223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Valley RV Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 75 user reviews. Phone: (505) 281-3363
CGID1915

Hidden Valley RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   2   6   6   4   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$21
This is an older RV park in need of TLC. We called ahead and although no one returned our call there were instructions left in the night check-in box. The entrance to the park is on a steep hill and the road was narrow. The gravel sites were also narrow, close together and not very level. The pool and clubhouse area were clean, but wooden furniture and fences were in need of attention. The pet area was not fenced and was freshly mowed field grass - dirt would have worked better. There were long term residents occupying several sites. We pulled in for an overnight stay, but would not try it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$3
Rate reflects Coast to Coast member rate. Access is between a private home and gas station, up and over a hill but easy to get to. Friendly and helpful staff; sites are dirt, slightly narrow and mostly even. Quiet and peaceful. Laundry room was very well maintained. There is a clubhouse with a gym, reading and TV room as well as a pool but we did not use them. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$12
We stayed here for a week. It is an adequate park for the money. Our rate was Coas-to-Coast, with the additional $2 for 50 amp. The park was clean and the sites were long and level but very narrow. The landscape was high desert with very few trees. The staff was friendly and helpful. With the C2C rate we would stay here again but if paying regular would look for something closer in to ABQ. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
The entrance to find to this park is difficult with sharp turns. This park is horrible! Roads are narrow and dusty. Sites are not level and very narrow. Water hookup was the other side of my unit, so I had to run a hose under my trailer. The pool was out of service. The rec room was a joke. Its in dire need of a major face lift. Would never stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
Our rate reflects a Passport America discount; 30 amp. This was just an overnight stay for us. One lane road up to the campground. Not sure what would happen if someone was leaving the campground at the time we were arriving. We were in an older section and the sites were not level and very close. Laundry is new. Easy on and off the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This is a former KOA that was allowed to fall into disrepair as noted on previous reviews. The roads and sites are gravel and the sites were designed for older rigs. Some of the sites are long enough for large MH and tote, others will require disconnecting. The pool is open and was recently renovated. They have an exercise room. The power fluctuates depending on the number of sites used. Water pressure is strong, so use your regulator. The WIFI is not working at the sites as yet. WIFI is slow at the office also. The showers and toilets are clean but dated. It was worth what I paid as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Sites are so close together you do not have room to even sit out beside your RV. Dusty, lots of traffic in and out on both ends of site. Internet not working to our site. The front desk said they were working on another tower and would have it up the PM we came in. Never worked. On a hillside, dirt and gravel sites. Just was not our cup of tea and seemed expensive for what's offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
RPI rate. They have done alot of improvements in last 2 yrs. New laundry machines, club house, painted buidlings. Improved over prior years. Great location for access to Albuquerque yet up in the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Up in the mountains 15 miles east of Albuquerque and ½ mile off I-40. All gravel and dirt roads and pads. Surrounded by Pinion tree forest. Small clubhouse, pool and grassy playground. The pull thru sites are long and very narrow but the back in sites are wide all are FHU. Clean but dated. Off I-40 and no traffic noise. 3 bar Verizon cell signal and only 3G mobile hot spot, but good satellite signal and TV antenna signal no cable. Office staff friendly and helpful. No monthly quests. Not a destination resort, but we will stay there again while in the area. Cost listed for ROD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
Price reflects PA discount. Great location to visit Albuquerque/Santa Fe area. Older park but well-maintained. Gracious hosts let us pull through two back-to-back sites in the upper area, which made our stay enjoyable. Most sites are very, very close together with no room for a picnic table, much less side-by-side rigs with slides. WiFi was not available in the upper area. We would stay here again, but not in season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
