206518 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Lazy River was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (845) 255-5193
CGID1950

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Lazy River

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$67



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   2   9   9   4   10   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$67
I have stayed here many years Memorial Day weekend and this had to be the worst. There was no hot water for 2 days, had to call several times to have the bathrooms cleaned, no soap for two days and bathrooms were disgusting to say the least. Paid for WiFi and still could not connect. Not sure why they would not have kayak rentals or snack bar open on one of the busiest weekends of the year which is terrible. Candy bar bingo was terrible instead of doing more games they gave out 18 to 35 pieces of candy for the winner which with the amount of people there do more games the place was packed. Staff is extremely rude we paid top dollar for this weekend but yet they do not give you anything that the summer campers get (snack bar, kayaks, pedal carts) They definitely cater to the seasonal and the golf carts flying around there from the seasonals are so dangerous. I have been going here for at least 4 years but I have to say after this weekend it is my last trip there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$67
Great setting on the river, well maintained and a good mixture of seasonal and transient sites. We stayed one night on our way south, enjoyed the park for the time we were there and would return for a longer stay. Definitely big rig friendy as the roads around the park are wide and easy to negotiate with our 40 foot four slide RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$67
We have stayed at many jellystone parks and this by far has to be the worst. From the moment I checked in i got a bad vibe. The check person was unfriendly rude and acted like i was bothering him. The rental place (for bike and kayaks) opens and closes when it feel it like(supposedly it an outside operator). You get nickel and dimed to death. The WIFI was $5 a day. The golf carts are dangerous, often speeding, and kids driving them. It seems the staff would rather have seasonal campers over the weekend people. The only "YOGI" theme is the signs with the characters pictures, I have to young kids (2 and 5) and we saw Yogi once a day. They have a lot of nerve calling this place a Jellystone park. The only plus sides are the place is pretty, the recreation staff is nice. The level sites have plenty of gravel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$67
We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. The sites are level, campground is clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Has two pools: one more for kids than the other, great camp store, has everything you could possibly need. Plenty of activities for kids and relaxing for adults too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$47
Very nice park. We were the only campers here. They do have a few seasonal campers here tho. Wife used the washers and a couple didn't work. She also said the floor is sinking! They need to fix the laundry room but the rest of the park looks to be in great shape. We had site 153 so had great satellite and good Verizon with our amplifier on. Their price of $4.95 for Wi-Fi usage is to high. Glad we didn't have to pay it. Nice place without the summer crowds. Would stay here again in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
$55.00 for W/E (30AMP) in an open grass field was very high. Has no sewer and no cable TV. We were considered in the "overflow" area. WiFi was a $4.95 per day fee. Of course we did not pay. (In Canada it was free at all the campgrounds we stayed in.) In order to get to the dump, once we were out of the EXIT gate, we had to unhook our toad and back the motorhome up to the dump. Very poor arrangement for the placement of the dump. Guess since they were one of 2 campgrounds in the area, they could charge what they wanted. This place was CROWDED. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Mothers Day weekend was great, even though the weather wasn't the greatest. Has great staff, it's pet friendly and very clean. I can't wait to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
One of the cleanest parks I've been to. Great place for families. Activities galore. Pools and snack bar are great. I have and will continue to recommend this place to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$60
A beautiful, well maintained park. Activities galore, especially for kids. Snack bar near the pools, mini golf, horseshoes, kayak rental, and more. Well stocked store, helpful staff, and friendly owners. Only negative comment I can make is, it's expensive. Having an overnight guest will cost you $20! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$70
This is a well maintained campground and we camp there annually every Columbus Day. It has a lot to offer for families and the Halloween weekend was a blast. However, the 2 reasons I can't give a higher rating is the high holiday rate and their reservation policy, because each year it changes. We used to reserve the same sites each year, if we booked them before we checked out. This year, other campers we able to reserve our sites without giving us the option. When asked why the change in policy, the owners insisted it was always that way, and it did not matter that we've been camping there for years. It seemed that they did not appreciate their loyal customers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
