223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Las Vegas, New Mexico KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (505) 454-0180
CGID1887

Las Vegas, New Mexico KOA

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   7   5   3   5   4   4   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
Park had sparsely graveled surface and had muddy ruts in the entry. My site had very little gravel and a good bit of mud. It had been raining but the park was in need of having a lot more gravel brought in to allow better driving surface. Water was gravity fed and was low pressure, 23 psi as measured by my gauge. I did not like parking in the mud. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Nice feel to this park. Not so commercial. Quiet too, even though I-25 not that far away. Will stay here again if in the area. Can get about 10 over the air TV channels. Sites slightly sloped but level side to side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Nice people. This is our second stay in the campground and we will go back. Our only complaints are the grass burrs which make walking dogs difficult and the rough road to the park. Good park for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
This is a quiet campground, with a great staff. Sites are nice, but many are on a slope. Water pressure is low. Restrooms are cleaned on a regular basis, but need updating, mold removal, etc. The park Internet is great during the daytime, but impossible to use during evening hours. There is a strong signal, but it only seems to allow a few users to log on at a time. I thought it was funny that when I called about a reservation I was told about the grocery store. When I arrived I noticed that the selection was limited to one each of about half dozen grocery items! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
Pretty much the same as others have stated. Highly recommend staying in one of the 7 newer pull-thru's as they are mostly level and utilities are good, rest of sites are very iffy. BEWARE PETOWNERS; the sand burrs are everywhere and painful, we used dog shoes for our dog and were constantly picking them out of our shoes and the dogs'. There is a nice sand/dirt path that leads to sandy dog area. We are full-timers and have stayed in 100's of CG's and believe this may be our least favorite. Staff is nice but don't try to use your VKR $'s because they don't want to be bothered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Poor interior roads, sites not level. There are not many parks in this area, so we have stayed here twice. Other than location, not much to recommend it, I'm afraid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$36
This is the usual overpriced KOA. Very dusty roads, and to exit you have to drive the entire perimeter on a tight, rough, dusty, dirt road - ridiculous. My clean RV was a mess even driving very slowly. I'll pick another place before staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Price reflects KOA membership. The site #1 was not level. Sites are rough gravel. The staff is great but this place is way way overpriced. The laundry is $2 each for wash/dry. The road in is also rough. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Easy to find. Owners very friendly and helpful. There is a cafe on site where you can purchase breakfast and supper - which makes for a convenient over night stay. The downside for me is that the campsite is all rough gravel, which makes it dusty and uneven. Also there is a Wi-Fi service available, but it is very slow and kicks you off frequently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Very nice park. Staff and owner very helpful. We would stay here again if in area. Easy in and out sites. Stayed here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Stayed here for several days, mainly because we had to get new tires on the motorhome and it was Labor Day weekend, so we had to wait until Tuesday. Easy to get to, very nice people/staff. They had breakfast and dinner available in the picnic area, which was very nice. Good food also. Very nice spots except they were very dusty, not a lot of rock in our spot mostly dry dirt. That was the only downside. Never made it to the pool, but it looked refreshing. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Helpful, friendly staff that also provides a very good meal. The owners went above and beyond to please their guests. I would definitely return to their park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Friendly, quiet, convenient to I-25. Most spaces appeared to be level with tables, fire rings, and shade trees. Owner couple take a real pride of ownership in this park. Restrooms are clean. It is a little pricier than other parks in my travels, but it is the best option between Raton & Santa Fe. I plan to stay here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
