218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Chama RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (575) 756-2303
CGID1859

Rio Chama RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   9   5   9   8   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We paid $32 a night for 4 nights so we could ride the train plus see surrounding areas. We found the sites to be close together. There are many trees to drive around and could cause a problem getting satellite. They are so close we had to close our windows at night so the neighboring campers campfire smoke didn't come in. Our site was at the back along the river which was nice so we could hear it running at night. The woman at the office told us to park our car in the site next to us. We did. The next day a VERY irate male employee came up to us YELLING RUDELY to move our car! After we moved it he did apologize and said he was yelling "over the noise of the train". That wasn't true because the train hadn't gotten there yet. The sites are too close but are level. The river is nice. The quiet hours are 10 PM to 8 AM.I have no input on showers or bathrooms. There is no laundry. It is cool to watch the train go by on the bridge just over the fence from where we parked. It only goes by twice a day at 10 AM and 4 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
We have stayed in Chama several times, but never at this RV park, so we decided to try it out. This is a wonderful little park on the outskirts of the town. Everything is close, walking distance, but you wouldn't know it due to the tranquility of the park. Sitting between a beautiful forested area, the fall leave changes give it a true fall feel. It has about 10 sites right on the river, all full hookups. Descent fishing for the kids. Restrooms are a bit outdated, but clean and heated. Showers worked great. Very friendly staff. Don't really get why would anyone give this park less than a nine. Definitely coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We enjoyed this park, ideal for taking the train excursion. Fun when people gathered at 4 pm to wave when the train went over the bridge right past the campground just before the station. Very woodsy and pleasant in autumn. Good wifi and we got a few antenna TV channels. Negatives were minor -the dated trailers near the entrance with high wire fencing and security codes used for restrooms, and the absence of a picnic table - they already had been removed and stacked up even though the season was not over for two weeks still. Seemed a bit premature to start shutting down while guests were using the park. But we liked it overall and would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Very calm and relaxing park, and twice a day, it gets exciting when the train steams right along the edge of the park. Not fancy, but well maintained. Helpful staff, and the seasonal residents made us short term visitors feel welcome. We have stayed here before, and will return again. In our opinion, this is the nicest park in the Chama area. Fast and reliable Wi-Fi, as well as AT&T cellular service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We came here solely to ride the Cumbres & Toltec train since the depot is only a 10-15 minute walk from the campground, otherwise we would have never selected a campground that looked like it was randomly carved out of a cottonwood forest. We are a "big rig" and maneuvering was very, very tight in here. Many sites are very long but very close together, so close we couldn't extend our awning all the way without touching the 5th wheel next to us. For the few days we were here, I felt like a mushroom - the trees are so tall and thick it was quite the event when the sun would break through the tree canopy (sun would have felt good - it was in the 50s here every morning.) The interior gravel roads are reasonably good but there are low spots that need attention; if it rains the roads will get a little muddy and make it a bit of a mess if you have dogs to walk. The RV population here are primarily seasonal travel trailers and 5th wheels that take up about 95% of all of the available spaces. I had great high speed AT&T cell service here and in town. Don't plan on satellite TV unless you bring a portable dish. The park's WiFi signal was strong but the Internet side of the connectivity was very slow (~256kb if you were lucky.)--->> By the way, if you ride the train, go for the Parlor Car - you want to select seats on the *right* hand side on the ride to Anonito, or the *left* side if going to Chama. We just went to Osier and back by train - we didn't want a bus ride. We've ridden quite a few tourist trains and we actually we like the Durango to Silverton train better than this train - the scenery is just as good in its own right and Silverton is a great little town to shop and eat lunch - very quaint!<<-- We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We stayed two nights here while riding the train to Antonito. The park was preparing to close for the season, and not all services were available. Because of Chama's high elevation, it was quite cold at night, but the restrooms were warm and the showers comfortably hot. The restrooms require that you type in a code every time you enter, to keep non-guests out. There are large cottonwoods throughout the park, and they were gold during our visit. The park isn't fancy, but it's quiet, level, comfortable, and not too closely laid out. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I'd gladly return there any time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
The park was clean, well kept, and the office staff was friendly. The bathroom & shower area limited; however, this time of year it wasn't a problem. The park is very convenient for riding and viewing the Cumbres/Toltec train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We've stayed here several times over the past 25 years. Always a pleasureable place. Big trees for shade, next door to the Cumbres and Toltec RR. Great place to stay for any amount of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
