206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Camp-Resort at Crystal Lake was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (607) 965-8265
CGID1934

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Camp-Resort at Crystal Lake

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   7   3   10   10   4   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Friendly staff, but not the "Jellystone" camping we are used to. We stayed over a holiday weekend and there were no activities for the kids. We like to camp in Sept and Oct and at each Jellystone campground we've stayed at they always have activities throughout the weekend. Sites had no privacy, they were one on top of the other. We're used to have a semi-private location with some trees in between each site. The grounds were really pretty and the fall is a great time to visit. Another thing is that they call the park - Jellystone Campground - Cooperstown, but they are really 1/2 hour away. To me that's a little misleading. We had to travel a 1/2 hour to and from Cooperstown each day. We were under the impression that they were located right outside and perhaps a 10 minute ride at most. Price was very low, but perhaps because there were no activities going on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Staff was a bit rude during check in and they were not very helpful. Sites are close and difficult to back into. The cable at our site did not work. We didn't have a good time here and probably will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
We are not "Jellystone" folks; we are retired and prefer peace and quiet to Yogi and Boo-Boo visiting. BUT...it was off season and the price was right, so we stayed. We were pleasantly surprised: beautiful sites, excellent facilities, and not crowded. The sign on the bath house said being renovated, so there was some issue there, but when finished it will be lovely: new paneling, cedar on the ceiling, bright metal on the stall sides. Showers were large, had hot water and comfortable. There were some issues so be aware: many, many speed bumps in the park to slow folks down, and they are sharp and create a real thump. The sites we were on were grass and not level. It took a bit of doing, but we got there. The walk to the bath houses is uphill and no paved path, so not ADA compliant. Same for the pool: it is big with lots of chairs and tables, but no easy path to it. Coming in and out of the campground are some tight turns that might be an issue for larger rigs or long trailers. Finally, although they have some nice cabins, they put camping sites right in front; I would suspect in very busy times you would have NO view of the lake, just someone's RV. We would stay again in the off season, but definitely pass on this when crawling with lots of kids, noise, and crowds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
Great park for families with kids. Always activities going on for them. Pool was huge and clean. Although we were in a tent we camped on a RV site so we could be right on the lake. The tent sites are up on the hill with none having lake front. Fishing for the kids was awesome, the lake is the best stocked lake I have ever seen! Wi-Fi did work at our site. It was a little crowded though and got noisy at night and nothing was done to quiet it. Long walk to the main office, playground, and arcade from most of the sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Stayed here while visiting the Baseball Hall of Fame. Usually love the Jellystone CG's. However, this one is not on par. The lake is poorly maintained and very unappealing with the amount of debris in it. We were surprised at how many permanent campers there were. The trash pick up at your site is great, but if you don't want to sit at the arcade, you will not be able to use the Wi-Fi. The staff was a mixed group. Some nice and some indifferent. Will skip this CG the next time around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Pretty, quiet campground that makes a good base for seeing Cooperstown and the surrounding area. It is very relaxing here, and if we are in the area again, this is where we will stay. There are only four 50A sites so if you want 50A, probably best to make a reservation. Verizon air-card doesn't work very well at the site and their wi-fi doesn't work at all the the site. But both work great outside of the arcade where they have tables and comfortable chairs. Many activities are available and the employees were very nice and helpful. Trash is picked up at your site twice a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a great campground to experience with children. There were many planned activities, hayrides,visits with Yogi and Boo Boo, a clean pool, arcade, boat and bike rentals. It was clean and private. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We arrived after 11 pm and were guided in to our site by the security guard. This park was not crowded and sites were reasonably spaced. It's a great place for families! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We stayed here for July 4th weekend. We were very disappointed since it was a Jellystone Park. The employees were mostly very rude and had a I don't want to work type of attitude. They enforced none of the rules. Some of the sites had 2 to 3 tents per site. They had asked some people to leave due to the fact they were cutting down trees with axes and never enforced it. Some people were fixing cars on the campsites & washing dirty dishes in the road. The lake was very dirty. I found this campground to be very trashy. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
I don't know about the past, but this was a fabulous park for us on our recent visit. You will pay for amenities, but this place had it all. With young children, it's sometimes hard to keep them busy at a campground. At Jellystone Park, there are constant planned activities, as well as a nice game room, miniature golf, boat rentals, and a store that has all your needs. The bathrooms were always spotless, it appeared to me that they cleaned them at least 4 times a day. Having your trash picked up on site was also a nice perk, as well as the visits from Yogi and friends. My 3 year old son LOVES these parks (we also stayed at the one in St. Louis). The staff was pleasant and helpful. Can't say enough good things about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
