223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Hill Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (607) 776-4345
CGID1924

Hickory Hill Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   4   9   8   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Of the three pools, we only visited the kids pool in the front with the spray ground. The kids loved it but the internet and pamphlets state the pools are open until 8pm. They closed it at 7pm! If we had known in advance, we would have arranged our schedule so the kids had more than 5 minutes to swim. The water was extremely dirty and cloudy all weekend. Kids enjoyed the full basketball court, dogs enjoyed the dog park, nice playgrounds, too! Great crafts and activities over the weekend. I loved they had 80 lbs and under/over times for the bounce pillow (bring socks!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We had a bit of an issue when assigned our site. They corrected it easily as this was a weekday, and camp was quite open. It could have been an issue on a weekend. We had excellent hook ups that worked well, and we had a site with satellite coverage. Verizon worked well also. Only issue we saw was that the interior roads are a bit narrow. Site leveling was easy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Hickory Hill is a large campground near the small community of Bath, NY. It is in a quiet location, but is relatively easy to access from I-86. Our campsite was in a large open area near the top of the campground and provided easy satellite TV access. It was still the off season, so the campground was quiet. Our site was level with the only negative being a lack of WiFi. The location is near enough to provide access to the Finger Lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$56
Very nice campground in rolling NY hills. Plenty of stuff for kids to do including 2 heated pools, mini golf, pedal carts, etc. Sites were well laid out with plenty of space. Big rig sites on both grass or gravel. Yes, roads were a little muddy from heavy rain as previous poster noted, but it was mud over gravel so no real issue traversing. I had no issues getting my 40' 5W in and out. Strong Verizon and ATT signals. Only thing I didn't like is they require everyone to wear an armband. Price shown is before GS discount. If they were $10 cheaper, I'd give them a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$68
There is virtually no gravel, so most all the roads are mud as it rained the entire time we were here. There are also massive tree issues. The road we were told to take was impassable in a big rig. At least 10 trees would have been in our way. The staff was of no help. There are also lots of park models and fulltime residents. The location is nice, and they have two pools, playground, dog friendly, etc. I just would not call this a resort and it is way over priced, in our opinion. Don't think we would be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$52
We enjoyed our stay.The bathrooms and grounds were clean. There was plenty of space between campers. We would stay again.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This is an ok campground, but not one that we would enjoy as a destination, as so many campers here seemed to be doing. The campground is big and pretty busy with very little privacy. The internet signal was strong and there were plenty of cable channels. The area is very nice to visit and would be worth visiting the area again. For this reason we would stay here again if the opportunity arises. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
This is a very nice campground, just wished we could have stayed longer. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites were clean and level. My wife and I would stay here again whenever we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Fabulous place for kids! Especially on themed weekends. Loved the store! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$54
Paved entry road, then rutted gravel/dirt roads inside park, gravel and grass sites. Ours was in the 140 row with plenty of length for our 43' MH. During our stay we were the only large class A in the park - a couple smaller ones, but mostly 5th wheels and TT. Room to park car either in front or behind MH, but had to unhook to make turn to get into site - very narrow - hookups too close to the road. Nice play areas for kids, didn't use restroom facilities. Trash never emptied while we were there (3 nights) and dumpsters overflowing come Monday morning. Never given any info on rules/regs - verbally told they had quiet hours (11pm) but that was not enforced. Nice proximity to Keuka Lake/Hammondsport via back roads (trust in Tom-Tom). Campground backs up to a residential area and there was construction going on - not sure if it was campground's or others. Rate was Good Sam for non-holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. The staff is friendly and helpful. The park is well maintained and beautiful. It has a big pool and other amenities for children and adults. The Wi-Fi worked great and the cable TV was wonderful too. Also the park is quiet and has a nice area where you can exercise your pet. We stayed for two days, enjoyed our stay and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This is indeed a family campground, as there were many happy families enjoying the area. Once again this is one of those campgrounds that like to advertise those nice shaded sites in a peaceful setting, and once again we were put in a field/side lot as we were here for only several days. Though who do they make more money on perceptive wise? Restrooms and showers are some of the best I have ever seen, and almost spa in quality. One thing I did not like were the campers that let their dogs run wild, though this was against the rules, I guess they don't enforce them. Very convenient to the smaller wine area along Keuka Lake. We had a great time and fantastic lunch at Bully Vineyards outdoor cafe and visiting the other local vineyards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Great campground. Very friendly staff in the office and the outside people. Nice RV supply store in office. Convenient to the town of Bath and Hammondsport and local wineries. Two full size RV sales and service centers also in Bath. Looking forward to our next visit. Be sure to dine at the Chat-a-while in downtown Bath. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$52
