223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Creel Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (575) 756-2382
CGID1858

Little Creel Resort

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   8   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Nice park. Close to town. Dirt/gravel sites but relatively level. Some shade. Sites kind of close but usable. Sites available right on the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Camped here after Labor Day and it was less than half full. No campers in sites next to us and that was a good thing, as it would be too tight if campground was full. Sites are laid out in a circle with front of the camper to the inside of the circle, so hardly enough room to walk between spaces at that end. Only saw a manager once at check in and had to wait on him for half hour to get around to checking us in, and this was early afternoon, not night. Saw a little trash along the river. On the good side, power, water pressure, Internet service were all fine. Was able to pick up several TV stations on antenna, even though that is not mentioned anywhere. The daily rate is with Good Sam. This place is fine for a few days but there are better parks in Charma, at higher price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
Sights are extremely level and utilities are placed in the proper places. Small river runs through the campground and gives a great sound at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
We truly enjoyed staying here the past couple of days. Manager was very friendly and good tips for restaurants and activities. While most of the leaves are off the trees, there is still beautiful color all around. We were in the far back loop; only one other trailer parked a few sites down. If the fish were biting, we would have been fishing about 50' from the back of the rig. Sites are good size, level, and have picnic tables and fire pits. Small book exchange in office. This would be a good place for an RV rally, plenty of sites and nicely covered pavilion. If we are ever back this way, we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
A nice quiet park with very little highway traffic noise. Close to the Cumbres & Toltec Railroad. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A nice park with lots of shade trees and the river running around it gives the constant sound of flowing water. Sites are fairly large and easy in and out; gravel sites with natural grass. Wake up call is 7am when the trash truck arrives. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
I fail to understand how Little Creel can advertise Wi-Fi being available. Take it from this camper that their system is essentially non-existent. You may get lucky and be able to log on BUT only if you park within about 50 feet of the router - at the office. Park also advertises picnic table available at each site. Ours didn't have one. When I mentioned our lack of a table the manager promised to get me one sometime before noon. When we left the next morning we were still without the promised table. Site to which we were assigned was pie shaped. Had to ask neighboring camper to move his tow vehicle so we could leave. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Nice clean campground with awesome sites next to river. Dirt roads, but not too much dust. Estimated price as stayed here for a Beaver motorcoach rally. No complaints and would come again. Very nice pavilion for group events. Would have rated a 9, but all picnic tables in sad shape. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This is a quiet little park. Emphasize Quiet. Part of the Chama River runs through it. Very good fishing right on site. 10-16 inch trout are very possible. Playground could use some help, but my kids spend their time riding their bikes. Hiking right on site. We have been here several times and always have had a great time. Good spot for visiting the town of Chama. Definitely would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Pleasant campground located next to river. Very friendly management. Wi-Fi deadzone, but strong Verizon signal with broadband. Restroom generally clean but showers have some mold and men's restroom was never stocked with paper towels. Lots of hot water in showers! Our site was a level gravel pull through. Rate listed reflects a GS discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Nice managers but poorly managed. Needs a lot of maintenance. Not mowed enough, weeds knee high. They do not patrol the grounds often enough. We had people walking through our site so much we considered leaving. They are pet friendly but do not require the owners to pickup after them. Dogs that stay run wild, non stop barking and whining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is a good park for the area. Has a friendly staff. The grounds could use some maintenance and weed trimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is a classic older RV Park that has been updated to all 50 amp. The park is very clean and some what rustic and has a large area over the river bridge for hiking if you want. All spots are gravel and very level. We were able to get 4 analog local TV stations via repeaters. We felt we got our $$ worth and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
We were passing through but plan to go back to Little Creel in Chama, NM, at another time. The managers were very friendly and helpful, and the bathhouse was very clean. My only complaint is that the picnic benches are weathered, but the manager said they are planning on building some new ones this summer. We want to go back in the fall to fish at the river that runs through the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
We chose this park because we were traveling with family who stayed in a cabin at this park. Being frugal, we chose a Standard Back-In site. These sites are on the North end of the park and closer to the highway. These particular sites are packed very close together. The rest of the sites are behind a row of cabins. The patrons of this park totally disregarded the 5 mph speed limit even though it is posted at least 4 times along the row that our site was on. In hind sight, it would probably been worth the extra $2 per night for a Premium Back-In site as they are further away from the highway and spaced further apart. All of the picnic tables and riverfront decks were very weathered or broken. The web site states cable TV as one of the amenities, but is only available in the cabins. The cabin that our family rented was not very clean. In fact, there was still hair in the bathtub drain. When we made reservations, we indicated that we would have a dog staying in the cabin and would be crated inside while we rode the train. The person on the phone offered that they would come and let the dog out in the middle of the day for us. When we arrived, they said that they did not know who told us that and they would not let the dog out. As far as this place being called a "resort", that is a big stretch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This campground has a nice location on the Chama River. We stayed there on a very busy Memorial Day weekend. Our two biggest problems were they did not have enough trash containers to accommodate a holiday weekend, causing trash to overflow the dumpsters. Also, the bathrooms did not appear to get cleaned until most of the holiday crowd left. We felt that this could be a nice campground with more active management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Nice location on the banks of the Chama River. Park seems to be suffering from lack of active management and the facilities, while marginally acceptable, would benefit from more attention to detail. There were a number of longer term residents along one side of the park but their rigs were neat and well kept. Park has some long pull throughs which would work for a big-rig, towing, without having to unhitch. No cable TV, so make sure you get a site where satellite tv access is not blocked by trees. Verizon cell service worked well here and also data access via air card. Good location to visit the Toltec-Cumbres steam train in Chama and see the beautiful countryside. All in all, a decent place to stay for a while. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We spent a week here and were somewhat disappointed with the quality of the "resort". The web site greatly misrepresents the park; while it shows riverfront sites with patios, there are only four in the park; and the patios are very worn. All of the other sites are close to each other with either dead grass or weeds that were not mowed during our visit. We paid for a "waterfront premium site" which apparently means that you're within 100 yards of walking to the river. The park is very popular and was crowded during our visit; but was quiet at night, even during the Fourth of July. A good location if you're visiting the area and riding the Cumbres/Toltec Railroad; but don't expect solitude, this is a very popular vacation spot and if you visit during the summer you'll need reservations. We would try another of the local parks if we visit this area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We stayed here for the weekend. This is a wonderful park with many activities available. Facilities were clean. Sites by the water are beautiful. From what we could see most sites are close but do not feel crowded. There is great fishing in the river, especially for the fly fishermen out there. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a very convenient RV repair shop close by if you need it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nice location near river. Some sites on river for an extra charge. We we're early in the season so lots of weeding an general upkeep was being done. Some sites were more level that others. Park had quite a large group of full time local workers which seemed to give the park a somewhat different feel. One truck driver arrived home in the evening in his work truck a very large diesel long haul truck. Overall good for the price and the best in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$56
Very roomy cabins. The cabins were clean also. I plan on returning this summer. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$38
This a pleasant, quiet little park located in the town of Chama and on the banks of the Chama River. We had a large site on the river's edge with nice views. Our only complaint is that the rate seemed way too high for off-season. The scenic train ride had shut down for the winter and park was nearly empty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Nice RV park in the mountains. Beautiful river running behind the camp...very scenic. We will return if ever back this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Nice park with cabins also. Long pull through sites and nice grass. Pet friendly. Convenient to town but enough off the road so no road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com