221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Taos Valley RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 93 user reviews. Phone: (575) 758-4469
CGID1914

Taos Valley RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   4   4   7   8   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
I have camped at this park on 4 different occasions. It is a pleasant, high desert campground with gravel roads and a mix of gravel and paved sites. The views of the mountains are excellent and the location is pretty convenient to everything you need in town. I travel in a 42' motorhome and tow a full size pickup truck. Each time I have been given a pull-through 50 amp site on the SW side of the park. I have been able to maneuver around the park OK - it is a little tight but not too bad. The pull-through sites are about 60' or a little less so parking the truck is a bit of an issue. No chance to keep the toad hooked if my length and passing through for the night. The sites are also a bit narrow for a big rig but there is adequate space between sites. I end up walking through the landscaping to get from front to back. All in all this is a nice park. Yes, it could use some TLC but the people are nice and accommodating. I do not use any of the facilities so cannot report on the condition of the showers, laundry etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Be careful not to confuse this with Taos RV Park, which is just down the road, right on the road. This is Taos VALLEY Rv Park. I stayed here a week, paid $199, with water and electric. A pull-through would have been a little more expensive, but I need the practice. Staff very nice and accommodating. LP available. Wi-Fi actually works and was pretty decent most of the time. Some sites are paved and some are gravel, as are the streets around the park. There are a few with shade trees, but since we're up at almost 7000, even August wasn't bad. Would recommend this park and would stay here again, I almost didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Very friendly office staff. Park shows lack of maintenance, out buildings and wooden tables paint peeling. Only about 30% or less occupied for end of July. Landscaping is typical of areas desert landscaping gravel drives and sites and sand/gravel/ stones and cacti type plantings- neglected. Park location in South Taos near major shopping and on main street into historical Taos. Be sure and request 50 amps if needed, as all sites do not have. Our site end location wide, strong Wi-Fi, easy satellite TV, no cable, power and water good. Pretty level. We were here 3 nights. Many older RVs, trailers, and 5th wheels. Not many class A rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This park is not well maintained, the sites are small, and the roads are narrow. It is not big rig friendly. The park does not have cable TV and the selection of local stations by antenna is very limited. The Wi-Fi connection is practically nonexistent. The only good connection is in the office or laundry room. We had to buy a booster and still couldn’t connect. The dryers in the laundry room is old and inefficient. We would not recommend this park until it is cleaned up and modernized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
This was a very pretty and CLEAN park. Staff was on the job and pleasant. We had a very large pull-through. All hook-ups were on the money. Wi-Fi was good at the office but iffy at our space. More than fair amount of shade through out. Somewhat close to Taos and shopping. Restrooms were kept clean. We had no bad experiences at this facility and would stay again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
The rate is for water+electric pull-thru. Although this is an older park, once a KOA, it is well kept and clean. It is convenient to Taos and easy to access. Road noise was not an issue. WiFi service was marginal. Workers were friendly and helpful. We liked that the landscaping kept much of the native sagebrush intact. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
Rate with Good Sam discount. Very nice pull thrus available with full hook ups well placed and in good condition. Interior roads are gravel in good shape. "Newer" sites are gravel and level with picnic tables. Easy access for large rigs. Wi-fi at site. Verizon reception is excellent for both MiFi and phone. Easy access from main road to Taos. Very close to downtown Taos square. Room for slide outs. Sat reception from roof is no problem as sites are open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet, easy to find location not far off the highway and close to the Taos visitor center and central Taos. Pull through sites are close together but long, so privacy is provided by staggering and bushes. No problem in the off season. Drives are paved in 2 in. stone making them a bit rough for walking. Very nice store with local art and crafts. Hardware stores nearby and supermarket on the way into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Very friendly staff. Just off the highway, but quiet. Fairly wide sites with vegetation in between. We spent 2 nights here while visiting the Taos area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We were in Taos for the annual Wool and Fiber festival and chose this RV park as it was in town. The park is well managed, quiet and clean. Park sites are small and navigating through the park is a challenge. No cable and Wi-Fi is pretty limited. Took a look at other in town options and this one was the best. Spent a week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This is a quiet older park in a good location. Sites all differ with back in sites offering the most privacy. Sites have tables, and the tent sites offer shelters. The office staff is friendly and helpful, although the office closes at 5:00. There were a lot of large motorhomes in the park which seemed to take up the full width of the pull-through spots. The restrooms look 1950's in style, but are clean and functional. Showers are hot, and have good water pressure. The sites are landscaped in desert shrubs with small divider fences. Lots of red bark is used so it doesn't get muddy during rainstorms. There is no cable, but over the air reception is good, including the major networks and a movie channel. The internet is fine during the week, but not adequate when the park is full on weekends. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We stayed at this park a year ago, and came back for a week this summer. PROs: Easy to bicycle into town with bike lanes almost all the way to the plaza; nice views of the mountains from most sites; trail to walk the dog (although it's not very long). CONs: Some sites don't have 50 amp, some don't have sewer; large rocks on roads and sites were hard on my dog's feet. We would stay here again, because we value the nice bicycle ride to the plaza. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Sunday, Monday – June 2 & 3 Taos Valley RV Park and Campground, Taos, NM This campground is right on the main route into Taos and is located right off Estes Road. There are all types of sites – tent, back in, pull throughs, 30 & 50 amp, full hookups, water & electricity. We had a back in site with a fence behind us. Sites have some plants but the sites are not secluded. The cost was $27 plus tax for just water and 30 amp. There was a playground, laundry, gift shop and propane was sold there. Bath house was clean. One could walk to a few restaurants and the Visitor Center is about a half a mile away and the historic section of Taos about two miles away. Check in was quick and informative and they have maps to show where RV parking is downtown. One could also take the bus but it is about a 2 block walk from the campground. Taos has so much to see and do and a number of great museums in the downtown section. Good stay in beautiful Taos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$41
Originally had a two week reservation here, but upon arrival, we could not stay any longer than the four days it took to get our mail that we had forwarded to us. Roads are dirt/gravel, sites are the same. Very dirty especially when the wind increases. No apparent maintenance done on a regular basis. Can be tough to get into some sites with a big rig. Front office people were nice and accommodating. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Pros: Very nice people, and nice park overall. Lots of space to walk pets. My grand kids really enjoyed the playground. Great location - you feel out of town even though you are in town. Cons: water pressure in showers was very low, and the water never got really hot. Also Wi-Fi signal was so weak as to be unusable to us in spots in farthest from office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Adequate park right on the south side of town. Easy access from the highway, but it can be a little tight maneuvering to your site. Their Wi-Fi was fair and our Verizon air card wouldn't work. You can pick up several channels on your crank up antennae. The best thing about this park is its proximity to the center of Taos. We will stay here again when visiting Taos and the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
This park was an old KOA (built in the 60's per front desk) which appears in the progress of upgrade. All in all, nice sites (fairly level, good space, good hook ups), good views, clean and friendly park. Wireless a bit weak but good Verizon 3G so used our own MiFi. Can't recommend the dog walk area, a cactus land mine. Had a few nose needle pulling session. In all fairness, was warned during check in to watch for cactus and desert critters in the area. Do like the area and proximity to old Taos (not too close though easy access/distance). Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34?
Super location in a nice park with easy level pull thru sites. Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed how close it was to everything. Everything is very clean and well maintained with a nice dog walk trail. Highly recommend this park if you are visiting Taos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Rate represents weekly rate. Water Pressure; Static, 30 PSI; Full Flow, 20 PSI; Surges to 32 PSI at shutoff. Water Quality; 273 PPM Total Dissolved Solids, which is midrange for tap water. Electric, 30A service: No load, 118-122V, Drops to 106-107V at 29A load on a cool (47 degree) morning when no ACs should have been running. The park was fairly full at the time I took the readings, and many units may have been using electric heaters. Wi-Fi is good when the park is lightly occupied. It dies when the park is mostly full. Verizon basic cell phones work well, and good 3G is available on a Verizon data modem. There is little to obstruct satellite TV reception from most sites. This park appears to be an old KOA and infrastructure is old. We have stayed several times in the past. The park has changed hands. The increased interest of the new owners is evident. The reception area has been nicely remodeled. The restrooms and showers have been updated as well, and are clean. Also, 4 small front-load commercial washers have been added to the laundry room. One was broken, and another was having problems. The park has been generally trimmed and spruced up. Some sites have two strips of concrete, laid on top of, rather than flush with, the surrounding ground, instead of a solid parking pad. We have been here in two different motor homes. With both, the jacks were half on, and half off these concrete strips and I had to shim up the center section beside the concrete strips with 2X6 boards that I carry. Of course if you get one of the sites where the concrete was poured truly level, jacks are not a problem. The rest of the sites are gravel, as are the interior roads. The requested 5 ½ MPH speed within the park is generally ignored, resulting in some dust. A few sites are shaded. For the little tykes, the park has a playground with: a swing set with slide, a jungle gym, spring mounted riding toys and a 2 (child size) story structure that could be a fort, or a castle, or a pirate ship, or anything their imagination can conjure up. There is also a picnic ramada adjacent to the playground. The address, 120 Este Es Rd is sufficient to navigate here with a GPS. Park is marked down because of challenged electric and Wi-Fi services, somewhat challenged water system, and unusual concrete strips rather than solid parking pads in some sites. Price is reasonable for the area. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Nightly rate was 38.11 which INCLUDED taxes. Rate was going to be much higher, about 45 but when we got there they had lowered the rate. Nice campground but spaces in western side are fairly tight maneuvering for larger rigs 40 and over. Nice 'wilderness' trails through campground that is surrounded with a nice pole fence. Lots of tent sites in this campground. Propane was expensive compared to local vendor but is available onsite. staff friendly. problems with their WiFi so we were without for three straight days. Once working was OK but pretty slow. ATT service was OK but not fast either. Not far from town activities and close to getting to visitor places. would stay here again or might try place on west end of town on next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Nice park, close to town, high desert landscaping. The park was attractive and pleasant. The concrete pads were in two pieces, instead of one rectangle. Our jacks didn't quite fit on the pads but straddled the pad and gravel. It was not a problem for us, but overall, not a great design. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