The rate paid is based on the Passport America discount. To start with, this park is tricky to find. Its entrance is rather narrow and next to a mini mart/gas station. If you are coming from the east it is easy to miss it. There is a large sign telling you the park is there but does not tell you where the entrance is and it is not obvious as you are coming up on it. But a short distance down is a large area where you can turn around. It is easier to see the entrance from the west. You go up a curving hill and you will see the park office. I have rarely stayed in a park where the spaces are so narrow. I could stand outside my door and reach over and touch my neighbor's slide out. The park is built on a hill so each spot is a level above the other. There is a rock retaining wall on the side of each spot. I would guess there is about three feet between the doorstop of my rig and the retaining wall; barely room for a chair. My spot was not level and I saw others leveling their unit. The Wi-Fi is spotty--I would not count on it. My Verizon MiFi works pretty well. My GPS was just updated but it was not able to find any shopping or eateries close by. I had to drive about ten miles round trip to get dinner. All that being said, the park has a peaceful feel and the I-40 noise is minimal. It has a clean laundry with plenty of washers and dryers. It is easy access to highway 14 to take you to Tinkertown Museum--a must see while you are here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Decent park right off I-40. Fairly level gravel pull thru sites. Friendly people and good amenities. Hidden back from the interstate so no road noise but kind of hard to get to. Good place to explore Turquoise Trail, Albuquerque, and Santa Fe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$13
We have camped here several times and always enjoy the area. This time I noticed that they have worked hard on painting which sure makes a difference from our last stay. As always the office staff is very nice making the check-in easy. We stayed there with oor CtC membership which is the reason for the price. Would like to see a dog run added, but there are several local trails that our Labs just love to hike with me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$1
Price reflects ROD membership. I gave this campground a lower rating because the sites are crazy small. Our neighbors’ slides were inches from our slides. Luckily we stayed here during the off season so there were extra sites to put our tow vehicle in. If the campground had been full, I am not sure what we would have done. Our RV with the slides out and towed completely filled the campsite. The water faucet in our site was broken. The staff was very polite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We stayed here during balloon fiesta 2013. We had originally reserved for 10 day and had to pay half up front. Before we arrived we decided to only stay 7 days. So besides the half we paid we still had to pay $150 dollars to stay beyond the 5 days we had already pay for. I expected to pay $90 for the add'l 2 days. They used a creative method. The sites were not that level and the residents were coming and going a all hours creating much dust. We realize that the balloon fiesta is a money grab but this was ridiculous and this was a resorts park international park. We are not going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Their WiFi does not work. The bathrooms are filthy (they cannot even replace light bulbs), and their power went out yesterday and as of today, they have no idea when it will be back on. This was a nice campground, but it is probably the worse one we have ever visited, and we are former full timers. We left early, and they would not give us a refund. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
This is our Old Faithful park for a 1 night stay as we cross country. Though right off the interstate, it's quiet and safe. Sites are VERY (TOO) narrow and, though long, not level enough for us to keep our tow vehicle attached. To be considered as a destination park, we think it is time they do some reconfiguring of their sites to provide more aesthetically pleasing camping. That said, we will continue to use this park for our stopovers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
We have stayed in this park several times and appreciate what the new owners are doing to spruce up the place and improve things like the water pressure. We enjoyed the nature trails, and stayed for 3 weeks this time, 2 weeks longer than originally planned due to a medical problem which was handled very professionally at an emergency care clinic only a few miles away. The park staff did a great job of accommodating us for an extra week at a time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
This RV Park is mostly gravel with shady sites with a lot of trees around. It is off of I-40 and up a hill so there was no highway noise. The pull through sites were narrow with very little room for chairs if you were staying for a while. There were some roomier back-in sites with picnic tables. They had a clubhouse and a pool as well as a laundry room. It was OK for one or two nites while traveling. We used our RPI Membership to obtain our low nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
