206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Bluewater Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (505) 876-2391
CGID1894

Bluewater Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
http://www
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   8   10   7   9   9   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$4
Large state park with multiple campgrounds, yet only 15 electric sites. Community water spigots, no water hookups. Clean restrooms, but locked at night after 9pm. Vault toilets are available through the night. Beautiful canyon hike with well maintained trails along the rim and into canyon. Abundant cows wandering and piles to avoid. Lake was down due to drought but boaters and campers along the waters edge on weekend. Main gate is also locked at 9 pm, but a call to ranger station will allow late entry. Rate reflects Annual Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
This is a very pretty state park campground. I would not recommend it for big rigs. Ours is 36 feet long, and we had difficulty backing in a spot, and there are some tight curves. They need to do a better job of trimming the tree branches. If we had a smaller RV we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
We camped in December and were the only ones other than the ranger in the park! The sites are small and mostly back in. Our rig is 35 feet and there was only 1 pull through that would be level enough for us. The park itself is nice and sitting at an altitude of 7,000 feet. Our potato chip bags expanded with air to the point they almost burst! The park was clean and it looked well maintained. The park ranger was easily available. It looked like there was lots of day fishing going on in this lake, as there was a nice boat launch. I couldn't add much else as we only spent one night, and it was out of season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
Gate is open 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM. If closed, overnight parking outside entrance is OK (and free). Nearly all sites have beautiful lake views. Lots of open areas for family activities, and easy walking and hiking opportunities around the lake. If you fish, this lake has Big muskies! Paved roads; some sites have water and electric. Dispersed camping on shoreline, regular sites, electric, water & electric with different rates and posted on the website. Fresh water available. Dump station. Cell phone service available, Mobile broadband should be OK; however, we only stayed overnight and did not use our laptop. Not; get off t I-40 at milepost 63. Do not use park entrance via milepost 53 and NM Hwy-612. This is the old gate at the southwest end of the lake. Facilities appear to be abandoned, and campsites are remote and in poor condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
We stayed two nights and will go back. After Sept 15th reservations for the electric sites are not required. Gorgeous park. Nice sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
This is a beautiful park and we had the entire tenting area to ourselves. The campsites are nice and have fire pits and picnic tables. All tent sites have nice views of the lake, but the RV sites are further back, because none of the tent sites are level. The main problem was that someone was having a party all night and this ruined the quiet we want when camping. I didn't know where the campground host was or I would have complained. Also, we only found pit toilets. We only stayed one night so we didn't look for showers or flush toilets, but the web site says they have them. Very nice playground for kids. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
One of the prettiest parks in the NM state park system. However, the best sites are the non electric sites on the lake--actually a ridge above the lake--and in the canyon. Most of these sites are short and there are sharp turns. The tent sites are all very special. The electric sites are on a loop between the lake and the canyon. Not nearly as scenic but still a very big bargain at $14 for electric. Fill your fresh water tank at the shower house before pulling into you site. Sites are long and the back ins are fairly easy. Like most public parks many sites aren't level but in most cases this is easily corrected with boards. The park backs up to a Reservation. The poor little town you drive through to get to the park is on the reservation. We live in CO so the steep incline leading into the park was not an issue for us. Just slow down and and you will be OK. This was my second visit to this park. Lots of work has been done. The are signs for the electric loop. The ranger was wonderful. I would gladly camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Our GPS took us in the wrong way. Exit Prewitt NM and you can follow the signs. The road getting down to the campground area is steep. We traveled here in a 34' 5th wheel. This is a beautiful campground but the signage is almost non-existent as to exactly what roads lead where and the best way to go in a road to back in to a campsite. But, after all is said and done, this is a very nice quiet place and we would come back here again. Water is available but not at the sites. There is primitive sights (we have solar) and there are sites with electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This is a nice park on a lake a few miles from the Interstate. The stores all appear to be closed in the dirty little town just outside of the park entrance. My site was a spacious, level, pull-through site. The original site I was going to take was a back in, but it was not at all level, so I pulled out and continued looking. Sites vary, so drive through the loops before deciding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
We ended up not staying in this park. We have a 35-foot 5th wheel. Park is not clearly marked, showing which camping loops have electricity, which have water. After driving through 2 loops, one with no hookups, one with electric only, and seeing sites that were small and not level, rubbing trees on narrow roads with tight turns, we left the park and drove on to Gallup. That is only the second time we have done that in 13 years of camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
We called ahead about whether reservations would be necessary and were assured we'd have no problem getting a camp site with hook-ups. Finding this park was a task coming from the west as there's no sign for Bluewater Lake State Park on I-40. So we followed the map and nearly missed the road into the campground because once again there was no sign on the road. The campground was trashed; no hook-ups were evident. The only park building had graffiti all over it. The road around the campground was in horrible shape; ruts were so deep that we thought our 24 foot trailer would flip over. The place was a complete mess. Naturally we wondered who we'd talked to a couple days earlier. We left and ended up camping at a horrible campground in Grants, NM. Since coming home, it's become evident that we were at the Las Tusas Campground which is the only campground you can access from the East. There was no map of Bluewater Lake State Park at Las Tusas Campground, so we didn't realize there were more campgrounds elsewhere. If there are two sections to a park, New Mexico should provide appropriate signage. Also, we suspect Las Tusas Campground is never used so it's been trashed. New Mexico is apparently unknowingly getting a bad reputation for Bluewater Lake State Park due to Las Tusas Campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