This campground is in town and easily accessible. It's desert landscaping and gravel pads. The campsites are wide with area between each site. The Wi-Fi was slow even though we were parked next to the cell tower. The owner was helpful and gave us great tips on sight seeing and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
RV park had a great view of the Lake. I thought it was overpriced. Staff was friendly and showed us to our site. Restrooms and laundry were very clean. Site was basic, no concrete pad for a $40 a night campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
We camped in this park many years ago and have been back a few times since. It's set among sage brush, which I've always loved about it. There are a few trees, but not large enough for shade. The sites are level with concrete pads. The price is with a discount, although their website gave the price as $39 for this site. We were in #29, a nice roomy end site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44,
We loved the location of this park, as we were able to bicycle to the plaza each morning via primarily bike lanes. The plaza is about 3.5 miles from the RV park. The views are nice and there is some vegetation that makes the park more aesthetically pleasing than some here in the high desert. The one watch out about this park is that in many of the sites you are facing the front door of your neighbor. We were here for a week, and the nights that we did not have a neighbor in the adjacent site were much more pleasant. When we did have a neighbor, they were just a bit too close for comfort. Otherwise a fine place, and we will be back to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Nice location. Management non-existent. Did not see staff. When we arrived, there was a packet for us: no staff, at 1:30pm. Sites were very small and packed together tight. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Overall was a good park to stay in. We stayed in site #2 which was nice because it had a small fenced in yard which was great for the kids. The entire park uses large gravel instead of asphalt or other materials for the road. Also, not much in regards to trees and plants. So the park felt a little warmer than usual due to hot rock everywhere. The sites did have plenty of space because we were able to open the awning easily. The views weren't that great here because we had a tanning salon view out of the window. But all in all, was a clean, quiet, and friendly park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Nothing fancy, but packed with a friendly, helpful staff and site options to suit every size rig. The sites were all level, although on coarse gravel and mostly small. We loved site #2, #53 and #80 because they offer a bit more room to set up chairs. Site #53 was large enough to set up our dog pen under the big shade tree. Without a doubt, this park is the nicest in Taos and 2 miles from downtown. The sun set views are excellent and the nights were very peaceful and quiet. We are avid cyclists and we really enjoyed this entire area! We will be back again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$46
Great location near town and lots of back country activities and wonderful views of the mountains. Not crowded this time of year, friendly staff, everything works well for full hookups on our RV would like a gated dog run, but plenty of places to take them close o the park. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
We've been to this park multiple times around Spring Break while skiing at Taos Ski Valley. Never disappointed with service or surroundings. I believe it to be the best park in the area. There is some greenery to break up the fact that most RV parks are just parking lots, this one is not. Roads are a mix of large gravels, and well maintained, some spaces have concrete pads others gravel. Grills, tables and lights are at all RV spaces. Everything is clean, however the showers are starting to show a little age. They are secure and cleaned daily, just need an update. Close to everything you want: downtown shopping, Walmart, grocery stores, gas stations, restaurants and of course Taos Ski Valley. See you next year, we will be back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Very friendly staff. fairly level gravel pull through sites. Great view of surrounding mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This was most likely a KOA Kampground in a former life. It is clean and quiet. There is a short trail attached that is handy for walking dogs or for bird-watching. It is very convenient to all that Taos has to offer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$46
The best in the area. The sites are all separated by vegetation making the park attractive and cozy. Great views and easy access to all Taos has to offer. The visitor center is just a block away. No cable or antenna TV. Bathroom is dated but clean. Four of six machines in the laundry were out of order. Internet service was sporadic. Sites look fairly level but we (2 MH's) and all around us used extra blocks for leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Overall this is a very nice park with adequately sized spaces for big rigs. The only objection is that the interior roads are narrow. We had to do a little backing while making some of the turns so as to avoid running over rocks and bushes. This is the best park in the Taos area and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
