206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Barn RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (575) 623-4897
CGID1900

Red Barn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   10   10   10   10   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
We spent several nights here while visiting Roswell. There are pros and cons to this park. PROS: The staff is very friendly. Greeted us when we arrived and made sure we knew where everything was. There were also some "locals" living there that welcomed us. The spaces are pretty tight and from what we could tell there are over 1/2 of the spaces occupied by permanent individuals. The bathrooms are clean and everything inside the store is on an honor system including the washer and dryer. There are full hookups with cable TV. CONS: Very tight spaces. If you open your blinds, your neighbors can see what you are doing in your camper and vice versa. The road noise at night is horrible. Traffic all hours of the night and you will hear every vehicle that goes by. Very dusty and prepare to constantly track loose gravel into your camper. Several residents have dogs tied up to trees and they bark at about anyone or anything they see. This is a decent place in town to stay considering we checked out the other locations and they were horrible. 10 miles down the road is the Bottomless Lakes State Park which might be a better choice if you want quiet. What makes this park score a 7 is the staff and the bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$23
Very friendly. Laundry and snacks: pay on honor system. Free current movies to borrow. Mostly long term residents. Pet friendly: but only walk in field or along busy hwy. Showers are old, but ok. Gravel w/some grass. We'd return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at this park (just passing through Roswell). The park is small but everything fits. We had no issues parking a 40' coach. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and everything is spotless. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
What a gem. After a long day of traveling, we stopped here and found a small, neatly maintained and very clean park. The owner was very friendly and made us feel at home. She personally directed us into our pull through and again thanked us for stopping by. We could easily spend more than one day here and be very comfortable. This park is definitely on our "return to" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
This is a small RV park located just outside the city of Roswell. It is as clean as a whistle and the owner is friendly and helpful. Pride of ownership definitely shows. We have a 39' 5th wheel and stayed in a pull through with room enough to park our dually. Although it is located next to a highway, we did not notice traffic as being an issue. We would be pleased to stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
This was a small park, but perfect for our needs. There are many long term residents, so be sure to call ahead for availability. The best space is #11, where we were, as it is very private. There were grassy areas and picnic tables at each site. We were able to put up an exercise pen for our three small dogs on the grassy area and there was plenty of room. The campground WiFi worked great as did our AT&T cell phones. There was a nice clubhouse with TV, book/DVD exchange/loan (including DVDs of recently released movies), kid's toys, laundry and showers. Everything was clean. There was no extra charge for the showers and the the laundry (which we did not use)were very clean. They had a small snack bar,on the honor system. We had a friend in the area meet us there and it was just the perfect place to visit. We heard to road noise at all. The rate we paid reflects a 15% Escapees discount. The owner who lives in an adjacent home, was very friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night, but it's nice enough to spend a week or more here. We'd definitely stay again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is an older, small park with great people. There is an honor system for ice, snacks, laundry, etc. Spaces are small, but bear in mind that this park was built before slide-outs were invented. I am a bit miffed by a reviewer who rated this park WITHOUT staying. I came here for a week two years ago and never left. What this park lacks in size, it MORE than makes up for with top notch owners and long-term residents. The owners have a big cook-out once a year and invite all customers. In all fairness, I have seen a 42 foot class A with SUV in tow park here with no problems. I would absolutely stay here any time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
The lady that owns this park is wonderful and very accommodating. That said, the park is small and somewhat difficult to maneuver a big rig through. Most of the sites are permanents but they are very well taken care of. The 2 sites used for over-nighters are pull-through but tight and as previously stated, right next to the road. We didn't find that particularly objectionable but we were very cramped in the site. Our picnic table was on the driver side because there was barely room to walk between our motorhome and the 5th wheel next to us. We were only there for 2 nights so it wasn't a big issue, but if we were to travel through this area again, we'd first try to find another park that can accommodate big rigs better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Rate reflects a 15% Escapees discount. We stayed at this park because of the positive reviews on this site. We arrived very optimistic. On the positive side, the lady that seems to run the park was wonderful, very friendly, very accommodating. the WiFi is very, very fast. We have never had faster. The laundry is as reviewed before, nice and clean. The overall park is very clean and well kept. However, as noted by the last reviewer, the two overnight sites are RIGHT on the highway. Most of the sites are taken up by, very nice, longer terms folks. No problem with that. However, the two overnight pull-through sites take the front of the coach to within 10 yards of the very busy highway out front. So, if you like staying at an RV rest stop, you will love it at this park. Now, to be fair, the road does "calm down" at night making it possible to sleep. However, if you plan on being around during the day, prepare for the sound of large trucks continually going by. Also, we prefer very dark at night and this park has some large, bright streetlights. So, we hate to give this park a lower rating, but, sorry, being this close to the busy highway is a bit too much. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
