224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Letchworth State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (585) 493-3600
CGID1930

Letchworth State Park

Camp Information
Sites
340
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   6   8   8   9   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Second time we were here. Camped with a group of campers. Very nice park. The 100 loop (where we were this time) had a few tight spots maneuvering larger units. Site markers had to be pulled out of ground (and replaced afterward). One site had very low hanging, heavy branches that had to be trimmed. Dump stations were easy to get through. Roads were very good. Electric power very good. Water spigots plentiful and accessible for filling tanks. Well worth the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
I stayed in site 743, the pet loop. There are other loops and each was slightly different in terms of site selections. All sites seemed to be quite large, good spacing between sites. Site 743 was great as it was a corner lot affording really nice sunset views. The downside was there is a street lamp (low intensity) right at the corner but pretty well hidden by trees. It does light up the picnic table area and all which may be a plus or minus, depending on your preferences. The park is huge overall. Good hiking and bicycling. The waterfalls are 11+ miles away from the camping area so plan for that in visiting the falls. I really enjoyed my stay here (3 days). I plan on returning as 2 days wasn't enough time to really enjoy what the park offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
We stayed in the 700 loop (site 721) which was a very nice site with a lot of shade, a fairly level gravel area for the RV and some grassy area for the dogs. The 700 and 800 loops are the only ones that allow pets, and it seems that not everyone is careful to clean up after their dogs, so watch your step in those loops! An informal walking trail started right at our campsite. The electric service box had 50, 30 and 20 amp receptacles and was wired correctly. (The 50 amp plug was anyway, I did not check the others.) I would definitely choose this site again, but there were several nice sites in this loop, some were very shaded and others were more open. The biggest detractor for this park, like most NY state parks it seems, is the lack of water and sewer hookups. I stopped at the spigot at the entrance to the loop to fill my fresh water tank, but that blocks the road for everyone else due to the faucet having to be held open. However, what wasn't mentioned in other reviews is there are actually similar spigots spread throughout the entire loop, and some are definitely close enough to sites to be able to fill your tank if you have a long enough hose. I suspect that if you feel like carrying 100-200' of hose, you could refill from just about any site in the loop. Also, it appears that only the spigot at the entrance to the loop as a "hold open" type, the rest are standard spigots. Because we ran out of water, we had to use the bathrooms and shower on the last night we were there. The bathroom cleanliness was about average for a facility of this type but, the showers were a bit dirty and gross. The water temperature cannot be controlled, but at least it was warm. There are 3 dump stations upon exiting the park which is nice, but unfortunately there is no garbage can there to dispose of gloves, etc. and the rinse water hose does not have a garden hose connector on the end so it is impossible to use a built-in tank flush system. Also, it uses a sort of lever valve that makes it difficult to control the water pressure, and the water pressure is very high! It would be very easy to get that water splashing everywhere while you hose off your sewer hose and connectors. The staff was friendly, the campground was nice, and the park itself is very pretty. I would stay here again, but next time I'm bringing more water hose! Because of the lack of water/sewer hookups, this campground is best for short stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
No water or sewer hook ups at any site. You must fill your fresh water tank before setting up. Faucet handle must be held open to operate it. Makes filling a tank a pain. Bathroom are very old and in need of repair. Men's room had only one shower operating, and water temperature can not be controlled.(one handle -lukewarm). No towel dispensers. Staff rude and unwilling to be of much help. Must reserve through Reserve America who knows nothing about the campgrounds or sites. $9.00 service charge. Won't ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is a very nice park. There are no water or sewer hookups so you have to carry your water with you or fill up at the campground as you enter. When filling your tank you actually block the road for others entering the loop. While it says "Pet Friendly", there are only 2 of the 8 loops that allow pets. There is a very nice campground store. