218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Alpine Lake Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (518) 654-6260
CGID1935

Alpine Lake Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
450
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$66



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   2   9   6   9   6   4   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$66
Laundry was good. Site was a mud hole. Office staff was not very helpful. We paid more than we ever have and received less value than ever before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$62
The bathrooms/showers were dirty. We were promised 50amp service & received a site with 30amp. The sites were suppose to be pull-thru's, but the seasonal campers park their cars in front of the pull-thru sites blocking the exit. This is a dog friendly park, however, at the entrance of this campground they keep a dog tied to a tree. Poor dog was tied there day and night on a short leash for the entire time we camped. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
Dirtiest restrooms / showers / laundry room that I've ever encountered in my many years of RVing. Dead and live bugs in all facilities. Same ones were there the next day. Old cobwebs hanging in many areas Electric was supposed to be 30 amp but kept tripping the breaker even with no A/C or TV running. I will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$100
Great place to stay, park was clean and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
The park is nice and clean. However, the sites are too close together. You really don't have any privacy. The nightly rate is very high. Otherwise, it's a pleasant stay for a weekend. I wouldn't want to be seasonal there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We spent a week here in August. I love this place. I only gave it a 9 because they didn't have internet access from your campsite. I had to go to the store or the pool. We were on site 262. I found this place clean, campsite level, nice store, mostly paved roads. People were very friendly, 3 playgrounds, 2 pools cabins looked nice. The laundry room was fine, it needed a deep cleaning. They have a trolley that will take you to Lake George or to Saratoga, we never used it we preferred to drive, you have to sign up for the trolley in the morning if you want to go to either of these places. The number of people who can use the trolley is limited they only have 1 trolley for the size of the campground. We never used it so I can't say much about it, only that I did see the trolley at the campground alot. They had some activities on the weekends: Movie night on Thursday, Bingo on Sunday and Friday. We don't have kids but I did see some activities going on for them. We were here for the horse races it would have been nice to have racing programs available at the store. We went to Saratoga Springs for dinner one night, beautiful town, restaurants, shops, street musicians. I found a racing program at the Border's. We'll be going back next year bringing family, they can rent the cabins and we'll be in our trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
I did not care for this campground as an older adult without children. Campsites are shaded but mostly dirt and not well laid out. They are also very close together. It’s very crowded, mostly because of the large number of visitors allowed and cars line every inch of the roads. Too many golf carts going all over the place. Can’t people walk anymore? It does have 2 nice lakes stocked with fish and the kids seem to enjoy themselves. Need more trash dumpsters as they only had 1 location and that was very far away. I would not camp here again as an adult. If you have kids, you would probably enjoy it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$69
Camping here in anything bigger than a tent is a problem. The campground has severe electrical problems. When we complained, we were told by maintenance that the whole campground should be rewired and that management is aware of this problem and does nothing about it. It is a very noisy campground; quiet time does not exist. In fact no one follows any of the rules of the park. This is a problem since there are 500 sites. Poorly run establishment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
This should not be called a "resort". No escort to your site, and we were given incorrect directions to ours that led us down a one way road. It was supposed to be a pull-through site, but instead was a pull in and back out site. Campers are crammed in so much so that a tractor has to park and remove some trailers. For the size of the park the facilities are few and far between, not to mention unkempt. We were told cable was available when we booked, but it turns out it wasn't yet installed in our area when we arrived. The only real plus we found was the ability to bike many trails. We must be missing something because there are many seasonal campers. We consider this a "one and done" visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
Kayak and fisher's dream. Two small lakes, mostly paved roads and fair sized sites. Lots and lots of seasonal sites, not too many transient that we saw. All sites are clean and well kept. Bike riders and walkers have plenty to do. The kids will be happy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$55
The park was very clean. We enjoyed beautiful views from our site on the lake. Pretty pricey though as we paid $55.00. There is a charge of $3.00 per day "service fee" in addition to daily rate. Great place to enjoy wonderful sites and there is plenty to do if you kayak or fish. The kids love it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$52
Alpine Lake was once again a pleasure to visit after several years. It's kept consistently clean and updated. The kids love all the activities and the views are lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$55