A bit more than we wanted to spend but this is a KOA which I find a bit more exp than most. However, was nice and we got a clean, level site. Not all sites are level though so ask. Good scenery, out in the country a bit. Decent road in but it is not Hwy quality, rough but nothing bad at all. We got a pull through with 50 amp, you can pay less than we did w/o 50 and the pull through. Nice people at check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Good place. Only comments I would have is that there is no TV. (Not that we care that much: just watch news and now kind of wonder why we do that!) The road coming in is rough, and the hookups are located way to the front on the 50a pull through sites. We said we wanted a site for an overnight and would not be unhooking and had to pull way to the front so electric cable would reach. We kind of hung out the front a little on the road with the truck, but there was room for people to pass. Well, we think the 45' DP that just came in one "upstream" from us will be able to go by if he has to: but we will be out early in the morning! They have other FHU PT's they could have put us in that would not have been an issue. We made the reservation a long time ago and have a KOA Kard. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Great place with a great staff. Stopped here because it was late and they gave us the primo spot in the campground. They offer a great pancake breakfast and free coffee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
Nice little park, owners were very friendly and helpful. Had a free pancake breakfast in the morning. Slow season so office is only open at 5 PM for arriving guests, but they have a self serve check-in before 5. Had a nice pull-through site, utilities and Wi-Fi worked well. Good place to stay for a couple of days to tour the town and area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
We camped in Feb so didn't get to use all amenities. Very clean campground with friendly, helpful owners. In a rolling, wooded location and convenient to I-25. Pet friendly with nice walk path and also a fenced run. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
Worst KOA we have stayed at. No one to check us in despite being there before 5. Trash was a disaster--no dumpster and cans overflowing. Poorly maintained. Decent WI-FI only after paying an additional $10. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Owners/managers very friendly and helpful. The park is fairly quiet although there is some highway noise as the park is below I-25. The road leading into the park and leading up to the office is a little rough and could use some improvement. The best sites are the Deluxe sites (since they have a small metal swing seat) as they are long and relatively flat pull-throughs. Note that there are only about 6 of these sites, so it is best to reserve ahead to be assured of getting one. The other sites almost all had a rise to get onto the site and were not very level. Location of park is fairly convenient to the historic district. The only grocery shopping is Wal-Mart which is probably 20 minutes away. The swimming pool was closed for the season despite the temperatures being in the 80's! It would be nice if they could leave it open when the weather is this hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We hosted a Carriage rally at this park and found the staff to be the friendliest and most cooperative we have ever encountered. The park is located in a nice pinon/Juniper setting southwest of Las Vegas. We will certainly return here in the future. The only negatives were low water pressure and lack of cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Convenient, yes. Owners friendly and helpful, yes. But park is pretty rustic, all dirt and dusty. 50 amp sites are the least desirable sites. Pretty basic park for much more than basic price. We paid $45, with tax, and with AAA discount. Way too much for this park. Will not stay here again unless price were to be drastically reduced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$34
This campground is convenient to I-25 and the owners are helpful and friendly. We were able to get Verizon service and many local TV stations via the antenna. The Wi-Fi was marginal. The sites are gravel and not particularly roomy. The dump station is not in a level area so getting ones tanks completely emptied is not possible. So, it is important to reserve a full hookup site. When we were there the sites were rather muddy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Nice campground with a great little nature trail dog walk. Great staff and they gave us a ARRP discount since we don't have a KOA card. The campground needs to invest in a cable system. We just did a over-night stop on the way home. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We have stayed at this park before. The last time we got 7 inches of snow and 17 degree temps. Not the fault of the campground but not much fun. Management is very helpful. They offer breakfast and dinner: take out or eat in. The pancakes are excellent. We didn't try their dinners. The dog walk is good and there is a dog free exercise area also. We prefer public campgrounds with larger sites but this KOA is ok. It is a little tight. We are used to rough roads and considered the one to this campground no problem. It is paved but has some potholds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Very nice RV park. I had site 4, which provided plenty of room for my rig and tow car. The site was extremely beautiful, and it provided an excellent view of the nearby mountain views and valley. The only reason for rating it a 9 is that the main access road entering the park is rutted in spots and needs repair. I will definitely stay here in the future when traveling to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Rough, rough road leading into the park. Lady at desk was quite helpful, gave us a choice of sites and an escort. The sites were pull-throughs but very tight. We were lucky to get a spot as the park filled up later. Good area to walk dog. Pool was cold but clean. Laundry facilities could use an update, but were serviceable. There's a nice store with essentials and gift items. Television reception with our antenna was poor. Adequate Wi-Fi. We would stay here again, especially since there's not much else to chose from in this area. However, the entrance road really needs attention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
