217870 User submitted reviews online!!
Darien Lake Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (585) 599-2211
CGID1940

Darien Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
1465
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$250



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   8   5   7   9   10   9   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$250
I've stayed here in the past and had a wonderful experience. This past time I was not as impressed. They've changed the way you book the campsites. I used to be able to choose the sites, but this time it was by "tier" levels. I was really disappointed with the spot we were at. No trees. I felt it was quite a hike to the park even though it was a "top tier". One of the toilets in the bathroom was continually overflowing, and my daughter was quite upset when she used that bathroom and it overflowed. I suppose if I got to choose my spot I would not be as disappointed. Other than that, it is a nice spot to park and camp next to the amusement park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Arrived for our 2 day stay at site 96 (Saturday & Sunday). The power pole wasn't working. The picnic table in the middle of the RV parking site should have been a clue. Went back to the check-in station and asked to be moved. The head person said that because it was Saturday she couldn't move us, but she would send someone over from maintance to look at it. After 40 minutes no one showed, so we went back to the office to complain, but the office had closed. We ended up staying at a hotel. It looked like a few other sites may have had problems, i.e. the picnic table blocking the site. Be careful when picking your site because the registration office and maintance don't seem to be talking to each other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$90
Great park within the amusement park. So easy to go back and forth from fun to rest! Park is clean and sites are big. You can choose different locations with different features. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The rate was with a Darien Lake season pass. This park is beside Darien Lake resort theme park and because of this fact I give it a rating of 5, otherwise it would be lower. The few small bathhouses are entirely inadequate for a campground this size. In the morning there were always people waiting to use a toilet at the Lady’s room. Cleaning of the bathrooms was also entirely inadequate for facilities this heavily used. The water and electric sites in the woods are very large but there are lots of trees so big rigs are problematic in many sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$170
You pay for the convenience of being right at the amusement park; you can come and go all day long. Nightly rate quoted includes entrance for 4 people to the park. 75% of the units here are rentals; most renters aren't typical campers and don't always know camping etiquette. Wifi was spotty at best and our site had barely 20 amp service. We popped the breaker a few times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
Great experience would definitely be back again. People were great, the park was great too. Campgrounds are well maintained with many paved roads. The well water here is a bit skanky. I would bring your own potable water if possible. Fill the camper before you leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
An excellent campground for the entire family. This was the second time we have been there and brought 2 other families with us this past time. Large sites that are easy to get in and out of. The camp store has everything needed (and then some) for a great camping experience. Friendly staff are everywhere offering information and help if desired. They have the camping experience down to a science. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$94
Great value for the money. Stayed with 4 other families and had a fantastic time. Stay away from the wooded sites to the east; muddy hillside, we had to be moved. Great security, always around. All the staff were awesome and so friendly and helpful. Clean well tended grounds. Looking forward to going back ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is a nice campground at the park. We were able to get a season pass holders rate of $35.00 per night which included theme park tickets for 5 people. Excellent rate!! Downfall was that we took a tier 2 rate and the site was very unlevel and a bit of a walk to the park. Bathrooms needed a good cleaning. Campground's pool was taken out to make room for a roller coaster ride. With the campground pool gone campers have to walk through the amusement park to use the wave pool/water rides. A bit of a disappointment since we like to take a relaxing dip before bedtime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$70
Note that this is no longer a Six Flags Amusement Park. We stayed here during the Canadian Victoria Day long weekend just before Memorial Day. Campground is huge and it is clean overall. Nice campground to walk around. Biggest problem was the late night partying that went unchecked by Security - drunk people hooting and hollering well past 3:00 am. Thecampground staff were friendly but the park staff were rude and unhelpful. Watch out for their penny arcade games which I demonstrated to management were impossible to win. Park was opened on the Monday "especially for their Canadian guests" but they also hosted their annual high school science field trip day. The ride lineups were over two hours so we didn't bother staying beyond lunchtime. We would not likely come again except in the fall when the park is less busy. We were disappointed with this visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$80
