223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Bosque Birdwatchers RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (575) 835-1366
CGID1904

Bosque Birdwatchers RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   4   5   8   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
We have stayed here several times because it is convenient to the wildlife refuge and is often on our traveling route. It's a funky place, behind a family home; an open, gravel area with hookups but no frills. The refuge has great hiking, and the burgers in San Antonio are hard to beat. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
No frills park very close to the Bosque del Apache, where we were attending the Festival of Cranes. No Internet, but our MiFi worked very well. Manager was very helpful and friendly. Restroom was clean and had a portable heater (much needed, as it snowed while we were there). No picnic tables, but large manufacturing spools for tables; it was too cold to sit outside anyway. Railroad very close with train whistles day and night, though not every night. Nice views of rural area, but rigs very close together so essentially no view to either side. We stayed a week and would return when we want to visit the Bosque again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Really just a gravel lot in back of a home. They have 30 and 50 amp sites, but they are not marked and we set up at a 30 before we discovered the mistake. Friendly, but large, intrusive dog from neighbors stalked our dog and made walking difficult. Closest park to Bosque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Clean park, level, gravel parking, spacious sites, full hook-ups, owners very helpful and nice. Wi-Fi Verizon card excellent! Good location to see the Bosque Reserve, El Camino Royal, and Fort Craig. The park is located across the street from a train track with loud, long, horn-blowing trains during the day and night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Very close to Bosque de Apache. Cheap place to park. No trees. No tables. No cable. No Wi-Fi. Basically a gravel lot with electric, water and sewer hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
We like this park, and this is our second trip. This place is no frills, but it's really close to the Bosque del Apache wildlife refuge which is a world class place to visit when the cranes and snow geese are wintering. Great owner, full hookups with some 50 amp. No showers but the birds won't care. When staying here you have to get a green chile cheeseburger at the Buckhorn Tavern as they are rated as #7in the US for burgers. We'll stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This is a basic gravel parking lot. Sites were adequate, with back-to-back shared hookups. My price included a $3 up-charge for 50 amp electric service. The appeal of the park is its very close proximity to Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge. It is the only park in the area, and so that is where folks stay who want to visit the refuge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Good overnight stop for this part of NM. Nothing fancy, gravel lot, large open sites, some pull through, not all 50 amp so be sure to ask for that if you need it. San Antonio has 2 places to eat that are open around dinner time. A very small town with friendly people. Owner at RV park very helpful. Would stop here again for an overnight, we might have stayed longer if we had been here for birding season at the Bosque del Apache NWF. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We are only here to visit the "Trinity Site" which is only open 2 weekends per year, once in April and one in October. The park is nothing to write home about, just a gravel lot with hookups. The road coming in from town is a little hairy if you're traveling in a big rig. This is not a destination stop, nothing here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
The main feature of this CG is that it is adjacent to the Bosque de Apache National Wildlife Refuge. The refuge is a tremendous and beautiful place, by the way. There is absolutely nothing special about this park--no cable TV no Wi-Fi ,no pool, etc., but we really liked it and even extended a day. The owner is really a great and helpful guy. The park is simply peaceful. Sites are super wide and great for all sized rigs. Another interesting fact is the small town of San Antonio boasts two restaurants with great chile cheeseburgers. I highly recommend a visitor try both. The Buckhorn tavern was featured on a Bobby Flay throw down (Bobby lost). Back to the park, we will return for another stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Older campground but perfect for being close to the birding area of Bosque de Apache Wildlife refuge. Had electricity, water, and dump which is all we need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Really the only reason we didn't give a 10 is because of the dirty restrooms and it's a little run down. The gentleman who welcomed us and was running the park could not have been nicer. We knew that there is nothing to do at this park by reading previous reviews. It's just full hookups, level gravel sites with great views of New Mexico's beauty and, it's adjacent to the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge. It's so close to the refuge that we could hear the flocks day and night. We saw lots of Sandhill Cranes and Canadian Snow Geese coming from and going to the refuge. It's quiet, although there is a train track right across the road, and 2 crossings nearby. We enjoyed the sounds and horns of occasional trains. Water and electric were good. No cable TV or Wi-Fi but we had good Verizon 3G and every site has a good shot to the southern sky for satellite dishes. Beware of GPS location for the park. Some maps show it north of Rt 380 on Rt 1, but it is 3 miles south of the blinking traffic light on 380 in San Antonio, on Rt 1. We will stay again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Convenient to the Bosque del Apache NWR is it's best feature. Typical southwestern gravel campsites that were surprisingly very level, with good water pressure and electric. It's not fancy but nice, cordial informative host and the Owl Cafes' hamburgers in San Antonio is not to be missed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Proximity to Bosque del Apache NWR is the attraction here. Park is pretty run-down and very basic. Picnic tables are cable spools. Shower is out of commission due to lack of a shower curtain, I was told. Sites are level, power is good, shade is non-existent. Owner and son are very nice and helpful. Train noise is an issue. The brewery in Socorro is gone now. But we would camp here again for the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Pure Plane Jane, but nice setting. Friendly and helpful owner. Good power and water pressure. Close to Bosque del Apache wildlife preserve: an awesome place! Very quiet except for very occasional train, no problem for us. Definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Everything is gravel with side by side hookups. Very few 50 amp sites; we had to use adapter to get 50 amp as all 50 amp sites were occupied when we pulled in. There is train noise but after a while you don’t notice it at all. We were checked in by a sweet lady of some years; I enjoyed getting to know her. The rate reflects a week’s stay. We would stay again if in the area. You can recycle at the Bosque Refuge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Nice park for overnight stay. We stayed 2 nights and used none of the amenities. Folks seemed very friendly and accommodating. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