There is a pool but something is wrong with it, so it's not available. The Hot Tub in the PPA Directory doesn't exist, and the WIFI doesn't work. The sites are so narrow there is no room to sit outside. We can't even put up our awning because it would overlap the site next to us. What's good? They have a club house and the staff is friendly. Would I recommend it? Not until they fix everything that doesn't work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Sites are 15ft wide or less which allows no "sitting area". In addition, there is a small rock wall between each site. We happened to get a site where there was a tree stump when we stepped out our door. The driveway going in is only 1 or 1-1/2 lanes and when we got there it was blocked off for a propane leak in the campground, making it difficult to back out so we sat for about 1 hour until we could get in. Other than the narrow sites and entry drive it was a nice campground with friendly owners. It had a dirt walking path through a tree area, and was fairly clean (we didn't use the restrooms so can't say how clean they were). We would stop there again for an overnight due to the location, but did not like the narrow sites and narrow entry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We have been here since December 2012 and are leaving at end of this month for several reasons. In the last 6 months, management has changed 3 times and we have endured rudeness from staff, changing of rules, lies about Internet being installed (still no Internet), and made to feel unwelcome as permanent residences. Told this is a RV resort not a trailer park because we are permanent. We kept our site clean and picked up. Didn't feel like it was dog friendly even though they say it is. We always cleaned up after our dogs and didn't allow for them to be outside barking. We paid 6 months in advance and were treated like we were free loaders. Beautiful park but poor customer service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
New owners & management! Park policy & that shown on Passport America do not agree! Sites have full hookups and are pull-through side by side. Easy access from I-40 and Albuquerque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
This is an awful park. I stayed here for 3 months. It's the worst place I've ever stayed. The new management could care less about the safety and comfort of their guests. The manager would turn-off the water for days, for whatever reasons. It became so bad that I had to call the local county government officials to have the water turned back on. The officials also told the manager to clean the bathrooms and fill-in the huge gaping holes in the roads and in front of the RV pads. There is no Wi-Fi. The park is full of dog waste, weeds, and goat-head thorns that torture your dog's feet. The pads are muddy, narrow and uneven. There are no night lights over the bathroom entrances or around the park, so be careful walking around at night. There are lots of permanent residents who speed through the park at all hours of the night. The trees haven't been trimmed in 5-6 years and their branches scrape the top of your RV as you drive through it. The pool and hot tub are a filthy mess with old exercise equipment sitting on the patio and decks. The library is over run with old VHS tapes and out of date books. Don't attempt to enter the park during the winter because there's lots of ice on the roads and no one clears the road. I would have left after the first month, but couldn't afford to do so since I had prepaid. NO REFUNDS! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
We stayed here for 7 days on a Resorts of Distinction rate. Sites were gravel on tiers up the hill. We had to jack up the left side and never got it without feeling like we were leaning when we walked through the trailer. No activities here. They have a library but not a very good one. There were not that many books in good shape to choose from. They mostly had VCR tapes and few DVDs. Wi-Fi did not work very well. Manager seemed a bit out of it and was missing occasionally. Even though the price was zero, would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
Great location! Unique, on the side of a mountain. The front desk tries her best to do a good job, but can not run the place alone. The owner breaks his own no smoking policy on the front deck. A great place to congregate otherwise. The sites are not level - really not level. Weeding still needs to be done in many areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
We have stayed in this park many times as this is our second go-around with Coast to Coast. We have a 40 foot motorhome with a motorcycle rack that adds another 3 feet of length. We flat-tow a new Subaru Forester. Today we are in one of the upper sites, but have stayed in some of the lower ones in the past. The sites are terraced since the park is on a mountainside, so they appear "narrow" but we have plenty of room for our slide outs and park our motorcycle on the side. Getting to the upper sites is not a problem if you follow the directions given when checking and and clearly marked along the way. The scenery is pretty, with nature trails through the pinons that lead to the office and give our dog plenty to sniff along the way. Just before getting here we stayed in a park with longer and wider sites - sounds great but it was just a flat parking lot - choose your poison wisely. Yes, as in many parks, the WiFi is only accessible near the office, but it works great - probably because everyone in the park is not trying to download movies simultaneously from the comfort of their rig. The staff has always been great to work with. It's typically 6 to 8 degrees cooler here than in Albuquerque, making it quite pleasant. We've stayed in many parks in New Mexico since 1980, and always choose this one when we're in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