I usually give this campground two thumbs up but thie experience started off very bad. I camp here every year at least three times a year and usually with a group of friends and family. We were promised the be together upon arrival and that didn't happen.. The person in the office was extremely rude. I would be embarrassed to have a guy like this working for me. It took the owner of the park to have my family moved. He on the other hand was very helpful. I will not camp there as long as this person works there. Believe me I will ask before making new reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Our site #112 was not ready upon arrival. Employees and staff were rude and nasty. Seasonal campers were friends of the staff and allowed to curse at incoming campers, kick kids from the pool and generally disregard the rules. Be careful of staff and other campers speeding excessively through the grounds with golf carts. Only friends of staff are allowed tents at their sites. Would never go back or recommend this place. Horrible experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
I gave this campground a 6 because it does my number one pet peave of any campground. It nickel and dimes you for everything it can. I paid $75 a night and they wanted me to pay $5 a day for wifi? I thought that was ridiculous. The hotel down the street was advertising $59 a night and free wifi. They also advertise all of these great events for kids. What they don't tell you is that you have to pay for all of them. Some are $2 and some are $10. But they should all be included for $75 a night. Especially the mini-golf. They wanted $2 per person and the course looked like it hadn't been touched by a broom in a year. There are many sites along the river but they were all used by seasonals. Don't advertise it if you can't provide it to non-seasonals. On the bright side, it was quiet and it had a nice big field to play in. But that is not enough to make up the difference. I will only stay here again if I needed to stay in this area (which I probably won't). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
Once again, this campground did not disappoint. Level sites, the pull thrus are large and shaded. Easy campground to bike on for the kids. Added bonus this year is that they installed cable - which worked out well for us during a thunderstorm. Some of the sites got flooded from the intense rains, but the water appeared to recede quickly. Campground is extremely well kept, clean, people are friendly. I found management eager to answer our questions and helpful in the store. We had a blast and our son has the time of his life there each time we've gone. This has turned into our favorite campground - we look forward to going many more times here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$56
The campground was nice. We stayed in a pull through site because this was our first time out with our pop up trailer and wanted to be close to the bathrooms and playground. Sites were average size. Not too much cover between you and the next campsite, but it was OK to us. Bathrooms were clean, the general store was well stocked, and the staff were nice. Next time I will stay in a back in site on the river as these sites were larger and had nicer scenery. All in all, besides the fact that they were a little expensive ($56 a night), the park was great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
We have been camping here for years. Every time my son gets stung by a bee, this time he was stung twice. The pools are nice. We love the Tiki Bar and Candy Bar Bingo. One guy not sure if he is an owner or just a security guy make a rude comment that "parents should be given test just as drivers". I'd like to see him handle an Autistic child that gets stung by a bee. I was offended by that comment. If this park wasn't so nice I probably wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$61
Nice Park - we arrived VERY late yet a staff was able to meet us at the entrance and assist us with backing the trailer in. We did reserve a site with W/E/S but when we got there we were given a W/E site - the next day they did apologize for the mistake. The pools were nice - and the sky divers ( a regular occurrence at this campground) was a neat sight to see. We have stayed at previous Yogi Bear Campgrounds and this one was good - but a few improvements are needed - activities for the kids would be a nice a addition. We would stay here again, when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$61
We just came back from camping here for the first time. This park was a great surprise to us - never having camped Yogi before, we didn't know what to expect. We went Thurs-Sunday. We will def. be going back. It is on the expensive side, but if you get a Yogi card, you get 10% off the rate. When we got there on Thurs. afternoon, we and another site were the only two there (other than seasonals, but they weren't there yet). We literally had the run of the campground - peaceful and quiet. No cable - and the reception even just to find a news station for weather is non-existent. WiFi is available, bit slow, but available. The campground was only 25% full for the weekend, so there was a lot of room. And, the campground was immaculate. Very, very clean - well kept seasonals and well kept grounds. The staff was very accommodating, very nice. The owners are great - took pictures, checked to see how our stay was, etc. It was 96 degrees yesterday and today - kind of rare in upstate NY/CT area this time of year, so the only drawback was that the Tiki Bar/Snack Bar wasn't open (late june) and I suspect that because the river was low so the kayaks weren't available for rent. No big deal w/ us - less money to spend! I was a bit annoyed that the 2nd pool wasn't open because it was shocked yesterday morning. Oh, well. So, we only had one pool - better than none when it's hot! Enjoy watching parachuters jump right over the campground daily. Folks are really nice here - we will definitely go back - longer stay next time when all is open. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$59
