223556 User submitted reviews online!!
City of Rocks State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (575) 536-2800
CGID1874

City of Rocks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   8   8   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This was our second stay at this park - liked it so much we were willing to go a little out of the way. Reserved a pull-through site online and when we arrived there were only two other campers (plus several tents in another part of the park). This place is awesome - quite, beautiful, simple and full of great scenery. Only modern convenience is the electric and water hookups (no sewer or dump station). Site was easy to get into and fairly level, plus long enough for our rig and truck. County road and entrance road are typical for New Mexico area - not smooth as glass but also not filled with potholes. Bring out the camera and get some great photos, enjoy the sunrise or sunset. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
An amazingly beautiful and well-layed out place. Highly recommended to have reservations!!! We got the last spot on a Saturday night and there were others behind us that did not get a spot at all. I would imagine the spots with electric are very difficult to get. Get a reservation!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$10
We primitive camped up among the rocks. This park is so unique everyone should camp here at least once. We're not hikers, but it is irresistible not to meander among the many trails around and through the rocks. Incredible dark sky for star viewing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
We stayed in the reservable dry camping area in the Pegeses loop #18. There is a place to get potable water but no dump station. The dry camping sites take a little effort to get level in, but well worth the effort to us. Great hiking and one of the top places we have been. If you like quiet this is a great place!! We would certainly come back again and would recommend it to our closest friends. We planned for four nights but stayed for seven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This is another NM state park located about 20 miles south of Silver City. There are 45 no hookup campsites located among the rocks that were formed by a large volcanic eruption millions of years ago. These sites are unique and on the Sunday that we were there many were rented out just for the day for picnics. There are also 10 sites with water and electricity located at the southern part of the campground and only three of these can be reserved. The site we had was a very nice pull through with a covered table facing the rocks. It cost us $24 and $10 of that was a reservation fee. They had some trouble with those camping on one site but the rangers and volunteers seem to handle it very well. Rules of camping were not followed – loud past quiet hours, 6 cars at site and more than 8 people. Parking in other sites. It was Easter Sunday so extended families came out to enjoy the day. At the campground there is a Botanical Garden, Educational Tours and walks, hiking trail that lead to Petroglyphs, Star Observatory and Wildlife viewing. There is also a Visitor Center with exhibits and movie about the park. We found the volunteers and staff working the center and the campground very helpful and informative. New Mexico needs to put the money back into the state park by hiring more rangers. National and State Parks are the jewels of our county. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$10
City of Rocks is a great place to spend a few days just hanging out. We didn't get any reservations in for the electric/water sites but we found a nice pull through just up the hill,#2 and dry camped. It was somewhat sheltered from the west wind that blew most of the time we were there, had fantastic views of sun rise. And a short hike through the rocks let you revel in outstanding sunsets. The bathrooms and showers were a short walk from the coach and were clean with lots of hot water. The roads in the park are mainly paved with dirt and gravel on camp sites. If you don't get an electric site they have generator hours from 7am-10pm. There is not a dump station in the park but there's a hot springs down the road that has one that is rumored to let you dump for a fee. This place is about 25 miles from Deming, NM the closest city so come prepared unless you like to do a lot of driving. We stay here again in a heart beat. Verizon phone and MiFi worked great because there's a cell tower about 5 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
Great spot for rock hounds. If you want a spot to find some (rocks) to keep, there is a road not far from here that we found some beautiful keepers. Only draw back was it was really cold. We needed 50 amps, and of course our aqua hot decided not to work during the winter storm warning. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$4
Peaceful, quiet and beautiful scenery, morning, noon and night. On NM Camping Pass for rate. The electric/water sites are wide,long,gravel and pretty level. The dry camp spots vary widely, some sites only good for tents but some are large enough for good sized rigs. Reservations through Reserve America. Nice trails through and around the park with really unusual rock formation. Sunsets are gorgeous. Here 5 days and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
This is a remarkable park that we definitely intend to visit again. We spent 2 nights, partly due to no sewer and no dump station. But the solitude, super dark night (no street lights for 20 miles it seems), fantastic sunset and moon rise, along with the natural aspects makes this place special. We were surprised that we did pick up AT&T signal, so we had phone and internet (through our own Wi-Fi only). The park charges $14 per night for a pull through site with electric/water, plus $10 registration fee: so the price is really reasonable. We recommend this park and plan on visiting in the fall or winter. Oh yeah: do watch out for Rattlesnakes as there were 2. But the Rangers responded quickly to capture them and relocate them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
