223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Clayton RV Park (formerly Clayton KOA) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (575) 374-9508
CGID1860

Clayton RV Park (formerly Clayton KOA)

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   5   6   5   9   6   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
We have stayed here before so we came back, and what a disappointment. The whole campground is so neglected and run down it looks almost to be closed. Burrs all over the grounds so it is almost impossible to walk the dog. As one reviewer said, the desk lady was having a bad day. Picnic tables have peeling paint and broken boards so they can't be sat upon or used at all. Reservations are not taken when you call ahead. We will not be back even for a overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Just finished a 2 week trip to Texas in our 5th wheel, and on our way back home we stayed in this park. We really just need a place for the evening to hook up, eat dinner, and get ready to leave again in the morning. Centrally located in Clayton, easy to find from the highway, Wi-Fi and electric worked well, bathrooms were clean, easy to navigate park, staff was friendly and made the check-in quick and fast. For a quick overnight stay it was perfect. If we needed to stay in the area again for a night, we would stay here again. Everything in the park looked a little worn, it looked like not much maintenance had been done for awhile. No cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
This is an older KOA that I have stayed at several times the last decade. It continues to become more and more run down. The gravel has washed away and many are dirt sites. Old construction equipment (tracthoe or something and construction materials abandoned on the property). Many trees have died from lack of water. The dog park is just an enclosed weed patch, as was the entire property. A little broadleaf killer would work wonders. Loose dogs were common and there was never a staff member outside the office one time. My wife and I both visited the office and the 2 ladies there must have been having very bad days. I did notice that small cups of coffee is available for $1.50 and old video rentals for $11.00. Seems kind of high since they are less to purchase ar Walmart. I thought the park had cable TV available, but did not see any sites with it. The train is quite loud and will wake the soundest sleeper. Not much other choice if you need a place to stay, but a little paint, a little gravel and a smile from the staff would sure help this old place. Also noticed that they packed all the campers in close to each other and left big sections empty. Would have been nice to be spread among all the vacant space, especially since there were loose dogs. Really cannot recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This park was a great overnight site, but the amenities were lacking. Sites were wide and long with very east access. I have rated the park a 6 because the amenities were lacking in the area and the look of the region was unappealing. Coming from Texas, access to the park was not great if one follows the GPS because of a deep dip in the road. Once were heard from the person at the campground that the other street is easier, exit was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
This is one dusty place. The sites are gravel and long but the one we were in was not level. The TV cable was not working, but the WiFi was good, most of the time. Probably would not stay here again, unless just too tired to continue our trip. I had enough points for a free night, but they only gave us $10.00 off, and that is reason for the rate of $19.00. Otherwise would have been more. The two ladies in the office are friendly and nice. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We stayed here overnight. Sites are long & level. Good Wi-Fi & Cable. Roads are gravel. We would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Typical KOA. Hook-ups worked well. Level sites. Just a few blocks from shops in town. Good park for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Staff was friendly. VERY easy in and out which is great for an overnight place. That really seems to be all this campground is about. Not much at the park or in town, but it served it's purpose as a place to stay for one night. Lots of room to walk the dog, as the park is very open. Sites were level and no problem with the hookups. We'd stay here again if we were passing through this area. Not much other choice in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
This park is OK for an overnight stop. Sites are not well kept and some are not very level. We had a 50 amp pull through and had to jack up so high that I was not able to get out of the coach, since I have a disability. Staff was nice and helpful. Wi-Fi was out due to storm; when it came on the next morning, it wasn't very good; the limited cable TV was very fuzzy. We stayed at this park in 2009, and I stepped in a hole outside the coach and broke my ankle, so I didn't mind not getting out this time. If you are traveling between Texas and Raton, this is the only game in town. We would stay again if we needed to, but it's not a first choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This a great place for the money! Rate reflects AAA discount. It is not a resort but not priced as one. The miniature golf was not open, but that was OK with us. Saw kids playing in the playground. The restrooms were very clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Good overnight stop. Easy to find. Long pull through sites but not very level so be prepared to unhitch. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Rate reflects AAA discount. Park is gravel spaces that are level. Some train and truck noise at night. My low score is for staff. The "boss" (name tag actually said that)...was not helpful, was unfriendly, and not service minded in anyway w/ questions about finding someone to service my vehicle. The staff person who checked me in was lovely and helpful. I would not stay in this park again. Caution, be careful driving into Clayton, as there is a HUGE dip on main street that if you do not approach it at an angle, could (did) damage your tow system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
It's not easy to find a decent campground in this part of the world, but the Clayton KOA is great for an overnight stop. Very long drive through sites. Friendly staff and quiet camping. We've stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Easy pull through sites with some trees, a dog run however the pick up bag holder was empty. Spotless bathrooms but the soap dispensers were empty. We selected a site with only electric and water only. Wi-Fi worked well. It is okay for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a real friendly park. True, there's not as many amenities as a lot of places but the bathrooms and laundry were immaculate and they gave us a late checkout so we could attend church. The spots are pull through and more than adequate to let out slides. There are waste bags available for the dogs and a good book trading area. We found this place in northeastern New Mexico by chance but it's a very nice park and if we're back this way, would plan to stay here again. Don't miss the Capulin dormant volcano about 30 miles from here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