This is a really nice campground. Lots of stuff for your kids to do. Very clean and peaceful. Well stocked store. Easy access off highway. There's a Camping World close by too. If you like touring the Finger Lakes and wineries this is a great spot to stay. Pull throughs for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
A great campground for folks with small children; not so good for seniors with an empty nest/RV. Noisy (but otherwise well behaved) kids abound at this place. Large barking dogs were tied outside with no owner in sight. We concur with the previous reviewer that campground rule enforcement is spotty at best. Trash pickup was satisfactory in our area and we did not use the dumping station. Too many campfires for our liking and the air was usually smoky at night. On the positive side, the office was the best equipped with Rving supplies of any we have seen. A lot to see and do in this area and we want to come back next summer but next time we will try to find a more "senior oriented" campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This is a pretty large campground, 300+; it is pretty nice and should be rated higher than I’m doing, if they could straighten up their act. It’s clean, apparently well maintained, a couple of really great employees. Like all campgrounds they have rules, but unlike most campgrounds they just don’t follow them. Examples: “No golf carts.” Bring them, they are here and they don’t say a word. They have fixed times when children are not allowed in the pool so adults can swim in peace: not enforced. Quiet hours: forget it, they don’t exist. Trash is a big problem: dumpsters need to be emptied more frequently, on weekends they need to be emptied at least twice. They empty them on Thursday, then again on Monday, but by Saturday there is trash everywhere because the dumpsters are full. While we were here a dump station overflowed, it was 3 days before anyone even looked at it and another 2 days before it was repaired, leaving a whole bunch of smelly days. They could do much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Very nice campground with planned activities for children. A little drive from the interstate, but worth it. Bath is a quaint little town, and the Corning Glass Museum nearby is worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
A very nice park with an excellent staff. Stayed here overnight on the way home and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it is. Would stay here again as it is very quiet and peaceful although there were a lot of families with young children. Space assigned was level. Very nice store, well stocked. They seem to have a lot of activities for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
We pulled in on a Thursday and were very impressed with the whole campground. On Friday we went on the wine country tour and when we got back to the campground, it had filled up and that is when we realized how close the sites were. Ours was on an end, so we did not mind it. We would go back and the bathrooms and showers were second to none. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$47
Very nice campground. The hosts were great and the bathrooms/showers were the best that we have seen while camping. Arts & crafts for the kids, free mini-golf, store well stocked and reasonably priced. Took a one night/two day trip from Campground uo to Niagara Falls...approx. 2 hour trip. Convenient to Watkins Glenn, Corning Museum of Glass. Sites are a little tight, but all-in-all this campground receives an A+ from us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
We revisited the park and found facilities to be very nice. The Staff was very efficient & friendly. The entry roads are paved. Going into the campground you travel on narrow, gravel & mud roads. There may be some tree trimming is needed for big rigs. The site was weeds & gravel that was long enough to not unhook tow vehicle and wide enough for any number of slides. There was some trash around site & in the fire ring. The table needed some repair. The wifi had a strong signal, but was unusable. We can only assume that was due to overuse as we have never experienced that problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
We have never given a park a 10. But this one deserves it. It has everything. Quiet, wide, level sites, a nice pool, great store and lots of other amenities. The access roads are wide and easily navigable in a big rig (a real plus). We had site 169 which afforded a lot of privacy and a lovely view out our front window. If we are ever in this area again, we would stay here. You cannot be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
Wonderful hosts, very nice grassy site, level gravel pad, warm swimming pool, well stocked camp store, but best of all the kids loved the dirt pile! We were so impressed we are going back for another week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Convenient to the Finger Lakes and Watkins Glen. The sites are all good size and spread out. They have quite a few long pull thru's. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Some sites are wooded. Ours was open. I would have rated this park a 10 if they had free Wi-Fi. They do provide it free for an hour, but that gets cumbersome if you want to check the news twice a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We actually bought a trailer on a seasonal site, and for the price of the site it was absolutely phenomenal. Wonderful activities every week. The campground is open during the winter UPON VERY EARLY NOTICE. I have nothing but nice things to say about this campground. It is nice enough to have the "camping hospitality". Although the weekdays are much quieter than the weekends, I would recommend this more for the family type getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
