220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Erie State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (716) 792-9214
CGID1927

Lake Erie State Park

Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   3   7   10   9   10   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We really enjoyed staying here over the Labor Day weekend. Filled up Friday night. Lots of family groups, campfires, etc. By dark, the place calmed down and was quiet -- no traffic noise and we heard one train in the distance. Great sunset picture opportunities. Seems to be a beach, but their web info states there is no beach. Wish they had more utilities but we managed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We had a nice spacious site next to the lake and witnessed fantastic sunsets, as previously noted. However, we weren't ready for the odor coming off the lake. Good night Nellie, it was terrible! Maybe we were just here at a bad time, but it pretty much ruined the stay. Our rating is based on our experience and would be higher if not for this issue. If you can book at a time of year when the odor is not present, you should consider site #20 for a great lake view (we stayed in #18). 50A power was strong. Each site had a picnic table and fire pit. Roads are paved and are in decent condition, and the sites are gravel and fairly level. Our Verizon phones showed only one bar, and our Verizon internet was on "roam" and not usable most of the time. The bathroom and shower rooms were adequate and cleaned daily, and the shower water pressure was fantastic. There was a small walking path, but we did not have a chance to try it out so can't comment. The staff were all young kids, but they were friendly and helpful. We found a grocery store about 15 minutes away. Considering there was no water or sewer at the sites, I feel this campground was very expensive for a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We were told that it was a shaded site, one 25' tree, on the site # 84. We spent our time moving our chairs to the spot with some shade. In fact there were eight sites next to us that did not even have any trees. Also the layout of the sites are awful, electrical problems were observed with three separate groups who had to relocate because the power was not working properly at their original site. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
CG is worth visiting just for the sunset! Fairly well maintained. Sites are very poorly delineated so it's a lot of jockeying to make sure your wheels are firmly planted on gravel and not sod. Showers were the best I've ever found in a CG. Staff seems to be mostly teenagers on work release from local HS. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Beautiful place. Quiet. Lots of great birding with spectacular scenery. Employees are friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong with this baby! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Very nice state park campground. We reserved site #13 based on the recommendation of an earlier review, and really liked it. We paid a small premium for a "prime" site, plus the $9 reservation fee. This site is in full sun for a few hours at mid day, but has nice shade later in the afternoon. It is very close to the water. Interestingly, it's windy all the time in the lakefront sites. The showers and bathrooms are a little rustic but clean. There was only one men's shower open in our section of the campground, one was down for maintenance. Bring your shower shoes as the floor of the shower is rough cement. Would definitely stay here again. We understand from fellow campers that weekends can be a little crazy when the campground is full. A reservation would be essential for a prime site for a weekend stay. All sites have fire rings and are pretty level. Grass and packed dirt to park on. A bit of a hike to dump your garbage as it's in a central area for the entire campground. Big rigs can fit in many of the sites, including all the prime sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
In order to save the $9 advance reservation fee (levied at all NYS campgrounds) I decided to risk finding a nice site on a Sat. afternoon in late July. Fortunately, we had a nice choice and the one selected (site #1) was up to our rigorous standards -- plenty of shade with lots of elbow room -- even though some of the shade came at the cost of falling crab apples. The Lake Erie shoreline lies only a few steps away, where there is a nice beach area and a glorious sunset. By 11 am checkout on Sunday morning, the number of campers had dwindled substantially and it seemed to us to be a "shade" nicer than several other nearby campgrounds. Sites are roomy and level with a nice paved road running through the park. Two large restrooms & shower facilities are kept very clean and we plan to return here in the early fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This was a very nice campground right on Lake Erie. We had site 16, which was very large with a nice shade tree next to where we placed our camper. We were right across the road from the premium sites, that were on the lake, but we felt, we still had great views of the lake and the evening sunset. One thing that should be mentioned about the lakefront sites, is that there is a huge cliff at the back of those campsites that has a drop off leading to the beach, and it is not fenced. There are signs warning people of the danger not to enter the area. I would have been concerned, if I was on one of those sites with my young children as the drop off was quite steep and dangerous. Children could have easily walked right up to the edge and fallen over. The lakefront campsites were also rather short in comparison to many of the other sites. The campground was very clean as were the bathrooms and showers, all despite the high number of campers and visitors for the holiday. The beach is not all that great and other than the playgrounds there were not very many amenities. We traveled to Evangola State Park one afternoon and found their beach area to be much more groomed, the swimming area was much larger and cleaner than the one at Lake Erie State Park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
This is a very pretty park with large and very open sites. The roads in the park are all paved and wide with no tight turns that we noticed. We were in a 50 amp site which is not in the loop closest to the lake. I was not told that when we checked in, I think I would have preferred a 20 amp site and be closer to the lake. However there were so few campers here that we could see the lake from back where we were. We also didn't realize that there was no water hookups, but fortunately we had nearly a full tank. The beach area was very scenic, the bathhouses were clean but somewhat dated, typical of a State Park. Shower houses were separate from the other bathrooms with individual outside doors for each shower stall and dressing area. The park was well maintained. They also have cabins for rent on the lake front area that were full the weekend we were here. We were here during one of the last weekends the park is open for the season. There was a lot of water standing due to the very heavy rains that had occurred during the past several days. It was great for an overnight stop, and would be good for a day or two during warmer weather. All in all a nice place if you don't need full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Another great place to stay but not a lot of amenities. Great fishing in Lake Erie, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
We liked site #60, it got morning shade from the trees behind and it was very, very large. We have a 30 ft class A. None of the sites had any greenery for privacy but many were quite spacious which helps. Glad that they had a laundry but it was scary filthy. Bathhouse in our loop was older, not all that clean and the showers were small but they had plenty of hot water with good water pressure and spray. The beach at the park is not very impressive but better than nothing. There is a big playground in the campground and a smaller one near the beach. There are lots of flat grassy spaces. Roads in and near the park are good with no low hanging tree branch problems. Dump station is well situated and had potable water nearby for filling your tanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$13
Site #13 has the best view of the lake. It's an easy walk down the hill to the waters edge. Plenty of shade and privacy. We stayed here two days on the way to Niagara Falls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park was not totally big rig friendly as roads were too narrow, dump station was very difficult to maneuver, tree trimming needed and had to go off road to back into site. Only ten sites have been converted to 50 amps and they are the furthest from the lake. No water at individual sites. Had a one washer & one dryer laundry, but it was a very dirty & dingy room. There is a $9 charge to reserve a site! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
The park was nice, the beach was not much to speak of. The fishing was good off the pier in the park. We had a great site right on the bluff overlooking Lake Erie. Would go back, once they finished upgrading all the sites to 30-50 amps. Only a very few had been updated as of July of 2002. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com