206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Grants / Cibola Sands KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (505) 287-4376
CGID1881

Grants / Cibola Sands KOA

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   9   9   7   5   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
This is a typical KOA. Long pull-through sites that are good for overnight stops. The desert landscape views are nice. The office staff will deliver meals to your RV if you don't feel like cooking. There is a bit of road noise, but it wasn't excessive. It is a little pricey for the amenities, but such is the case with KOA. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
A great overnight RV campground for our purposes. Friendly staff meets you at the office with a golf cart and brings you to your pull through site and helps with setup. Breakfast was a real bonus for travelers! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$38
Good stopping off point from I-40 with clean showers and restrooms. Free coffee and breakfast in the morning. Big pull-throughs for RV and toad, with good hookups. Very friendly owner/manager. We shall stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
We found this park to be very accommodating. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we love the extra service with door to door meal delivery. It was great food and a welcome service to have a nice hot cooked meal after a full day of driving. We would DEFINITELY stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
This is one of our favorite KOAs. Just off the highway, but far enough to mute any noises. We have stayed here many times while traveling across 1-40. It's a basic small western park, with level, long and wide gravel sites. W/S/50amp/Cable & WI-FI. Not much shade, but nice and clean and is apparent that the owners take good care of the park. Upon checking in, greeted by the owners and gifted with free cookies! They offer a selection of dinners. Our favorite was the roast turkey dinner. After dinner we took a walk on the trail through the lava fields. All this and never had to leave the campground. I give this a "9" because of the friendly owners, the nice clean sites, the dinners delivered to our site, the really nice walking trail and good cable & WI-FI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
We stayed for an extended 30 day stay, so rate was very reasonable. Nice folks managing the park. Had minimal interaction with the managers. Laundry area was clean. Some evenings the park was quite busy and other nights we had the whole place to ourselves. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Only complaint was an occasional "sewer" stink coming from somewhere. Could not ever figure out where it came from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
This KOA is a few miles out of town – it is not over large and consists of a mainly gravel site with some grass and a few trees. The toilets and showers are clean, WiFi is good when it is working but the connection is a bit patchy. Train noise is very noticeable even though we are further away from the trains than we have been elsewhere, the noise from the I40 is barely a murmur. All pitches are full service with a reasonable number of cable channels (not that we could find anything we wanted to watch). Check-in was very welcoming including the free biscuit, an offer of a meal service in the evening if we wanted to buy from the nearly 100% meat based menu. A free continental breakfast is offered in the morning in the camp office. The big draw back with this site is it costs which is very high as compared to other KOAs and more than twice that charged by a Good Sam campsite you pass on your way to this one. We enjoyed staying here (it gave us what we were looking for) but would consider staying somewhere cheaper next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
The lady that runs this place is really very nice and breaks her back to make you welcome. She also provides meals delivered to your RV. Order in advance of when you check in. She seems to carry the whole thing as the male there was no help. Small enclosed dog park, gravel sites, trees at a minimum, no road noise to speak of. Great for an overnight stop. I don't remember the rate but it was very reasonable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$43
Forty three dollars for a 30 amp gravel site with no picnic table is a little much even with the free cereal and doughnuts in the mornings. This seasonal park is looking rather run down and is in need of a makeover. It is far enough off the highway to eliminate road noise and only a far off train horn could be heard. Staff was friendly and helpful, bathrooms were clean yet shabby. We would probably pass them by next time we our on hwy 40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
Very nice, clean park. Easy access from highway. They have a menu you can order from and have the food delivered to your RV. Only complaint is the dryers. They were not over loaded yet I had to pay a second time to get items completely dried. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The hostess was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The sites were level gravel and all hookups worked really great. The location is very quiet, a few blocks off the highway. The showers and bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Again, site staff were so friendly and helpful in every way. We would most definitely stay at this park again when on this route. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Another well maintained overpriced KOA. Yes you do get everything, but still too costly for a gravel parking lot space 15 ft from your neighbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
