Site was big enough for our 44' RV to pull thru. There was a tent/cabin area that we were able to run the dogs. Host couple was very friendly and helpful. It snowed when we were there, so we only stayed one night because there was a bigger storm coming. We almost did not make it out of the park, not the park's fault just something to be aware of. Grocery store near. Wish we would have been there at a warmer time to check out all the trails around the area...great hiking opportunities. There were several campers that appeared to be workers. The grounds were not well kept...dog poo everywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
The entry to the campground is difficult to see as you approach from the interstate and extremely rough. The interior roads and sites are gravel with some grass and trees between a few of the sites. The sites are not that level: once our motorhome leveled itself, the front step was almost two feet off the ground. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We did encounter a first in our many, many nights of camping at RV parks. Someone apparently took exception to our accent lights which we use for security, particularly when at a park like this where there is absolutely no security lighting: or any lights for that matter, AND PULLED OUR POWER CORD out. I guess we can be thankful they apparently didn't vandalize anything else. We realize the owners of the park weren't responsible, but it does say something to the "class" of those staying here, most of whom appear to be full-timers. If in the area you might consider a park with better security and lighting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Rate paid is based on one week stay. This park is very rustic. Sites are dirt/gravel, some have a picnic table. Sites are pretty close together. There are a number of long-term occupants here and some of those sites look pretty permanent. It is very quiet here. Convenient to hiking in the local mountains and visiting the towns along the Turquoise Trail Scenic Byway. We used our own internet and had decent 4G Verizon service. We enjoyed our stay due to location and quietness, but if this place was full I'd probably want to leave due to the close quarters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
After many hours on the road it was very late and we were tired. We called several campgrounds stating we would probably need help getting in and hooked up. This park was so nice when we called late and then got lost and had to call a couple more times to find the place. Once here they opened up for us to sign in so we could use our card. We were guided in to a nice site. Our rig and trailer fit no problem even in the dark we made it first shot. Did not have to unhook. The hostess held the light while we (first time RV's) tried to figure out the water hook ups on our rig. The host came to our rescue us even in the freezing night air. Nice smaller older park. Great night sleep, Beautiful sky at night. No freeway noise. We stayed a couple of extra nights just to rest. Wide gravel roads, nice showers, nice people. The 1940's trailers are so cool to look at. We will return on the way home. If you require fancy keep going. If you miss old time good people in a country park this one works for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
We used to live in Cedar Crest. We were hoping for a site with pinyon and juniper trees. What we got was a small, unlevel patch of dirt and gravel with no patio, no table, no trees, no nothing. Although there appeared to be a lot of empty spaces, they said they had none with sewer. The place appears run down with a full time staff of 1 and lots of long-timers in old RVs in the center. Some sites had hose bibs on the ends of hoses, laying on the ground not far from the sewage connection. We had no Wi-Fi the first day and next morning; they blamed it on the ISP. We booked 2 nights but only stayed 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
The beauty of this park is the location. It's up the canyon on the east side of the Sandia Mountains, so it's much cooler than ABQ. The tent camping is within the Pinion pine, and makes for a nice, rustic and private setting. The owner was okay, but very business like. She needs to plant some appropriate trees within the RV sites. Most of the Cottonwoods are dying. Wrong tree species in the wrong place. Bathrooms are clean and useful. But because of water restrictions the shower is only six minutes, via a token. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The park is clean and quiet with good maneuvering room.. Good Wi-FI. Showers have good hot water. They are token operated and 5 minutes long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
Great area for dogs- hiking up Sandia's from back of park, close to Albuquerque and yet far away, and 2000 feet higher so cooler in summer. Nice people and great help for RV problems and repairs. Loved staying at park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We had a very nice stay. A very clean old country style park with great views of the stars. Though our pets are on a leash they have 2 acres open land for walks. Was a little chili at night yet the days were perfect. Being on the other side of the mountain from Albuquerque turned out to be a blessing. Just a few minutes from town with no lights and no traffic noise at night gave our family the camping experience as it should be. Very helpful hosts and the vintage trailers are so cool. We will return this year for the vintage trailer rally to see more. If you need everything concrete, fancy clubhouses and noisy pools then keep going. If you like a peaceful rest in the country I do recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Depressing and trashy. We had been looking forward to staying here for a week while we visited Albuquerque, but we're very surprised and disappointed when we arrived to see what a shabby, run-down place it was...so we chose not to stay. Their website makes it look ideal. It's about as far from ideal as I can imagine. Full of old worn-out RV's that appear to live there year round. Couldn't wait to drive out and get back on the Turquoise Trail road and enjoy a beautiful travel route! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