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Please note I am not sure if the rate I paid. It was a very nice park, older park but he buildings and roads are in very good repair. People were very friendly, we shifted our site around before we go there because we messed up with ReserveAmerica and they got our dates wrong so we had to go back and adjust our site to the date of our arrival. The site we had was on the 700 loop. We stayed with a 40 foot motorhome and got the RV in the site OK (after we had our neighbors move their car) but damaged our awning when we were leaving as the site was really too narrow. When we explored the park we found it very clean and quite nice. There are two pools listed to swim in (they charge extra for that) but only one was open, the other had been closed for some time and was in disrepair. The park itself was beautiful, would recommend at least lunch in the old estate house at the south end of the park. If you have a big rig however, be sure you have a camping spot big enough to handle your rig, as a number of the sites are long enough but the trees are so close and the roads too narrow to back into a site easily. This is more related to the age of the facility than the maintenance of the park. We will go there again as it is a beautiful place but we will be very, very selective about which site we take as this last two night visit will cost me @ $700 in damages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
We camped in the 700 loop in site 712. The site was large and level. We had both 30 and 50 amp service. The bathrooms were clean, they are dated but well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
We thought Wisconsin state parks were the worst for piled-on fees, but this place takes the cake! (See below on camping fees.) We were charged two entrance fees, one for the camping unit (a motorhome) and one for the towed car. The guy with the pickup and an enormous fifth wheel only pays one entrance fee. They only charge the additional (motorhome) fee for one day of camping in the campground, and one entrance fee is refunded, but not the MH one. Go figure. We complained to management and noted that recent stays in two other NY Parks state parks did not invoke such a charge for the camping unit, to no avail. Meaning that NY Parks apparently charges differently, depending on the park. The sites were tight to get into and some were not level at all. Good space between sites. Roads in most loops were gravel and remnants of asphalt. Loops were differentiated by electric service: 15/20 amp service, 30 amp, or 50 amp, with each one commanding higher prices ($4, $6, and $8 for 50 amp). Water spigots were here and there within the loops but no service at each site. The rate shown in this review represents an entrance fee of $8 (not refunded), a basic camping fee of $15, $6 more for 30 amp service, $4 more for being from out of state, and $4 more for camping on a weekend. Talk about feeling unwelcome! Many of the popular views of the canyon are now obscured by vegetation, but the roads were enjoyable to tour. We will not return to this park until NY Parks gets their fee structure consistent from park to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We stayed here for a family reunion. Of the 8 sites we had in loop 700, about 3 would work for our fifth wheel, most any would be fine for a popup, and several were very difficult for a tent to be placed anywhere but on gravel or in standing water. The laundry was clean and reasonably priced. Over the weekend there were lots of loud groups long into the night, and no park staff to quiet them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
There are VERY serious about pets (even a stay at home cat) in the non-pet loops. We missed that detail and reserved in a non-pet loop over 4th of July weekend. Initially, one of the staff was rude; however, calls up the chain of command resulted in "no problem as long as she stays inside". Many sites are generous and wooded. The park grounds were well maintained. Town of Perry has shopping, Mt. Morris dam tour is good, hiking and views are very good. No mosquitoes at dusk in July. Expensive for what you get, but worth a one time visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
The park itself is very nice, with wonderful waterfalls and good hiking trails. We were less impressed with the campground. The sites are electric only, and the electricity at our site was very poor, often falling below 104 volts. We reported it to the maintenance folks, but nothing was resolved during our stay. There are no water or sewer hookups at the sites, and the parking pads are narrow. It was very rainy while we were there, and you couldn't avoid walking through standing water and mud. So for $26 per night (30 amp, out-of-state) we got weak electricity and a narrow gravel site. However, the scenery is great, so it sort of balances out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
This is a beautiful state park. The sites vary in size, but can accommodate large rigs. While the trees pre-empted satellite TV, we were able to pick-up a number of over-the-air stations. The park staff is very pleasant and helpful and the RV campsite areas are well patrolled. There is also a lot to see and do in the park (which I last visited in 1964). Highly recommended and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This park is very large but the campground section is much smaller and more crowded than it needed to be. The sites are about average sized for a private campground but I expected more privacy in a public park that has an access road over 6 miles long. We spent about half a day touring the gorge and waterfalls by car and found the whole park clean and well kept. The waterfalls and scenic views were very easy to find and get to. Most of the views were handicapped accessible. The only difficult section was the trail to the "Lower Falls" and that was clearly marked with an alternative walk to an easy view. Take your camera. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Letchworth State Park is huge. If you are in a motorhome do not forget to tow the car. It is a long way from the campground to the pool and hiking trails. I have not been back to this campground since I was a kid. I forgot how beautiful this State Park really is. We will definitely return!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
