223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Taos Monte Bello RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (575) 751-0774
CGID1913

Taos Monte Bello RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   7   8   7   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$40
This is a small park located conveniently East of Taos off of highway. Our pull through site was level and easy to access. At this time of year water had to be disconnected in the evening to prevent freezing of hose and facility hook up. Verizon service was excellent and DirecTV easy to access. There is a large covered common area with a barbecue and picnic tables as well as picnic tables at each site. The area is high desert so landscaping is desert foliage and cactus. There is no fenced dog area but there is a well maintained dirt trail which made an excellent one mile walk for the dog. There is a nice store and staff was very helpful with suggestions for touring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$31
Remembering you are in the desert mountain climate, this is a lovely site. Sites are very generous in size, gravel, fairly level and have an unobstructed view of the mountains (we were there when the aspens were turning and the mountains were capped with snow and lower turning shades of gold and red with the evergreens mixed in for extra color). The park staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The park is quiet and most were waiting for first good snowfall to start skiing. Close to town (2 miles) yet far enough away to be away from the crowds. Close to the gorge bridge. I would highly recommend this part. Price reflects discount AND hefty New Mexico state tax (they have to pay hotel tax even though they don't change sheets or offer room service - go figure!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
On the high desert outside of Taos. Clean restrooms, wide spaces, great people. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
No discounts offered. Small RV park close to Taos and Rio Grande Gorge. Water and electric worked fine. Good Verizon cell and MiFi coverage. Pleasant 1-mile hiking trail within the RV park. Nice enough park for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Very basic campground. No amenities but reasonably priced. Sites were roomy enough. Level parking with good hook ups. Call ahead as this is a small campground and it was full each night that we were there. Central to a lot of interesting sights. See the pueblo when you visit. We will revisit this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Not sure what other reviewers use as a gauge to give to give this park a 9 or 10. It is a dirt and gravel parking lot. When the wind blows (and it blows here a lot), the dust blows also. The wireless Internet works, but it is only 1.5 Mbps, so it is fairly slow. The park is listed as offering 15% off for Escapees, but the park no longer honors this. The owner is helpful, as others have said, but $30 for an elec/water site in a dirt/gravel parking lot does not warrant anything higher than a 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
I don't know why I am doing this review. My thoughts echo all the previous reviewers. Good Wi-Fi, level spots fantastic views, etc. What set this place for me is the help I got from the office in establishing places to see on my visit to Taos and also where to stay and what to do when I went on to my next stop in Santa Fe. I'd recommend this park and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This is a nice little park just outside of Taos. Management is very friendly, and keep everything very clean. Sites are pull through and have lots of room. Landscaping includes native plants, and lots of flowers. There is a nice view of the mountains, and relaxing hiking trails. The new WiFI system is very fast. 12 channels are available over the air. Security is good with on site managers, and a combination secured entry gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Most people may not rate this a 10 because it is nothing fancy but we love it and have been here for several days, twice. Staff is very helpful. The sites are unbelievably large with much room between them with some basic landscaping. The view is to die for--360 degree unobstructed view of the mountains.The laundry room and restrooms are spotless. There is a trail on which your can let your dog go off leash. It is small so you may want to make reservations during the busy tourist season. It was full up while we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is our absolute favorite park. Family owned and operated and you could immediately tell, the staff was first rate. We really enjoyed the size of the park - not too big, in terms of number of spaces - and not too small. The owners own all the land around the park, offering many acres in which to run (we did) and play with the dog (we did). Another awesome feature of the park is its on the north side of Taos and away from all the traffic and noise. It takes a couple minutes to get into the touristy areas, but the quiet is worth the drive in. Park security by way of electric gate was awesome, no getting in without management approval - we liked that. For a very rural desert area, the camp ground was meticulously maintained; the groundsman worked like none I had ever seen. Our site was very level and offered one of the nicest views we've ever had of a sunset. We loved this place and figured the only way it would be made better is if the family matriarch was making and feeding guests traditional New Mexican/native American food. Our stay was wonderful. You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This is a cheerful, clean small park away from the traffic of Taos but well located for seeing the pueblo and town. Very helpful and thorough briefing by friendly manager. Nice views of Taos mountains; especially, at sunset. I would have been happier if there had been more than one washer/dryer, one ladies bathroom/shower, and one men's room. That sometimes meant a wait. We enjoyed our stay, though, and would certainly consider returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