This is a beautiful park with many pluses. There are two large lakes with scenic views of the surrounding mountains. The park is very clean and the management was very helpful. Most of the sites seem to be seasonal but there are good sites available for short term stays. Interior roads are paved. Some roads are one-way and could be marked better. Cable is available only at the premium sites by the lake. Satellite is limited by trees on some sites. The price seemed a little high to us, especially since we visited in the off season, but the price is in line with other parks in the area. For families who use the amenities, the price is justified. WiFi is available through Tengo. There is a small restaurant on site, in season, which has good, basic short order. Other local restaurants are sparse. Golfers will love Brookhaven located 5 miles south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Very nice campground, family friendly, lots of activities, very clean, and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$52
We've camped at Alpine Lake before and have always been satisfied with the site we had. It is a good size campground with several seasonal sites that are well maintained. There is a lot to do for the kids, plus some real good fishing. The only negative thing i could say was that i was very surprised to see how fast some of the seasonal campers drive in spite of the speed bumps. Overall, i would highly recommend Alpine Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
Calls itself a Resort and charges Resort prices. Our site had no cable and no WiFi. Over all a good campground but not enough services to call itself a resort or charge as much as it does. Way overpriced for the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
It was okay. Just like al the big Corp. Bottom line counts. Site was so-so. Nice lay out. Could not pick-up WiFi signal. Not a seniors park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
Years ago I rated this campground and gave it the highest rating. There seems to be a lack of security now. The quality of the campground itself seems to be suffering. The lake needs cleaning. You can not even take a boat out without your oar getting stuck on the undergrowth. It is run with a strickly business atmosphere. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
This was our first time at Alpine Lake, what a great campground. We didn't like the size of our first site so not only did they give us a new site but they gave us a choice from five and told us to just let them know which one we chose. We had a great time boating, fishing, swimming and just sitting by the fire. The employees were constantly driving around picking up garbage and cleaning the bathrooms. I even heard them telling kids to put on their helmets and to return to their sites during quiet time. My only complaint would be the other campers that do not watch their own kids, but I guess you will get that everywhere. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$54
Nice campground with lake front sites at a premium, a bit expensive. Was a little upset that our site had no cable hookup but we managed. A lot of seasonal sites and did not see many motorhomes. Electric current was very low when running A/C lowest reading was 104, be careful with low voltage. Overall good campground, with nice sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
The camp ground was clean and the staff was vary nice. That being said there were problems, the showers were pay showers and the water did not even get warm. The sites were to close together and to narrow. The pool was dirty on the first day we got there and that did not change the entire time. There was way to many golf carts and electric scooters running all over day and night. People on bikes with no lights after dark and children allowed to ride with out bike helmets. There is a list of rules but no one around to enforce them. No security at the entrance at all anyone could just come and go. We had gone out and come in after 10pm and no one even stopped us. They need to improve the width of the sites and get some security. That along with someone to be sure the rules they have are enforced and this could be a nice camp ground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$41
My family and I camped at this campground as first time RV users and found it to be very nice. We had a great time fishing, playing baseball, biking, and just sitting around the camp fire with friends. The other guests were absolutely great! We met many new friends. We look forward to returning to Alpine Lake Camping Resort soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
Alpine has the potential to be a spectacular park. Location is ideal..15 min. to Saratoga or to Glens Falls and Lake George area. That being said..we were told this year the "new owners"..were in process of selling campground, which may explain some inconsistantcies. While it is lovely...it is quite crowded...without any security. There were several problems of local teens running around at night raiding coolers for beer. No security to speak of..young kid (maybe 14) in booth during the day..no one after 9 pm. Grocery and office closed by 8 and sometimes by 6 pm. Eatery that had snacks and ice cream mysteriously closed at 6 pm..with signs indicating they were open until 9 pm..so go figure. No one available to answer questions as to why the amenities they mention in brochure are not available. We did not find 50 amp service..in fact office had sign on door not to use water heater and ac on electric at same time. Not enough power to the park. Only one area to shower in. Other bathrooms were OLD and not clean. Also...near the main showers..a really awful sewer smell..must be a leaching field or something that was backed up..could see sewer substance above ground in grass