What a beautiful state park. Although I noted that the showers and restrooms weren't clean this is due more to tracking in of dirt than long-term grime. My pet peeve is that the showers were angled in such a weird way that you had to squeeze into the wall to get water on your body. All the campers were quiet even over Labor Day weekend. The camp personnel were helpful in sorting out my mistake in booking the wrong amp site online. We needed 30 amp and the one we arrived at was 20 amp. The campground is far removed from the rest of the scenic parts of the park so every day we had an 8 mile drive north to the waterfalls. This was our first experience with no water hook-up on our site but that turned out to be no problem at all, just filled our tank at the common spigot as needed. We got along with no internet, no TV although found a Wi-Fi signal at the Burlingham bookstore in town of Perry (one of the several entrances in/out of the park. Dinner at Glen Iris Inn was expensive but we'd do it again. At the end of our camping trip we spent a night at Country Inn & Suites in Mount Morris. They charge a lot $129 because they are the only game in town but we did our laundry, watched US Open Tennis and surfed the internet to our hearts delight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Not much to add to all the 9 and 10 ratings. Because of the restriction of pets to certain loops and limited 50 amp sites, I’d be sure to reserve if either apply. Also, they absolutely check rabies certificates so have yours on board. Watch out for abundant wildlife on the park roads. We’d return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Another example of NYS Parks doing a good job keeping the campgrounds up to snuff. There are several different loops in the park, we were in the 700, which is newer. Nice, clean, shady spots, some are more open than others but are accurately noted on the website for reservations. Some may be a bit tight for big rigs, but staff is very accommodating whenever possible. No Wi-Fi, cable TV, etc., but if you want those toys, why are you camping? The park itself is a joy, lots of hiking, and of course the "Grand Canyon of the East", the spectacular Genesee River gorge and falls. Nice higher end restaurant, the Glen Iris Inn, plus a few snack bars and concessions, big pool, nice playground, and more. Even white water rafting/kayaking and hot air baloon rides! The Park itself can take a couple of days to explore, and lots of nearby things to see. Small but well equipped camp store, plus nearby communities with shhopping options should you need them. Family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
One of the most impressive State Parks we've ever been to. Lot's to see and many beautiful sites. The campground practically empty on October 2. We would stay here again in a heart-beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Fantastic park! Jaw dropping scenery throughout the 17 mile long park. We camped in the 700 loop and I would highly recommend it. Lots of tall trees and fairly private sites. Not one single mosquito bite for the 5 nights we stayed, first week of August 2008. We loved the nearby pool, various scenic over-looks / picnic areas, and numerous deer. Low priced water park about 1 hour drive away. Look forward to going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
We camped here on our return home from Four Mile Creek State Park up near Niagara Falls(mistake). We should have stayed longer in Niagara. We stayed in the 500 loop. The sites we had were not level. I could deal with that. It was the poison ivy that was everywhere. I think that all of the ground cover between every site in there was poison ivy. The camp office even had warning signs posted. We were planning on a two night stay but left after the first night. I had to watch my two young children like a hawk to keep them from getting into the poison ivy. Not my idea of family camping. As I said, we should have stayed at Four Mile Creek longer. The rest of Letchworth is beautiful though. The falls were really nice. Very scenic state park. I would rather have stayed at a campground outside the park and just went sight seeing in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