This park is very clean and quiet. It has many shaded sites and the scenery is beautiful. The Cumbres & Toltec Narrow Gauge Train track is very close to the park, but it only runs during the day. It is fun to go over by the track and wave at the passengers as the train goes by. The staff were friendly and answered all of our questions. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Great place to stay if you are taking the Train ride. The train runs adjacent to the park and a nice trestle view is available in the park. Heavily wooded, some parking spots close together. Good WiFi and only a 2 block walk to the train station and downtown. Would stay here again, the other parks are too far away. Make reservations, it was full the nights we stayed here. No reservations needed for the train, usually 25% full. Great food on the train ride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
The park is nice but we asked for a hookup with a dump and those are reserved for the summer-long stays apparently (but they didn't tell me when I called). The bathrooms are clean but a bit creepy given the constant need to have a code and not share it. There isn't much for kids to do here but lots of retired train fans are here for the summer to volunteer for the nearby Cumbres and Toltec railroad. Lots of mosquitoes so bring your bug spray and mosquito netting. The transient sites are muddy when it rains while the permanent ones have nice gravel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Rate is based on a month. Excellent, helpful staff! CG maintenance is superb. CG is set in a cottonwood grove on the bank of the Chama river. Wi-Fi was good, water, electric and sewer hook-ups were perfect. Very lovely setting with great view of the daily RR train! CG is basically for adults: no pool or playground equipment for children. Excellent birding as well! Storage for RV's as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We couldn't find anything wrong with Rio Chama. The roads are a little tight, but we had no trouble with our 33 foot 5th wheel and long bed 1 ton pick up. We were led to our site. We had a level gravel back in sight right up to the river. We had a great view of the twice a day steam train crossing the river bridge. Sewer, electric, water, cable and wi-fi worked great. There are wi-fi antennas throughout the park. Our Verizon 3G worked well, too. We did not check out the bathrooms or showers, but based on the rest of the park we bet they were clean and neat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
The best location if you're riding the train. Less than half a mile walk to the station, and the tracks cross the river on a bridge right behind the campground. Some sites look moderately roomy, but many are bunched together and are narrow for our 30 foot trailer with one slide. Site was level, well-packed gravel. Access roads are well-packed gravel, but are narrow. Women's restroom / shower was closed for renovation. Lots of shade (those trees, again) and access to the river shoreline. Great staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
We stayed 2 nights, primarily to ride the train. Park is somewhat dated, roads and sites gravel/dirt. The grass has seen better days. On the plus side check in was easy and the lady in the office extremely accommodating. Her husband escorted us to our site. Our WiFi worked OK. The train station and the town center are about a half mile walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Nice clean park right by the railroad. It is also within walking distance of town. There are new sites recently added by the river some of which have a view of the train. The only negative is the restroom and shower capacity is small and you might have to wait. However, the showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Our rate reflects a weekly rate. Overall a nice park. However, WiFi comes and goes which is frustrating. Staff for most part is very helpful and friendly. Did encounter some who took their "position" a little to seriously. LOTS OF MOSQUITOES, so bring the repellant. Restroom facilities could use a little updating. Not much to do in Chama if you aren't into trains. Beautiful surroundings and the drive from Antonito is breathtaking. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I will begin by saying that the rough entry mentioned in previous reviews has been fixed. The owner has poured a nice concrete drive entering the park. Having said that my observations and comments echo the sentiments of previous ones. This park is an excellent place for both overnight stops and longer term stays. We loved it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
I can't say enough about this campground. I signed up for week so got the weekly rate. I wish I could stay a month or 6 months. It's charming and rustic, it's clean, sites are level, and the river is great. When I signed in, the lady knew me because she remembered me making reservations. She checked to see if a package that I'm expecting had arrived. Then, she said, "If you'd like to take a ride on the railroad, we'll be happy to watch your dog for you." The gentleman who showed me to my site offered to help me unhook. Everyone here is just so nice. They have several beautiful walking areas for dogs and we can also walk to the village. The hot shower I took this afternoon felt wonderful. Huge dressing areas. The Wi-Fi hasn't skipped a beat. I think I'm in heaven. Side note: I came up from Taos on Hwy 64 and it was a spectacular drive. There's snow still in the mountains--just a beautiful ride. Tomorrow, aside from town, I'm going to sit outside, read a book, and listen to the birds--it's amazing how many there are. If I could rate this campground more than 10, I would. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed a few nights in our 41' RV which the host helped guide us into our spot. We saw deer in the evening and early morning hours. I've never seen so many hummingbirds as were at our 2 feeders: it must have been nearly 100. It is easy walking distance to the Cubres Toltec Railroad and shopping in downtown Chama. People in the park were very friendly. The river has fishing spots all along and there were several fishermen. Plenty of room to pull our RV through. We had trouble connecting to the wireless: never got it. A lot of big rigs were here. Cool in the evening and warm in the afternoon. We'll go again. It's a beautiful drive from Albuquerque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
