224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Bottomless Lakes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (575) 624-6058
CGID1899

Bottomless Lakes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   6   8   9   8   9   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$14
There are way more negatives than positives. It's peaceful and quiet, but getting here requires a torturous drive. The 8 mile road to the state park is poor. The 5 mile road into the campground, while paved, is a miserable, washboard surface that isn't much better than a covered wagon trail. If you go the 20 mph speed limit you will risk shaking off RV parts. The interior CG roads lack any normal signage that make it easy to get to and in your site. It's basically a free-for-all. I know that it rained prior to my arrival because the gate entry way was covered with couple inches of standing water. The CG roads have mud holes due to a lack of gravel. The ADA site is concrete. All others are gravel and level. There is a covered picnic table on all sites. There are some 50A sites, but I chose one with 30A. With only a few sites occupied, the voltage would only handle one AC and a major appliance. Water pressure was good. VZW 3G was just OK. The free WiFi was strong, but worthless. I could not connect to the simplest internet site. There is no sewer, but the dump station will handle all sized rigs. The bathrooms, while modern, were not all that clean. Don't expect to have a late dinner in town because the entry gate is locked at 9 pm. The small, gnat type, flying critters are abundant. The price is cheap, but I still would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$14
Very pretty area, hiking available. Lake with paddleboats and paddleboards available. Bathhouse available close by. My site was level! They have Wi-Fi here that works! The regular rate is $14 for water/electric hookups, sewer would be $4 more. I paid only $4 per night, since I paid for a non-resident camping permit for a year--$225. Worth getting if you will stay in New Mexico for a while. This is the second state park I've been in--other one was Brantley Lake and that was very nice also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
The rate is for a water/electric site. I was ready to rate this park much higher but the electricity at our site went off at 8:30 pm and we had to move. A swarm of the largest most vicious mosquitoes descended on us just as we were starting to move. On the more positive side, the lake was cool and clear. The campsites and restrooms were reasonably clean after a busy weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$14
Very nice state park. We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Very convenient to explore Roswell. There are a couple short hiking trails at the park. You can also rent paddle boats and paddle boards. There's a side of Lea Lake that you can take your dog to swim at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$8
$8 (after purchasing an out-of-state NM annual camping permit for $225 because we will stay in at least two other NM state parks) per night was for a 50A electric, water, and sewer site on a level large gravel site. In addition, the generously sized site had a covered picnic table with a BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger). If needed, there is a dump station at the campground entrance. The campground hosts are very helpful and friendly. There are low scrubby salt cedar trees throughout the park. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are many nice gravel trails and roadways inside and outside the park. Many people were using Lea Lake for swimming and kayaking. Animals we saw during our stay included lizards, white-tailed rabbits, jackrabbits, roadrunners, Eurasian Collared Doves, and countless songbirds. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park is very quiet. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The campground is just 12 miles east of Roswell, NM which offers shopping and dining. We received four bars 4G on our AT&T cell phone and four bars 4G LTE on our Millenicom jet pack. We used the park’s Wi-Fi and it worked very well most of the time. There were 7 OTA TV channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
We stayed here for three nights. We originally reserved a pull-through site on line. However the reservable sites only have 30 amp service. Note: there are large 2-foot high rocks that make leaving a site somewhat difficult. Be careful in these sites. The campground host was very helpful and allowed us to move to a 50 amp site. The site was tight for our 44' but it was pull-through and we parked our toad next to it. Good Wi-Fi. We would stay here again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$14
Compared with other states, New Mexico State Parks have great rates for the service they provide. I don't know how they do it, but I'm not sure if it will last since every other state seems to be raising their rates. The campground loop with hookups is spacious and well maintained. Restrooms could use more hooks for hanging clothes and shower curtains(they are private stalls but no curtains on the shower stalls). Wi-Fi works reasonably well. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Another nice NM park! Really enjoyed the walking trails and seeing all the little lakes on our easy, level walk...about 1 mile one way. Bathrooms and showers very clean and great staff but the highlight is the scenery around Lea Lake where the campground is. Just 12 miles back to Roswell for a quick alien visit!! We would recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
