223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Pancho Villa State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (575) 531-2711
CGID1862

Pancho Villa State Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   8   8   8   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Well laid out, spacious campground. Roomy, level gravel sites. Could get very dusty in a blow, like all the southwest desert area. Only 3 miles from Mexican border and touristy shops, but we felt totally secure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
This park has excellent sites and value. Has a historical setting. Also has shade coverings over picnic tables. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
A fun place to visit with interesting exhibits and indeed a great view, nice staff and townspeople. "Villistas" came through Columbus, burning the hotel and killing a few people, then a pre-WWI US Army chased them in Mexico for months, learning motor transport. Desert of course, no trees, but shelters at most sites. Cell service is good but be aware the towers are in Mexico. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water pull thru site. Dump station available in the park. Sites vary in size, have desert landscaping and a shade structure over a picnic table. Roads and sites are gravel and dirt. Motorhomes that don't want to get dust all over their toad should unhitch before entering or exiting the park. The park is close to Palomas, Mexico where there are dentists and opticians, as well as the famous Pink Store which is a must visit. We have stayed here several times and will again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
This is a quiet park near the US-Mexican border. Sites vary, with some having much more space and privacy than others. The visitor center, and walks through the park offer an interesting history of the area. I found the campground host couple helpful and eager to offer information about the area. Taking the park's trail to the "top of the hill" results in a great view of the surrounding area. The park can be windy and dusty, but otherwise was a good experience. It's an easy walk to the center of town, and short drive to the border. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$14
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water pull thru site. Dump station available in the park. Sites are large with desert landscaping so they are open, but have a shade structure over the table which is on a concrete pad. Roads and sites are gravel and dirt. Motorhomes may want to disconnect their toad before entering or exiting as they will get dusty if left hitched up. Close to Palomas, Mexico where there are dentists, opticians, and a pharmacy, as well as the famous Pink Store which is a must stop. We have stayed here several times and will again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water. Dump station available in the park. Sites are large, but privacy varies depending on the site. Roads and sites are gravel and dirt, so expect some dirt and dust. Motorhomes may want to disconnect their toad before entering or exiting as they will get dusty if left connected. This New Mexico State Park is just a couple of miles from Palomas, Mexico, making it handy if you're going to the dentist, optician, or pharmacy, as well as the famous Pink Store. We have stayed here in the past and will again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$14
Rate reflects standard NM State Park 30 amp electric and water charge. Sites are quite large, but privacy is at a premium due to lack of vegetation. Be aware that the wind blows all the time, just at different velocities. Very handy to Palomas, Mexico. Just park, walk across, visit The Pink Store, and it's a couple of minutes back to your RV. We have stayed here four times in the past and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
Very nice state park in keeping with the area (desert). Sites were very large and each one had a picnic table under a roof for shade and its own trash can. The park is built on the site of Camp Furlong where Pancho Villa made his raid into the US back in 1916 so it is historical. Unfortunately it was very windy with blowing dust, but that is normal for this time of year. Just a few miles from Palomas, Mexico. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
Our site was huge, with wonderful landscaping, shade trees, and a concrete pad with ramada and picnic table - even our own trash can. The park is beautifully maintained and the museum interesting. The history in the area (Pancho Villa's raid on Columbus and the resulting U.S. expedition into Mexico) is fascinating. This lovely, quiet park makes a great place to get away and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$4
We were here the same time last year, and the campground appears to be the same. The grounds are spotless and the cactus gardens are kept up, and must be lovely when in bloom. The park rangers are always smiling, and the camp hosts are very helpful and friendly. We love how quiet it is here. If you're looking for a peaceful place to pass the time, this is it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
Very nice State Park in an historical area in Southern NM. Free WiFi is available in front of the Town library. Don't miss having a nice meal at the Pink Store in Palomas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
Beautiful desert location. Each site has W/E, a picnic table in a little pavilion, and a fire ring. Sites are well spaced apart, with a few trees. The bath house is clean but small. Best to stop for gas and food in Deming before driving down. A little noise from trucks driving to/from the border. Palomas (Mexico) is close, for dentists and pharmacies, and make sure to eat at the Pink Store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
Nice State Park with good space between camp sites. Very interesting museum with a great film about Pancho Villa's raid. Right next door (to the east) of the museum is the Customs House which houses a book exchange and a video library. Good water pressure, no problems with the electric. We had cell/aircard reception (Verizon) and no trees in the way for our satellite dish. There is a little grocery store just east (hwy 9) of the park. Park staff was very friendly! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$14
This is a wonderful state park, close to the Mexican Border. The bird watching is great. The sites are great and it is nice an quite. This is desert scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$14
Very nice park in the desert. Neat and clean looking. Lots of birds. Desert garden. Some trees. New visitor center and exhibit on the "Pancho Villa war" by US Calvary. Good place to spend a few days relaxing. Close to Palomas, Mx. (Pink House Restaurant) Friendly and helpful staff. Playground in center of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Excellent example of Southwest desert - clean park 3 miles from Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$9
Nice clean campground 3 miles from Mexican Border. Park staff friendly and helpful. Sunny, desert atmosphere. Campground on site of only place where the US was ever invaded by another nation. 30 miles from Deming and supplies, so pack your refrigerator. Will stay again on next trip west. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com