Rather charming, very small park (14 sites plus one cabin). Owners were friendly and eager to help. Honor system for laundry, which I appreciated. Very clean, but only one of each machine. We were in one of two pull through sites, which open right out to the highway. Wi-Fi advertised but we never seemed to be able to access it. We even had problems with our hotspot: very slow. Our satellite worked well. We would most certainly return to this little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Had a great stay. The staff is what makes it great. Very small but very close to Roswell and easy access. All the normal hookups and the site was level and easy to get in and out. Honor system on things you need from the store late at night. The bathrooms and showers are older but very clean with good water pressure. The only thing is if you are not an early riser, it is right on the highway and it gets busy in the morning. At night it was not a problem. In Roswell the big surprise was the art museum was better than Santa Fe. Worth seeing and free. The RV parts place in town is also great, best prices I have seen, if you need something while on the road. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Excellent small campground with all the amenities at a good price. Owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this park to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
I really liked this little RV park. I called a couple hours before arriving and the owner recommended I take one of two pull-through sites when I arrived. It was a level site that allowed us to exit onto the highway through a gate--very convenient. The restroom and shower were clean and the shower was hot and had great water pressure. I really liked the honor system for the laundry and snack store--so nice not to have to look for quarters. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and always answered the phone after hours (in the evening when I first called to say we were coming, then when I called back to ask for the Wi-Fi password, and again in the morning when I called to say I had some difficulty getting the sewer cap open). When I called in the morning about the sewer cap she came right over with a tool and opened it for me (the previous camper had apparently screwed it on much too tightly and mis-threaded it). This park is right on the highway, but I heard hardly any traffic. It's just a few miles from the "International UFO Museum and Research Center," which is worth a visit; although it's not first-rate in terms of how it's put together, it's still really interesting to look at all the newspaper clippings and signed affidavits from UFO witnesses. A nearby shop owner told us that the owner of the museum is planning to revamp it within the next couple of years. If in Roswell I'd definitely stay at this RV park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
This is a pleasant small park surrounded by farm land. There are 3 or 4 full hookup 30/50 amp sites for transients; 2 are pull through. Water is good. Electric dropped 5 volts under heavy load on a hot day. Showers are clean and work well. We were east bound on US 380 in a 40' coach with car in tow. We had to use part of the west bound lane to make the turn. There was little traffic so it was not a big event to do so. The sites are a narrow, but not the worst we've encountered over the years and the people are very friendly. We were assigned a back in site. There was plenty of room to maneuver into the site. We did call 5 days in advance to reserve a spot and recommend doing that. Price reflects Escapee discount and includes tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
We actually couldn't stay here because it was to small for our motorhome. We barely could pull in and exit. I would not recommend big rigs attempt to pull in. The spots looked very narrow and short. Park lookrd old with long term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
There are only two pull-through sites here and we had one of them. It was terribly cold here and the sewer line in the shower and restroom had frozen and broken. Water was available, but we used our on-board supply. The park is a few miles from downtown, where one can visit the UFO Museum and Research Center, a worthwhile thing to do. The park was quiet and homey. I'd stay here again as an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
If you are heading in to Roswell, we suggest giving these folks a call to see if you can get one of their few open spots. While this is an old park, these owners seems to be making steady progress in making improvements and everyone here is extremely friendly and helpful. It feels like a little community within a community. Good places to walk dogs, and things available on the 'honor system' like laundry, soft drinks and ice cream. We ended up staying 2 nights when originally intended to only overnight as we were given great recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this park after trying two others. The hookups were close, Wi-Fi worked and ice, candies and ice cream was on sale. The rest rooms were clean. I broke a shower control and they had it fixed the same day. Yes, at times there was the smell of farms, but that added to the charm. Traffic did not wake me at all and I was glad of the tree shade. It was also very close to town. The owner I found pleasant and helpful, in fact I stayed longer than intended. Cannot remember exact price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This small park is located about one mile from downtown Roswell. There are only 15 sites and most of them are used by contract medical personnel who work in the local hospitals. The park is right off of Hwy 380 and there some traffic noise during the day. The park is gravel with an alfafa field behind it. All sites are back-ins except for two sites. There is a small sitting room with TV, tables and chairs, book exchange and a couple of free lending videos. There is one washer and one dryer on the honor system which we did not use. There is one shower and bathroom which were clean. Verizon card and cell worked. We arrived during a day with temperatures in the 90s; electric was on the very low side with everyone running their air conditioners. Owner is onsite and is very helpful and friendly. The city is near feed lots so expect some odor depending on the direction of the wind. The park accepts discounts such as AARP, AAA and Escapees. Rates reflect the discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Great little park. Located just west of town so is away from the traffic but close to all the Alien stuff. It is on a major road but is fairly quiet. Clean and neat looking. H/U's all worked well. We used 30 amp. The manager was very friendly and helpful with the local sites to see, gave us brochures. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