A long bumpy ride into the park. Do not pull into the small visitor center lot with the RV. Instead proceed straight to the campground to self register. Couldn't get a site in Roswell, so we kept driving and ended up here, about 30 minutes from Roswell. Sites towards the back are 50 amp and available without a reservation. There were only 3 other campers. Big pull thru sites. The park is kind of interesting, but not worth driving out of your way to see it. There is no additional entrance fee on top of the nightly rate (like some states have). If you tow your car in, there is no additional cost. If you drive your car in separately, they charge you $10. A nice dump station is available, or you can pay an extra $4 a night for a sewer site. Self registration, cash or check, 21 day limit. Wi-Fi was pretty good, and much appreciated. Only a few TV stations came in. There is nothing to do here at night. But hey, you are saving $20 a night compared to the private campgrounds in town, so you can put that money in your gas tank. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
The lake is nice (saltwater). The campground was adequate; however, LOTS of flies. The electricity was questionable as well (my rigs power management system kept shutting off due to spikes and power drop offs). We stayed here for one week and it is highly doubtful we would return. Furthermore, the lake is a popular day use area by the locals. Even though the workers tried to keep things tidy, trash piled up quickly and was blown everywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
Last time here they were just installing free Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi signal was good at our site. Also, last year it was tough to get a decent cell signal, but this year we had a good signal with pretty fast LTE. Good Southern exposure for satellite TV. This is a nice park, we try to get here at least once a year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
Sites are level, well-spaced, and some of them have decent shade from bushes. Water and electric hookup, dump station available. Bathroom was clean. It's about a 12 mile drive on Highway 380, to the east, from Roswell, but you are rewarded by a nice quiet campground with decent scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Nice park with good sized sites, good restrooms, and a few walking trails. The road in is not great, but not that bad. We would certainly stay there again. Our Verizon worked just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
This is a very nice state park, with large sites. No Verizon internet service, although we have cell with roaming! Sites are flat with gravel. Concrete pad under the covered picnic table. There is a lake for swimming. No other activates. The staff were nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
Distance to nearest town (Roswell) about 15 miles. The entrance road is about 4 miles, blacktop, and very bumpy. However, the park is very quiet and clean. Lots of room at the site. Campground has a great beach and enclosed adobe picnic pavillions that provide lots of shade and protection from the heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
New Mexico state parks are a real bargain, and this is one of the best. The prettiest sites, pull-throughs on the lake with privacy foliage and trees in between, are reservation only. (Although some you can occupy for one night only if they aren’t already reserved when you arrive.) There is a lot of day use at the lake beach on the weekends, though, so these reservation sites are a bit noisier than the non-reservation, bleaker sites further back from the lake. There are some great hikes here, including a boardwalk out into wetlands with blinds for bird watching. It’s not terribly far into Roswell where the Roswell Museum and Art Center has some fantastic art. Of course, another must-see is the UFO museum which gives an interesting, if not convincing, account of alien encounters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
Clean & quiet out of the way campground. Sites are large with plenty of space between sites. We spent 2 nights here & would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy it. There are lots of walking and biking opportunities. We were in site 4 and had very good Wi-Fi connection. We decided to stay 3 days longer than our reservation because of bad weather but had no trouble getting the extra days. It's about 20 miles to Roswell. Walmart, Sam's Club and many other shopping opportunities are available. In the summer time you can sometimes smell the dairies and have lots of flies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Not sure what all the fuss is about; nothing here to write home about. Lea Lake does have nice, clear water but otherwise, this is the desert. Very little in the way of fauna or flora and the "scenery" has eroded to the point where it looks like a large pile of boulders. Wi-Fi is a joke; to say they offer it is almost dishonest. The bath/shower building IS nice but after several days, I have yet to see them cleaned. My site is advertised as "lake view" but unless I get on the roof of my trailer, that is not true. There are no shaded sites. Staff is nice but unless you just want a cheap place to park your rig while you drive somewhere more interesting, this one is not a keeper. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
Since we like to walk a great deal, this park was ideal. There is a series of sinkholes that give the park its name, with a nice interpretive walking trail along them. The area is dog friendly but each of the sinkholes has varying levels of salinity so make sure you carry fresh water for your dog. The water at the site was extremely hard! The non-dairy coffee creamer I use formed curdles and made to coffee taste horrid! Our dish-washer was covered with white residue that we used vinegar to remove. Once we disconnected from "shore water" we used tank water (from home) to flush the lines with and the next campground we stayed at, there was no leftovers from the incident. While you're here, make sure to visit the visitor center and see the displays about how the sinkholes were formed, their depth and shape and plant and animal life in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