From the interstate, this is about a 15 to 20 minute drive. This is a wonderful campground and lake combination. On the downside, there are 3 things you need to know. First, you better have everything you need, because there are zero stores around. Two, you better have a toilet on board or hope you don't need a bathroom in the middle of the night. They lock the bathrooms at 9 each night. You're forced to the dreaded "vault toilets" should the need arise between 9pm and 6am. Lastly, right before you enter the state park, you drive through what looks like a pretty run-down, nasty area, which could lead the power-that-be to the bathroom locking decision. Regardless, we felt safe in the campground and were impressed by its beauty and value, as well as the campground hosts. The bathrooms were impeccable. Large, clean, and well taken care of. We used this as an overnight site, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a beautiful state park that is well maintained. We stayed on a Sunday night, which seemed good because as we drove in some bigger parties were leaving. The campsite was very clean, it was very quiet and a place that we would come and spend more than one night in. It is 7 miles from the main highway, but well worth the drive in. There is plenty of room for kids to play and to have privacy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This campground is about 7 miles off of the highway with tight curves and steep grades coming out of the mountain; but more than manageable. There is 20/30 amp service at our site, water is a good distance from our site but we filled the tank before parking using one of the spigots available. There is a dump station at the entrance to the park. Not too many level sites and is probably best to make reservations online, because they have a few first come first serve sites and the rest are reservation only or available for one night only. Nice campground and beautiful scenery, we would stay here again. Just make sure you purchase any groceries (including ice) before coming into the campground, because it is a good distance to purchase supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
Good location, about seven miles off I-40. If you want to camp in the premium sites you need to make a reservation. We didn't and had to take a site without water hookup, away from the lake and the canyon. There were no on-site staff when we arrived and it's an honor system, placing your fee in an envelope and posting it in the receptacle. Although our neighbors told us that they had set up in one of the vacant premium sites and the maintenance man had made them pack up and move. We did however, love the location and a short walk to the lake was worth it with a chance for our dogs to take a paddle! The canyon on the other side of the park was spectacular and unexpected. The park was pretty much empty on a Monday afternoon. Sites seemed spacious, although some were more level than others. If you don't need all the "extras" that RV sites can offer, this is a peaceful and beautiful location with good fishing in the lake apparently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
It was nice I just don't think they have the staffing they should. The bath house could use some paint and a maintenance worker for a couple of days. We reserved our site. We had electric and water. We walked around and there are some pull-through sites but no electric or water with them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$4
Cell phone coverage is good. Road to park is very steep but manageable. There is NO water at the sites. Our reserved site had NO ELECTRICITY because it had been damaged some time ago and no effort has been made to repair it. The reservation service failed to mention either the water or electric issue. Fortunately, the host site is open for first come so we were lucky enough to secure that and enjoy the only full hook ups at the park. Only two showers for the park and one of them squirts water for only 1 second per push. Staff is friendly but “unable” to fix this problem although we’ve seen other park crew do just that. Closest shopping is in Grants, about 20 miles away. The park is at 7500 feet so days are comfortable and nights cool. Summer weekends are busy. Many groups stake out portions of the beach for weekends. Fishing was not good but the lake is nice for boating. The area is very interesting with many things to see including Mt. Taylor, Zuni Mountains, El Malpais and Indian ruins. Be sure to visit the NM Visitor Center in Grants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$4
Nice State Park, but we found the sites to be too close together. Little to no privacy. Some of the sites have trees that can provide shade. There are 2 electric loops. One is on their reservation system and the other isn't. I believe there are at least 12 first come sites. Some of the sites aren't level but that wasn't a problem, we were able to level our MH without any problems. Sites are dirt/gravel, the road is paved so that helps keep the dust down. Not a very busy campground as there are still sites in the first come loop available today which is a Sat. The reservation area looks full. I would have given this State Park a 10 if the sites were further apart and there were water hookups. We didn't check out the other campgrounds within the park so don't know what those sites are like. We have cell service here and my Verizon air card is picking up a good signal too. There's a dump station here and dumpsters are provided throughout the park. Quiet park during midweek, hardly a soul here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
We stayed here on the last night of a 9-day vacation on our way back to AZ. It's quiet and out of the way, lots of space between sites. The bathrooms and showers are not the cleanest, but are what you would expect from a heavily used state park after the July 4th holiday. Nice break from the jam-packed KOA's. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$14
This park is located 7 miles South of I-40 on road 412 and is located 15 miles West of Grants, NM. Park has 149 sites of which 14 are provided. The electrical sites were from 35 to 53 ft long. Each site had a table and fire ring. Located at several places in the park were restrooms with hot water showers. Also potable water was available at several locations. The park is well maintained by Nm state employees who visit the park each day. The sites are widely space with a few having trees on the site. We camped three nights in a travel trailer in June 2003 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com