Very accommodating and friendly staff. We loved their mascot Buddy. The campground has a beautiful view of the mountains. The only drawback was the smell of nearby horses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
We chose Grants, NM as a midway stop between Roswell & Mesa Verde CO. The park is close to I-40 but no noticeable noise. We were greeted by the owner and given a complete run-down and brochures on all of the attractions close to this location. Everyone also gets a homemade cookie at check-in. We were convenient to a host of attractions including Gallup (the Sat. flea market is excellent), Historic Route 66, Chaco Canyon NHP, El Morro & El Malpais National Monuments. The park is a gravel lot but the sites were spacious and the owners attentive. Wi-Fi was very good as was Verizon cell & data. The cost reflects the KOA Rewards discount. The owner also has a dinner & desert service and she delivers to the Motorhome (the pie ala mode looked great). We would return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$48
The people here go above and beyond with their customer service. Food made to order, cookies for the kids upon arrival, free breakfast, and a genuine interest in their customers and in the history of the area in which they operate. It's in the middle of nowhere, and there aren't a great deal of amenities if you're just passing through, but the hosts made sure we had everything we needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 6,518 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome towing. My site 4 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi and cable were included in the daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart and a grocery are 5 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. One negative is that a lot of horses are right next door and the smell is really bad when the wind blows from the horses to the KOA. I do not think I would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$39
This is a large gravel lot with double wide sites. It is centrally located to the El Morro and El Malpais parks. It is near the entrance to Zuni Canyon road, eleven miles from casino. The park has lava field adjacent, with walking trail. Propane was $4, highest in awhile. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a nice small KOA. We had a long and wide pull-through with plenty of room for our motorhome and car. Very friendly and helpful staff (Owners?). There is not much shade, but that's what you get in the west. It's a great place for overnight if going east or west on 1-40 There was very little traffic noise, but trains can be a bit disturbing. We were only here overnight, but enjoyed the wonderful turkey dinner delivered to our RV. We also enjoyed the walking trail through the lava fields. If traveling in this area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$49
Typical over priced KOA. Easy access, easy to find, but that is about it. Very tight sites, you barely enough space for the picnic table between sites, but that is it. The staff very friendly, well stock office with goodies and RV supplies. Free continental breakfast of store bought doughnuts, cold cereal , and coffee. The owners have a catering service delivered to your door if you don't want to cook dinner. There is not close places to eat at either. Most likely won't stay again. mainly over value for the money spent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
Small park, but friendly. Nice nature walk through lava beds. Train noise through the night, but easy on/off I-25 access. A little high at $50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This is really a good park for an overnight or short stay. It's not a resort. It offers the basic services and it is run by a friendly staff that will go out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The sites are gravel, there's no grass and there's no shade. But the sites are wide and roomy, the utilities are in good condition and and the facilities are clean and well-maintained. We stayed two nights while doing some geocaaching in the area and exploring the meteor crater and ice caves. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Very friendly staff, very spacious with virtually no landscape features. Easy in and out. A little pricey for area, but its KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
Expensive like all of the other KOAs which is why we prefer to not use them, but when it looks like the best place around, we will spend the money. Even though this was only an overnight stop, I thought it was worth the money since it looked like the best park in the area. Particularly appealing was the meal service which we took advantage of - dear wife *really* enjoyed a cook's night off after a long day on the road. The meal was excellent and was very reasonably priced (guys - here's how to score points - stay here and insist you get a catered meal!!) Access to the park was very easy thanks in part to excellent signs. It is a good enough distance from I-40 to where the traffic noise will be somewhat muted. Interior roads were excellent (gravel) and our site was unusually level. Owners were friendly, chatty, and helpful. Our site was plenty long enough for our 40' motorhome and Jeep Rubicon Unlimited toad. This is a great albeit expensive overnight stop for us, and I will put it on the list of future indulgences assuming the door-step meal delivery continues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