We have always liked this campground as it is only a few hours away. Campground is usually neat and clean, except when the critters get into the garbage, but that is usually cleaned up quickly. Sometimes there are the "no seeums" but usually aren't a problem. There are some nice large pull through sites with trees. They now have free WiFi setup in the park, but it is slow if there is a lot of people on it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
This is a beautiful, clean, well designed RV park. The pull-through sites are spacious, well groomed, and have hookups located conveniently. The sites near the lake have a great view, privacy, and yet no satellite blockages. These sites have very nice metal/concrete covered picnic table areas. The only reason this is a 9 and not a 10 is the showers which are slow to heat and on a short timer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
We were just lucky to find this gem. We wanted a stop between Carlsbad and Grants, NM and this sounded good. It was GREAT!!! The lakes are actually sink holes filled with fresh water. The RV sites are on Lea lake and, while no one mentions it, you can kayak the lake. The water is gin-clear and fish & turtles are everywhere. Swimming is also allowed. Biking was good with a round-trip from the campground to the visitors center (along the lakes) about 9 miles of rolling roads. There is a 3 1/2 mile desert trail that is challenging. The TV, data & Wi-Fi was marginal but it did work (Verizon). Roswell is about 12 miles away and has every retail store you need. The cost reflects the $18 for full hook-up plus the reservation fee. The camp host was around each morning and most helpful. There were a few flies and an abundance of moths in the evening; but well worth tolerating to experience this real gem of a park. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
The camping area itself was nice. We had a back-in water/electric corner site. The covered picnic table areas at each site are a bonus. The park hosts/managers had little to no people skills and weren't friendly at all. We were bothered the 2 nights we were there with dogs barking constantly and were told that it was a dog friendly park. We have a dog ourselves but do not allow it to bark continuously to annoy other camping guests. We will probably not be returning to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Located 12 miles from Roswell. Do not listen to the shortcut directions from the campground host unless you want to waste an hour driving through backroads: trust your GPS. If you are here for the sole purpose of visiting Roswell, stay at one of the campgrounds on the outskirts of Roswell. The park roads are in poor condition and the drive to Roswell takes >30 minutes. Half of the sites can be reserved on-line. Six sites have EWS (electricity, water and sewer), 25 have EW (electricity and water), and three are unserviced. While the campground fee is only $14 (EW), this does not include the $10.60 reservation fee. Sites are level and a decent size, and offer a fair degree of privacy from your neighbors. If you come here to experience the park, I suspect that you will have an enjoyable time, however, we were here only for an overnight and found it inconvenient for visiting Roswell. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
Neat state park with gypsum bluffs and the multiple lakes. Showers were too cool for February. Otherwise, quiet place at a good price for water and electricity (more for sewer). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
A bit challenging getting there from the south along basically farm to market roads; especially in the winter with snow on the road - probably should have come in from Roswell; oh well, but the State Park was a very welcome sight once we started down the hill. Camp host was welcoming & friendly & pointed us to the best available spot - it was a pull through with plenty of room; vegetation around each site made you feel like you were in your own little world. Lots more sites out in the open but Host recognized that it may snow again & was giving us our best chance of getting out in the morning. Another of the many campgrounds we have stopped at in the winter that we'll put on our list for checking out in more clement weather. It is truly beautiful. Used electric only; site had a covered picnic table & there were showers/rest rooms that we did not check out but other folks seemed to be using them with no complaints. Would definitely stay again & I would imagine it is quite crowded in warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
Great spot. Has lakes and hiking with wonderful hosts. Open all year with full hook-ups for only $18. Delightful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
A fairly standard state park. Paddle boats and swimming available at the adjacent lake (can be crowded on the weekend). Nice scenery, friendly staff. Restrooms and showers not bad, but like most state parks, you can't adjust hot water. (Just push the button and get whatever temperature it's set at). Pet friendly. We would go back if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is the place to stay while visiting Roswell. The lake was clean and refreshing. The sites are large and well maintained. Some pull throughs, but mostly back ins. Full hookups. Close enough to Roswell for side trips. We visited the free zoo in town and would recommend it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Although the scenery was fabulous, the gnats were absolutely horrific! I had to put cotton in my ears to keep them out and continuously swat them from my face! The sites were level and the campground neat. The salt flats around the area were very interesting. I was there in April, but, due to the pest, will probably not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Very well done state park and campground. Camp hosts and rangers friendly and informative. Has pretty level sites and the lake is crystal clear! Will be back when the waters a little warmer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$4