This is a very nice park--big sites, lots of trees, and very clean. I would give it a higher rating except that I think the price is very high, considering the following: (1)There was no cable TV and it is too far from anything to get any reception with an antenna. It rained hard for 36 hours out of the four days we were there so it would have been nice to be able to watch television; (2)they have two swimming pools but it was not possible to actually swim in either because they were both completely filled with young children. With two pools, I don't understand why they don't make one an "adults only" pool--even if only for a couple of hours a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Great park if you have kids. Two playgrounds, endless activities and nice sites. The only downfall is the pool was over crowded. Besides that A-OK. I would go back tomorrow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
This campground is family friendly, with lots of activities for the kids to do. There are two pools, one of which is heated. There is a river to fish, swim, and kayak in. Camp store is well stocked. Campsites are large, level and well accommodating. Only downfall is price. Would recommend this campground to all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$59
CG is clean, safe, and well maintained. i.e. Everything you'd expect from Jellystone brand. Sites are shady and level. Pools were clean and store was well stocked. If you're looking for a destination for a couple of days, this is a good choice. I only rate it a 6 because there is nothing else in the area and it's 20 miles of country roads to get to the CG. It's not a good choice if you're just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$59
We fell in love with this campground. The pull thru sites were large and roomy, the campgrounds were neat, litter free, and well groomed grounds. We stayed for 5 days and it was peaceful and quiet. We just wish there were more campgrounds like this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
My whole family loved this campground. It was just pure fun for the little ones. There were so many things for my 5 and 2 year old to do including face painting, ceramics, a Mothers Day craft, a dance party, hayrides and candy bar BINGO. There was a big open field with a really nice playground. Out site was right along the field and was level with great views. Perfect for young kids and all the amenities that adults look for as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$59
We've been camping here for 8 years. The campgrounds is approximately 8.5 miles off of Exit 18, New York State Thruway. It has excellent amenities to include: 2 pools, one of which is heated, game room, Yogi Bear Tiki Snack Shack, recreation hall, laundry-mat, 2 playgrounds, mini-golf, basketball, shuffleboard, baseball, horseshoes, volleyball and a well stocked campgrounds store. The restrooms/showers are very well kept and extremely clean! Free WIFI is also available. The campground has 200+ sites which include pull thru and back-in sites as well as tent sites and cabin rentals. Sites have either 30 amp or 50 amp service. You need to book in advance in the summer as it tends to book up. It is family owned and very family oriented. Daily activities during the summer months and themed weekends April thru October. This campgrounds is a sure bet and I would highly recommend it to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$52
This is a nice campground but very crowded. Their site map on the web site doesn't show about 35 tent sites on the center ball field. Everything was very crowded the weekend we were there. Some of the sites are pretty large, others are fairly small. The better sites, by far, are the seasonal sites. It is beyond me how Trailer Life could rate this as one of the top 20 campgrounds in the US & Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$55
This park has plenty of activities for the family (hay rides, mini-golf, 2 swimming pools, etc). If you are looking for a quiet park, this is not the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$45
This was a very nice park with good sized sites and great family recreation activities. Wide open spaces and the nearby river added to the scenic beauty. Price seemed a bit steep but the facilities (pool, mini-golf, store, etc.) were great and the staff was wonderful. We stayed in late September during the first of their Halloween weekend events and our children loved the early trick-or-treating that was going on. Would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$47
One set of showers listed on their map no longer existed. Only one main set of eight showers were available for the entire campground-a long walk. Of the eight showers, three did not work, one had no nozzle and all had only cold water. The management was unaware of this and office not open until 9:00 AM. We were able to get hot water by 10:30 AM, but had to inquire several times. Very expensive $47 and very overrated. This charge was in May, when swimming pools would not be used. Did not see any showers by pool to use before swimming!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$35
First time we've stayed at a Jellystone park & only did so because we had a funeral to go to in Connecticut & this was the only park that had space available on short notice. Site was 40' wide, clean & level. Park was well maintained & fairly easy to get to, about 15 miles from I-84. Rates for our pull thru with elecrtic(30 amp)/w/s was $30 during week, $40 for weekend. Despite the high rate, we would stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com