70 foot pull through sites! No grass for dogs, but plenty of sand/gravel areas. Dinner prepared on-site and delivered is a great idea for those without toads. Quiet park run by very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$44
Stayed one night on way to Albuquerque (wind was very strong). Host friendly and somewhat helpful. Sites gravel, but level and wide. No shade. Continental breakfast served. Dinner cooked to order (extra cost). Roaming cats. Would not stay again because of location and if not towing, no rental cars available. Nothing within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This park is excellent. Very friendly owners. Been stopping at this park for years and stop here every year. Clean campground, level sites. Has an interesting volcanic bubble inside the park with a fence around it. A lava field surrounds the area. Nice place to stop or stay. They also will cook your meal for you at reasonable prices. Have free coffee and donuts every morning for everyone. Good place to buy T shirts! We will stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Very friendly staff! The opportunity to order dinner and have it delivered to our door was a welcome treat after a long day of driving. We enjoyed the walking trail that looped from the park into the desert. Far from city lights, the night sky was amazing! This was a pleasant overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
We have stayed here before, and our experience was just as positive this trip. Friendly owners who also prepare dinners for sale, and provide a continental breakfast. Easy access, wide, long, level sites on gravel. It stormed most of the night so it was fairly muddy - the only drawback to gravel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Sites in this park are wider than many KOA sites. The climate for the area is arid, so there are only a few trees and no grass between sites. Our site was level and long enough to park the car behind the motorhome. All utilities worked well. There was a minor problem with a loose cable connection - it was repaired immediately. It is a very friendly place. They sell dinners which are delivered to your site - we didn't order, but prices seemed quite reasonable. The wi-fi worked very well while we were here. Access to I-40 very easy from this park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Nicest park in the area. Has a free breakfast and good service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nice overnight stop campground. Friendly staff and a clean campground with level sites. Had a problem hooking up the water hose as they had some kind of "tube" surrounding the water spigot. Minor issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
For a cross country stop is very good. Friendly staff will bring supper to you although a little over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Easy access from I-40. Clean, well maintained park and facilities; gravel roads and level gravel sites. Very friendly staff, and they provide a dinner menu (reasonable prices) that they deliver to your site, and a free continental breakfast. Like most KOA's, they are not inexpensive, but with the free breakfast it does somewhat offset their higher price. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
This campground was quiet, enjoyable and a very nice stop from a long day of driving. The staff are friendly and really love their jobs. The doggie fence park was fantastic for our dogs to get off the leash for a while and the upkeep of the overall facility is great. The food they have is well priced for it being delivered to your RV and in a scheduled timeframe. Made the ending of a long day of driving that much more enjoyable! Thank you for a great night We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$42
This is a typical western RV park. Gravel roads and pads, open, few trees so no problem with satellite acquisition. Level sites. Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. You can order food to be prepared and brought to your site. It is a bit pricey, but beats unhooking the tow vehicle and driving out to dinner. You wouldn't return just for the food, though. The park is far enough from train tracks that the whistle and rumble is not much of a problem, rather different from most western highway RV parks. No I-40 noise at all. Staff is very helpful. Plenty of room to walk pets. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