This is our third visit to Bottomless Lakes. We love the area. It is quiet with lots of geology to explore. We like looking for Pecos diamonds in the area. Flies can be a problem anywhere in dairy country. Lots of safe bicycle riding opportunities. A protected wildlife area is available adjacent to the park. Staff is friendly but not intrusive. We'll definitely stay here again. $4 fee reflects annual camping pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Nice lake and wildlife, but very poorly run. I had a big problem with getting one story from the host and a totally different one from the manager (who has a real problem with "people skills"). Flies, mosquitos and bees were a problem. Some campers were very "scruffy" and appeared to be one step above vagrants. Snakes are common in warmer weather. Even with a state park discount permit, I won't likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
If you visit for the swimming and/or have a young family, you will probably have a great time here. The playground in the day use ares is to die for. The day area and swimming beach is next to the campground. We visited in the late fall. We got a nice pull through site with a lake view. Sounds good but wait. I have rated this park low because of the flies. I have never seen so many flies in a campground. Since there are no covers on the trash cans and the park is heavily used, it has become a fly breeding operation. This is sorry management and there is no excuse. The trash cans were new and there were lots of them but the the tops were missing from all of them. I would not camp here again. I have visited every state park in NM and I would rate this one at the bottom. However, I did not see anything better in the Roswell area. And the price is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This a an excellent public campground adjacent to Lea Lake. We had one of the four pull-through sites, which provide a close-up view of the lake. It was just a short walk for us to enjoy swimming in the lake. When this campground was developed the utilities for the pull-through were placed on the wrong side, in my opinion. We parked the opposite way for the lake view and our electric line was plenty long enough to reach the 30 Amp box. There is a large tin ramada over the large concrete picnic table and associated concrete pad. Shade if any is provided by tall salt cedar shrubs. The majority of sites are level and composed of weak gravel. Access roads are plenty wide enough for big rigs. The downfall for this campground is its close proximity of the popular day use area. On the weekend a considerable volume of noise traveled across the lake. The raccoons have their way with the trash since there is no trash can covers. Mosquitoes and house flies were abundant and getting worse during our stay. The entrance gate, advertised to close at 9 PM, was open all night. Allowing noisy late arrivals to disturb the campground. We stayed here for four nights and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
We enjoyed our stay at Bottomless Lakes State Park. The park is in the desert area east of Roswell, and contains a number of unusual small lakes. The RV area is back in the park next to Lea Lake. There are both pull-through and back-in sites. Some can be reserved and others are first-come, first-served. We camped in a pull-through with water and electric. A few sites are available with sewer as well. The sites are wide and long, and well separated. Each had a shaded cover over a picnic table. We got good AT&T cellular and Verizon broadband reception. We really enjoyed swimming in Lea Lake, which is spring fed and very clear. There is a large sandy beach along one side with lots of shallow water. The rest of the lake drops off sharply to a depth of 90'. A very interesting place to swim! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$14
Very unusual setting: a series of very deep sinkholes, surrounded by red rock cliffs. Campground is located next to beach, but all day campers are out by 6 pm. Water is cool though! Sites are wide and separated by lacy bushes providing more privacy than most places. Amenities and bathrooms are for the beach, but close by. The road is several miles long and very, very bumpy. Camp hosts were pleasant, found us a good spot though we arrived without reservations. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Yet another nice State Park. We arrived on a Thursday and had no problem finding a 50 amp site that would accommodate our 40 motorhome. By Friday, the place was completely full. Lea Lake, which is the only one of the Bottomless Lakes that you are able to swim in is right next to the campground and was busy every day we were here. It's spring fed and very refreshing! We had no problems with the roadways, our Verizon phone and air card worked and Roswell is within easy driving distance. This is another park we would not hesitate recommending or staying at again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Good park for a state park. It's a first-come, first-served campground, unless you book online. The lake is very nice and not too cold near shore. It's a little too far if you're just going to do Roswell for a day. There are campgrounds closer to town. This really is a relaxing place, not for touring. The road in is awful. Do not take the first road that announces the park. If you go, make sure that you do not stop at the Tourist or Information office. You need to go to the host's RV, which is in the first space. He will be able to help you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This was nice RV park 10 min's outside of Roswell. We went swimming in the lake, which was a very short walk. Camp host were very helpful. We had a pull thru site that was very roomy. The shower rooms were clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
A pretty, oasis-like park some distance outside of Roswell. We had heard bad things from New Mexico folks about Roswell, but found the town attractive and vibrant. Didn't see any aliens, though. The 'bottomless' lakes at the park have deep blue water and are in a small chain, with desert in between. There is good walking and bicycling. It was too cold to swim when we were here, but the beach at the campground was very nice. Some TV with antennae, plus ok Verizon broadband. We would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$14
