221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Deerpark / New York City NW KOA (Was American Family Campground) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (845) 754-8388
CGID1952

Deerpark / New York City NW KOA (Was American Family Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   2   5   5   4   7   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Staff was friendly and sites had a great number of cable channels. The reason for the low rating is due to poor electric. Stayed for 1 week and my surge protector shut off the power 3 times because was below 100 volts. Talked to maintenance and said all sites were like this (we had a 30 amp site). Said to switch icebox and water heater to propane to conserve electricity. The best voltage I had during the week was 110 volts. When ran microwave it dropped to 102 volts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$54
This is an average park really. We only stayed a night, but it was a loud night until 1 am: which was expected from the look of the park when entering at 7pm. Staff seemed friendly, but the only interaction we had was at check-in. Didn't see any security or maintenance crew. Stayed until check-out time the next day. The morning was nice and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$58
We stayed there for 6 days and will never go back. The showers were so filthy, 4" of mildew on the bottom of the shower curtain, and broken tiles on the floor. "Cleaning" the bathroom consisted of sweeping the floor once a week. The pool was in disrepair, and the mini golf was a joke. Even though they say quiet time is at 11:00, our neighbors had us up until 4:00 am and there was nobody there to enforce it. The "wooded" sites were on a field of grass. No wonder they don't have many pictures on the website. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Our weekend getaway with our motor home was enjoyable. This campground has paved and dirt roads. We selected a site adjacent to the river with no hookups. There are tall mature trees throughout the campground. We utilized the pool and it was ok. We also utilized the driving range on site, which was nothing more than just an open field. We did enjoy putting our beach chairs in the river while reading our books. The river was clean and clear unlike many others that are muddy. Sites by the river can be out of level (take caution) and are a mix of grass and dirt. Happy Camping! C J We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
We stayed at AFC over Mother's Day weekend and were disappointed about a few things. Cons: -Store was not fully stocked. The worst thing was they had no ice, which we assumed we would be able to buy. They said it was because they are not usually this busy this early in the season, so I guess that's understandable, but if you are going to be open, things like ice should be available. -The water at my father in law's site was not turned on yet, so someone had to come out and turn it on. -My sister in law was supposed to stay in a cabin, but they got in late and by the time we found the cabin in the dark (no numbers posted to identify cabins)they found the electric was not turned on, so she and her kids slept in the motorhome with my in laws. When they complained to the man in the office the next morning, he refused to refund their money for the night. They never did stay in the cabin after that. -There were many seasonal trailers and motorhomes in very bad shape. That's a turn-off to me. -The pond and stream were in pretty bad shape. -The bathrooms near our site were not clean and full of spider webs and active bee hives. -They charge $5.00 per dog per night, so it ended up costing us $48.00 a night. Pros: -Our site was next to a grassy field, so the kids had plenty of room to play football and whiffle ball without bothering anyone. -The pool, which was not quite open yet,was heated and very warm. The man in the store changed his tune a bit and offered to let the kids swim even though the pool wasn't totally cleaned yet. -The store had plenty of firewood, thank goodness. We went through the bundle we brought from home, so we were happy to be able to have our campfire going. -The kids had fun catching (and releasing) frogs and tadpoles. -They are now offering free WiFi, which is great, but the signal was pretty low. They said they were having problems with it. But it worked well enough. Bottom line: I have been to many campgrounds before the official Memorial Day kick-off and they always have things in order when they open for business. I guess they count on their seasonals for income, so they don't worry so much about the weekend visitor at AFC. We might give it another try during the season, but the rates will be higher at that point, so I would expect the place to be in much better shape then. I am willing to give them the benefit of the doubt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Excellent brochure and ad, not so great campground. Not suitable for large motorhomes due to soft, moist grass sites. Many children. Good for families with children, not too fussy about facilities. Definitely lower end campground, not RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$57
All and all, my family had fun here. Here are some pros and cons as I saw them: Pros: FREE BBQ dinner Saturday night, and continental B’fast Monday morning, (4th of July Weekend). Very nice! Also, some pretty views of the river and some mountains, but not at my site. We enjoyed the free arts and crafts for the kids, hayrides, dance party with live entertainment, bonfire, & bingo (small fee). Small playground area that my kids liked. There was a nice, little stream in which my kids went looking for (and finding) frogs. Newspaper delivered on site each morning, and garbage pick up each afternoon. Cons: Tiny pool in which it felt like the entire campground wanted to squeeze into. Way too much chlorine, yuck. And speaking of yuck, the bathrooms were just horrible. I don’t think the floors have seen a mop in months, and don’t get me started on the showers... (Just don’t forget your flip-flops!) Also, the toilet paper ran out consistently all weekend. Overall, a good time was had by all, and if you have an RV with the built in bathroom, you won’t have much to worry about. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
This campground has been trying to recover from some severe flood damage from the past couple of years. We stayed on a site that was just recently back filled and had some deep tractor tire ruts in it. The owners took care of the problem right away and also added some extra sand for a wet area as well. Looking at the pictures they have posted at the Rec. hall of the flooding, I'm impressed with their progress.We had fun and would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$37
Slightly below average campground with average facilities. In all due respect, the campground was flooded this spring and they are still trying to repair facilites. The price was a surprise, since it was listed much lower on their website ($32.00). We had one dog and found that this campground charges $5.00 per night per dog. Our friends in a motorhome called ahead about one hour before they arrived and were quoted a rate of $28 per night. They had two dogs on board and were charged $42 a night. They never did find out why the difference. I asked why the pets are charged $5.00 and I was told "the owner doesn't want dogs in the campground because some of the pet owners don't clean up and leave additional work for the employees". I understand and agree with him that some pet owners spoil the pot for everyone, but I think that the camper should be informed before he arrives not after. If you have pets you should be aware that it is going to cost you more if you stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$55
They are recovering nicely from the flood in April. Some roads are not paved yet and there is a lot of sand from the river, but they are fully operational. They provide a FREE BBQ dinner for RVers staying 3 nights and lots of FREE activities for the kids (paddle boat races, craft, etc). Owners are friendly and helpful. Great park for the kids to ride their bikes; large field for softball or kites; BINGO on Sat/Sun; propane for a good price. GREAT FAMILY FUN! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
On the rebound from a devistating flood in April!! Very clean well kept campground. The owners and employees are great. We will stay here again for sure!! Lots of weekend activities during the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$44
This place has theme weekends; ours was "Thanksgiving", even though it was the middle of June. For no extra charge, you got: a turkey dinner (mashed potatoes, stuffing, etc), pie and coffee for dessert, kids craft and hot apple/cherry pies over the fire! We had site #52 (no shade), but since it was open we pulled-thru instead of backing in. You can rent tubes to go down the easy, slow Neversink River. I heard the pool is heated in the fall. I was told the only non-seasonal full hookup sites were: 40B, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 and 54. Their store has a good amount of supplies and snacks. We plan to go back with the extended family - - it was GREAT! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$34
Friendly staff, some seasonals, who were also friendly. Older campground. Very large sites and easy to back into. Will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com