We stayed here every time we travel to Colorado. He is always clean and easy to get into and out of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is a rural old-style KOA, with not much to offer. Ok for an overnight. Train noise is loud at night, and after two trains within 10 minutes, we turned on the AC on high cool to help us sleep. Like most KOAs, it's on the pricey side. The WiFi was strong and fast. We'd return if we needed to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
The campground was pleasant enough and had all of the necessary hook ups. The staff was friendly and helpful. The prices were reasonable too. We would use this facility again if we were in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
This is an older park in a small town. The grounds are neat and clean. Gravel sites are large and level. All utilities work well. Sewer ports which are the older cast iron type are a little awkward to attach to as they are on their sides. If the occasional sound of a train passing in the night bothers you, you might wish to try somewhere else. Good luck! There isn't a lot around here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Easy pull through sites with some trees, a dog run with pick up bags. Spotless bathrooms, quiet, you can hear the train sometimes. It is okay for one night, there is nothing to do in the area. The town is not doing well, and places are closing down. The two restaurants are really bad, and as per usual KOA seem to have the highest prices, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We had reservations and arrived late. Owners forgot or neglected to put confirmation with site number outside. Grounds not well maintained and grass not green. Appeared to have some permanents throughout the park. OK for an overnight stop, but would not have stayed here longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Not exactly a wilderness location, but that means everything is close by as far as shopping. Friendly staff, nice place. Some of the tent sites have nice shade, so if you're tenting this would be excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This park is clean and well groomed. We simply needed an overnight stop. Close access to highway 87 but far enough away so that there is no road noise. Level site, good electric and helpful staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
A good place for an overnight stop. The sites are large, and there are a few trees. The staff is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Very neat and clean campground with long pull-thru sites. Much better than the typical KOA. Sites are well-stoned and level. Wi-fi is good, electric and water are good. An excellent park to which we shall return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Nice, easy in and out, park. Excellent for a night or two. The sites were large and long with plenty of room between sites. The utilities were up to par, meaning good water pressure, good elec, and sewer was placed so as not to need long hose. Friendly management and the manager even offered to help unhook the toad. Have stayed here before and will stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
This was a very nice and clean park. There was some train noise around midnight but no big deal it was quite the rest of the time. Very friendly. Would stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
The sites in this KOA are larger than your typical KOA, but the park overall was not as clean. The laundry facilities left a little to be desired. Some dryers were located in a different room. The office staff was friendly and cooperative. This park is very adequate for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This is a nice RV park with big sites for a KOA. New owners are making upgrades. 50 amp worked correctly and cable was great. It is an old town with lots to see (it's also the county seat). Where we were at the pole had a switch, so we had good lighting to set up and hook up and then turn it off. There is a nice store on site, and the owners are nice. This is a good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
We stayed here during the off season and it was very nice. Everything was clean and in good working condition. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Overpriced for what you get, but if it is the only campground in the area. They can charge what they want. Would not stay here, but as stated above, it is the only campground in the area. Would only stay again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Well located for a break on a long trip between Texas and Colorado. Clean and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
A good place to spend the night. Good wifi. Very friendly and helpful.Free cookies on check in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
This park is in a very welcome place out in the high nowhere between Texas and Colorado. The staff is very nice. They found the last bag of ice for us, which was much appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Adequate overnight campground. As is typical of most KOAs, was way overpriced for what we got. Paid $32.50 for a site that had very old 30 amp service. The campground circuit breaker popped twice, and we were using one roof AC, and nothing else, not even the TV. Wi-Fi was spotty, and we kept getting booted. Office staff was extremely friendly. We found this campground to be OK for an overnight stay, but at a price of $33.00 a night we'll go somewhere else next time. There are better campgrounds to be found for less money. (By way of example, the very next night we stayed at the Cedar Rail campground in Raton, NM, and paid $25.00 for a beautiful 50 amp site.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
A good place to stop, cutting across New Mexico. Management was very nice and pleasant. Site more than adequate for a short (two day) stay. The campground had a breakfast tent set up, and that was great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We have stayed here a number of times and it is in the worst condition we have seen. The gravel pads were overgrown and the grass badly needed mowing. It looked like a campground about to close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Excellent, smaller KOA that is a good overnighter. Not much to do in Clayton, but an excellent place to spend the night. Neat, clean park that is big rig friendly. Free wi-fi, and good cable television. One of the better KOAs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Clean, friendly park. Owners have breakfast tent beginning 5:30 am if you want an early start. Sites are level. Entrance to the park was easy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$26
The entrance road is very rough. The campground is well kept and clean. Trains could be heard in the background (tracks about 1 mile away). All in all a nice place to spend a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Nice park, off the highway and a little less noise than many (most) KOA's. Owners seem nice. They are working on upgrading the park and it's coming along nicely. Not really a "destination", but a good stop over. A little over priced. We came for one night and stayed for three. better than 90% of the KOA's I have stayed at. I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$23
Okay for one night stay. Roads need work and sites are not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Good, clean park for over nighting. Not much else to say about park. The new owner is very enthusiastic and restrooms and showers clean with lots of hot water. A little over priced I think but fit the bill for us perfectly as an overnight stop off. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com