Wonderful state park. 10 sites with water & electric (30amp) - 4 are host sites, 3 are reserve ahead with Reserve America & 3 are first come/first served. Other dry camping sites are all first come/first served, some large enough for big rigs - all private. The water/electric sites are long, level & gravel with covered concrete patio. Water pressure was low, but 30 amp was strong. Verizon phone & Wi-Fi worked well. No local channels on antenna, but satellite worked well. Wonderful walking & hiking trails. Awesome rocks. Weekly & sometimes nightly star shows in onsite observatory. Plus several campers with their own telescopes. Very quite & peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Great state park. Don't camp in the electric sites, they are too close together. Instead enjoy the non-electric sites among the rocks. Some are only for tents but many are big enough and level for RV's. Incredibly dark skies for star observation. Fun to hike among the rocks. Showers are hot but require you to press a button every 5-10 seconds. I assume they do this to reduce water use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This is a lovely spot, but not a pleasant experience. We were camped in the rocks and our camp chairs and outdoor thermometer were stolen while we were out exploring. That has never happened to us before anywhere. Also, the hosts had just painted over graffiti on the vault toilet building. Petroglyphs had been defaced in the park. Most likely local day use visitors the ranger said, so watch your belongings. What a shame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This is really a nice quiet campground but keep in mine that we stayed here during the weekday in October. There are 10 W/E sites within this park. E01 thru E04 are back-in sites with E02 and E04 being reserved for the two camp hosts. E05 thru E10 are pull throughs with E07 and E08 on the reservation list. There is NO dump station within this park. The interior road is on crumbing asphalt that needed to be repaved years ago. There is no need for speed bumps, you have to go very slow to get around the pot holes. The electrical sites are on crushed gravel. There was 20/30/50 amp service and the voltage was strong. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well within this park. There are a number of vault toilets located around the rocks. There is also flush toilets and showers near the visitor center. They looked clean but we did not use them. The park also has 50 dry camping sites scattered within the rocks. From my point of view, these sites are best for tent camping. None of the sites are leveled and would be very difficult to navigate for anything over 20 feet trailer. Overall, the park is very nice but really needs to be updated. The sites around the rocks need to be leveled and the roads within the park need to be repaved. The electrical sites are level but fresh gravel needs to be added. The Faywood spa (2 miles down the road) has been closed for the past 4 years. However, a portion of the spa is expected to be opened at the end of October. We would definitely come back if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
What a gem of a place. One of the best parks I have ever stayed in. If you have a tent or small RV you can camp right next to the 40 foot rock monoliths. Larger RVs camp just outside the rocks. It is an easy two hour drive to the Gila Cliff Dwellings and 30 minutes to Silver City. Very peaceful at night. Only reason it did not get a 10 is there is no dump station. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
We stayed here two nights while traveling in this area. It's so quiet and pleasant. We were on an end site with water and electric and could look out the door to the rocks and sky. Great place to walk the dog and us. Probably gets crowded on the week-ends but there were available sites both with w/e and without. Camp host was informative about area. We would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
We stayed in one of eleven level 30/50A electric/water sites with our 40' motorhome. Nice spacing and vegetation between sites with rock views. Six are pull-throughs. The other 45 sites are along a somewhat bumpy gravel road but very doable with an RV. Most of the rustic sites are not level for parking RVs but there are a few very nice ones tucked in with the big boulders. There are clean outhouses dispersed throughout. There are also flush toilets and showers at the Visitor Center and a drive would be necessary from most sites. The modern bathrooms are only open 7:30 am to 9pm. There are some trails in the park. The park is in a secluded area between I-10 and Deming and Silver City. A lot of driving is needed for any touring. This park is very nice for short stays but not long-term. The sites are self-check in and if a site is marked as reservable but empty, you can only stay one night at a time which isn't reliable if spending more time because you might have to move. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
A very unique setting for both small and big rigs. The lack of any city lights provides a wonderful view of the night sky. This park is not near any amenities but is a great place to travel up to the Gila Cliff Dwellings. The RV sites are large with a concrete pad and shade for the eating areas. The washrooms and showers are quite a hike though. We could live without the sewer hook up but found it inconvenient that there wasn't a dump station. We had to haul the extra weight back to Deming or Silver City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
I found security a non-issue here. State Park Rangers patrols were often. Preferred having no lighting so could see the unbelievable star display above. Had full 4 bar Verizon signal here. Was able to get more than tolerable Verizon 3G internet speeds with 2.66 Mbps download and .38 Mbps upload. Would stay here again without question. Very unique surroundings. I think they purposely left sewer dump off the table so that RVers would mindfully conserve water as this is a desert. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
A beautiful quiet park with an outstanding night sky! This is a park for those that enjoy nature. The 10 electric sites fill quickly. For a treat take one of the many non-electric sites on the main campground loop. You will look out on a wonderful view, and be quite a distance from other campers. There is no sewer or dump station, but this was not an issue as the park has showers, so water use is minimal. I did not notice any security issues, and people all honored quiet hours when I was here. The host was helpful and friendly. We will want to come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