Nice spacious sites with lots of trees. It was fairly quiet and amazingly enough no mosquitos! We were in the 400 loop, but all the loops were pretty similar. If you have kids you might want to get one of the loops close to the store and recreation area. The worst part of camping here was the showers, which were clean, but need updating and not nearly hot enough and there is no temperature adjustment. The roads around the campground are getting a little bumpy and should be repaved. Letchworth state park is beautiful and we loved it. Hiking around the waterfalls was great fun and we all liked the whitewater rafting as well. The recreation hall had lots of things for the kids to do and it was staffed by friendly teenagers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Nice state park. But no water hookups, so bring a full fresh water tank. We were in Loop 700, one of the newer loops, so it was easier to get a big rig in. The camp store is not well stocked and very expensive. Lots of trees cut down and wood left for you to burn in the fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Large spaces – easy to maneuver. Beautiful state park – huge 40 minutes to drive from north to south entrances. Nice pool within park – 15 minute drive from campground. Convenient water spigot locations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Nice Campground, nice sites, beautiful canyon, would definitely go back but beware if you have a second car. They charged me $6.00 at the gate to the park and they only take cash. They would not let me into the park to get money from my husband and were very unhelpful and non-caring. They should have told us when we made the reservations. I had to leave and drive around to find an ATM. I thought this was shabby treatment to a registered guest. They should have sent me to the campground entrance and let me pay by credit card. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Our 4 day visit to this campground couldn't have been more enjoyable. We arrived on Monday, having paid $9 for a telephone reservation (same fee for all state campgrounds and via internet) which we really didn't need. Check in is after 2 pm; out is before 2 pm. Sites are spacious and generally wooded, with ample room to park both motor home and car. There are many reasons why this park is considered one of the nicest in the state -- three waterfalls, beautiful scenery, nature trails, playgrounds, laundry facility, and snack bar to name just a few. The majority of sites are equipped with electricity (30 amp) and some appear to have water. Three dump stations near the campground entrance. Rest rooms and showers were clean. Pets are allowed in designated areas of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nightly rate of $24 does not include the $9 reservation surcharge. If you are a Motorhome towing a vehicle and get there in the afternoon while the Entrance Cabin is open you will also be charged an additional $6.00 for your towed vehicle. We camp here at least once every year. We have dogs and have camped in the 100, 200 and 700 loops where pets are allowed. Of the 3, I prefer the 700 loop. The sites there are grassy and more level. The outside sites in the back of the 100 loop are near a big drop off and also the access point to one of the more popular trails. Speaking of trails, there are many different ones to explore with varying levels of difficulty and they are all well marked. There are water faucets in every loop, but it can create a traffic jam on Fridays when everyone is going one way and trying to get into their sites and someone stops to fill up their water tank. We don't have to travel that far, so we always just come with a full fresh water tank. The triple lane dump station is new within the past few years and is a welcome addition. In response to a different post, there is non-potable water at the dump station and I don't know why anyone would want potable water there. Along the roadway between the campground entrance and the camping loops are several different exercise stations. This is pretty unique and makes it fun for everyone out for a walk. You will want to be a little careful and drive slowly once in a camping loop due to trees and low branches. We have roof mounted satellite TV and Sirius radio and both worked just fine from site 739. It would also work for any of the adjacent sites in that loop as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
A beautiful park, one of the best in NY. The campsites are well spaced, mostly level and are treed. Big rigs need to use caution as the roads are narrow and the trees encroach at the upper elevations. The thing that prevented a 10 being scored was that the bath houses are showing their age and were cleaned once a day. They were definitely not the worst we have seen, just not immaculate. We stayed in the 500 loop and the kids had plenty of room to play. Caution when selecting a site...some loops back up to each other so that sites on the outside of the loop abut the outside sites of adjacent loops. This is not clear on the Reserve America map. Sites on the inside of the loops have plenty of space and offer clear paths to the bath houses. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