We arrived later in the evening but Suzanne was at the office to get us checked in. Since we were relatively new to RV camping, she took the extra time to explain everything to us. She was also helpful to the point of loaning us a propane tank be cause we ran out. Since it was 13F outside we were a bit apprehensive. It was a great experience due in no small part to our wonderful hosts. A great location near some great things to see and do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Great place to spend the night! Wonderful, happy people run this place and even prepare and deliver meals to your RV. We happened upon this campground after a grueling, 578 mile day and it was nice to be greeted with a smile and a good attitude! Would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Wonderful people. Would have given a 9 if I had not had so much trouble with the wi-fi (and I was not the only one to have it). Needed a pool or shade trees to be a 10. They cook a fabulous supper and deliver it to your site. Two dog areas and lots of room to roam. Humorous brochure. Lots of nearby places to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We loved our stay at this park. The managers are super-friendly and helpful, there's a playground for the kids, and a fenced-in dog run complete with dog agility equipment to keep the pups engaged! Yes, the rate is higher than we'd like to pay, and there's lots of gravel (aka "no grass"), and the trees provide little shade. However, there's lots of room to spread out, great Wi-Fi reception, and complimentary continental breakfast (which we thought made up for the higher-than-expected fee). We would definitely stay here again and we highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
Clean, friendly park. I broke a sewer cover and walked over to the store to see what they had. There were 3 types to choose from and was reasonably priced. The host/management was very friendly and helpful. I found it a good place to stop over and spend the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
Friendly staff, sites are fairly wide and accommodate large rigs easily. They provide an on sight dinner menu that is brought right to your RV. They serve between 5-7 pm, and they offer a free continental breakfast in the morning. The dinners were priced from $10-15, we didn't avail ourselves, but it was a nice amenity. The only negative was the trains that run through the area staring at 5am, but it wouldn't matter where you stayed in Grants, you will hear them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Thank you fellow reviewers. We usually avoid KOA but on this trip have been to 3 KOAs because of reviews on RV Park Reviews. This one has lots of 10s and they are right. The owners are on site and "ACTIVE" in making sure your stay in their park is all that it can be. We are traveling in a 42 foot long motorhome and our site #8 is perfect. The visitors center should try to do as well as Suzanne here at the KOA. We went from 2 to 4 nights because of her efforts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
A great campground! Large sites, wide roads, wonderful staff. The option of ordering dinner and having it delivered to your site is nice. The food was excellent. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast they offer. Laundry room was large and very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
As previously stated this is a super RV park. Our pets got treats, and so did we. They are offering dinners during the spring and summer months. They said they'd done this for 3 years, and we've had their meals, and they're great. Free continental breakfast in the morning is offered. Free internet, and sites are spotless, and level. The cable TV is in a strange location but is workable with a long cable. We've stayed here previously and will continue to stay here when we pass through the area. Great friendly hosts, and nice long sites. The fenced pet area where Fido can play off leash is new and a great idea. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
This is not the first time we stayed here, and it won't be the last. The owners are as friendly as any that we've seen. Your dogs get treats as well as you on check in. They have a pet area where your pet can run off leash. This is in the middle of lava flats so not much in the way of vegetation. It has has good electricity, but the TV cable is in the wrong end of the sites from rest of utilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
A great KOA outside of Grants, NM and near I-40. The owners are very friendly and thorough with things at check-in. There is a nice fenced area for dogs to play. The facilities are spotless and very well kept. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
One of the best-run KOA’s we’ve been to, ideal for our typical usage, as an overnight pull-through. Like another reviewer, we were delighted to have the option of a freshly cooked hot meal delivered to our door within a few minutes of getting set up - good food, good value and no dishes to wash! The cookies on arrival and treats for your pets are little touches which help to make you feel valued and welcome (other parks take note!) - there was also free basic breakfast and coffee when we were there. We don’t tend to use campgrounds’ facilities like restrooms and showers, and we didn’t use the wifi here so I can’t comment on those but we would definitely use this again as a stopover and maybe explore a bit more on a future visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Good full service park (FHU, free cable, and WI-FI) lacking only a pool. It is a desert setting with few trees and some of those by some sites have low branches which make the sites unusable for even average size RVs. Good for just overnight or a base for the area sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