We enjoyed the quiet away from major highways. The road to the campground entrance was very rough. Friendly assistance in choosing a site and was escorted to it. The water pressure was a little low. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
This campground is well away from any busy roads and is very quiet and peaceful. The services, including free Wi-Fi, are good. There is a large seasonal area in the park but it is mostly hidden from the overnight area by trees. Most of the overnight sites have services back to back meaning that two sites use the same grass area. A few sites are more isolated and they are very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Quiet small park close to I-40 on the east side of Albuquerque. Friendly staff. Sites are quite close together. Many permanent residents. Nothing fancy but it's convenient. We will stay here again when we visit Albuquerque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We will stay here again. The road in was a little rough; Tranquil, scenic, rustic, services were good, affordable priced, friendly staff, satellite did not work, prairie dogs were fun to watch. Convenient to Albuquerque, nearby restaurants were very good and dog friendly. The best hardware store we have been to in a long time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This park is about 15 miles from downtown Albuquerque. Close enough to be handy but far enough off the Interstate to be quiet. Even considering the ΒΌ mile dirt road to the park and dusty grave interior roads, this is a jewel of a park. The park is about 7000 feet above sea level, cool even in June. The staff was friendly and efficient; they even took us to our site and directed us in. The park has Wi-Fi. Both Verizon cellular and broadband service is good. There seem to be a lot of long term residents but generally their sites are neat and orderly. We only spent one night but this is a place I would consider for future visits to Albuquerque. The price is with a Good Same discount. As with many parks they charge for each person over two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
Peaceful campground with spacious sites and lots of trees. We loved the quiet nights with amazing stars. Beautiful setting in the mountains with lots to do nearby since it is located on a National Scenic Byway between Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Friendly owners on-site. Great hiking (and shopping!) a few minutes away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
We make this an annual stop on our fall trip. It was a pleasant stay as always. The facilities are always clean, the park is always quiet, and the staff always friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi works well and there is excellent cell phone reception. We'll return in 2011! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
We had a very pleasant stay. Did not have any problems getting into the campground. Large sign marks the entrance. Unfortunately, we had to leave a week earlier than planned (working on the road: not retired, yet). Sites are well-maintained, clean, and level. Did not have to use leveling jacks in site #29, the best site in the campground! Office employees were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Museum on-site is interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The park is in a scenic setting. It is quiet, unless you get on the back row of campers, like we did. There was a private residence right behind our camper with dogs that barked all night. There is NO TV signal. We walked around and asked some permanent campers if they could get a TV signal and they said no. The mountains around the campground keep the signal from coming in. I only checked the women shower and it is in a small room off the office that took tokens to use. When I made the reservations, they mentioned tokens for showers, but none was given to us when we checked in. They may have forgotten. There were 2 toilets across from the shower. The shower and the toilets had little curtains in front of them, no doors. There were wasps flying around. I did not and would not take a shower there. The people who ran it were friendly, but I think they should take some of the old rusted abandoned campers out of the park to make it look better. We were there 3 days for the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and could not get in anywhere else. We would not stay there again, but I read another person's review and they thought it was nice. So I guess the beauty is in the eye of the beholder. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Turquoise Trail is a beautiful place to stay! The sites are a little close together, but it is clean and peaceful. The staff is friendly and helpful. The road into the park is a little rough, so please drive slowly. We would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Nothing fancy, just a pleasant park at the foot of the Sandia Mtns. Water and electric are being upgraded so the sites are a little unlevel, but the quiet beauty of the park make up for the little inconveniences. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Catch the nice museum on site. Ribs and the Sandia Crust Pizza are must eats. Our original 2 days stretched to 4. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
We stayed here on a couple of occasions and love the location of the park. It is very quiet and scenic and in a nice rural area. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
Stopped for the night. Entrance was scary and we should have left. Total mud hole but the owners were not in charge of the weather. Woke to 14" of snow and I-40 closed. Wi-Fi worked about 30 minutes in the morning and then gone. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