We were given a map to our level, concrete pad, pull-through FHU site. The helpful and friendly staff at the desk offered multiple maps of Taos including where free parking was to be found, but also provided some incorrect information about whether propane grills were allowed due to the high fire danger. It was very dry and dusty on this visit. The vegetation is New Mexico sage and small prairie desert trees – that plus small log screens do provide decent privacy from neighboring sites’ areas. We had usually good free WI-FI and good Verizon signal. I liked that the electric post was high enough for the Surge Guard and the cover closed securely around the cables. The water tower is insulated so the water stays cool. I did not appreciate the many ants and nests (and some cigarette butts) around our site, and quickly went to the nearby Ace Hardware to get ant spray and spikes – the ants persisted outside throughout our stay, although they were diminished and did not invade the motorhome. The bathrooms and showers (which we were unfortunately very close to and had to listen to many people driving noisily in their diesels to the baths) were clean but dated. Otherwise the park was quiet, safe, and tranquil. It’s about 10 minutes to park in the middle of Taos. Our rate included 2 kids and AAA discount. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Nice Park. Close to highway but no road noise. Interior roads are a bit tight for a 40' fifth wheel, but we got into the site OK. Sites are separated by sage which is predominate in park. Good water pressure, and electric is good. Benches and grills at each site. We had two other couples with us and had plenty of room to sit and visit. A bit pricey, but it's about all you have to choose from to be close to town and the plaza. We did not go into restrooms or laundry so can't speak to that. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Pretty nice place. Well located and nice looking. The spaces were a little tight, and the shop had very little supplies. But, there is an Ace Hardware right down the block, and several nice restaurants right near here. And, it’s close to all the sites in Taos. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
There is no other campground in Taos and the owners know it!The prices were outrageous for this dusty dirty park. We did not want to pay their highest price for a pull-thru with 50amp service, so we elected to get a back-in with 30amp. The woman at the desk wasted our time going over all the sites available, because she didn't bother to ask the length of our rig - turned out there was only one that we could fit our 36' motorhome in. When we backed in, there was exactly enough room for the coach, but none for the car and the hook-ups were on the wrong side by the picnic table. Also, the bottom step was 23" off the ground (my husband measured it!) The site was very far from level, in order to get the coach level we had to have one of the front wheels about 6" off the ground. I had to use a ramp so that my dog could get in and out. It was so dirty and dusty, the dirt was fine like talcum powder and got into everything. There was gravel, but it was very sparse. We had wanted to stay in Taos a couple days and explore - but we left early in the morning after only one night. On the positive side, the wifi was strong and it was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
We've been here before, and will be back. Owners are friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights will skiing at Taos and Angel Fire. Wi-Fi works great, restrooms and showers are maintained well. I like the landscaping, mostly sage bushes, but it breaks up the area nicely. There are some concrete pull throughs but mostly gravel. All was fairly level as far as I could see. We have a 34' 5th wheel plus the length of our truck and had no trouble maneuvering though out the park. Plenty of places to eat everywhere as well as grocery and shopping. See ya next ski season!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This is a great park! Friendly, helpful staff and as close to to Taos City Center as you are going to find in an RV. As for the gravel and sagebrush, this IS New Mexico you know? Many 3-way sites have concrete pads, Wi-Fi is free and works great... 24-hr laundry facilities on site. We would stay here again. BTW, the manager identified two large free parking areas for RVs close to city center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$46
Far enough from road to keep noise down. Roads/sites are gravel. Sites can be narrow, sage brush can be a problem. Power, water, Wi-Fi, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Warning; if you are over 30' walk or drive to your sight and look at it first! Appears to be a nature preserve for sagebrush and thorn trees rather than an RV park. Most sights are dirt pads. We used a tree lopper to cut our way out when we left the site. They sent us to a site that we had to cut a thorn tree limb to get in. Must have an absentee owner and a shame as it could be beautiful. As said in earlier member posts, staff is arrogant, hard to locate, and unconcerned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
We stayed here for three nights. No one was in the office when we arrived but showed up within an hour or so. Instructions told us to look in the night registration box for our reservation and go to our assigned spot, worked well. The campground appears older but is well kept, and very quiet, sites are a little tight for larger RVs like our 38-footer with 4 slides, but we were able to get in and all was well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
The web site was not an accurate depiction of the campground. The majority of the sites do not have concrete pads. There is no escort to the site. There were literally hundreds of ants at our site and nearby sites. Our site was stated as 51 feet in length but in reality was not. It appears the majority of the park personnel do not live in the RV park, they live in homes outside of the RV park. Office hours are 8am-5pm, which is not convenient if you arrive late; not customer friendly. Web site says dog pick up is strictly enforced but we saw a lot of evidence it was not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Convenient to Taos plaza, roomy, comfortable sites and clean bath facilities. Would recommend it and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