This is a fantastic park with a decent campground. We were in site #312 not too far from the laundry and camp store. The site was large enough for our 30 ft class A and we found a relatively level spot in it. The site was gravel and slightly elevated so it drained well in the heavy rains that we had. The 300 and 700 loops have 30 amp electric with some 50 amp sites but the other loops only had 20 amp. We thought loop 100 had some nice looking sites, deep, level with some separation from neighbors and pets are allowed but only 20 amp electric. Loop 600 looked best suited for tents and pop-ups. All loops are nicely wooded with fire rings and tables. This is the first NY state park that charged us an extra $6 admission for our MH plus tow. Bathhouses are older and not very clean but everything worked. The dump station has three stations but no potable water for filling your tanks. In addition to the incredible natural attractions at this park there are swimming pools, rec rooms, volleyball and basketball areas, playgrounds and lots of other stuff for kids to do. The campground was fairly peaceful mid-week. A side trip to the Mt Morris Dam visitor center is worth doing, they also have tours. We also took a side trip to Stony Brook State Park, the Gorge Trail gets you right next to some very nice waterfalls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Campground roads are paved, most loops need re-paving. Sites are back-in with a gravel base. High degree of trees and underbrush gives good privacy between sites. Some sites border on the gorge leading to a 500' dropoff at the edge of your site. There is a fence, but I wouldn't want to be in those sites with small children. Comfort stations were not clean, but we had rain and wet weather for most of the time there. It was very difficult to keep them clean. Our site and many others had standing water from the rain. We were walking through mud most of our time there. If you have a site with good drainage, things should be good. The campground was very quiet at night, in spite of being full. Letchworth Park itself is huge and beautiful. We couldn't see all we wanted to see in 4 nights there. We'll have to go back again, and will do so happily, but I've already scoped out dry sites for next time! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$21
We just returned from camping here, (due in large part to reviews read here) and we came away quite impressed. We camped in the 700 loop, (site 739 to be exact. We highly recommend it!) which was one of the 3 loops that allowed dogs. (100 and 200 loops are the other two). The camp site was great, with enough room for 2 kids under 4 to play, and still leaving enough room for the dog to co-exist as well. We also have a 10 year old and a 12 year old, they were entertained with the rec center and the activities provided. Like other reviewers have stated, there is no local water for each trailer, but there is a place to connect fairly close by. A very minor inconvenience. The location of the campgrounds are nice as well. We were less than an hour from Darien lake, so we were able to spend a day there. We also we able to attend the Buffalo Bills training camp, which is located near Rochester. There are also two pools available for use, on both ends of the park (both are quite a bit a ways from the camping area). The one near the dam has two pools, one which goes to about 4 1/2 ft deep, the other strictly for diving. The pool near the falls is quite a bit smaller. We didn't go to this one, so I can't say much about it. Be advised, there is a fee to use the pools. The sites around Letchworth state park are amazing too! Being born in the state of New York, it was hard for me to believe I was still in my home state. The gorge and waterfalls are beautiful, and my wife and I are already planning a trip in the fall to appreciate the turning of the leaves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$17
Wonderful place if you are in New York this is the place to be. Staff is Great, sites are big. There is no water hook ups BUT there is water within 125 feet of each site. The waterfalls are the best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$19
This is a nice campground and a nice park to visit.Spent 3 days here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Exceptionally clean, well manicured grounds, sites, bathrooms and showers. Touted as "the Grand Canyon of the East", this park is beautifully scenic and awe inspiring. There are many hiking trails to explore from easy to difficult.A well stocked camp store is within waking distance. We toured this large park in a GEM car, which was rented at the campground office for $20.00/day. We also ate at the Glen Iris Inn, located inside the park and overlooking the middle falls. A bit pricey, but the food was excellent. Wildlife abounds here and is easily viewed throughout the park. This park is a must see when you are in the area. We will definitely return to this naturalwonder of the East. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
If we lived closer I'd be at this campground several times a year. It is beautiful!! The sites are very spacious with lots of woods around you. There's electric at each site and water nearby to fill your tank with. There are some lovely grassy sites for tents too. The bathhouses were simple but very clean. The park itself with its 3 waterfalls is a natural wonder and enjoyable for all ages. One thing that struck me was that they have made the Falls accessible to those in wheelchairs, yet it all still seems so natural. We only stayed 3 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$16
Beautiful & scenic State Park located in Upstate NY, 50 40-50 miles south of Rochester. On the east side of the Genesee River gorge, often called the Grand Canyon of the east. Well shaded facilities are located in 8 separate "loops." Water available at each loop. Restrooms and showers in each loop. Camp Store centrally located. 30 Amp electric at all sites. Single dump station at entrance. Pets allowed in selected loops. Hiking and sightseeing are superb. Sitting around & doing nuthin' also superb. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com