Great central location for the western Finger Lakes region. Campground was very clean and well maintained. Front office staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived on a Thursday and on Friday, the campground nearly filled with a camping club. In spite of the large crowd, there was no excessive noise and everyone observed quiet hours. We will definitely plan to return to this campground on our next visit to the Finger Lakes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
The more I come here, the more impressed I am. Full hook up sites are the biggest I've seen in this area. Owners are incredibly gracious and kind, and don't hover. Store is well stocked and open early/late. Activities are superb. We were here on a Halloween themed weekend and in one day they had cider/donuts giveaway, hay ride, corn maze, DJ Halloween dance, haunted house, haunted hay ride, halloween craft, site decorating and costume contest, and trick or treating. ALL FREE! To compete with other area camprgrounds I'd suggest they improve paths on corn maze (they were almost dangerous and too narrow); pass out tickets to more popular events (as lines are so long); and improve haunted house. Great idea, it just needs some additional tweaking to make it fantastic. As usual, we were impressed! We will certainly be back. We could see getting a seasonal site here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Nice park with some spacious grassy sites 35' wide. There are also sites much smaller. Wi-Fi is excellent, but any time over 30 minutes costs extra. Office and facilities are good, as is park access. Both wooded and open sites. Personnel were helpful and friendly. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$44
Really enjoyed our time here. Beautiful location. We stayed in N row and enjoyed ourselves. Some sites are spacious, some are not. Have a great full spa right on site and a huge store with all the amenties. Wish they had a cafe or place to buy food items other than snacks-seems big enough for it. Owners were very helpful and present. Quiet hours were enforced. Love that they have a lifeguard at all times and 2 pools (one is heated and one is not-you've been warned!). Pools do need to be cleaned out more often for their use. There was lots of sediments in the pools. Wish they had a hot tub! Need more bike rentals and expanded game room. Devoted to doing activities for individuals with disabilities, which we support. However, be forewarned, that these weekends are a little busier and kids present can be a little more needy. We had a tough time in the pool one day when my wife was hit twice hard by an angry large teenager with a disability. The nice thing is that they bring in some wonderful activites during these weekends. The weekend we were present they brought in a dinasaur researcher who did a presentation with real fossils! Very impressive activities this weekend. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
Visited park in 40' motorhome. The entrance to the park is very modern in appearance. The campground is very mature. Many large trees that are mainly well trimmed. Roads are gravel & narrow. We had a very long pull thru although narrow. To get level we had to unhook car & park at rear of site. Our site was gravel, but many others are grass. Utilities were modern & well placed. Pool was nice, but needed more furniture. Park is family oriented and organize many activities. We felt $34 a night was fair for the facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
What a nice park. The bathrooms and shower houses were clean. The staff was very friendly. The quiet hours were quiet. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids busy. The sites were not too un-level (I was worried after reading some reviews). Overall this was a very nice park. My only negative is the price ($45.00). Our son really enjoyed our weekend and will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
WiFi was not so good and in order to have any decent time you had to pay. Sites were not too level but overall it was nice and clean and quiet. Staff was always around and available. I liked the place and I've been all over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
This campground is very well maintained. As you can see from the other posts, you can't please everyone. Yes there are some sites that are not level but some are better, hence the name Hickory "Hill". We were on a sloped site but made do, you have to give and take. There are some wooded sites towards the back, some others are wide open or semi wide open. Restrooms and facilities are clean and well kept. There is a new restroom/shower area as well as an older one. Activities are available and staff was very helpful. There are things to do in the area. Nice well stocked store. Good choice for families. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Pretty entrance and easy to find with clear attractive signs. RV sites were very close together, and seemed crowded. Lots of shade trees. Recreation program but limited (1-2 things a day young children would want to do). On-site spa and wellness center, recreation hall, 2 pools. Don't allow golf carts. Have some pedal carts and a store. All sites have fire ring and picnic table. Many sites had concrete slab for table on them, which we liked. Owner was very, very kind and seemed eager to please. Overall, nice campground but very expensive for amenities and size of lots. Over 50% of sites are seasonal, (well-kept up but seasonal). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This is a very nice campground, very well maintained as far as being kept clean is concerned. However, the sites are not close to level and even with extra boards, etc., we could not get level. previous reviewer was right--they need to spend some money and level sites and gravel the roads. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