The pros: convenient to Albuquerque (about twenty minutes from midtown), but up in the hills where it's cool in the summer. Friendly staff. Very inexpensive with Passport America discount (about $12/night). The cons: somewhat run down. Sites located on a hillside and very close together, so not much privacy; you're likely to have a neighbor looking down into your rig from an uncomfortably close distance. Wi-Fi unusable unless you're within a few feet of the office. Still, all in all, a good place to stay if you need to be in Albuquerque in warm weather. (In winter, I recommend a different park on the west side of town.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
1st. this is not a resort, but it is in a nice area of the east mountains. Lots of long term residents, you can make this work if you do the monthly rate. Great little library, there is a pool. Older campground with issues, but you can make it work. Upper area is a bit nicer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$62
If this is a "Resort," Lord save me. Do not go here if you have anything larger than 38ft. We were assured that our 43ft motorhome would work great in the "honeymoon sites." We could barely get through the NARROW park roads. If we'd met anyone as we entered the park, one of us would have had to back up down a hill and around a corner, or up the hill then down the other side. We should have heeded this as a warning; however, they'd already charged a $50 nonrefundable deposit. The interior park roads are narrower than the entrance road and VERY POORLY marked. We were given a park map and told how to find our site; however, the map was not to scale, and with the poor markings, it was totally confusing. The sites are not large enough to handle a 43ft motorhome, although we were told there would be no problem. The site was too narrow and short for our motorhome, so like most people in the park our car stuck out into the road, making it difficult for other rigs to maneuver the too narrow roads. There is no lighting in the park so returning after dark was a challenge ensuring we turned on the correct roads to get to our site. Although Hidden Valley advertises that they have Wi-Fi it is not accessible unless you are at the office, and it is a slow, poor quality connection. There were no bathrooms in the area where we stayed, and I did not see restrooms or showers in the park other than at the office. Due to their "NO REFUNDS!" policy, we were forced to stay the 4 days we prepaid for at $62 daily. I've stayed in better parks for $30. Do yourself a favor and skip this park! This is the worst "resort" we have ever stayed at. We will never return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
As others have stated, VERY narrow pull through sites. No place to put out chairs to sit out and too narrow to deploy our awning. The owners of this park are not interested in maintaining it; there are weeds and dead trees everywhere. The laundry room was clean, but 1 of the 3 washers was out of order. Good access to I-40 and freeway noise is not a problem, but barking dogs are. Not sure if they belong to permanent residents of the park or in the residential area further up the hill. Our rate of $10 was through RPI. If you are looking for a resort don't stay here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$2
We have a trailer with two slides and wanted a park where we could fit in the site and not unhook. This park fit that perfectly. The park was clean the sites wide enough and long enough (we need approximately 54 feet long to fit our trailer and truck). The office personnel was polite and helpful. We stayed through ROD membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This place is OK if your RV is 4 wheel drive since every road is on a slope. Pull through sites are very narrow and we barely had room to step out of our motor home. We were here for the Balloon Fiesta and this place is not near the action. We don't tow a car so we were out of luck. We are retired and in our late 60's. My wife had a hard time walking on the gravel roads because of the grade, so doing laundry was out of the question. The management would not give us a refund after having decided to leave an hour after we arrived. The dumpster was a city block away, no picnic tables. We are full timers and this is one of the worse places we have ever stayed. Don't waste you time, money, or sanity on this "resort." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
It is fine for an overnight stay, pull throughs are narrow, our slide was on the site next to us, luckily it was vacant. It had a clean pool, we didn't use it. My husband said the bathrooms were clean. The Wi-Fi signal was only in the office area, not through out the park. The help in the office kept us waiting for 5 minutes to check in while she was having a personal phone call with her husband. I can tell you what they were having for dinner! There were quite a few of long term residents, they left for work at 6am. We used Passport America, so it was fine for $14 and one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$13
