218572 User submitted reviews online!!
Western Sky's RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (575) 233-2573
CGID1919

Western Sky's RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   3   3   1   3   5   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This is a convenient park to I-10. It is a small park but water, sewer, and 50 amp power worked fine. The cable was not good and neither was the Wi-Fi. However there are beautiful views so didn't mind. We used our Verizon hot spot fine. Price was Passport America. We will return when we are traveling I-10 in New Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Passport America rate. Fine for overnight, as easy access to I-10. Old park but owner is out working on landscaping. Had to do a little pruning for slide out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$19
We left Las Cruces at about 8 am, and 15 miles down the highway had to pull off due to extremely high winds. We found this place - only 1/2 mile from the truck stop where we had stopped. The owner allowed us to check in at 9 in the morning. This campground is very, very old and run-down, and it's apparent that the owner is attempting to manage and maintain it by herself. The restrooms, while clean, are ancient, and the doors/screens are dilapidated. Our site was a long, level pull-through. There are lots of full-timers, but they're all to the rear of the park. This was a fine place for an overnight while waiting for the winds to die down. It's across the freeway from a Family Dollar store, where we were able to pick up a few needed supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
I wanted to stay somewhere close to El Paso so I could deal with getting through there early in the day. Vado is very close. This park charges $38 a night, so one would expect something nice for the money. $38 is not in my budget, but I got in on the Passport America rate. I still expected something nice for my $19 as I often find nice, clean, tidy ones for half that. This park is run down, dusty, and surrounded by a hodgepodge of inaccessible buildings that may have one time been part of the park. My guess is that most of the people there are employed nearby. The pluses: The park is easy and close to get to from the freeway and easy to get back on the freeway. The site was level and hookups were easy to access. There are shade trees but being there late winter and the trees being bare, they were not something I could experience and comment on. In fairness to the managers/owners, my guess is that this is an old run down park they have taken over and may in time spruce up. It looked like construction materials had been brought in (or perhaps being removed? I don't know.) That being said, there is one thing they cannot fix and that is the odor coming from the feedlots down the road. This is not the place you will be sitting outside in the evening; though I noticed the odor was less pungent than earlier in the day. If you are like me, looking for a place west of El Paso to stop before braving the congestion --and don't mind paying more than your money's worth, this is an OK stop for one night--just keep your doors and windows closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Unfortunately I have to agree with the previous posts - this is a campground in rapid decline. We have been here before and found the place to be OK, but we could see how standards were slipping. Another thing is that the campground is very close to large areas filled with cows, and when we were there, there was a strong smell from the cows accompanied by ½ million flies. Next time we pass through this area we will find another place to stay, and there are plenty of them nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Park was in need of repair. They advertise cable TV, but it does not work. We could not find a game room or rec room that was advertised. The area smells foul because of feeder lots across the road. Flies were everywhere. Wi-Fi worked well in your RV. The water hook ups leak and were full of beetles. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Our problems were: Dogs run loose in park and defecated on our steps. Several large, scarier dogs in pens beside some RV's. 50 AMP power good on 1 leg but poor on other one. Water was not good, bad smell/taste. Would not use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
72 sites with full hookups. 30& 50 amp. Laundry, Showers and bath, Cable and Wi-Fi. We stayed under Pass Port America and it was $20.00. That was way too much for this place as there isn't much. Sites are packed sand with trees all over. Some too close. All pull throughs but a little tight. Cable only has 3 channels but Wi-Fi works OK at your site. Verizon works good. Showers and bath not real clean and laundry the same and some machines not working. Does have a play ground for the kids but does not look too safe. Lots of long term sites and dogs all over and not on leash. So there is dog waste all over. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
On the positive side, the sites are level and clean. Even though the interstate Hwy is close by, the traffic noise did not seem to carry over into the park. On the negative side, the Wi-Fi never worked or did the cable TV. Well OK, it had one channel. OTA worked OK, with about 5 or 6 English channel's. The repeater for the Wi-Fi seems to be adequate with a good signal, but it was local only: not connected via of ISP. I called the office and was given the excuse of cloud cover or something to that effect. The charge for the night was $19.00 with PPA which I think is a little high considering no TV or Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This was our fourth time using this park and it appears this park is going to the dogs. They were barking all night. The power was good, Wi-Fi was good, and good water pressure. Interior roads are OK. The permanent's are starting to make the place look junky with old vehicles parked all over. The price is high for the condition of the park and the many flies from the near-by farms. We maybe would use again if in the area and could not find anything else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Rate reflects Passport America (I pity others. This is definitely NOT a 40 dollar a night RV park. If you are willing to pay that much then find a KOA). This is an easy on / easy off park making it (barely) OK for a one night stay. The smell of nearby