I made a reservation weeks before my arrival and was explicit about the size of site I would require. Upon our arrival, we were assigned a site in which my husband made 5 attempts and was unable to get our rig in it due to the fact that the site could not possibly accommodate our rig. We were given our money back and found another park as a much cheaper rate as well as nicer. I picked Rio Chama because the pictures on the internet indicated a beautiful park, however, upon arrival what I saw was worse than the very worst "trailer" park one could envision. The interior roads are narrow and difficult to maneuver "big rigs". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
My grandsons and myself stayed here for two nights so we could ride the train. Train depot and downtown is an easy ten minute walk from the park. River and train runs next to the park is quite nice for taking pictures. Nice quiet park but no cable and very few sites with satellite access because of the trees. Be sure to ask when you get there because they are very accommodating and will allow you to move if not happy. Town closes up at 8PM and dining options are limited. We will definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
I gave this park a higher rating than it probably deserves because the people that are working there and camping there are so nice! I would stay here again. Now for the bad: - One old, run down commercial trailer type bathroom for the whole campground. - Very buggy when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
A beautiful little campsite set amongst a lot of trees. Lots of space and grass between sites. Level, gravel parking area. Close to town and train ride. We stayed two days in a fifth wheel. Really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This place if fabulous. Right on the river, lots of birdwatching, nice, shady sites, the train passes right by, within walking distance of town, friendly staff, clean restroom with plenty of hot water - it's almost heaven. I would have stayed forever if they hadn't told me they get 20 feet of snow in winter! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
The park now has free WI-FI. Staff was friendly and helpful. 50 amp sites are more expensive. The train is the reason we are here, but this is a nice park to stay at with or without the train. We arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon on a Monday without a reservation. There were only a couple of sites available. During June and August the park is full of members of the Friends of the C&TS RR who are volunteering to work on the railroad. Reservations may be a good idea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Boy, this place has it all. Big trees, running stream, steam locomotive bridge, fishing, secluded tent campsites, morning coffee, free firewood, and even the occasional bear visit. Restrooms/showers clean and neat. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Very pleasant, laid back campground... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We came here specifically to enjoy the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railway, along with some “down time”, and we were not disappointed on either front. The train ride was spectacular, as expected. Our “down-time” was wonderful because of the bird-watching right outside our door. Some of the birds, we had never seen before, including Lewis’s Woodpecker. We were able to get a satellite-friendly site, although most of the sites are in the trees. The rates have gone up since a year ago, as our rate was based on a weekly rate. Needless to say, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in a heartbeat!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
We chose this campground for its proximity to the Cumbres and Toltec Narrow Gage Railroad and were not disappointed as the train passes practically through the grounds. The campground itself features graveled sites and is well maintained. Maneuvering a large rig is a bit of a challenge as some turns are a bit tight. Management friendly and helpful and rate very reasonable. Good shade, sites fairly level. Especially attractive to train geeks (like myself). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. The managment is friendly and aims to please. A lot of full timers work here. It is heavily wooded and very rustic and quiet. There is not a lot for kids to do since there is no pool or playground, but the Chama River affords a lot of chances to fish. The Cumbres and Toltec train (steam engine) runs through the campground at 10:00 am and then also late afternoon. A great sight seeing that steam engine come through the woods! Campers go down to the river to wait for the train and take pictures or wave at the people riding it. Chama Valley a great place to get away from it all and this campground the best. Chama is a small, quiet town with only a few shops. 40 miles away is Pagosa Springs, CO and from there you can go up Wolf Creek Pass and see some beautiful country. The drive north out of Chama along the train route is also a beautiful drive. Only negative is that in July there can be a mosquito issue. Otherwise, perfect place to go and veg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
This is a good park with some great pull-thrus, next to a river. The river has a bridge and provides fairly good fishing and recreation. We visited during the summer of 2006 and the winter 2005 and found the hosts to be really nice, friendly, and helpful. Winter daily rates were $15; summer (daily) were $28. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$23
OK park for the area, it has a 'state park' feel, very heavily wooded. For rustic campers, it is perfect. For RVers who want Wifi, phone and cable, not so good. In season, a steam locomotive runs beside the park and there is a very nice mountain stream as well. This is a remote area with only a couple of small restaurants, but perfect for someone who wants to get away from it all! Our cell phones didn't even have a signal anywhere in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1999
$18
Wonderful camping with nice shaded sites. Most sites are pull thru. Nice tent camping area. Restrooms are clean and neat. Pets welcomed but must be on leash and not left unattended outside. Near the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. Campground has a collection of railroad cars onsite. River fishing right outside the campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com