When we checked in we were told that the showers and restrooms were closed because of a broken pipe. The Wi-Fi is available only in certain rooms. I was pretty close to the library and there was no signal. We were able to get several channels of TV over the air. There is no cable TV. The sites are extremely narrow. They are also extremely un-level. We had to use two boards under the front wheels of our class C. Hookups are located in various places on the left side of the site, but the electric is not near the sewer and neither electric nor sewer are near the water. There are no picnic tables and no room to put out a lawn chair. We were at the bottom of the hill in site #9 where there was a small picnic table near a fire ring which we used to grill our dinner. The hot tub was out of order. We had stayed here many years ago under Camp Coast to Coast and I remember the place looking much better. We stayed here under Passport America. Management was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Nice park just off I-40 East of Albuquerque NM. We paid $16.50 with Passport America, at that price its a good value, At their rack rate of $32.00 that would be to much. Little disappointing that they parked another coach next to ours when they had 16 empty spaces up the same road. But other then that its a very comfortable park. We would stay here again for an easy of and on over nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
This is an older park that is pretty much left on its own and could use serious TLC. Sites are parallel pullthroughs and terraced up a moderately steep access road. They are very close; my awning overlapped the next site by about 2 feet. If there was a neighbor we would have been negotiating the space for slides and awnings. I think the sites on the upper level might be more spacious. Shade is sparse. Showers are basic/rustic and could be kept cleaner. Entrance is beside/behind a gas station so be looking for it or you will miss it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
It is an older campground with minimal maintenance. Half the washers & half the dryers were out of order, but you could wash and dry for about $1.50. There is an impressive library. Sites are close together. The park is over 6000 ft. Our rate was Coast to Coast. The entrance is difficult to spot. You drive up a steep drive on the left side of a gas station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$12
We had a reservation for 5 nights but left after 4. Park is adequate for 1 or 2 nights only, but definitely not a resort style campground. Woman who checked us in was more interested in moving her laundry from washer to dryer than helping us. We were put in a Water and Electric site even though there were many full hook up sites available during our entire stay. The pet walk area hadn't been mowed in years so dog walkers used the tent area. Roads showed evidence of being paved but are now gravel with ruts. We did have a long pull through that was level, although others had to use boards to level their units. Since we were in the W/E area we had roads on both front and back of our rig, and had cars and trucks constantly traveling past our rig, well into the early morning hours. Narrow sites. Impossible to put awnings out without extending over the next site. Our water was shared with the next site, but there was no splitter. We had to use our splitter as every night the site next to us was occupied by a unit passing through. We would stay here in the future only for a pass through one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
Sites are narrow, but level and many are long enough for big rigs. Sites are terraced on a moderately steep hillside. Roads and sites are gravel, not dirt, and although a bit rough, not anything to cause a problem. The pool looked nice, but it was padlocked. There is moderate freeway noise sometimes, but it is not a problem. There are two shower/restrooms. The one at the office is clean and functional. The one in the center of the campground is filthy. The showers are gross, the worst I have ever seen; I don't think they have been cleaned for many months. The laundry facility was ancient and in poor repair; I found a very nice laundromat nearby in Albuquerque. I did not use the free WiFi offered in the office. The rate is for Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
OK for a stopover. Laundry had one machine and was in use. Tricky to get to your site. Very uncaring people who run it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
ROD park, so no fee, but he put $20 on receipt, so that must be what ROD is paying. Nice enough, but could be nicer. No water the first day. Got the well fixed our 2nd morning. Seemed like quite a few permanent residents. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$2
This is an old KOA park so the sites are small. We have 4 slides and there are limited sites to accommodate larger rigs. The back in site was long but we set up near the front so our roof top TV dish could avoid a tree. The roads are dirt as are the sites, might have been gravel once upon a time. The roads are ruff so go slow but we had no problems. Sprint air card & cell phone worked. Laundry facility was bad so we didn't use it. We paid $2 a day for 50a because that's the power the wide site we needed had. It's an ROD park so you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
Our nightly rate was low due to using our Coast to Coast membership. Using ROD would be free. Sites are rather tight, the interior roads have deteriorated since we were here three years ago, as has the park in general. However, the campground is convenient to Albuquerque while being located away from the traffic and noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
Although the person at the desk was very helpful and friendly, we will not use our Passport America membership to return to this campground. Unsafe inner roads lead us to a section of this park that had a gravel pit type atmosphere. A novice driver would have needed wrecker service for sure. After our motorcoach steps were out and in place, we had to step over a pile of rocks to exit. It's unfortunate because this park is in a very scenic place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