We appreciated the quiet of this park for one night. The bathrooms were clean, but were toilets only, no showers. Also, cash or checks only, no credit cards. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
If you are interested in either a one nighter or five like we did, you will be pleased with this basic RV park. Bring your bird seed and feeder and you will be amazed at how soon the birds find it. Gambles Quail, Black headed Grosbeaks, one Rose-breasted Grosbeak male, Cow birds by the hundred, black chinned hummingbirds, Bullocks Orioles went nuts over the orange half we hung up. The park is all gravel with lots of open space between rigs. Bosque Del Appache is a mile down the road and worth the trip for any new or experienced birder. Plus the best Green Chile Burgers in the world are just down the road in San Antonio. Nice people all around. We were in a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Not many frills, but it is a decent value for the price. Sites were well spaced and level in the large gravel parking lot. Hookups were OK, except that my 50A plug was only receiving 30A. There are lots of quail and singing blackbirds in the evening. Besides Bosque Del Apache, it's a nice trip (50 Miles) to the Very Large Array, which is worth the trip. Socorro, 10 miles away, has a small Super Wal-Mart and a very good brewery restaurant (Socorro Springs). As stated before, the owner is friendly and aside from the occasional train, it's a quiet stay. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Great location next to the Bosque del Apache NWR. Owner very friendly. Shower is extra and shower space is very, very small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
We stayed here overnight during our weekend trip to the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge, which is three miles away. Although this is a no frills campground, our gravel site was large and level. We were at the far west edge of the campground, and there were about 30 Gambel's quail, 18 white crowned sparrows and 2 towhees at our feeders when we got up in the morning. Sandhill cranes flew right over the campground during morning fly out and evening fly in. The owner was very pleasant and escorted us to our site. The campground is very pet friendly. There are trains, but they were not a problem. There are two restaurants, the Owl Cafe and the Buckhorn Saloon, in San Antonio in San Antonio that vie for the title of "best green chile cheeseburger." They are both excellent! Socorro (10 miles away) is a nice little college town with shopping and a good brew pub. This is a nice little campground at a nice price. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
This is a small park far enough from I25 for quiet, but close enough for convenience. We arrived in time for the sand hill cranes annual migration to the nearby National Wildlife Refuge. It was delightful to watch and listen to the birds. History buffs will find many great areas to explore within about 30 miles. We've been here several times and always find the owners helpful and the grounds in good order. There are no frills but good pull throughs for overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This is a very basic no-frills campground that is OK for an overnight stop or as a base for visiting the nearby bird sanctuary. The average-size side-by-side sites are on gravel with only a few small trees, no grass and no views. Trains on the adjacent rail line are loud but not too frequent. The owner is friendly and the price seems very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Very much overpriced, for no amenities, no trees or grass, nothing but gravel. Stayed here for only one night. Would not stay here again unless I had to, due to weather or other problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$15
This is a reasonable park without many fancy amenities. Friendly owner. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
The owner and staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were comfortable at the park but it would probably be a bit tight if it was full. The location is great for wildlife. For us, it was one of those parks we ended up staying twice as long as planned because we enjoyed the area so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
No complaints. Simple place. A single, cramped shower that you must request a key for access to but it was clean and we found that no problem. A single toilet each for M/F. Yes, there are trains but not so many that we were bothered although we actually like trains anyhow. Stayed here several nights. We especially appreciated the quail that run about the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Really just a large gravel parking lot behind the owners home. Nice friendly people. We came here to go the the Bosque Apache National Wildlife Reserve and it's only 3 miles away. Train passes by occasionally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
The main reason (other than passing through) for RV camping in this basic location is proximity (4 miles) to Bosque Del Apache Wildlife preserve. The owner's son was very helpful in parking us after dark. A rather loud train with bells and whistles did pass close by in the early morning hours. There is no TV cable hookup, although the area is well within antenna range of Albuquerque stations. Pastoral fields surround the park which is gravel. There are few camp amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
We visited park in 40' motorhome & were disappointed in this park. It is a gravel parking area behind the owner's home that is big rig friendly. The owner is helpful and the hookups are modern and well placed. The sites were only separated by the hookups, but there was room for any number of slides. There were no tables, bbqs, fire rings, etc. The campground was free of trash & debris. Night was quiet--didn't hear the train. There were four overnighters that were mixed in with the many fulltimers. We would use this park again only as an overnight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Nice quiet park. Friendly staff. Train nearby, but only heard it twice -- never at night. Pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$17
Very skinny State Highway getting to the park. Has trains going by, but didn't hear any after I went to bed. Very nice and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$17
Gravel and level sites, no frills just nice, small and simple We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com