Great State Park about 13 miles outside of Roswell. Beautiful red bluffs and clear lakes give it some of the nicer scenery of the entire area. It was too cold to swim while we stayed, but the swimming beaches looked quite clean and orderly. Great place to practice some photography, especially when the red bluffs light up with alpenglow in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
Nice park with one exception--I've never ever seen so many black flies. If you leave a door open while outside, you will have 2 or 3 hundred to deal with inside. We stayed here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
We spent a couple weeks here, and enjoyed the park. The lake offers swimming, and beautiful evening sunsets. The friendly campground host does a great job. The restrooms and campsites are kept clean, and grouped trash cans emptied daily. The only problem was the mosquitoes. On some evenings they were so bad you could not go outside, yet on others no problem. One brave tent camper surrounded his tent with torches, but another camper left because the mosquitoes were so bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
We loved this campground, although some sites don't have a lot of shade, it's peacefully located off the main highway. We took the back road in by mistake and really thought we were lost in the middle of nowhere, until we came over the hill and spotted the azure blue lake beneath us. The camping area is separate from the day use swimming area, which was pretty packed on a Sunday afternoon. But the campsite was quiet overnight with fairly spacious campsites and an opportunity to let our dogs paddle in the lake - they loved it! You can't beat the rate for this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is very nice campground. Lots of work going on around the outside of the park but does not affect the campground. Looks like they may be enlarging the park and repairing the roads. The sites were gravel and very large. Every site has a covered picnic table which is really nice. Only problem we had was with the wind which is not their fault but there is nothing to block the wind. Beautiful at night with million stars. Approximately 20 miles from downtown Roswell. We would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$14
We were a little surprised at the condition of the roads entering this State Park. Make sure you go plenty slow. We were towing our car, and I wondered more than a few times if it was still on the dolly! It's great because it's far outside of Roswell, so very quiet. Abundant nature and wildlife (including a family of raccoons). Right next to the lake. We wanted to rent a boat but they are not available in the winter. The scenery is great and the volunteer staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site was water and electric only, but both worked well. The showers are push-button, similar to those you would find in jail. And... they seemed to not have any hot water! We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a nice camping experience away from the city. Definitely recommended for the wild and adventurous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Very pretty lake. Too cold for us to use the bathhouse (not heated) and the water pump froze overnight, but it thawed out quickly come sunrise. We enjoyed the remoteness and unique beauty of the place. Great CG host, as well. Can really see the appeal of this place when it's warm enough to swim--nice lake and beach and facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
A longish trek from town, but breathtaking lake scenery. The most ubiquitous and voluble campground host I've ever encountered. Roomy sites, many pull-throughs with 50A service. Practically no shady spots. No sewer, free dump. Ramada with table at each site. Although there is no pool per se, there is a natural swimming area surrounded by a beautiful faux-mission rampart. Lake access elsewhere for water-loving pets. Dock with paddle boats in season. Restrooms and showers clean to usual high NM state park standards, with hand soap dispensers and paper towels. Grounds cleaned daily by convicts. Entire park is in a bowl, so no cell signal. Spent two nights here, just gorgeous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
A well maintained state park with plenty to do for everybody. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$8
We stayed here for 3 weeks. Plenty to do and see. Great biking and hiking on the road and off road bike trail. Interesting geology. Water is very hard with some iron in it. Well run park and very friendly hosts. Dairies in the area add some odor sometimes. Roswell is not too far and had everything we needed, Sam's Club, Super Center, free museums, nice bike trails. We ignored the UFO stuff. Cell phone coverage is a little weak. No fish in the park, all died because of algae. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$8
The price reflects that we have a NM state park pass and the additional fee is $4 for electric and $4 for sewer. We stayed here for 4 nights and have stayed here a few times previously. This is a great state park! There were only a few sites occupied but the sites are spacious enough that if it were 100% filled, you would not feel cramped. The host has been here for a few years or so, and is very friendly and accommodating. I did not use the bathroom but checked them out and they appeared very clean. Park has a dedicated park superintendent and his staff is terrific. There are a lot of plans for upgrading the park as far as an improved trail along the sinkhole lakes and to develop the wetlands with more trails. You are about 13 miles from Roswell (pop. about 42K) which has anything you would want and wonderful, free museums. Don't miss visiting the Bitter Lakes Wildlife Refuge. The state park and refuge have wonderful birding and an interesting alkaline environment which contain unique species of plants, animals, insects, fish, birds, and plants. I highly recommend this state park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