I went to this campground because it is part of my RPI, ROD membership. This location seems to be in high demand, although I'm not sure why. The site that was assigned to me was just large enough to put out my slides but not my awning and there was no picnic table. The road leading to the campground wasn't clearly marked and the interior roads are dirt with ruts and pot holes. There doesn't seem to be any maintenance done on the grounds and the pool was closed. The laundry facility needs attention: not all machines are working nor are they clean. Cell and satellite signals were strong. Office employees were friendly. I won't return to this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Serviceable. Pros: close to I-40 without freeway noise. Inexpensive ($20.60 with discount). Quiet neighbors, which was good because we were jammed in like sardines. Cons: Terrible "pet exercise area" (a torn up ditch filled with cactus). No groundskeeping (overgrown with foxtails--again, not good for dogs). Pool was drained. Everything rather dreary. Horrible road condition. But, as they say, all parks look alike when you pull the curtains at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
We have stayed here before as it is a Passport America Park. This was our 4th stay here. Not a bad park. The Wi-Fi is in the office only and NOT AT SITES. Staff is friendly and helpful. It seems busier than it used to be as it a now a Coast to Coast, RPI and another membership group. The site we were in ( a back in ) was roomy and OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This membership park has very narrow sites. Slide outs very close together. Narrow gravel roads and sites make it difficult to get into site. Sites are pull through so that helps. Staff in office was OK. They accept mail. Stayed here with RPI so rate is lower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
In my opinion the manger is arrogant, snotty, and acts like a queen overseeing a ghetto, but judge for yourself. This so-called resort needs active owner participation or a new buyer. The previous manager was great, we wish she was back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
Not a bad place to stay. We prefer the 'upper section' of the park. It is quiet there, but there are quite a few monthly's. Sites are small and park can be dusty as there is no paving. Staff friendly, but park is old and it shows. We stay here as we prefer to be out of town and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
This is the Passport America rate. This is a hilly park with level sites and in need of updating. We were in site #87, 50amp, back -in. Site #87 is a back-to-back site with site #76. Our front view was less than desirable. The park is located about 5 miles outside of Albuquerque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
We have stayed here 3 times before using Passport America.It is not a class A luxury park but not that bad either. We usually stay here in the spring for a few days as we have family in the area. It is quiet and out of the way. An older park and the sites are fairly close in the upper part. The lower section is pull throughs. The road in is narrow when you first enter behind the gas station. The wifi seems to work fairly well. We are here for the balloon fiesta and they didn't raise their regular rates though we couldn't use the PA discount due to the fiesta. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
First impression of this park was it needs some weed control. This place looks as though it’s mostly people who live here full time. It wasn’t messy around their rigs, I think it’s just the weeds that make the park look so depressing. We were assigned a pull thru in the upper section of the park and found that our surge protector wouldn’t allow the power to stay on, the power was fluctuating wildly. Called the office and they had us go into a back-in. That worked but we were unable to get TV reception through our dome satellite since our site had a big tree next to it. Hubby set up our portable dish and that worked just fine. The site was relatively level, water pressure was good and we didn’t experience any more electrical problems in the new site. Cell phone and Aircard worked just fine. Took advantage of their book exchange library which was nice. Large selection of movie DVD's and nice game room. The park is not too far away from Costco, Sam’s Club, Super Walmart, etc… It was quiet at night and we felt that this was a safe park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. No problems using our Passport America. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$2
We camped here for a week. Now if you like hillside this is it! This campground is located off I-40 in the small town of Tijares. The pool is ok and hottub is located inside but very small. Only one exercise bike for workouts. It seems allot of people stay here that work in Albuquerque, so lots of traffic up and down the hill. Would not stay here again as the place needs lots of TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This park is at a slightly higher elevation than Albuquerque so the temperatures are nicer in the summer months. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were sent to the upper level which is fine but the turns are tight. We should have disconnected our tow vehicle before coming to our campsite. Trying to carefully negotiate a turn we caught one of our motor home tires on one of the large rocks that are along the roadway. A new tire will be required--costly. We stayed here on our RPI membership for $10 a night. We would stay here again. But we recommend disconnecting your toad, if you have one, at the Chevron station before entering the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$13