As others have stated, access road is very rough but OK if you go very slow. Pull-throughs #1-7 are long, level and no trees in the way. Other sites are terraced into hill above. Some are level with trees not a problem but others are unlevel with tree interference. Bathrooms/showers/laundry are older but clean and neat. Staff is friendly, park is quiet with a nice view. Nice store. Pool looked nice. Wireless is free and a little slow but OK. No cable TV and we were unable to get anything on antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This is the worst KOA campground that we’ve ever stayed in. It has nothing to offer. It’s an older park and needs a lot of maintenance. The roads and sites are nothing but dirt with minimal gravel. They have no cable TV and their Wi-Fi is so slow that it’s not worth logging on. Water pressure is low since they have a well. Entrance road is filled with pot holes. The owners and staff are very friendly and very accommodating. They escort you to the site and ensure all is well before they leave. Sites are level and long; 50 amp; shade trees which are welcome when temps are in the high 90s. The closest Wal-Mart is 15 minutes away. We stayed here while visiting Pecos National Historical Park, Fort Union National Monument and hiking the Santa Fe National Forest. Unfortunately, there are not too many campgrounds to choose from in this area. Campground is okay for a short stay. As typical of all KOA campgrounds, it’s pricey for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
A nice mountainside campground for a stopover on the way to the next stop. Nice layout of park, level sites, quiet with marvelous view of sunsets. Store is well stocked for travelers with gifts, postcards, etc. They had a cookout dinner for campers at a reasonable price, but we did not partake. Although the road between highway and the entrance to park is rough with lots of potholes, so had to slow way down when turning off highway. This is just a "heads up" to others, not the RV park's detractor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
Cute park in the pines of New Mexico. Very friendly owners who want your stay to be pleasant. We had been experiencing high winds for 2 days, and elected to stay another night and just relax. I would recommend this park, and gave it a 9 because of no cable TV, and reception with an antenna is poor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$33
We appreciated the level pull through for our over-night stay; the staff were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$35
Seemed to be a pretty nice campground with natural landscaping but 7" of snow due to bad luck and poor planning on our part. Most of the park amenities were closed for the winter. Close to I-25 but we heard no traffic noise. All hookups worked through fairly extreme temperatures. Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. The staff was friendly and helpful with local travel and restaurant advice. The bathrooms were clean but cold, understandable given the winter storm. The movie loaning program helped us get through a snowed in day in Las Vegas. We'll come back to stay again if we are stopping in Las Vegas for a night or more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
Park is gravel including sites. Nice store on site. Very friendly personnel. Road to park is paved but narrow and had a lot of holes. RV parks are sparse between here and Colorado Springs so would definitely stay here again for a one night stop over. We've stayed in a lot worse parks than this one and we're full timers. A real negative is KOA's prices. We have the KOA discount but their prices are still too high for the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
Maybe it's the time of year but you could not walk outside without stepping on so many stickers (goatheads) that you couldn't wear your shoes or sandals back into your rig. Otherwise a nice setting and in space #1 we didn't hear any freeway noise. Might stay here again but not at this time of year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A nice mountainside campground. Stayed for a 1 night stopover. They had a cookout dinner for campers at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
Just stayed the night here but wasn't very impressed with the place. Would I stay here again? I think not for 42$, might consider it for about 20$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$68
Well, it's a KOA. As expected the owners are really friendly, the staff very helpful, well stocked store, etc. However, this KOA is off the beaten path. To get to this park, you have to drive about a half mile down a very dilapidated road that will basically rattle and shake your coach to pieces. It's a very narrow road and any oncoming traffic has to pull off into the ditch to let you by. The park itself is dirt roads and from what we saw, most of the sites were dirt. This is Northern New Mexico and this park actually looks like you're camping out in the pinon covered hills. It's a very aesthetically pleasing park but a real bear maneuvering a 40' coach through pine tree lined, tight roads. In fact, without much choice, we had to drag our coach along some pines as we left our site in the morning, which did a fair amount of damage to the paint on our unit. There also seemed to be a lot of full time residents living here and several dogs running to and fro in spite of the park's dog leash rule. The upper part of the park sits fairly close to I-25 so the road noise can be bothersome. The park is clean and well maintained. We didn't use any of the facilities but the people we camped next to did and they said everything was very clean and in good order. We probably would not stay here again just because of the access issues with a 40' coach. But for smaller rigs and considering the setting, and the friendliness of the owners, I wouldn't hesitate recommending this park to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Great family campground! KOA staff very helpful and friendly. Escort to site. An old firetruck gives the kids rides around the campground in the evenings. Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Pool was clean but chilly! Campground has maintained Pinon Pines around the park. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