We have camped at Turquoise Trail RV Park frequently. We have found while it lacks in some of the material amenities (pool, spa, courts, etc.), it is beautifully nestled at the base of the Sandia Mountains. The entrance to the National Forest is within walking distance and there are many trails for hiking. The owners are strict about quiet time and other rules, creating a peaceful and safe environment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
If your coach and toad were clean when you headed down the entrance off the highway, they will be covered with stone dust by the time you get to the office. Most sites are permanents or workers in the area and for the most part aren't very neat around their sites. There is also a property next to the campground that has barking dogs at all hours. We won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This park is a total dump. Part of the electric hook-up posts were falling down, the office is filthy, has not been cleaned in years. Lots of full time people living here, some in pretty trashy spaces as well as their rigs. Spaces that we were shown, were so out out of level there was no way we could get our 40' motorhome level. Roads are narrow and very dusty. The road coming in is full of holes and very dusty. They do not trim back the trees: if you park a big rig in front of the office, you will get the sides scratched. We figure about $2K in scratch damage (brand new motorhome at the time) for trying to squeeze through the entrance side. We spent one night and that was one night too many! Would never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is a hidden gem nestled at the base of the cool Sandia Mountains. Its clean, rustic ambiance, yet still provides both the tent camper and RV'er, with all the comforts. 30/50 amp full hook-ups, showers, Wi-Fi, 5 minutes to the local fully-stocked grocery store, and 20 minutes to Albuquerque . The owners are very accommodating, and make everyone feel like family! The Museum of Archaeology and Material Culture, located on the grounds, is a must see! If you like being in nature, sleeping under a starry night sky, and listening to coyotes howling in the distance, then this is your vacation destination. Its just beautiful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
I found this park to be a wonderful place to stay. Very quiet and loaded with ambiance. The staff was also wonderful. My coach and trailer are 75' long. They had an 80' site reserved for me. They delivered my mail promptly. The museum was quite interesting. There are many fun things to do in the area. Madrid, Tinker Town, Paako Ridge Golf and Sandia Crest Scenic Highway were all very good. The park is only 10 miles East of Albuquerque. The only short coming was the rock roads but they were in good condition. The rates were very reasonable. I will surely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This campground is really a great place to stay for ambiance, quiet, and safety. The owners and staff are really great. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. It is situated in a beautiful and quiet place. There is plenty of room between sites and the tent area is very roomy and beautiful. There are long term campers but I didn't find their sites to be messy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
We called and made reservations. We were not able to make monthly arrangements even though we would be in the area 3 to 4 months. We agreed to take a spot on a weekly basis for 50 amp full hookup service. When we arrived, they put us in a 30 amp site saying they had no 50 amp available at the time. Apparently the person who was in the spot we were supposed to be in, had not left. We didn't complain. They let us use our adaptor so we were able to pull enough power to let us remain, with the knowledge that we would move to our spot later on in the first week. The next day we are told that not only do we have to move into our spot 1 week later, but also the weekend after that we will have to move to a non-full-hookup site for 8 days, then move back to our weekly site, and then move out at least twice more in the next couple of weeks. What? Why did they make the reservations and tell us they could accommodate us when it was obvious they could not? The monthly seasonal sites are very unkept and it is obvious that this "campground" is more than likely "home" for most of the parks occupants. Most of the rigs could not be considered road safe. Come to find out they only have 2 sites with 50 amp service that have full hook-ups. We would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
The park is reasonably well maintained. We would give it a higher rating if some firmer rules were established for the seasonals. Some of their rigs and sites are an eyesore. The park has an attached museum, and there is a kid's play area. All in all, this park is a good opportunity to stay near Albuquerque but not have to deal with the noise and traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
We found the RV area to be quite nice, and the people who run it are terrific. After attending an FMCA convention, our mail had not caught up with us so we had to stay in the area over the weekend. With 3,000 coaches leaving the Albuquerque area at one time, we called Turquoise Trail at the last minute, and the owners could not have been more accommodating. Pull through sites are large and level, grounds are clean and well maintained. Owners check grounds continuously. We walked through the tent area, and found it to be quite nice also, with trees and shade, so don't really understand the review that indicated unlevel tent sites. No pool, but in March this was not a problem. Would definitely recommend this spot and will definitely stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$15
From a tenter's standpoint, sites were not level. Tenting area separate from motorhome area and on a slope. Motorhome area more adequately maintained. Restrooms clean. Staff adequately friendly. About 5 miles north of I-40 east of Albuquerque on the Turquoise Trail. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com