area. Can't imagine that's too sanintary..and it didn't exactly make you want to run over and use the shower facilities. We were there for 10 days..went to use laundry located in same really smelly area...and the machines were old and laundry area unkempt. This facility was in fact shut down..health dept issues just prior to our leaving. Don't have a problem using facilities in our 5th wheel anyway. The fishing was great. It is catch and release..and the fish were plentiful. Hudson and Sacandaga rivers also nearby. We kayak so this was a big draw to the campground. I think the place could be nice..but way too many things were going wrong..maybe in transition..but the store had absolutely no stock as far as grocery items either..and a roll of toilet paper was $6.00...may as well use dollar bills for the job! Biggest concern no security..and when other folks got loud in the evening there is no number to call. Guess if you have a problem..it's strictly 911..and hope you have a connection. We have stayed in quite few other RV resort type resorts in the area...and while this is very scenic..it lacks professionalism. Maybe if they sell new folks will do a better job and pull it together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
Under new management for the past 2 seasons. Rates have increased and service has decreased. Management is not helpful or responsive to needs. Have camped there for over 20 years and are lookoing for a new place to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
My family loved our stay at this campground! We stayed in site 234 which was right directly on Woodland Lake. We rented a rowboat for the week ($87) and went fishing all the time. One concern we had was that the sites are right on top of each other and there is not much privacy. The site map is not really reflective of the distance between sites (or should I say 'lack of distance between sites). When I reserved site 234, it appeared that site 235 was a little ways off, but it was right by us. There were four cars parked at that site, right by our camper. Very crowded! Another complaint was the fact that the dumpsters were way in the far corner of the campground; So if one had a site on our end of the campground, it was either biking or driving to the dumpster to throw out your garbage. The pool was nice but no lifeguard on duty so you swam at your own risk. There were many, many teenagers diving in the deep end and there was no staff around to correct this behavior. The staff in the store and office were very helpful but we never saw too many staff members floating around the campground making sure rules were followed. All in all it was a nice campground to visit if you enjoy fishing and rowboating, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, this is not the campground for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$40
We made a reservation based on some very good reviews of the campground and I have to say we were very disappointed. The bathroom closest to our site was dirty and in need of renovation. The showers are inadequate and located too far from a majority if the sites in the campground. Our site was un-level, muddy and loaded with exposed roots where our awning mat had to lay. Our site was big enough but the are plenty of others that are right on top of each other. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$45
We have travelled throughout the United States for the past several years in our Motorhome, visiting numerous RV parks in the process. We had the opportunity to visit Alpine Lake this past month and I must say, we were absolutely thrilled with everything that the park had to offer. From the amenities to the park staff, this park had it all. The location was just perfect since we had planned on visiting Lake George and Saratoga while in the area. The park was almost directly centered between the two destinations, with only a 15 minute drive to each. The park itself is beautiful, and immacultely maintained. Our children enjoyed the pools and lakes, however most of all, it was the enourmous playground that kept them happy. We will definitely return to Alpine Lake next year, and instead of only a few days, will spend a week there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$37
Based on earlier reviews, thought this would be a great place to camp while visiting the Saratoga area. Found sites were on top of one another and the bathrooms were old and not clean. Giving them the benefit of the doubt regarding mud and uneven sites due to unusual rainy summer, I still believe this place doesn't deserve a "10". For the positive, the roads were newly paved and the kids play area seemed new and clean. Would I camp here again, maybe but I wouldn't go our of my way. One further note, we arrived in the evening and the the signs directing you to your campsite were inadequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Nice campground but too crowded and way too many golf carts and electric scooters. Hated to walk around as you were always avoiding golf carts or scooters. Our site was a pull through which was not level and part washed away. Site was dirt which became mud when it rained. Would not go out of our way to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
The best RV park in the North East. I camp here every summer for two weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This park is by far the nicest I have ever been to. Just minutes to Lake George and Saratoga Springs. Many of the sites are lakefront. This is the best park in the Lake George area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
We have made this park our favorite. My son,daughter and husband love to fish. We stay right on the lake in the park. There are 2 pools, 3 playgrounds and lots of area to bike ride. We love the park and enjoy it everytime we go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com