We spent 13 weeks here this winter. Sites are very close together. WiFi now available in the office only. Water pressure is extremely high so use your reducers! Upper lever is fairly quiet but some I-40 noise is unavoidable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice library and game room. Great views of the mountains and nice trails to explore through the local woods. Lots of birds at my feeder. High altitude means very cold camping in the winter. 50A service worked great. National Forest withing biking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$13
This is a delightful campground. This is the second time we have stayed here. Our current visit was for a month using Passport America and Resorts of Distinction. Yes, it is hilly and the roads are a bit narrow. However, we have a 40' motor home with four slides and had no problems. The management is great. We love the peaceful surroundings of pinions. We did not hear any highway noise. The back-in spaces are definitely wide enough and easy to back into. The pull-thrus are narrower. We give this park high ratings and invite you to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$10
This place is getting a bad rap with the narrow roads comments. The roads aren't that bad. We have a 38 ft fifth wheel and had no problem and our site was on the top level. Yes, there are hills. You're on a mountain! The sites are narrow however, no picnic table but the price was right as it's a Passport America campground. We stayed 4 nights and it suited us well. They have wifi near the office and in the library. The library is very nice, books, games, tapes, laundry is $1.00 to wash and .25 for 15 min.to dry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
A little dusty, but quiet and everything worked. Staff good to work with and they are interested in your having a good experience in ABQ. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
Wow! We read the prior reviews and almost didn't go to this park because of them. Our experience was very good. The people in the office were very helpful. We stayed in a site up on the top level and it was fine, plenty of room. We heard horror stories about people hitting rocks trying to get up to the upper sites. If you understand the limits of your RV and how to drive it, you should have no problems. All you need to do is read and obey the directional signs. We saw several people going the wrong way on a one-way. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$12
Very nice park off I-40, but quiet. Pull-thru site was very narrow, but long. Nice friendly staff. We only stayed one night, without reservations. We had to leave the next day, as the annual balloon festival was under way, and no availabilities for that period. Something to consider if you plan on staying during the first part of September. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Spaces are very close together. Freeway noise is obvious. Surrounded by nice undeveloped space and close to national forest access for bicycling adventures. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the upper loop which has less freeway noise. A few permanent residences. Needs WiFi. Nice library and meeting room. Well maintained paths through the woods. Lots of fossils to be found in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
Somewhat scenic, windy valley, most are very close sites, low water pressure, maintenance spotty, access difficult for large rigs. Office staff friendly and informative, outside staff not helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Extremely tight and narrow roads and very tight and narrow camp sites. All roads are dirt and pulverized gravel dust and very steep. When RVs enter or leave, there is a big dust storm. My coach was just washed and waxed before we came here, and now it is totally cover in dust. The entry road is steep and narrow with a very sharp turn immediately behind the Chevron station. It is not for the weak hearted or those who can't handle challenging terrain. I strongly suggest that you disconnect your toad in the flat area across the street from the Chevron if you decide to stay here. My wife hated all the dust and we won't be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
Although this is an older campground and is not the best we have stayed there is nothing wrong with this campground for us. Like the upper sites better than the lower loops. Needs to have Wi-Fi. Everyone was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$1
The staff is very friendly. We were camping in our toad and they gave us a site near the restrooms. There are no tables at the sites or campfires. The laundry and restrooms were clean and the dial up modem in the laundry room worked fine. The clubhouse was ok, they are supposed to install cable in the next day or two, there is no heat (we brought a space heater to keep us warm) and the water is turned off. I would stay again in the future we belong to ROD and there is no charge to stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