This is probably the best, most conveniently-located park near Taos, also the most expensive. Our rate was for a week, 50-amp, pull through. Our site was level, with lots of room to spare, easy in and out, and nicely screened from adjoining sites by shrubbery and a small wall. There's a nice concrete patio with a picnic table (which is old and somewhat warped) and a large gravel area with a grill if you didn't bring your own. The negatives: the office is only open 8-5 and, at least when we checked in, closes over the lunch hour. But they had detailed directions in the night check-in, with our name and site number and a marked map for how to get to the site. The water pressure varies a lot and drops to nearly nothing at times during the morning and evening hours. The Wi-Fi is generally good, but also drops during peak hours. Overall, though, a positive experience and we'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Probably the best site we ever had as far as being private. It was like we had our own back yard. Only issue was the 50 amp was not even a good 30. We were told later that half of the park was old wiring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Very pet friendly with a great doggie walk area. Beautiful vistas all around, great play ground for kids, reasonable laundry and nice covers over picnic tables in the tent and small RV sites. Roads are gravel and some of the pull through sites are paved. The gravel pull through sites are close to level but some are a little tight. Landscaping is desert natural and attractive. It's on the south end of town. Staff was polite and the gift store is unique. Staff was courteous and very informed on this beautiful area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a very nice RV park to use as a base camp to see the Taos area. Owners were friendly and accommodating. WiFi worked great. No electrical problems and the water pressure was good. We had a site on the end of a row with great views of the mountains around Taos. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
The park is well maintained, but quite pricey in the summer. WiFi kicks off frequently at busy times, and we were right under the transmitter. Location is ideal for us, as we can walk residential streets behind the park. Roads and sites are gravel with natural vegetation between. All sites are open for satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Spent several nights here and found it comfortable. Sites are level, bathrooms are clean most of the time. Had a problem with wet floors and a stopped up toilet while here. Has a nice walk for dogs, and the WiFi was adequate. Be aware that they advertise propane and have a huge tank. When I wanted to fill up over the weekend I was told they have one "technician" he didn't work weekends and is limited during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
This park is in a very convenient location, close to everything including Taos and The Enchanted Circle Drive. The reason I deducted some points was because the laundry room was clean, but the machines were in disrepair. I agree with another reviewer. I don't like the front loading machines. The smaller dryers definitely need to be replaced. The park, itself, is very clean and while the sites are close together, they are arranged for privacy. The lady at the check-in desk is very friendly and most pleasant and helpful even when obviously over-worked. She is courteous and tries to accommodate everyone's needs. The showers are very clean though the changing rooms are a bit small. I solve the hook problem by bringing several of my own over the door hooks so most places are adequate for me. I'm still here, but will sign up for another day or two. I don't know what the weekly rate is, but even if I can't get it after signing back up for two days at a time, I thought it was a good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$38
We stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas and spent the day skiing in Taos Valley which is amazing. The Park is good with all facilities clean and staff friendly. The location is convenient and quiet. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Taos Valley RV Park and Campground: not to be confused with Taos RV Park. Taos Valley RV Park is the best park in the area, by far. The gentleman who welcomed me is friendly and as informative as you would like him to be. I arrived well after the office was closed. Their night check-in procedure is excellent. There is a map of sights that you can choose from. If a sight is not marked as available, it is reserved even though it may be empty. I stayed at site 31 on the front row. Those are full hookups and paved. The other sites are level gravel. The park is nicely landscaped which lends great eye appeal and for me makes it special. The bathrooms are excellent as is the laundry. However, the laundry washers are front loaders which I believe do not rinse adequately. The parks location is convenient to shopping, churches, and attractions. The large Tru-Value Hardware store, pricey, is a two minute walk. I’m not making this up: across the highway is the Guadulajara Grill and Truck Wash. When I visit Taos again, this is the only place I would stay, (the park not the Truck wash). I think the Taos town/plaza area is over rated unless you are a western art and jewelry fan. The Pueblo was a disappointment. The entrance fee is $10 and another $5 for each camera or camcorder. If you want a better Pueblo experience go to Acoma, about 50 west of Albuquerque off of I-40. There is a nice campground there. But that is for my next review. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is a fairly nice park which is close to town. The facilities such as the laundry facilities were okay but starting to show a little age. Nicely spaced sites and pretty quiet for being close to a major road coming into Taos. We spent a week here and the above rate is based upon the weekly rate. Would stay here again probably because this seemed to be the nicest park in Taos. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
We have stayed here for many reasons over the past 20 years or so. It is very easy to find, accommodating, friendly, and very clean. Only once did we have a problem with low water pressure, but it was not a big deal. The staff is friendly and will help out. Everything is close by and access is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We have stayed here three time over the past five years. Park is clean and neat with many pull-through spaces. Mostly side by side spaces but with plenty of room between each site. Landscaping shrubs and trees provide reasonable privacy. The concrete drives that you park on, are narrow which makes it easy put your jacks half on and half off the concrete. With a little checking: getting the RV jacks either on or off the concrete was not too difficult. This park seems a little expensive for what you get, but still a good choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