No doubt Mother Nature outdid herself at this park, but man could watch over it a little closer. People from the outside seem to travel at will through the park and RV areas without apparently buying a day pass. Quiet times and doggy doo pick up are ignored. Security and lighting needs to be improved around park facilities. This might discourage outsiders from using the restrooms for boy-girl hanky panky. True story, and they sure didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Mother Nature and the State of Arizona have really done a great job at the City Of Rocks. The "Rock" formations seem to have an almost mystical quality which is felt as truly good Vibrations while the State has done a first class job in putting together a first class camping environment to go along with it. If you are going to be anywhere close then don't miss out on this one, especially if you have kids along or adults that still thing they are kids. I might add that both the park employees and the non compensated host were very polite and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
We really enjoyed this park. The area is quite scenic and the rock formations are unique. The night sky is wonderful for star gazing as long as it is not cloudy. However, there are no sewer hookups and no dump station because the subsurface rocks don't allow for it. That makes it hard to stay more than a couple of days before the tanks get full. It is a state park and we do not expect cable TV or Wi-Fi in such a remote place. Our dome satellite dish worked great and our Verizon air card also worked just fine. You need to come prepared to enjoy nature and some of the most unusual rock formations around but don't expect the kinds of amenities you get in a commercial park. It's location, location, location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
This is a typical New Mexico State Park except that they have no dump station. They have three camping areas. The first area has water and electric hook-up, second is a dry camp and third is a dry-camp but can be reserved through the state park reservations system. This is a perfect park for our style of camping (dry camping), quiet, remote, hiking/biking trails and lots of privacy. Unlike the last review, we have found the staff friendly and helpful. I can understand having your dog attacked by another can turn the visit sour. This is NOT a park for campers who like full hookups with a recreation hall and swimming pools. If you want a restaurant, the nearest is about 25 miles. The drive to Deming or Silver City is about 35 minutes. This is a perfect park for us, but could not rate 10 since it's missing WiFi, sewer and there's no dump station, but we plan to stay here 10 days and would go out of our way to return. New Mexico State Park pass is only $225/year. We broke even weeks ago and have 10 months left on our pass. All camping is free for us from now on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
The rock formations are pretty spectacular, but the staff attitude is typical (poor), NM State Park. There is no dump station. Nearest place to dump is 20 miles away. Bad rumor mill: if someone badmouths you, forget a pleasant stay. A loose Chow mix dog attacked mine: be careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$10
This State Park is an excellent location and although out in the middle of nowhere it has spectacular views. If they had at least a dump station then I would have rated it as a 10 instead of a 5. As it is, we had to wait until we got back to Deming and dumped, and one of the local campgrounds charged us a full nights stay just to dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$10
This is a beautiful State Park. Great place for kids to play for endless hours among the rocks. Loved the spacious shower. Only $10 a night for us because we didn't stay in one of the electrical/water sites. We did have a hard time finding a truly level site though & that takes away one point. There is no dump station here so that's what took the other point. But, aside from those two things we totally loved this place with it's soothing serenity & sweeping vistas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$4
This is a nice park out in the middle of nowhere with peaceful bright starry nights. There is NO dump station here! There are long level pull through sites with some sites having 50AMP service. You will need a reservation since they don't make any first come sites available for travelers. There are a total of 10 electric sites and 3 of them are taken up by camp hosts. The rest are dry camping sites that are developed. It costs $10.60 to make a reservation. You can stay one night in each reservation site (without a reservation) as long as it hasn't been booked for that particular night. I HATE the reservation system; it really ties you down when you're traveling. Water pressure was OK, but we lost electricity 3 times on a Friday. I'm not sure if we lost power or if our hard wired surge protector detected a drop in the voltage or a spike. It didn't happen again the rest of our stay. Cell aircard (Verizon) had good reception, and our satellite came in great since there's no trees. The visitors center is located at the entrance of the park. This is a nice park, but New Mexico has much nicer state parks. I don't think we would go back again. Normal rate without the annual camping pass is $14.00 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
If you like RV parks with lots of road noise, and crowds of people, sites packed so tight you step out into your neighbors RV, then this is not the place for you. Wide open spaces, lots of rocks to walk around and through. Star shows every night (just look up). Miles from nowhere (Deming, NM) in the middle of the desert. This is an undiscovered gem. What it lacks in modern amenities it more than makes up in natural beauty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$14
We really liked this campground. The pull through sites in the hook-up area are quite nice, but the dry sites are even better if you can maneuver into one of them. At the time we were there the road leading to the dry sites, which is dirt, was really rutted and not very negotiable for a big rig. People car camping with a tent and those in truck campers or vans would not have trouble getting to the dry site which are nestled among the big rock formations for which the park is named. The hook-up area is out in the open, but does have nice views of the rocks and surrounding country. A great side trip from here is to Gila cliff Dwellings National Monument. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$14
One of the most beautiful and different campgrounds we have ever visited. Truly unique. This is one of the best parks ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1998
$14
56 sites, 9 with water and electric hookups. Hookup sites have cabanas for shade and are all pull through. Fun trails/paths through fantastic rock formations formed by ancient volcanic eruptions. Also has an informative Visitor's Center. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com