My wife and I joined her mom and three other couples that we invited to camp along with us at Jellystone Campground at Crystal Lake in Garrattsville, NY over the week of the 4th of July holiday. We had camped there a couple of times over the past few years and really enjoyed the campgrounds. The kids loved it then and it was a no brainer to go back. Now I do not know if we will ever go back. It is under new management and not nearly as well run as in the past. Granted, there had been some severe rains and flooding in the week leading up to our trip, so I will not mention the logistical problems that that created, but we found it inexcusable that the bathrooms were filthy, out of toilet paper a number of times, and, in one really terrible example, both toilets in the men's room were plugged and about to overflow. We would notify the office when supplies were low, and in one laughable example, after telling them that both bathrooms were out of toilet paper, they sent a staff member with one roll. The place is seriously understaffed. I think that one girl was assigned to clean all of the bathrooms and shower buildings on the grounds the whole week. The activity staff didn't seem very friendly, actually ignoring me as I waved to a couple of them one morning. The snackbar and campstore/office closed early nearly every day that we were there, one time as early as 6:30pm. When the snackbar was open, it was out of paper products a couple of times. Tiles around the pool were cracked and falling off, leaving jagged edged pieces around the pool area and in the pool. The dumpsters at the park were full and overflowing by Sunday (our second day there) and did not get emptied until Thursday. Now, I understand that the holiday was Tuesday, but, come on, we made our reservations for the holiday week back in the fall and I am sure that most of the people there had reserved their site long ago. Management knew they were going to have a full campground, it was no surprise to anyone. Why not make special arrangements to ensure that dumpsters get emptied? We do not have need for the dumping station, but I heard from some campers that it was full and overflowing by Sunday also. I personally know of two campers who pulled out early, before the holiday, due to the conditions. Trailer Life gave this campground a very high rating last year, and I trust that rating. Hopefully they will look closely at it this year before rating it again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$15
Issues I encountered: 1) Was promised one RV unit and was switched to another less-desirable RV when I arrived. 2) Made family wait an hour for checkin. 3) Woke family up at 8AM one morning when filling propane tanks. Noise lasted close to 20 minutes. 4) Overheard staff complaining about guests. 5) Tried to rent bikes 20 minutes for my kids before closing (7PM during summer!) and was told in a very nasty way to come back the next day even though place was very empty. 6) Advertise all kinds of activities but when you are here, you have to use them when they make them available. Many weren't open more then an hour one day per week. 7) Management not accommodating at all, and have bad attitude. Much more concerned with rules then with guests. Was verbally abused by a staff member in front of family! 8) I will never return to this place nor would I recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$33
I went to this campground because it got very high ratings in my Frommer's guide book for site privacy and spaciousness. I was very disappointed and found these ratings inaccurate. As another reviewer stated, there was really nothing between sites but a picnic table. We had a lakefront site and although there were very few campers there this weekend, I could see the people who were twenty sites away, so site privacy was pretty much non existent. Had it been a full weekend, we would have only had about five feet between us and our neighbors. I drove around and looked at other sites, and it all seemed the same. The lake - Crystal Lake - is anything but crystal. It was the brownest, smelliest lake I've ever seen. There were dead fish along the shore. You cannot swim there, and for obvious reasons. We took a paddle boat out and you can't even see 1" below the surface. When we asked for directions in the office to any of the nearby attractions, no one could tell us anything - they all seemed to be work campers and not from the area. When we did finally get directions to the Baseball Hall of Fame (30 minutes away) they were wrong. We had to stop at a gas station and get straightened out. They did have a fair amount of activities, but since we didn't have kids with us, we didn't go to them. We did go to a pancake breakfast, which we had signed up ahead of time for, but many showed up without signing up, so they were understaffed and it took 45 minutes to get pancakes for the two of us. I won't be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$38
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and it was completely full. We had a lakeside site which was great for the fishers in my family (although they didn't catch anything) and a lovely view. The sites were decent size but there is nothing between you and your neighbor and just a few trees along the lake for shade (our site had none). The sites up on the hill (non lakeside) seemed very close but shadier. Even though we were one of the closest sites to the bathroom, it was an walk up an unpleasantly steep hill to get there. The bathroom needed some work - the sinks were so high my 9 year old could just about wash her hands and two of the four doors to the toilet stalls were so crooked they wouldn't close. But, on the positive side - we had a nice time with the ceramics classes and the hayride. We also enjoyed the talent contest and concert one night. The pool was nice, but at that time it was too cold for most of us. It has a very well stocked store and the check in system was quite smooth. I would stay there again if I needed to be in the area (and not on a holiday weekend) but I wouldn't make a special 3 hour trip just to go there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$40
The sites on the lake were lovely but we ended up in a cramped area away from the lake where everyone was on top of each other. It was difficult to back our TT into the cramped site, but the staff helped us out and were quite pleasant. There were pleny of activities for the children and a decent pool to swim in. This is a nice place but honestly I don't feel it's worth the 10 points/5 diamonds some of the rating guides give it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com