It is a bice little campground, enjoyed our overnight stay. The roads around the park need a little work but of course this is not an in town type of campground so it is to be expected. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
We arrived on the 4th of July and was invited to the festivities, fireworks shows was small but good. Everyone was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Fabulous park personnel. Very pet friendly. Nice sites with shade. Nature trail. Noise from I-25. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
High marks for this KOA. We had a pull thru for a 42 foot motorhome. Great View of the valley and we hit them when they were having a 2 for 1 promotion. Lots of interesting birds came to our feeder and our lab appreciated the dog run. People make the park and these folks get a 10. We liked being away from the trains that seem to be right next to all RV parks. If you are going to Angel Fire this is a great place to stop and get used to altitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Very nice park with lots of trees, level sites and clean bathrooms. WiFi was good once I got connected. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. It was a bit windy but that kept the highway noise down. We stayed one night and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$36
We had just a quick overnight stay on-route. First impression is that this is a very pleasant site where owners are trying hard to make you feel welcome. We were here very much "out of season" so we didn't get to enjoy the full benefit of what this place without a doubt has to offer, but we would definitely stop here some other time. We enjoyed a nice pull-through site with a great view out our front window. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
This place is more rustic than most, but we liked the trees and shade! Wi-Fi did not work for me; they have problems with only a small percentage of people (they say). There was no TV. They were very nice people, but I felt it was overpriced for what was there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We stayed here for several days and enjoyed it very much. Not much to do but we took several driving tours. Staff was very friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This KOA was a pleasant surprise from other typical KOAs. The RV sites were generally well spaced with gravel pads. It is built on the side of a hill so some sites were not completely level. WIFI signal was good; there was no cable TV. The park was clean and improvements were being made. The managers were polite and very helpful. We definitely would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$41
I agree with the first review that this is just another overpriced KOA with little to offer at this time of year, April. While we did buy a new KOA card here, the $60 bill for one night at this campground was too high. We could have stayed in a motel for less than that. The campground wasn't all that bad but we probably won't go back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Another overpriced KOA. Probably OK for a summer destination with children (playground and pool), but nothing special otherwise. Gravel, reasonably level sites, strong free WiFi, but poor water pressure. Close to the interstate but quiet; a good distance from town. Nice lady at the office. Only RV park close to the Interstate in the area or else we would have stayed elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$34
Signage to campground good. Limited place to park and register. Owners friendly and efficient. New pull-thru gravel based sites not very level but long enough for big rigs. However rest of site not big rig friendly. One way road around site had a number of tight curves, trees, etc. added to by snow on ground that had not been cleared. We backed out. Isolated country location, little road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
The sites are all gravel as are the roads. Still, the facilities were very good. We stayed in a large pull-through, but some of the other sites might have been a bit tight for our 36 foot fifth wheel. It seems like a typical KOA with lots of other amenities offered, and a fairly high price. Unfortunately, we were here in the very late season and they were not doing their apparently excellent burgers. The owners went out of their way to welcome us. We would probably stay here again, but not in the peak season when the prices really rise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Nice park seems a little pricey. Currently under new management and they are great. Friday is cookout night and their hamburgers 6.96 - 7.50) are some of the best I have ever had. You can purchase breakfast as well. Lots of little bunnies and birds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Typical KOA - gravel roads, gravel pads with gravel patio. Our premium pad site #3 was not all that level, but offered a nice view of the surrounding hills that included a picnic table, swing and fire pit on concrete pad. If entire patio had been concrete our stay would have been more enjoyable. They offer great a breakfast and dinner for extra $$. Owners Deb and Dennis are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