dairy operations went away when the wind shifted direction: yeah! The flies, however, remained behind until the evening got cold enough to stun them for a few hours; they clung to our clothes and lined up to march through the little gaps in our sliding window screens. You could park a 40 footer in a pull-through site but you would have to unhook your toad (we parked 36+CRV and barely fit). Lots of permanent sites. Dusty interior roads. In rig Wi-Fi is important to us; it ran fine for about an hour and then died. When I went to the office to tell them it was down, the fellow went in the back for a few minutes, came out to tell me it was "running but slow" and that I should keep trying for the next 30 minutes or an hour. It was NOT running; we could connect to the access point but had no internet connection. After a couple of hours the problem suddenly cleared up (I suspect others reported the same problem and they rebooted the modem/router.) We would not likely stay here again. Las Cruces, only 15 miles away, has lots of RV parks (and a Wal-mart). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We've been RV'ing for over 6 years and this is the WORST park we have ever been in. Filthy dirty, so many flies that our truck was loaded with them just by opening the door to get out. NO 50 amp service as advertised, pull throughs are a joke with very low trees that have never been trimmed, have no business in an RV park let alone in the spaces. A REAL DUMP! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Price quoted on phone was $16, but they actually charged $19. Very overpriced for what this place is. Mainly old, run-down trailers and mobile homes with a row of pull-throughs for overnighters. FHU pull-through site with 30 amp electric. Very dusty, noisy dogs, and Wi-Fi that was hit and miss as far as if it was working. We would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
This is a basic overnight spot. Management is pleasant. There are a number of "permanents" with some pretty noisy dogs. Also the odor from the neighboring dairies can be quite oppressive. We paid an extra dollar for 50 amp to be able to run the A/C. And we were using Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$16
Western Sky RV Park is under new management and the family now running the Park is doing a good job of staying ahead of maintenance. Level gravel sites with full hook-ups accommodate either short term or long term tenants. This RV Park is a Happy Camper member and the rates reflect the discounts available to subscribers. Local amenities are 14 or more miles away in Las Cruces but nearby is a Texaco with Diesel and a Dollar General across the street. I would use this Park again, no problem in the short term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This park was perfect for a couple of days stay. The laundry room was big, but half the washers and dryers did not worked. The people were friendly. The office was a little dirty and you will probably have to call or wait for somebody to take care of you. But the park has a lot of potential. This place is tucked in a lot of land around it and it was a lot of fun for my dogs to run around. Considering the other places around, this was the most inexpensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
We stayed 1 night in a travel trailer for $17 passport America rate. What a mixed bag. The site was large and pretty level. Sand/gravel which is what you would expect in the desert. There is a huge open area next to the park to walk your dog or go for a hike. The bathrooms are icky but if you don't need those the park is ok. We had no problems with noise. The WiFi is great. I don't think that I would stay more than a day, but it is very handy to I-10 and works great for one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
PA Discount park. $17.30/nightly. Odd thing is that I gave the desk clerk a $20 bill. Did not have the extra .30 cents. Went back to MH to get change. Clerk took change and gave me back one dollar in ten cent change. Thought that was odd to begin with. Normally, I would have just told him to keep the change and charge me $18. All he should have done was just give me $.70 in change. Just a challenge from me. So odd that a RV park could not make change for a $1.00. Other that, just glad to have a place for the night as the weather was terrible. Sand storm with 70+ mile winds, then hail and snow. What a night. Just wanted a place to stop rather than a Wal-Mart Parking Lot. That is about the best thing I can say about this place. Good for an overnight, more than that, move on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
Flies were terrible! Neighbor had three rigs on two sites with 5 dogs. Lots of barking from them and others in park. A lot of long term people. Okay for a day or two, but not for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
This park was a gravel parking lot with trees. We are self contained so no issues on that score. The laundry building was old but clean and the machines worked just fine. Not a holiday destination but at the PA rate definitely a stop for a night or two as you scope out the surrounding area. Would stop overnight again if needed to. Was definitely a better option than behind Camping World, out in full sun for 30 dollars!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
OK for an overnight stay, all gravel with paved patio at each site. Close to nothing, but relatively convenient to Las Cruces and El Paso. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