This is not an extended stay site, unless you want to spend a few days visiting area attractions. Returning home, along I-40 from west to east, we passed the remains of petrified forests and ancient lava fields we would have liked to explore, given the time. The campground is surrounded by one of these lava fields, in a basic 20’ X 60’ pull- thru lay out, but it’s not what gives them high marks, as we saw it. When we checked in, we were given a menu of home made dinners, delivered your door. The meal and the home made cherry pie, were delicious. Wi-Fi and cable included, and there’s an RV dealer/ parts and repair facility two blocks away, if you’re in need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Campground owners could not be more friendly, and are very knowledgeable about the area. The campground is a typical KOA – a big gravel lot with hookups and sites right next to each other, right off the highway, though pleasant enough when it's not full. The best feature of the place is that it is surrounded by lava fields, so if you get a space on the back or edge, you have a pretty view of a really unique landscape, and you feel like you're a bit farther from civilization than you are. There's also a nice little walking trail through the lava field. Clean bathrooms and a huge laundry room. Free cookies when you check in, and a free cold breakfast of cereal, coffee, doughnut holes, and fruit. Free Wi-Fi is intermittent, and they don't always know when it needs to be rebooted, but when it is up, it's strong. Tenting sites look remarkably unpleasant; they're inside a little stockade separated off from the RV sites. Everyone using the bathrooms walks right through that area, and it's pure, sharp gravel. We didn't use the playground, but it's typical of what I've seen of KOAs – playable, I suppose, but not in great repair and not particularly safe. The two camp cats were a better distraction for the little ones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This KOA was easy to access and the pull thrus were long enough for our 40 foot Motorhome with tow. The owners were very friendly, and in the morning they offered a continental breakfast, free of charge. The campground has a dog walking area thru the lava fields, next to the campground. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
Signage to campground good. Watch turn into road to campground. Owners friendly and efficient. Access roads wide but could have done with a little more maintenance. Very car park type campground with limited landscaping. Sites were flat and long but due to recent snow thaw muddy. Electricity solid and water pressure good. Free WiFi worked well. Some road noise but only distant train noise unlike the rest of the campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
This KOA is located off the freeway so it is reasonably quiet. They gladly welcomed us and our dogs. We've stayed at this KOA before and will do so again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$36
This is a clean, well-maintained RV park. Staff was very friendly and professional. Park is about 1 mile off the freeway so it is fairly quiet at night, we were not bothered with train or traffic noise. Sites are mostly pull-thrus and are wide. All utilities worked. Management warned us to dis-connect our water hose before retiring for the night as it gets cold enough for them to freeze. Good WiFi reception here. Office gave us fresh baked cookies when we arrived. We stayed here 1 night in our 5th Wheel and would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
It was easy to park here. We got cookies for us and the dogs. This is a pure gravel park which given the area is not surprising. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Nice little campground, convenient to I-40 but far enough off the highway that you can rarely hear the traffic. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Only real complaint is that the spaces are tightly packed - I would've been hard pressed to extend my awning without encroaching into the space next door. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$42
Another clean, well run KOA whose only real fault is that they are tremendously overpriced for what they deliver. I just don't get it. $42 for a piece of gravel and a few hookups? I guess I'm jaded because I could get a decent hotel room for that price and it disappoints me that I bring a $35K RV with me and I still have to basically pay the price that a room would cost. Friendly staff, nice area and everything worked (except bring a long cable line with you because you might have to run it from the opposite side of your RV like I did). I've seen a lot of nice comments about funny rule statements and free cookies (true), however - I'd much prefer they saved the fluff and lowered their prices to something that is reasonable. Although it is clean and well run, I'd probably look around for something a bit cheaper the next time I'm in the area. KOA is slowly losing this long-time customer to overpricing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
Nice place for an overnight stop. Easy to get to off of I-40. Level pull-thru sites. The complimentary cookies were a nice treat at check-in. They even had a puppy-treat for our dog! The continental breakfast wasn't much--cereal, donut holes, coffee, juice. Make sure to go on the walking trail through the lava fields--an interesting, short walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Service was good, plus warm cookies a great place to stay overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