If is a nice campground. It is nothing fancy but better than many in the area. The WiFi is working well, plenty of room and our pull through was long enough. There are gravel roads and sites, concrete pad for picnic table, and convenient hookups. Look on Google Earth for pictures of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed in a water, electric back-in site. The landscaping was very attractive with a definite local flavor. We made extensive use of the Wi-Fi system; it was quite reliable. The big disappointment was the women's restroom/shower. It was not particularly clean, even just after the noon cleaning. The shower drains are unsatisfactory, leaving an inch or so of dirty water in the bottom. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a very nice campground. We were surprised that you can see highway 68 but from our site but it was very quite, both during the day and the evening. Shade is hard to come by: some sites have more than others. The site we had was so level I didn't even need to do any leveling other than the tongue. Bathroom are clean. Water pressure at the site and in the restrooms was low but sufficient. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
The directions we were given were very poor so it took us quite awhile to find the site but we enjoyed our stay. The park was clean and had the fanciest dumpster I had ever seen. The only TV available was by antenna and local channels. There was a nice dog walk. No pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This was a two night stay. The campground is older which means the interior roads are a bit narrow but work OK. The sites are OK and there was room for our two slides to pop out. The park is close to stores. We would stay at the park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
The office was manned by only one person all day, and therefore is only open 8 to 5. The park could have used a little help during peak periods. The clerks were hired help, but pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. A camel would feel at home in most parks in North New Mexico, and this one with its gravel and dirt internal roads is no exception but they do have concrete pads for your rig, which are fairly level. Their brochure alleged TV antenna reception, but it was completely unwatchable. Avoid if you like TV if and you don't have a satellite. There was the prospect of shade from some medium sized cottonwood trees but leaves had not budded during our stay. The park is 2 blocks from the highway, so it is nice and quiet. Wi-Fi worked well. It is located about 2 miles south of Taos plaza. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$39
Great place to stay in Taos. We went sking at Taos Ski Valley for three days and stayed here during spring break. Quiet at nights, park is spaced out well. Wifi signal strong and free. All facilities were spotless. There is a playground if you have youngsters, we didn't use it. It is about 30 minutes from Taos Ski Valley and close to Angel Fire as well, but we didn't go to Angel Fire. Lots and lots of restaurants around I suggest Sabroso - up the street in Arroyo Seco and Alley Catina in Taos and OBL is good but a little expensive and reservations are probably a good idea. Walmart and Albertson's grocery stores close. We will be back, Staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$39
Wonderful location with easy access to all Taos has to offer. Well landscaped with good site separation. Roadways are gravel and somewhat dusty at this time of year. Easy access to site within park. Very quiet. Wi-Fi worked great. Front desk friendly. Terrific mountain views. No cable available but satellite worked fine. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
Though it was expensive for what we got. Our site was not level, had raise front of motor home 1 foot! Wifi was ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
This is a nice park close to down town Taos and all the nice historic sites. The owners and employees are great and very helpful. The only down side are the gravel inside roads and sites. Some areas needed a fresh cover, of gravel, because the rains turn a lot of the area into mud! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
This was my 3rd visit to this park. It's a wonderful park with friendly helpful staff. It's very well maintained and the facilities are always clean. This is my first choice of RV parks in the Taos area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
The staff we dealt with in person were inept. On phone the person we dealt with was very helpful, not the same as in person. We were put in tent site because campground was full. They are in back of grounds so it was quiet, but LONG walk to showers. Not very good access for big rigs and it's congested inside campground maneuvering the larger rigs, especially 5th wheels. We'd stay again but only if we made prior reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
Another old KOA. Roads are gravel and fairly narrow, some site have concrete tire strips, most others ar just gravel and most are fairly level. Very nice native NM landscaping. The 50 amp sites look to be an add on and those roadways are smaller yet than the 30 amp. Park is quiet except for the heavy equipment construction behind the park that starts at 0630am. You are right in the heart of Taos. WiFi works well at your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
This is a cute campground, kind of pricey, about 2.5 miles south of the plaza. We camped in a motorhome and had a level concrete pull through with gravel and native plantings around for character and privacy, as well as a picnic table. The Wi-Fi worked great. The bathrooms/showers were older yet clean. The staff was very friendly. On Sundays public transportation ends at 5:00 and there was no taxi service, so we ended up driving our motorhome to the plaza. There is a nice book exchange in the office. We would stay here again when in Taos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Fairly attractive park conveniently on edge of town. Office staff very friendly. We had used BookYourSite but something didn’t work correctly, so staff advised that calling directly to make reservations was better. We were given a map and my husband jogged ahead as we found the site ourselves. Our pull-through gravel/dirt site was mostly level but a longer rig (we were 30’) might have had more trouble as the site rose quite a bit from end to end. Picnic table with small crumbling concrete pad. Side by side sites feel a little close but fairly dense vegetation (trees, sage) screens you somewhat from your neighbor. Park quiet and clean. There are sunken trash cans between every 2 sites with daily pickup. Free WiFi with good speed. Our Verizon phones worked well here. It’s approximately a half-mile walk to the bus-stop, but city bus service into town is very inexpensive and handy. Dog-friendly but watch the cactus on some of the paths. The nature trail was very dusty. Bathrooms clean but are a mix of old and new: new solid surface countertops but wooden stools and even wooden drains by showers. Fresh free coffee was in lobby with cookies in at check-in in afternoon and again with fresh donuts in lobby at am checkout. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Park is nice enough. A little pricey but not a bad place to home base to explore the area. Roads and sites are gravel and the roads into the sites are a little tight. Our site is level. The park is quiet, clean, and well kept. The office staff was very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Stayed for a week, rate is weekly, tax included. Taos is a beautiful area and this campground is definitely among the most attractive in the area, if not the nicest. Saw a few others and nothing compared. MC riding in the area is fantastic. Campground is quiet and facilities are clean and neat. Right on the edge of town and you can catch the bus downtown for $.25 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
This is the most expensive and overrated park we have seen. At check in, the workkamper was having trouble using the computer and the manager chewed her out in front of us. It was a sign of things to come. At site, the electric did not work so I went to office, only to find that they closed at 5:30 and had no number for help. The landscaping is knee to waist high sage brush and gravel. Dusty, snakey, and unpleasant to walk on. They got us once, never again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
Owner was very friendly. Very nice RV park with attractive desert landscaping, and terrific views, that was centrally located near shopping, sightseeing, and restaurants. It is about 25-35% occupied. The WiFi worked well with a handful of servers, and was free. Nice little trail to walk the dogs, and the owners seemed to like dogs. We camped in site #90 (pull-through, 50amp, full hookups) and thought the site was cramped. We had to unhook our truck, because the site was not long enough for our 35-foot fiver and truck. The sites are narrow, and had to park the truck at an angle in order to get off the road. We ended up parking in the empty site next to us - no problem with the office. With three slide-outs, you barely had room to walk around the rig; the distance between the sites is fine, but the sites are narrow due to the vegetation between the sites. We thought it was a little pricey (even with our Good Sam discount) but realize that this is a tourist area so it was fine. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend this RV park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
A park with incredible mountain views, close to town and close to all of the major attractions of the area. Park employees were very friendly and helpful. Park roads and pads are gravel / mud. During the time that we were here mud was a major problem. The utility hookups were set far back requiring multiple extensions for tank dumps. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Laundry facilities had "micro washers" that reqired the use of three machines for one normal sized load. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
Sites are nicely designed with sagebrush separating you from your neighbors. Picnic table and concrete pad at each site. Very nice CG operators. Close proximity to the center of town and the Indian Pueblo at the north side. Will definitely stay here again. Nothing any better in Taos or the surrounding area IMHO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
We just ran up to Taos for a weekend get away from Santa Fe. We were pleasantly surprised. As a local, I can tell you that many of us would kill to achieve the native landscaping that Taos Valley has achieved between the sites. Flatlanders might not appreciate the Chamisa and Scrub Oak, but I can tell you that the quantity and density of both is impressive. With their use of mini-"Coyote" fences, they provide adequate screening between sites and a really feel for the local environment. The whole site is also surrounded by a Coyote fence (rustic 6' high poles) which gives good definition to the place, screens nearby development and, again, provides some authentic local flavor. The dog run is excellent with benches, a ramada-style shelter and convenient disposal stations with scoops. Night lighting is subdued and adequate. Hooks are generally good but we found the sewer too far to the back for our 20' f hose to reach. Access can be tight. We were given site 92. The only way we could have gotten into this pull-through in our fiver would have been to back in. But things weren't too crowded so we just pulled into an adjacent site and received the blessings of the staff after the fact. One other note. An earlier poster said that there was no playground. There is and it received high marks from our 12 year old. We like to grab last a long weekend every October before packing it in for the winter. We usually do Durango or Ruidoso. After this weekend, Taos and Taos Valley RV Park will be on our rotation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
We enjoyed our stay at this very pleasant and attractive park. The rate we paid was the weekly rate for a 50-amp full hook-up site. The owner/manager was very pleasant and helpful. The desert landscaping was quite attractive. Although the sites in our area were side-by-side, the sites are wide enough that it doesn't matter. Also, a fence separated your picnic table from your neighbor's. The tables are on concrete pads. The sites in the 50 amp section are very wide but not quite long enough for many of the largest rigs in the 50-amp sites. The 30 amp and non-full hook-up sites appeared to be much longer. We noticed some big rigs having difficulty maneuvering into and out of the sites in our area on the narrow interior roads. The WiFi was free and the signal strong. Cell phones worked well. Overall, this park appeared to be a very well run and maintained park. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