The good news: view from front row facing the Organ Mountains (toward Las Cruces) is fabulous. Las Cruces is about 11 miles west right on I-10. Campground is right off I-10 with very easy on/off access. PA discount is available if you ask and show card (not just number - need card). Sites decent enough with tree between each. Large storage area for trailers. Will fit biggest rig. Some picnic tables, some shade trees. This is the cheapest campground anywhere near Las Cruces - except for Leasburg State Park which is north of Las Cruces by 14 miles - make sure you have reservations before going there and can get electric or what you need. The other news: if you are not from farming area, beware of the huge dairy/cow farm diagonally across street which, if the wind is blowing in direction of campground, makes the smell of manure overwhelming, but if you keep all windows closed and do not go outside, it is OK. Sometimes there is no odor. We were here in January - I would not want to think about hot months. Wi-Fi is barely usable, cable goes on/off and has only a very few channels. Saw laundry/rest room building but did not dare enter - out near garbage containers way in back near trailer storage. Did not see any security problem, but it seems good idea to keep vehicle in sight and all doors locked at all times. Bottom line: at PA rate it is very convenient, budget stop near Las Cruces/El Paso. If you want F/HU it may be only budget place available. It is not unbearable at all, we did not see any long term tenant issues. If you can get in the first row facing Las Cruces, it is a plus. If you plan not to be there hanging out, it is fine for your visit to other areas and using this as base. We would stay here again because Las Cruces prices are $35+++. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Decent overnighter, easy to get to, level sites with sufficient space. Avoid the bathrooms, they really are primitive and badly need renovation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2009
$16
This was a Passport America rate. This is a Sparton park, but the sites are level and hook ups decent. It's a good over night stop. Showers are small and not heated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
We agree with all the previous reviews. We have just one thing to add. We thought we had a problem with the 50 amp power. Very few things in the coach worked. When we got to our next stop, everything worked. There was probably not enough power at the pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
Located 1 mile away from a huge cow farm: lots of flies, with a slight odor in the air. Had a clean, but worn-out laundry room. The tent area was the children's play ground. Toys in playground were bent out of shape and worn out. The pull-through site was shaded, which was great. Was on and off the freeway and near cheap gas. "Cable TV" was 5 channels, only 1 in English. Visited White Sands National Park (awesome) and The Space Museum in Alamogordo. It's a good place to sleep for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
Stayed here on Passport America. Campground is reasonable enough, but noisy next to Interstate 10. Our biggest complaint, staying in site 2 next to the office, was the RV Park owner's barking dogs. They chain up their boxer on a a massive 7 foot chain and have another dog in the fenced area with him. They are barking constantly. We heard them up to 11:30 PM and early in the morning. Not only is this cruel to the dog, it is to the visitors. Without the barking dogs, I'd give it a 7 rating. Stay at the back of the campground for more quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
Passport America rate. Park is just off the Interstate and can get noisy. The park has a reasonable layout but it is in rough shape especially the washrooms and showers which needed to be totally refurbished. The sites have no gravel and are all sand which gets into everything. No activities and no real shopping nearby. Not recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
Park is a Passport America. Just off I-10. Only down side was if the wind was blowing the wrong way, had to be 8-10 large milk farms within a 1 mile area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
We have stayed here each time we go to Southern Arizona. A dusty old Park, but a nice inexpensive park to spend a night or two. Management has been very nice to us. We stay here because it does not seem like a big gravel parking lot. This location also allows us to go to the Texas Land and Cattle Companys Steak House back toward El Paso. The best steaks outside of Argentina. They only sell them by the pound so go if you're hungry ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$15
Stopped in for 2 nights under Passport America; not worth the full price. Conveniently located next to Interstate, but not noisy. A lot of permanent residents. Water faucet leaked so I had to run a hose to the next site. Bathrooms were OK, but come dark some light bulbs were out. Good Wi-Fi signal. Would stay again under Passport America, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
The sites were passable but the shower/restroom area were very poor. The men's side was unheated, most of the lights were out and the initial shower water came somewhere between dark brown and black with a sulfur smell--I waived the shower that day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
You definitely know which way the winds blows here! If it is blowing from anything near the south, southwest, or southeast; you get the full flavorful aroma of your future steak as they walk and live. The cattle farm on the south side of I-10 is incredibly huge. There are still a lot of full time residents in poor condition RVs but the areas are kept fairly neat and tidy. The worse problem with them is the very speedy traffic in the park, which also raises a lot of the abundant dust. This park is OK for a night or two but not much more. The WiFi worked very well and the mountain views wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This was a nice park as inexpensive parks go ($275/mo with Electricity included). It is all dirt/P-gravel, which gets muddy when it rains, has concrete patios, and it has a fly-problem due to the proximity of a huge dairy farm across the road. New owners bought this last year (2005) and it's now called Western Skys RV Park. The new owners are trying hard to improve it and they got rid of most of the dumpy permanent trailers that used to litter this campground. They have put in free Wi-Fi, Satellite TV at all sites, are repairing the pool this winter for use in 2007, have put in a pool table and other games in the rec room and are battling the dairy farm to get rid of the flys. It's a clean park with a huge desert to hike and walk the dogs in just out your front door. It's far enough away from I-10 that the traffic noise isn't bad enough to disturb your sleep. Because of the fly problem in warm weather, the lack of paved roads, and some traffic noise, I couldn't give this more than "6", but it's improving daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This campground is under new ownership. Has been better, but was allowed to be run down. New owner is trying to rebuild - new electric has been installed, and other repairs were underway during our visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com