We stopped at this campground mainly because we had driven 8 hrs and had run into a thunderstorm. I was anxious to get off the road for the night, as we were traveling through to Arizona the next day. This campground was "interesting". On the north & east sides there are horses and cows in the pasture, so when the wind is right you can smell them. It is close to the lava fields so you see lots of lava rocks everywhere, which my kids just loved. The trees are struggling to live in this part of the country, but the park was clean as a whistle. My 14 year old daughter had complained for 8 hrs about how boring the trip was--and then she saw the sunset! When you see the sun set over the New Mexico mountains you will know why their picnic tables are painted fucsia. Be sure you go for the free continental breakfast the next morning. This is not your average continental--they have cereal, oatmeal, donuts, coffee, juice, milk, hot chocolate, spiced cider,& tea. The staff is nice as can be, as are their dog, Buddy, and the cat, Pumpkin. I don't know what the owners can do about the adjacent property--it's kind of a mess. I think I might have rated this CG higher if the bathrooms were a little more up-to-date. No pool is forgivable in the Southwest, but the bathrooms were old and small. They looked clean, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
This is our favorite KOA in New Mexico. They greet you with warm chocolate chip cookies. The spaces are long and wide, with good gravel surface roads. It sits in a lava field, and is very interesting to explore the surrounding area. The campground is quiet and off the highway enough that you don't hear any highway noise. This campground offers several varieties of meals delivered to your RV with reasonable prices. We tried the smoked brisket and pork rib dinner. It was very good. More than enough food. We would stay here again when we travel through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We really like this park. Have stopped overnight here on a number of occasions. The managers are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This park is extremely close to the I-40 exit, so most of the people here are making an overnight stop. This park is fine for that purpose, as most of the sites are long pull throughs. Most people stayed hitched throughout the night and left in the morning. Wi-Fi is advertised as free, but you only get one hour for free. A 24 hour card is $3.50. It did work well, and we were parked at the very back of the park. The spaces are very narrow and close together. The biggest negative is the park layout. It is kind of a parking lot with hookups. For a long stay, I would have preferred a park with a nicer layout, along with some landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Staff were not the friendliest ever, but the RV Campground had many large trees that helped overcome the heat and improved the appearance at first. It was a dirty, dusty, gravelled park. Our site was littered with trash, cigaret butts and dumped BBQ charcoal. There had obviously not been any attemp to tidy the site. Many sites were not close to level; we had to use several blocks in addition to our hydraulic lifts to get it level. They advertise WiFi and charge $3 for it but like many KOA parks the signal was so weak at our site (200' from the office and when I tested even right next to the office) it does not work. They did refund the $3. We will not go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Very friendly staff. Had free entertainment and $3.00 barbeque the night we stayed. Large level sites. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Nice out of the way campground near some of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Convenient to I-40; very little interstate noise, but, as in most places along I-40, there is some train noise. Long, level sites, and there are some double wide sites for multiple slide RV's. The regular sites are fairly narrow. Very nice people running the park, and will deliver dinner/supper to your rig in the evening hours. WIFI is available, but a daily charge is incurred. Definitely would return for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$32
This is a small park and our site was big enough for our 40' motorhome. Easy in / easy out. The best part was the friendly staff and service. Their store is one of the best we have seen. The competion down the road is cheaper but not worth what they charge. We stayed in September 2005 and will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2004
$27
A smaller KOA amid the lava beds. Nice staff and very clean restrooms, but typical KOA sardine can-style campsites. Convenient to the interstate and a good base from which to see the local sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$27
Grants is located in a high desert and there is plenty to see conveniently close to the Cibola Sands KOA. We spent 2 days there and plan to return on our springtime trip. The managers are friendly and helpful and the store is one of the best stocked we've seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Campground is entirely gravel and level, with lots of room at every site. All sites are pull-through. Cable TV outlets are available but may require a 50' cable (the staff has some that they will loan to campers). The staff was extremely helpful and very knowledgable about the sights that are within driving distance of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Smokers in office/store, dirt and gravel sites, upkeep lacking, nothing special, just a place to stop if you need to for the night. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com