The park is all gravel and sage brush, but was very pleasant. We were lucky enough to have a tree close enough to give us a little shade. There is no cable, but the 4 main networks came in well on our antenna. The wifi worked great. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It's near the main street of Taos and close to everything we wanted to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Nice park with good pull through access. I was able to get both my motorhome and full sized pickup toad in the site without hanging out in the pathway. Good facilities for pets, but the rocks hurt my dog's feed. As was previously mentioned, watch out for the prickly pear cactus. The park is landscaped (?) in a natural high desert manner. I would have given it at least a 9, but paying for WiFi at the rates paid wouldn't support a 9 or better. Not a park for kids...meaning no playground or pool. I didn't see any kids in my stay. I'd probably return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
The park has new owners as of May 15, 2007. The price for a monthly stay is $820.00 for 30 amp service and for 50 amp service is $870.00 a month. These rates are good through October 15. What outrageous prices! No swimming pool, or hot tub, the showers are very small, no shade, no amenities except WiFi and that you have to pay for. Needless to say we did not stay there. The other parks have the same amenities, but around $400.00 a month. Taos is a beautiful place to visit, but not at California prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$37
This park is very well-maintained with easy access to town. The bathrooms were clean, but very outdated and a little creepy. Concrete pull-thru pad made set up easy. It would be nice to have wifi for the price, but free internet access is available at the local visitor's center. Beware that if you use your GPS to find this place that you will get lost and get routed down some terrible, narrow, bumpy roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Nice park & good place for a couple on nights while seeing the sights in Taos. Park has new owners so hope they are able to keep the same level of service. Park has nature trail for walking your dogs, but watch out for the cactus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
This is a very nice park. We wished we could have stayed another night. They are very convenient to all of the shopping and restaurants. You will need to unhook though. It is not close enough to walk anywhere. I do think that there is some kind of shuttle that goes between the park and town though. This park will be a stopping point again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
A bit hard to find if you don't know where you are going, but it is the best place in Taos. The sites were level and clean. There is easy access to the main drag and not far from the old town plaza. This would be the place to stay if visiting Taos. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2005
$38
Well run RV Park! Clean bathrooms, professional staff (RV camp hosts earning a little extra income. Almost too professional as everytime we were outside our trailer or using the laundry, shower facilities, etc, there they were to "check" up on us. For sure a "big brother" feel. Park is not too far off the beaten path. When you add up the daily Wi-Fi internet fee of $4 per day through COACH Connect coupled with the daily fee plus extra for our two sons. It is relatively expensive. One other note, not that it is a big deal, we left one day early around check out time and since we had pre-paid with our credit card, the staff would not give us a one day refund deposit. (Even with the park being only about 20% full: so really know the length of time you are staying before pre-paying.) Much easier to extend rather then cut your trip short and lose your money in the slow season. If I was a big rig owner, I would stay here as there is plenty of maneuvering room and level spaces. If we win the lottery, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
This beautiful park is immaculately maintained. The owners were nice, friendly and helpful. The spaces were somewhat close together, but we had a nice, level concrete pad with a picnic table and new charcoal grill (all the sites had nice new grills) We had plenty of room for our awning. The tent sites had shelters. The restrooms and showers were spotless, as was the entire park. I will definitely go back to this park when I go back to Taos (soon, I hope, Taos is great) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$35
The RV spots are very close together and the "landscaping" (bushes) between sites even makes them smaller. I could hardly step out of the coach without stepping into bushes. This would be a real nice park if the spaces were not so narrow.I don't see how they could squeeze in another site anywhere. I believe their rates are too high for what they offer. The owners were nice and the place was clean and secure as there is a fence around the area. The pet area is way too small with the number of people with dogs. We looked around in Taos and did not see anything better though. Monte Bello Park was out of town and on top of a very windy hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Convenient location; quiet; walk to 2 restaurants The new Monte Bello Park mentioned on this website is quite far out of town, has gorgeous view, but neighborhood "iffy". We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$29
Very modem unfriendly. The modem hook-up is located behind the counter in the office next to the cash register. You put your computer on the counter with no privacy. If someone checks in and wants to pay with a charge card, they must unplug your computer from the phone line so they can use their charge card machine. Also, they charge $1 to use the modem. This is a very old park and the sites are very difficult to get into and out of due to how narrow they are and the single lane streets. My neighbors picnic table was 5 feet from my front door. Their ad says they have concrete pads and I couldn't find any. Very expensive for no cable and limited facilities. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$35
This campground is nice and has landscape between each site but the sites are very narrow - 22ft - so you are on top of each other. As beautiful as Taos is, most of the camp sites at this campground do not have views. Website indicates concrete pads - most do not have this. Most are gravel. Ok but for the price, wasn't impressed with this one. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com