A nice park with friendly and helpful staff. Right off the interstate but highway noise is minimal. Built on a hillside and all the roads and sites are gravel. This makes for some un-level sites. Free wifi was excellent. Also has a cookout patio were food is served. Nice playground and pool. Free VHS/DVD lending library. Very friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
We spent three nights here with out-of-town guests. It's hard for us to give a "ten" to a campground, but we had to for this one. These t wo were fantastic hosts, our site was great, the food was great, and the scenery was great. Try one of his green chile cheeseburgers and you won't need to eat for a week, they are about the size of a trailer tire. Our out-of-town family members camp regularly in New England, they have for years, and commented that this was the cleanest campground they had ever seen. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Road from I-25 to campground was blacktop. All roads and sites inside park were good gravel/rock and level. Owners were very helpful at check in. They have made a lot of great updates in park. View was great from our site. WiFi was free. Little road noise from I-25. Railroad track 1/4 mile away but very low noise from train. Lots of new sites have been added. Nice playground equipment for kids. All new sites on front row with fire rings plus Bar-Q grills, and swings to sit in. City of Las Vegas is full of history and has numbers of great places to eat. Super Wal-Mart now in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We checked into this park and just after unhooking, the electric went off. We learned later there was a 200 square mile power failure and the electric company was trying to restore power. Somehow the WalMart in town had power though! The owners kept calling and the first night we had no power and roughed it. The second morning we heard they were going to get in on soon so we headed out. The power came back on about 9:15 a.m. The owners are really great people. The second morning they brought coffee and donuts for everyone. They did not charge us for the first night and everything was clean. I would recommend if it looks like rain, try to get a site higher up on the terrace. On the weekends they also have food available for a fee cooked on a grill in their covered area. The campground is a few miles south of the actual town of Las Vegas but is easy to get to. Would we stay there again, yes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
We stayed here for three nights. Unfortunately a substation transformer blew up north of Las Vegas (this is south) and a 200 square mile area was without power all night and part of the next morning. The owners did everything they could to find out why it happened at first and everyone seemed to be pleased with their efforts. The second morning they went and bought coffee and doughnuts for everyone. The last night it rained and the site next to ours, empty site 52 (we were in 53) started to accumulate a lot of mud from the terraced sites. The owners went and brought stones in on a tractor to cover the mud. We enjoyed staying here in a quiet campground and it was about 6 miles into Las Vegas to the north. Good place to stay and also visit Fort Union. Would I stay here again, yes. Almost forgot to mention the owners cook dinners (for a charge) and have a ice cream social during the end of the week and weekend under a pavilion behind the office and it's a good place to meet and chat with other people. Also, the owners did not charge anyone for that first night with no power that were there short term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Many improvements being made including several big rig sites. Owners are terrific people and very friendly. Great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. We came in just as the office was about to close at 7:00pm. The weather was very blustery and chilly but we were escorted to our site and directed in. The campground was very wooded and would be pleasant in the summer. It was well cared for and very attractive. The sites were well spaced but I think the roads might be a little tight for very large rigs, however manuverable. We had a 35 foot fifth wheel. The amperage was only 30 amps. The pool was seasonal. They had propane on site for sale. We wanted to explore the area so the office staff let us stay at our site way past the checkout time of 11:00am. There was a nice playground for the kids and a dog walk. Our satellite dish did not work because of the trees but there were other sites that this would not be the case. This place would be ideal for using as a base for exploring the area or for overnight since it is conveniently located right off from I-40. We would definitely recommend this campground and intend on returning in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We have stayed here every year since 1999, under new ownership this year. New owners are as friendly as previous. Cleanest KOA I've ever been in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$25
Wonderful place. Trees, very quiet, super owners. As KOA's go, this is one of the better ones. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com