This is a decent park for a few nights stay near Taos. It is only a couple of miles out of town. It is all gravel with a bit of wild grass. The sites are very large and some desert type plants dividing sites. The office is very nice and helpful. The reason for the 6 rating is that it is all gravel, there are no amenities other than a small store in the office, and the Internet is very outdated and slow. We were right next to the antenna and had a full strength signal, but the Internet was so slow you have long waits for a site to come up. We had no connection when we got there and the office called the provider to help. He mentioned that the equipment is very old. Anyway, this is a minor inconvenience. The park is just fine for a few days around Taos, just nothing fancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
I limited my rating to a "6" due to lack of amenities, but this is nonetheless a quite suitable place to spend a few days while visiting Taos. They make the best of a location on the plains just west of Taos with some plantings to separate the adequately sized sites, a large community ramada for outdoor cooking and eating, plenty of places to walk the dog, and one row of sites has a nice view of the mountains. It is quiet enough, and nicely dark, at night, although there is highway noise during the daytime. The water is excellent, electric service is strong, and the sewer does what it is supposed to do. The wifi at the sites is mostly very slow - it was intimated that the signal is better in the lounge adjacent to the office and convenience store, but I did not investigate that. There are a few permanents but their sites are neat enough and located all together on the highway side of the park. Although this is not the closest of the Taos RV parks to downtown, it is on the side of town with less traffic and closest to the Pueblo. The price shown includes taxes, and seems a bit high for what you get, but it's Taos. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Modest sized park a few miles outside of town. The owners are super friendly, and really helpful. The sites have more than enough space in between, so you don't feel crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This small family-run park is a fine place to stay while exploring Taos and its environs. The owners can tell you all you want to know about Taos and sights to see. There are only 19 RV sites, two or three of which appear to have long-term residents. There are four sheltered tent sites with tables. Park is entirely gravel and sites are level with picnic tables. Plenty of room for dogs and hiking in the high desert. The small laundry is a bargain at $1 per wash and 1$ per dry. WiFi works well and Verizon 4G is also good. Most afternoons are windy so watch your awning. We would stay here again for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Enjoyed this small, well kept park. Owners were friendly & helpful. Easy to get in & around & hope to get in next year on return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
As others stated, this is a small park located just three miles from Taos. The sites are gravel, and somewhat unlevel, but leveling our rig was easy enough. The bathrooms (only two) were large and very clean. Check in was completed the next day, as we arrived on a Sunday, and the office was closed. The park is gated, but not too sure it really helped for security, since there's no fence around the property. This park is just a few miles from the Rio Grand Gorge bridge, a must see, as well as the 'Enchanted Circle', a nice two hour scenic drive through the mountains and Red River. Wi-Fi was very weak, but our Verizon card worked well. The laundry has one washer and one dryer, $1.00 each. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Really nice people and a small but nice campground. Very clean, and the small size seems to enable the owners to keep it clean! Plenty of space for the fiver and awning. Quiet and clean , easily accessible and nice people , all you could ask for. Wi-fi was weak and no shade trees keep it from being a 10 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Very friendly owners, great place northwest of town. They have lots of local information, very helpful. Wi-Fi was so-so. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Beautiful park surrounded by desert sage. It was very clean with wonderfully friendly owners. Would love to come back and stay a couple months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Great place to stay and very quiet. Nice owners and very accommodating. Easy access for large fifth wheels and sites are far enough apart. Great views of the high plains and the mountains and yet close enough to town for all your needs. This place also has a nice little store that has your needs. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The campground is 4 or 5 miles outside of town in the direction of Rio Grande Bridge. The sites are level with gravel for a hard surface so at times it can be a little dusty. The park is well maintained and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Restrooms and showers are exceptionally clean but only one person can use it at a time. I would give the restrooms a 10++ The view is outstanding and rates another 10. The biggest negative we found with the campground was poor performance of the internet. Sometimes it worked and most of the time it didn’t. And when it did it was slow. I’d rate it a 1. All in all our three days here were enjoyable and we’d stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