We stayed in two different sites over a nine-day period. I can see both points of view from the previous postings. The site offers a world of activities and services. The location is easy to access lakes, wineries, city, and RV dealership Wilkins, with excellent repair services. Also call Southern Tier Auto Glass for windshield replacement, did mine on site. The spa offers a variety of excellent treatments that offered great relief of a lower back problem from driving. The sites are variable and most in need of re-dressing of gravel. Great views and trees, many in need of a trim for MHs. We will stay there again depending on the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
I have to tell you, after reading the other comments: I was shocked! I absolutely love this campground and can not believe that people would only rate it a 2? Have you been to the other campgrounds in NY state? You will never be able to compare this one to any other. We camped on one of the Halloween weekends: although it rained and was muddy we still had a wonderful time. For families this campground cannot be beat! They always have activities and programs going on, the staff is out of this world and will go above and beyond for anyone, and I have never had a complaint about any of their sites. And trust me, over the 10 years I have camped here: I have been on a lot of them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
After reading the reviews of this campground I wasn't sure if we wanted to try it, but we were in the area and figured we'd give it a chance since the reviews covered both ends of the spectrum. I should have trusted my judgement! The spaces were narrow, short and not level. The facilities were nothing to write home about. I also had the feeeling that the CG wasn't for camping but rather to promote their other sideline. (Health & Wellness) How can reviews of the same CG be so far off? Maybe the one poster is correct and the positives come from the owner? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Spotless campground. Is excellent for kids and adults. Has the nicest staff I have been around, ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2005
$40
Because we had family we needed to visit because of health problems in an annex to the CG, we were forced to camp here. I have previously written a review and what I said still stands. It is the 4th from the beginning. The reason I am writing another review is the one after mine. All I could think when I read it was that the owner wrote it! The person who wrote it sure knew all about the "amenities" offered. Just think about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$40
No level sites. Management had to dig a hole to sink our rear wheels before we could get level at all, then our front wheels were off the ground by a foot. We have a 34 ft motor home. Many sites are not especially large. This campground is very popular and is often full so kids and dogs abound! Roads are not too bad but they do get dusty and muddy. Activities are exceptional, especially for kids. They have quite a number of long-term occupants on a variety of sites. Some sites are shaded or partial shaded and some have no shade. They have monthly and seasonal rates. We stayed a month for about $525 including everything, cable, sewer, 50Amp, no restrictions on electric, like extra for AC. We have camped there every year for many years and do not hesitate to go back, but I really wish they would level some sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$43
Although pricey, this is a very clean and well-kept campground. Controlled pets are very welcome. Showers are clean and cleaned at least daily (I think I saw them there twice a day). Nice, well-stocked campstore. Two unheated, lifeguard-attended pools. Game room, activity center and minigolf, pond fishing onsite. Also onsite are basketball, volleyball, and badminton courts, horseshoe pits, soccer field with goals, baseball field, and tennis/soccer wall. New in 2005 is an expanded Wellness Center and Health Spa where massages, facials, manicures, pedicures, light lunches are available. Hiking trails, playgrounds, sports equipment rentals also available. Laundromat onsite. Rides through the park several times a day. Organized activities for kids and adults. Adult lounge in campstore. Book exchange and movie rentals available. Car rental nearby. Wine tours and local activities readily available. Many theme weekends, geared to families. Highly recommend, if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2004
$40
We had planned to be there for a week, but only spent one night. Roads are narrow; sites are small and not close to level. Quiet time was not enforced. All of this for $40! To say the least, I was very disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$36
The park is well-maintained. There were weekend activities for kids and families. The new bath house was great! They have many rental units such as cabins for those to check-out how it is to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$35
This campground was rated a 9-10-9 by Trailer Life, yet the alleged "gravel" sites haven't seen gravel since the great flood. And the roads are a quagmire of mudpuddles and holes. Tree limbs have not been trimmed at many locations, and you will scratch your big rig in this place. Sites are very tight--my next door neighbor's awning is hitting my slideout. RVParkReviews has one reviewer, and he or she gave them an "8" (amazing.) It may be okay for a pop up camper (which is what the reviewer had), but it absolutely is not suitable for a heavy fifth wheeler, travel trailer, and especially a big rig motorhome. Just another example of a highly rated, overpriced northern campground where management will not spend the necessary money to make it anywhere near what the website says. Avoid it.(Some people do like it, however. The site in front of me has two vehicles, a travel trailer, and two large tents, occupied by eight people which, between them, have no more than two teeth. Interesting place.) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Campground has very nice staff. Two swimming pools and theme weekends. Great place for a family to camp.We have had fun every weekend we went. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com