We felt this was a good state park. We paid $14 per night for electric and water only. If you choose a sewer site, it is $18. Self pay station and there is a dump station available. Be aware that there are some "reservation" sites. You are allowed to stay in these sites for one night only and then if you do not have a reservation for additional nights, you will be asked to move. They are very firm about this. No matter if this site is empty for the next 6 nights. They ask you to call an 800 number and then they charge an additional $10 reservation fee. While we were there in December there were only 3 other campers and the host. We did notice a slight smell coming from the lake, but only first thing in the morning and it was not bad. Roswell is about 20 minutes from the park, but it is an easy drive. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$14
Another excellent New Mexico State Parks facility. It is a bit far from anything, but the park is very nice. The price is certainly excellent. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$23
This State Park is very beautiful. The RV sites are great with covered patio tables available. That is the good news. The bad news is that virtually every fly in the United States lives there. The outside cooking grills should remain clean since you cannot remain outside without being invaded by these pests. After stopping for two days, I spent the next 2 weeks killing the Hitch-Hiker Flys all the way to Texas and Mississippi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
Another lovely NM State Park. 20 miles from Roswell, but close enough to get there when needed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
One of the best state parks! Great campground hosts--Helpful and friendly. Beautiful beach, have pull-thru sites and even some sewer sites. This is the place to stay in the Roswell area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$4
I would have given this campground a 10 if it wasn't so noisy on the weekend. Day use across the lake was filled with cars blasting music for hours. Rangers asked them to turn down volume but it fell on deaf ears. There are a few sewer hookups near the camp host and thoses are probably the sites with 50 amp power. We were in 27 which is across from the lake and had water & 20 & 30 amp hookups. It rained hard while we were there and a few hours afterwards there was a very strange smell. Never did figure out what it was. We would stay here again but NOT on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$14
This is a campground in the middle of the desert which happens to have some spring-fed lakes nearby. The sites are large and adequate and the staff is friendly. It appears as though it would be very muddy if it were to rain. There were about eight sites occupied when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$14
Really great state park! Huge pull throughs, some with a great lake view. Swimming area with a beautiful sandy beach. Heated restrooms were always clean. Not many trees, but the red cliffs surrounding lake are fantastic! Camp hosts were very helpful with info and literature on surrounding area. Best place to stay in the Roswell area. Loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
We have stayed here last year and enjoyed it. The rangers and campground hosts are very helpful and friendly. The campground is very attractive and well laid out with plenty of room between sites. I especially like the 4 or 5 long, pull-through sites. There really is not a bad site. They all have cover, shaded picnic tables and gravel sites. There are many sites that have views of the lake. Bring you bike as there are isolated roads to ride on. The visitor center has superb displays and the geology of the area is very unique and fascinating. Bird watching is another activity. There is a really nice swimming beach. Fall, winter, and spring are the times to visit as the summers are pretty hot (but dry). There are only about 6 sites with 50 amp service along with water and sewer; the rest are 30 amp. That is a consideration when choosing a site when you will using your AC. We did have good cell phone signal even though the state park is isolated. The nearest store is in Roswell so if you need supplies, it is about a 20-minute drive into town. Another little town, Dexter, is about 7 miles away but does not have the selection of goods as does Roswell. Nearby, is the Bitter Root Wildlife Refuge. We highly recommend this state park for a quick overnight stay or as a base to explore the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$14
The campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. The sites were spaced nicely apart and each had a covered picnic table and grill. It was very quiet and a very pretty area. We enjoyed learning about how the Bottomless Lakes were formed. It was extremely quiet and relaxing. We could ride our bikes on the road and there was hardly any traffic. The only complaint we had is that sometimes the smell from the brackishness of the standing water that remained after a very rainy period was unpleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Great!!! Park! Each site had a coverd picnic table and grill. Gravel sits fairly level. Some pull throughs, 8 with sewer. Lots of room between sites with some trees provide priavacy. Real nice sandy beach with picnic areas and outside shower to wash of the sand. Playground and 2 vollyball playing areas (you provide the net, and ball) Water is crystal clean with life guards on duty during the summer months. New and very clean showers. price is 14.00 for elect 18.00 with sewer. There is a dump at front of park. This park is 20 miles from Roswell, NM We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com