A well run RV park with great views, good Wi-Fi, and larger than average sites that can easily accommodate the largest of rigs. Located in the high desert just outside of Taos, with easy access to all that Taos has to offer; and to the Enchanted Circle where the mountain towns of Eagle Nest, Angel Fire, and Red River are just a short drive away. The owners themselves are great and work very hard to ensure your stay is everything you expected. We rate them a perfect 10!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Very nice campground and friendly owners (retired military). Everything worked, very clean and great views. When we arrived, they had accidentally overbooked and they bent over backwards trying to remedy it for one night, including relocating their own RV. We were willing to park off to the side, but appreciated their efforts. Not sure of exact price as we came in as part of a Beaver motor coach rally. Would very much like to visit Taos again and would definitely stay here again. Very big rig accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
19 RV sites, 4 new tent sites. Sites are level gravel, water pressure ~40 lbs, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Wi-Fi is solid, fast and free. Verizon signal is good. No trees, so satellite shot is clear, and the starry skies are spectacular at night. Park is clean, and folks are constantly working on improvements - they built a new fence while we were here. We think it's a relatively new park, and judging by how full they stayed, we expect they'll be expanding. They do have the room to. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
After checking previous reviews of RV Parks in the Taos area we selected this one. We were not disappointed and we enjoyed our week stay. The place was what we expected and it served as a good quiet base camp for exploring the area. The almost level sites are spacious and ours was over 40-feet wide with plenty of room for the tow. The big plus here is the fabulous uninterrupted panoramic views. A highlight for us was viewing the endless siege of thunderstorms. There is a one mile plus trail available for walking or exercising pets. Otherwise there are no other recreational amenities. There is star gazing because the RV Park is lights out after sunset. There are no interfering foolish bright security lights here. The owners are making improvements. Hopefully, in the near future, they will pave the entrance, establish a real library, and construct a separate restroom for guest. Our rate reflects the weekly rate including tax for a site without sewer. If we return to the Taos area we will stay at this RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This is my favorite campground in my favorite vacation state. The sites are large, private, with great views of the Taos mountains to the east and Rio Grande valley to the west. Staff are friendly, park is pet friendly with a mile long walking trail. We has visited 4 times in 8 years and plan on returning in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Small Park with very wide sites and located about 6 miles from Taos...great location to visit the town and the area attractions. We stayed a month and very much enjoyed our visit. Owners are very helpful with information about the area and even provided some mechanical assistance with an awning issue we developed during our stay. Our rate reflects the monthly rate of $450. AT&T phone and Verizon air card were great. Park Wi-Fi was OK the times I checked it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Restrooms and showers are clean but only one person can use it at a time. The sites are level with gravel for a hard surface. The sites are nice and wide and long for a vehicle and RV but no longer. The roads in the park are gravel with easy access to all roads. It is gated and closes at 7:00. The internet is really good at times and other times slow. It is outside of town about 6 miles or so, so it is quiet. The owners run the park and are nice and friendly. The park is well maintained and they are making improvements slowly. We stayed for 6 nights and went sightseeing every other day. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Gorgeous views in every direction-- this park is out near the airport on the mesa, so no trees or buildings to block glorious sunrise and sunset views of mountains on all sides. Park owners are the most friendly and helpful I've ever met-- really made you feel genuinely welcome. Facilities were well described by other reviewers and in excellent shape. I didn't use park Wi-Fi, but my AT&T and Verizon devices worked fine with 3G service. My satellite dish also worked great here as well. Will absolutely return again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Monte Bello is a gated high desert RV park located on Hwy 64 about half-way between Taos & the Rio Grande Gorge. We liked that the CG is out of town and all the congestion that entails. We had called a week prior to book a site but when we arrived they had no record of it. However, the owners are very accommodating and found a site for us, even giving us a discount for our trouble. She also gave us maps and told us all about the Taos area. Each RV site is a gravel pull through with a picnic table. In the middle of the park is a pavilion with a BBQ pit. There is a swing set for the kids, a one-mile walking trail, and exceptionally clean restrooms and laundry. The convenience store is well stocked. AT&T cell service and AT&T air card worked well here. We would certainly stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great park in the High Desert of New Mexico. Wonderful hosts. Clean showers and laundry room. Small store on site. Big wide sites are level and graveled. One mile loop into the desert is great for walks and dog exercise. We definitely plan to return as it is a welcome respite from heat back home in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This is our kind of park. It has nice wide sites and full hookups. The park is small and quiet with great views and spectacular sunsets as well as a dark sky at night for star gazing. It is about 6 miles from Taos so you need a car or truck to get around and see the town. The park is typical desert landscaping with small shrubs. The owners are very nice and helpful and provide all kinds of information about the area. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
This was a great park, we will definitely be back. It was quiet and I felt very safe. It is close enough to town, but not noisy. Great sunsets every night and the stars are amazing. It was cool enough even without shade. The walking trail is very nice. The owners are very helpful and enjoyable to talk to. They also have all of the latest info on things to do in Taos. The sites are wide and level. There is a security gate at night. The showers are private and very nice and clean. The store has a good variety of items. They also have sewer hook-up, which wasn't posted in previous reviews. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Nice RV park in the high desert north of Taos. The owners are very friendly and will give you plenty of information about the Taos area and sites to see. All of the sites are wide gravel pull thrus with very little vegetation. Gate is locked at 7 each night and provides some security since you are out away from town. There is a little convenience store on site that has some camping supplies and some food. They have a very nice pavilion in the center of the park. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Rate was daily with discount. All utilizes were good; no cable. Verizon air card worked well but Sprint cell was on roaming. Nice location with great views of the surrounding mountains. Owner was very helpful and showed us how to work everything (gate codes, etc.). Laundry room and bathroom were clean. There is a nice dirt path for walking - ~1 mile loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Excellent park if you don't need a lot of extra amenities. The owners were great and very helpful in orienting you to the Taos area and sights to see. The entire park is gravel with some desert shrubs between sites. You are in the high desert, so there are no trees, but that is made up by the fact that these are some of the widest RV sites we have ever stayed in and a nice breeze was blowing most days we were here. The restrooms and showers were spotless. The onsite convenience store had a good variety of items for sale. The park is a few miles north of Taos and about 6 miles from the Rio Grand Gorge and Bridge. Crystal clear desert nights and not a lot of traffic noise from the adjacent highway. Good location to take a side trip up to Red River and over to Eagle Nest as well. We will stay here again when we are in the Taos area. The rate quoted includes taxes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Owners were friendly and helpful. Convenient to Taos from the north side. AAA discount rate. No shade, gravel/dirt sites. Beautiful sunsets and mountain views. Bathrooms were spacious and spotless (one men's, one women's), store was basic but reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
I called one month prior to arrival to make a reservation for tent site. When I called upon arrival in Taos, the owner had no record of the reservation but some vague recollection of our conversation. Fortunately, there was a site for me, since it was a holiday weekend. When I got to the park, I realized I was a bit low on water. I politely requested if I could put a few gallons in my tank: just enough to wash my hands and use the toilet in the middle of the night. The owner informed me that if I wanted any water, I'd have to pay an extra $14.00 for water AND electricity, even though I had no need of the latter. She simply refused to budge on this. I wasn't in the mood to shell out 14 bucks for a few gallons of water, so I just decided to use their washroom, even though I had to walk out of my camper in the middle of the night. Fortunately, the bathroom and shower were spotless. I stayed here one night. Maybe, if I come back in a full-length motorhome with full hook-ups, I'll be treated better. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Rate is based on staying for seven days and paying for six. This is an excellent park. The only thing that would make it better would be if it wasn't just gravel. But the views are beautiful, the sites are spacious and all pull-throughs, and the convenience store is not only convenient but it has low prices! The owners are very nice and helpful. The park is 5 miles from the center of Taos, which was fine for us- dark skies and quiet at night. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Friendly staff, excellent park! Great on-site convenience store with fair prices. This is the best RV park we have been to! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We stayed for seven nights while volunteering for the forest service. The park is 5 miles out of Taos. All gravel level sites. Wonderfully clean showers and laundry. Owners are very friendly and helpful, made great recommendations for good New Mexico food. Wi-Fi was satisfactory, not great. Would stay again without question. Nice to hear the coyotes at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a small campground north of Taos. It is fairly far from any amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites are not shaded, and are gravel. There was one shower for men and one for women, but they were very clean, and not crowded. The views are nice, the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge is very near. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This RV park is about 6 miles northwest of Taos. It is in open country with great views of the mountains surrounding the area. The owner is extremely helpful wanting to make your stay comfortable. We stopped by another RV park south of town, which was very nice, but decided on this RV park with better views and saved $6/day. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
The owners make this little park a special place. The park doesn’t look fancy and the owner is trying to keep a natural feel to the landscaping, using grass and gravel instead of concrete and asphalt. They have planted several trees, but intentionally not enough to obstruct the sweeping views from the sites. The gravel is good with little dust and quick drainage after summer thunderstorms. Sites have good space between them and are reasonably level. Big-rig access is excellent. Hook-ups were good (wonderful Taos water), but the significant spacing between water, sewer and electric constrained our coach’s positioning at the site a bit. While we didn’t use the restrooms or showers, I did inspect them and found them immaculate, likely because of the retired military owner who was constantly working to make sure his guests were happy. He and his wife made sure that no one had unmet needs. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the Taos area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We love this park! Owners are very friendly and helpful about the Taos area. They give military discounts to any active or former military. Great store. I found many inexpensive souvenirs. The restrooms/showers are pristine. Only 2, but the park is small. There is a groomed walking trail into the hills from the camp through the surrounding desert with blooming cacti and scrub. Fantastic! There is a good view of the town of Taos, about 10 minutes away. This park avoids the traffic congestion of Taos while being conveniently close to the activities and restaurants (way too many to count!). We hope to stay there again, but longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$31
We stayed here in both December 2008 and January 2009. The campground is near Taos Ski Valley (about 20 minutes or so), which was our main reason for staying there. The level, gravel sites were plenty long enough to accommodate our large 5th wheel rig and pickup. The owners were friendly and pleasant, and both times worked pretty steadily to keep the area in good shape despite significant snowfall. The campground was pet friendly. It was really cold--near zero every night that we stayed there. Restrooms and showers were sparkling clean, and there is a nice little convenience store. The 360 degree views and the night sky were amazing! This campground gives you the illusion that you are away from it all, even though you are less than 10 minutes from town. It is about 5 minutes or so from the Taos Gorge bridge, which is not for the faint of heart! The campground was fabulous in the winter; it might be a bit hot and dusty in the summer, but the natural vegetation and some small trees appear to be well maintained. We loved listening to the coyotes sing at night. There is a large picnic shelter with grills in the center of the campground. I highly recommend Orlando's Restaurant in Taos for excellent New Mexican food. Be sure to stop at the Overland Sheepskin Company on your way in to town. We also shopped at Artemisia on the plaza and bought some gorgeous and expensive one-of-a-kind handmade clothing and ties. We had a great time! There is no cable TV, and the Wi-Fi was weak; however this did not affect us as we have satellite and Verizon broadband access. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
We spent the month of October at Monte Bello RV Park. We had looked at available parks in Taos and chose Monte Bello because of it's roominess out on the mesa with great views instead of the crowded, traffic challenged ones available in town. The prices are reasonable and the spaces are large and level. The restrooms and laundry exceptional. While it doesn't have the amenities of resort parks, it met our needs very well. The park is an easy drive from town. The owners are wonderfully accommodating. There is a great walking trail that adjoins the park. We'll definitely stay there on our next time in Taos and would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
