223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Oasis State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (575) 356-5331
CGID1893

Oasis State Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   8   3   8   7   3   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
The campground was extremely clean and well organized.The camp host was very friendly and helpful. It was quiet and peaceful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
My rate was only $10 with a annual pass. This is a nice little park with a fishing pond and a little trail through the sand dunes. I had a nice picnic table and my own garbage can. The camp ground host was a nice lady from Colorado. Very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were cleaned every day and the shower was actually pretty warm for a state park. I enjoyed my stay here, the only exception being the flies from the surrounding cattle feed lots. They were pretty crazy, actually prevented me from going outside for a few days. I bought some fly tape and they seemed to subside after killing a few hundred of them. Nearby Portales is a cool town, but Clovis seems a bit depressed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
This was a great park. Its really hard to beat and or complain about a $14/night campground. Everything was clean and nice, and the campground was well kept. Yes we did encounter some flies, but no more than you see at any other campground. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
The surrounding area is mainly eastern New Mexico ranch lands, so the park is a bit of an oasis in the middle of all that. It's convenient to Portales and Clovis. It's clean, and the showers are hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This poor rating is because even at the end of October there were houseflies everywhere. Our flogger seemed to attract more. If not for flies it would rate 9. We also caution that the sandy trails hold a lot of burrs that seem to jump onto pets paws. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This review is for the Indian Grass Campground or Oasis State Park. It is the one with "developed electric" sites. There are essentially 13 attractive, spacious RV sites. Three (#11, 12, 13) can be reserved, and the rest are first come first served sites. There are four 50 Amp sites. Two of them #17 and #18 are full hook-up sites since they have sewer. The sites are well spaced apart with shade trees and native vegetation surrounding each site. Each site has a ramada above a concrete picnic table pad. Each site is a pull-through, and most look like they can work for a big rig. Getting Direct TV can be tricky due to the trees and PDA satellite WiFi is slow here. Nearly all sites are available even on the weekend this time of year. There are a few problems with the campground, and it is booms and flies. We did not detect any stinky smells. We did find an enormous house fly problem and they likely come from the cow farms. Cannon AFB has a bombing range several miles to the west. Well there are no trains and no truck sounds. So overall a very good place to stay for a few days. We extended our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This is a quiet park with pull through sites. It fills up on weekends but seems fairly empty during the week. There was a free open air concert featuring 2 bluegrass bands while I was here. Most electric and tent sites have shade trees except for the reservation sites. To get the best sites, avoid those. There is a nice stocked pond offering day and night fishing. Sprint broadband works great here. I could not detect any smells the week I was here, mentioned in a prior review. The campground hosts are friendly and stopped by to greet us upon arrival. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
The sites were level, the water and electric were good and the facilities well maintained. It was clean, peaceful and quiet and the little pond is charming. However: a previous reviewer mentioned the problem with the smell from the factory farms surrounding the park, and I have to say that they were either not here when the wind was blowing north, or have a much higher tolerance than I do. The stench was powerful and relentless and completely negated the otherwise pleasant character of this campground. I cannot recommend it and that's a shame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$4
We stayed for a couple of weeks at Oasis. It is situated so that you really get the feeling of being alone on the wind swept Great Plains. There are huge skies and sand dunes to explore. The interesting Blackwater Archeology Site where the Clovis Culture was discovered is a couple of miles away. The park is in what used to be the Brazos River in ancient times. There is usually a stocked fishing pond but it is under re-construction at this time but no work was done while we were there. Cell phone coverage is good. Towns are close but out of sight. Seldom traveled roads are good for bike riding. The staff is responsive. On site mail delivery. Detractors: flies and occasional stink from the local dairies, restrooms are modern except they SMELL AWFUL, lots of wasps in the fall! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$4
Spent a week here and enjoyed our stay. The pond was being drained to find a leak and repair it before they filled it with catfish and other species. If you plan on fishing call the park first to see if it's been repaired and filled. Very quiet park and was happy to see large trees at the first come sites. Spent about a week here while waiting for a package to arrive that was being delivered in care of the park. Very nice park rangers and staff. Trash cans are at each site so you don't get a big garbage truck in the campground jarring you awake in the morning. Cell phone service was good but air card for computer was iffy (Verizon but we were roaming). There is a Super Wal-Mart in Portales that we found to be well stocked and their Gas Station. It's located on the other side of the 70 going across the road staying on Oasis Rd.,located on the right. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
This is a small park that truly is an "oasis." The park is surrounded by farms and dairies, but is set among constantly shifting sandhills with trees, trails, wildlife and a small fishing lake which is regularly stocked with fish. Each campsite is a pull-through site with water, electricity, table, and grill on concrete slab with a shaded top. The sites are well spaced. The Blackwater Draw Archeological site is nearby and also a museum by the same name. Eastern New Mexico University's Greyhound Stadium is just minutes from the park. It is a well-planned little park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$14
Developed sites are all pull through -- 3 of which can accommodate larger rigs. Park is centered on a man made pond which is stocked with trout in the winter and crappie/perch/catfish through the summer. Several hiking trails ranging from easy to moderate. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com