This park was disappointing because the sites are very narrow and many were very short. Our small toad had to be parked across the front of the motorhome. Our side neighbors were so close we could not have used our awning. Most units parked on the upper level were backed in with only a few feet between the backs of the rigs. This park is on a hillside and the sites are terraced down the hill and in come cases result in a steep drop between the sites. They did not care about the age or condition of the rigs, nor whether these people used donuts on their sewer lines or not. The campground is very poorly marked on the highway. You enter around what appears to be the side of a gas station. The area is rather quiet even though the interstate is close. We would stay there again, but only over night while passing through. Having paid for 4-days, nonetheless, we decided to leave early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
Almost did not stay here because of the earlier reviews, especially regarding mud and being cramped. This used to be a KOA and we found it to be quiet and clean. There appear to be a lot of "longer term" campers but the overall atmosphere is pleasant and nothing looked "trashy" to us. Roads are gravel; there are some tight turns that we had no trouble with in a 42' motorhome with toad. There was one low limb that allowed some minor brushing of the roof; we will report that to the management. For the $14 (including tax and 50-amp) Passport America rate, this campground is a very good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$8
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members, so it was the standard rate. On the way back from IL, when we arrived in Sante Fe NM, we stop for food in the Super Walmart. Talking with someone there, they mentioned what an interesting drive it was down Route 14. It went though old towns, much like they were back in the 1899's, so we decided to take a side trip. The drive was interesting, and slow, so decided to stay the night here. Mainly looking for a place to stay to rest for the night. The Management was very helpful, even though we were late arrivals, we called, and they left a note, and map, etc on a ledge at the store for us. It was a good place to stop for the night, but the site we were in was quite narrow, and on a steep hill. The site we were on was so narrow, RVs with slides on either side of us were so close we felt uncomfortable. On the right where our door is, we had less than 3 feet from the slide. On the right, almost so close when hooking up the elec, water, and sewer it was less than 2 feet away. There were many signs warning of Rattlesnakes, but we did not see any. There were loads of rabbits on both roads in front and back of our RV. We didnt stay long enough to meet many people, but there seemed to be full timers on either side of us. Sites were neat and clean for all full timers we saw. We would stay here in the future, as it looked as if at the bottom of the hill we were on, the campsites were larger. They may have put us on this site, as we were not staying long. Campground was attractive, lots of flowers, bushes, etc and far from the "paved parking lots" which I will not stay in... We want to come back, and spend more time on Route 14 exploring the old mining towns there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
Park was clean and friendly. Quiet area. Pool was closed, Hot tub not hot. Sites were a little small, but did provide a place to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Park is hard to get into. It is laid out very strange for access. Management was not real friendly. Some sewer connections did not have caps, making for some nice aromas. When it rains, it is very treacherous to manuever. Cable TV was removed, but I40 ads were not changed. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2005
$11
Right off I-40 and quiet. Poorly laid-out, unattractive and inconvenient campground--difficult to enter tight sites. Turns inside park are severe for big rigs. Additionally, they put large boulders at tight turns I guess to discourage big rigs from overshooting the turn onto their rare blades of grass. Several "permanent" run down trailers on the property and we met one scuffy resident with mangy dog. Management polite and perfunctory. Modem hookup separate in office. The terrain is RED DIRT/MUD with a rare grassy area here and there for your doggie walks. I had to CARRY MY DOG back and forth to the grass area to avoid bathing her post-potty several times daily. Terraced placement of rigs means you are subjected to the sight of your neighbors roof and slide canopy. Suggest using weewee pad for small pets, (copilots) close your eyes when entering and departing in a big rig and shut the shades. I ONLY go there because there is nothing else in the area and you can get camping network discounts!. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Sites are real close together no place to get outside to sit could not get awning out.This park is Passport America , RPI and C2C we stayed in under our C2C membership there was a 2.00 extra charge for elec cable tv was free.They had modem hook up in office 2 of them really nice area set a side for this.Hot tub is inside.Campground is on side of steep hill so really bad walking to the pool are office laundry etc.The staff was really friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Narrow sites. Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com