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We stayed here in our tent trailer at site 395 last week. I would agree with a previous posting that you don't go here for the "camping experience". However, it is a great spot to stay while visiting the park. Con's - sites can be close together and are often not level. Bring lots of leveling blocks or wood! No privacy between sites. No fire rings. Pro's - bathrooms and showers were clean. There seemed to be always a crew outside ready to clean. We were in the shady area which provided good shade. Close to the amusement park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
THIS IS A NICE CAMPGROUND BECAUSE YOU CAN HAVE TOTAL ACCESS TO THE PARK FROM THE CAMPGROUND. YOU CAN COME AND GO AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED. THEY HAVE FIREWORKS AND LASER SHOWS ON THE WEEKENDS. THEY ALSO HAVE MUSIC ON FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHTS. IT IS A VERY AFFORDABLE TRIP FOR THE FAMILY. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$83
Enjoyed this campground very much. Not only can you enjoy a full Theme Park of roller coasters and water park rides, but it also has arcades and even shows such as laserlights and fireworks. I would stay in the back more if you like it quiet and up front more if you like the night life. The walk to the back is long, but i enjoyed the exercise. I could not do more to improve on it. Clean sites and full hookups. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$81
You aren't going to be backing into a Darien Lake Camp site thinking "Wow, what a great camp site!" We spent the night there because the park has a Halloween theme going on, and we thought the kids would enjoy it. We got a shaded site, which also means no grass. the bathrooms were pretty bad as well. On the positive side, the kids had a great time at the park, which was the main reason we went. If you're going camping at Darien Lake thinking you're going to get a great camping experience, you're going to be disappointed. The sites aren't great, the bathrooms are gross, and there can be parties going on late into the night (they do have a family section though, where we camped). If you go there just as a place to lay your head so you can go to the park for more than one day, it'll work though. On a side note, one thing that bothered us is that when we registered online to camp there, you have no say in what camp site you get! they randomly pick one for you when you get there. Next time we go there, we're thinking we're better off renting a camper that's already on site. the rental sites are much nicer, and with us being 3+ hours away, the cost of gas makes this a much more affordable idea. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
We live about 2 hours away from Six Flags Darien Lake. We've visited the theme park many times. This was our first time camping there. Our campgrround nightly rate was actually $125 for 4 people. This includes admission to the theme park for the duration of your stay. We find the Darien Lake personnel to be friendly and helpful. At one point, our 10 year old daughter slipped and skinned her knee fairly badly on the gravel. We didn't have bandages large enough to cover the wound. We called the first aid number and asked for a ride for her to the first aid station. An EMT showed up at our site within 3 to 4 minutes and had her cleaned and bandaged right at the site. Our site was not particularly clean. Used nylon ties, cigarette butts, beer bottle caps and small pieces of broken glass littered the site. We didn't find the glass until after set-up. The kids were put on clean-up detail. We left the site better than we found it. We got little sleep during the night. The site just behind us had a group of partying 25ish tenters. The party lasted the night. This was not the only party underway at the campground. We could hear others in the distance. Park management didn't seem to do anything to enforce quiet hours. We will not rate a park very highly at all if we can't get the sleep we need. We would rate the park higher if they would enforce quiet hours. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$77
My family camps here every year. Once in June before the season opens and in August when the season is at it's close. The kids bring their friends and the entire group has a great weekend. We usually camp in the back of the park and it's quiet and we don't have a lot of campers around us. It is a bit to walk to the park but it's quiet and the lights and noise from the park is not as loud. This is our third year at Darien Lake and we will continue to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$75
This CG is located within the theme park and is HUGE (1200 sites). The pluses: part of fun theme park, clean bathhouses, shady sites, huge pool, well-stocked store, family restaurant. The minuses outweigh the positives unfortunately: Sites in much of the CG are bare dirt and rocky, hookups can be yards away- bring long extension cords and hoses, no firepits- find some stones and make your own, trash left on our site from previous occupant. Very loud at night - there is a concert ampitheater also at the park and after the concerts are done, the people come back to their sites and PARTY! No enforcement at all of quiet hours, we didn't get to sleep til after 2 am. The price you pay is usually part of a package for the theme park and the CG, it is part of a big corporation (Six Flags) so this is NOT a homey type CG. However, the kids in the group loved being so close to the theme park. Next time I'd stay at the state park nearby! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com