I'm sorry but I can't give the rave reviews of others. Granted, this park is sufficient for an overnight stay, but we felt it was crowded with very cramped sites, the water pressure was extremely low (just a trickle coming out of our shower), and the smell from surrounding area was awful. Most of the sites were filled with long termers. However, Wi-Fi and cable TV did work very well. Owner was not in town, but the fill in help was friendly. Did not use any of the other facilities. I doubt if we will ever use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Very friendly and helpful owner/manager. This is a very small park, 16 spaces, on the east end of Roswell that offers AARP discount and is out of the town traffic a bit. Not a resort, but very nice in that the spaces are spacious (we have 3 slideouts) with more than enough room. Pull through spaces are facing a gate that eliminates pulling through the camp to get out. Open the gate and go. Very well kept grounds, we didn't need the facilities, however, if they are as clean as the office and grounds it makes for a very nice lay over. We stopped to get out of the heavy wind and were glad we stopped here. Would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
Nice owner/manager. Awesome water pressure. Only sites available were right next to the highway, so it was a little noisy. Bathrooms about ready for a remodel. Honor system for laundry, and store is nice. NO place to walk a dog except along the highway. Close to town if you need that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This campground has a lot of promise. It changed owners a couple years ago and is being brought up to snuff. The spaces are all back-ins except two pull throughs reserved for overnighters. Spaces are level, mostly dirt with grass areas on the sides. Behind the spaces is farmland, which if newly fertilized will smell newly fertilized. The proprietor is extremely nice and helpful. The camp store is odd in that it has some snack foods/drinks and everyone pays on the honor system (kind of refreshing). However, there are no emergency repair items for sale which would be a big problem since the local hardware store is closed on Sundays. The spaces are too narrow to get your awning open. The Wi-Fi worked very well, and there were enough cable channels to find something to watch. The town center is about two miles away, so unhitch your car or bring a bicycle. Although just off a main highway, there was little road noise. The bathroom and shower need to be renovated. The fan doesn't work and needs repair. I would stay here again for a pass through. It's a nice place which I expect to only improve under the new ownership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This is the second time we have stayed in this park and would do so again. Very small well kept RV park with a very friendly owner/manager. I know that a 10 is a high score for a non 5-star TV park, but this is just a very clean park. You should call and make reservations as park has only 15 sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
The owner is very friendly and really cares about the park and her guests. It does not have a lot of sites so reservations are recommended. The park that is on the same road looks fine also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Great little family friendly park. Not many sites but very friendly staff. Owners greeted us right away and were willing to help out in any way they could. Site is close to attractions. Only negative is that there was a lot of road noise. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
Right on road so some noise, but not too bad. We had back in site next to alfalfa field. Nice view. Good water and electric. Very nice owner. Uses honor system for washer/dryer and snacks. Just use them and put money in a box to pay. Very nice. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
This is a small place, and several of the folks are long term, but we had one of the only two pull through's. You pull up to a closed gate that faces the road, and when you leave in the morning, they open the gate and you drive right out. The desk wasn't manned when we got there but there was a note to take the open site and she would come see you later. So we did and she came about 8 PM. Nice lady. The park and bathroom is older, but is kept clean. The wifi worked but didn't have many bars of signal strength. We were fine for the night, and I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
We feel the rate is high for what is available at this very small park. You must pay in cash to take advantage of discounts. It is beside a highway so there is some road noise. The owners are friendly and courteous. WIFI worked until another rv parked between us and the office, and then it wouldn't work at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Very nice, clean campground with friendly owners. Where these days can you find someone with the "honor system" for paying for drinks, ice cream, etc? Owners live on site, and we felt it was very secure. Great place surrounding the park to walk dogs and let them play. We would not hesitate to stop here again and would recommend it with no hesitation. It was far enough out of town to escape traffic congestion and noise, but still a very short drive to everything we wanted to see. $22 rate includes tax and an AARP discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$19
This is a great little park. There are only a few sites, and only two pull-throughs, but everything is neat and clean. The owners take a great deal of pride in the appearance of the park. The park is a little bit small for children to be able to romp and play. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
This location was very quiet and in the country. The owners were friendly. We only stayed one evening. We sure enjoyed the free cable tv. The location is about two miles east of downtown Roswell. Each site had a nice grassy area and there were large trees all around. We were here in Sept '04. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We stayed here for a short stay, one week, and would have stayed longer but had to move on. The park is very friendly and Jean made decaf coffee every morning just for me. The park is extra clean and in a great location to town. Will stay again and recommend to our friends. Thank you, Jean. P.S. We stayed on a weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$17
This the best park in Roswell. We stay here every spring. Bud and Jean (owners)will treat you like family. Park is spick and span. We love it. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com