This quiet RV park is actually located in El Prado, about 5 miles from downtown Taos. The rate is based on a monthly rate; electricity is metered and billed later for monthly guests. There is a small convenience store; coffee and breakfast burritos, too. Our gravel site was plenty long for our big rig and about 40 feet wide. It did get windy in the afternoons during our monthly stay, so if you are planning on being gone, keep your awnings in. We saw a few awnings get damaged from the wind. There are a variety of sites: full hookups, partial hookups, and tent sites. Wi-Fi is free. Checkout time is 3:00 pm: quite unusual. There were a couple of long-termers who need to de-clutter. This is a non-luxury RV Park (rating about 6) with priceless mountain views (rating 10). It has great hosts. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
The management is very friendly and helpful. The woman who checked us in took time to give us a map of Taos and marked several important sites on the map. There is a small convenience store that is nicely stocked and clean. The campsites are level. It was cool while we were here so lack of trees wasn't an issue for us. There are a couple of long term campers but their sites are neatly maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Very clean park, pull through sites are graveled and level. Park is well marked from the highway and easy to find. Good access to downtown Taos. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Downside, no trees to block sun and wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
A basic park without a clubhouse, pool and other amenities. The laundry and bathroom facilities were clean and well maintained. There is a small convenience store with just the basics. The sites were nicely graveled and level. They were long and wide enough to park either in front of or next to the trailer. The park is located outside of Taos in the desert so there are no trees, which may be an issue in the hotter months. It is conveniently located to visit Taos, Taos Pueblo and drive the scenic byway loop to Red River and Eagles Nest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Very nice campground. Clean and peaceful with great views of Taos Mountain. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
On the outskirts of town, but near Rio Grande Gorge bridge and the biosphere community. Beautiful mountain view and great for stargazing at night. Very friendly owners. Longtime locals. One of the owners had just retired from the military six weeks before our stay, and it was clear that he was planning to make more improvements, including native landscaping. WiFi is available, but the range is small. We used our laptop at the pleasant office/store/laundry building. Our rate was based on a week stay with discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
We enjoyed this campground! Nice size sights, quite, within 15-20 minutes of the town of Taos and 1/2 hour to the ski slopes. The best part was being souronded by the awesome,ever changing beauty of snow capped mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$25
The rating is relatively neutral because you're either going to love or hate this place. The good things about this park are that it's new and clean. It's on a high point out in the middle of the desert and there is a pretty mountain vista in the distance all around. Best of all, the place is run by a very friendly and accommodating woman who knows the area well and is able to point you in the right direction for anything that you want to do. The bad things about this park is that it's out in the middle of nowhere. Even though it shows here as being in Taos, it's actually about a 15 minute drive from Taos. The distant views of the mountains are spectacular, but the closer view all around are of sparse mobile homes and junk piles. The park itself is in the middle of the desert, and has no trees, grass, or landscaping, and so it's very dusty and dirty. I don't think the park was designed by RVers, because for a new park, the hookups are a bit irrational. Electricity, water and sewer connect are not all grouped together, and the sewer connect is about 12 inches up from the ground, some trailers may not have tanks high enough to fully drain. There are many weeds around, including in the gravel sites. Only a few of the sites have 50 amp service, which seems odd for a new park. We liked the stay here OK, but will likely want to stay somewhere else, (with trees, and closer to town) next time we're in Taos. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$25
We did not stay here because when we saw this one, we were already in another campground and had already paid for a few nights. This is a new park with unbelievable 360 degree mountain views. It sits on a hill and there are no obstructions at all for the absolutely beautiful Taos mountain views. That is what this campground really has to offer. All sites are long, large pull thrus so any size rig can be accommodating. since it is away from street lights, I can't imagine how beautiful the nights would be with the stars showing. If you are into small parks with the amenities being the surroundings, give this one a try. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com