206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Herkimer KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (315) 891-7355
CGID1960

Herkimer KOA

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   2   7   1   8   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
This KOA is the most friendliest place to stay. There is a ton of things for the kids and family to do. It is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. From the time you check in until the time you leave, they are very eager to make sure your stay is pleasant. We have stayed here many times over the past 3 years, and have always been very happy and can't wait to return. This is a must try for the family: worth every minute. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
First, the good. This park has a lot of sites right on the river, nice setting. Now, the rest of the story. Another KOA that could be much better with a little work. Unpaved roads and dirt site, can you say messy? Some sites do have gravel, why not all of them. The sites are very tight, if we had had neighbors with slides, our awning would have been unusable. Some sewer connections were under the picnic table of the next site. Water quality was good, but the pressure was very low. No escort to site, but they are well marked. Restroom floors were muddy and wet. I doubt the shadow of my rig will darken their driveway again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
We stay at KOA's often. This was by far the worst we have stayed at. We pulled into a muddy spot.We asked to move and were charged extra for it instead of having a move out of courtesy. Bathrooms were dirty. The campground very buggy. There is not much here. A nice pool was the only plus. We won't return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This park is a very nice clean park on the West Canada Creek near Middleville, NY. It is very well kept up and has some great fishing and kayaking on the West Canada. There is also an excellent Restaurant (Cyrstal Chandelier) located across the highway for enjoyable eating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
This is the worst KOA we have stayed at, ever. We have been camping over 30 yrs and I have never been so upset about a place. This is geographically half way between us and our grandchildren. We get them for a week in the summer. So we stayed here last year, there were flies galore, and we were told this was not the norm. So we reserved again this year, one month in advance. I wanted full hook ups. We get there and they did not have our reservation, and put is in a field, next to a diesel pusher. OMG the smell from that (the black water) was unbearable. We left early. And again the flies. We had made reservations for the next weekend at the same time so we were all set for 2 wks. We get there and they put us in the same spot. I had requested a specific area and was told ok, no problem. The flies were back, and we ended up not staying. I will never go back to this area again and make sure I tell everyone what a lousy place this is. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
After reading some reviews on this park we were a bit concerned. Not to worry, we found this park and staff excellent. Had a fair size pull through spot close to pool and playground. The diamond mine was a big hit, and Cooperstown only 40 minutes away, a very scenic drive. If we could improve anything it would be the playground, as its rather old. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
We had some problems on initial check-in. We booked through KOA's reservation system and booked a site along the river. When we got there they put us in a new site that is not even on their map. These back up to the large open playing field. Since my reservation confirmation paper from KOA stated that I had a river site, they moved us. Unfortunately, this site had some sewer problems and had backed up recently. The lime around the dump pipe and general area told the story. We did not complain and stayed on this site. On the third day we needed to dump our galley but could not because the dump pipe was plugged. They were very quick to respond on a Sunday evening and fixed the problem quickly. The only other problem I see are the rest rooms. They are old and in need of some general repair. One of the toilets kept clogging up but they said that was going to be fixed. Overall, this is a very nice campground. Large sites that are especially pretty along the river. The staff is nice and attentive to your needs. Please be aware that when you book your site to specify if you want to pull in or back in. If you book a pull in site, you may not be able to get your tow vehicle out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Went here for the first time last year. Had requested a cable site but was given one without. Registered via website for this year for several trips. When I called to check on the reservation I found that I was not put riverside as requested. The clerk corrected that. I would suggest reserving over the phone so you can confirm things. Other than that it was nice and clean. Friendly. It is a small campground but the stream side sites are lovely. I never saw anything broken down or not maintained. Am definitely going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
The staff at Herkimer KOA was great. They guided us to our site and made sure we were positioned just right. The Diamond Mines across the street was a great place to visit and really made this campground unique. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Great campground. As promised. Good clean area. helpful staff. Diamond mine is right across. We did not use the river. Hoopkups were effortless. Easy to navigate. We liked it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
The Campground was immaculately clean. Services, Staff, Facilities, all were outstanding. The adjacent restaurant was excellent. The price for dinner for two entrees came to less than thirty dollars. The food and service were excellent. The Owners of the campground made themselves known to us, checked on our needs and site, and really made us feel welcome. We only stayed one night as we were just passing through the area but we are definitely returning for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Park is very convenient to the Herkimer Diamond Mines and major roadways. Sites are very cramped and power poles are shared between sites. One camper will have to back in and the neighbor has to pull in, making it very difficult to position. West Canada Creek was in the back window of our neighbor, but because we had to pull in, we had a view of the construction crews as they were setting up new sites. There was heavy equipment noise all weekend. We had to leave the truck hooked up as we did not have room to pull out from under the fifth wheel and swing the truck out. All in all after the construction is done I am fairly sure that this park will be nice enough other than the parking problems with shared utilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
My family really enjoyed our stay, at this campground. My only negative, for the whole experience, was that there was no fire ring or picnic table available (do to expanding their campsite). A few of their many positives were: location (right across the road from the diamond mines), the very friendly staff, very kid friendly, and very clean. I would highly recommend visiting the Herkimer KOA in Herkimer, NY. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2005
$37
Did not like this campground at all. Seasonal sites looked like a run down trailer park! River sites so close we could not open our awning. Huge boulders along roads make it VERY difficult to maneuver in and out of spaces. Will NOT go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
We stayed here in September in a camping cabin. When we arrived at our cabin the area was littered with garbage from the previous renters. It was on the ground, in the fire pit and the grill. The campground was nearly empty due to it being after Labor Day, so we had a chance to walk around the sites, finding many of them also littered. I would not want to tent camp here or stay in a cabin again because the sites are way too close together. The one bright spot here was the staff. They were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
I agree with all of the above positive comments (and none of the negative ones) and would add that sleeping right next to a flowing stream is most restful. However, donít go there to do email or internet: the WIFI connected for 2 minutes, then quit. Even by relocating to the laundry room as suggested, the signal strength was poor and the network wouldnít pass any data. (I didnít ask for a refund of my $5.00 internet fee because it did give me my email during the initial 2 minutes.) This is one of our favourite parks, but sitting in the laundromat and batting flies while their network malfunctions isnít my idea of a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
During the time we stayed they had a camp for kids there and the pool was used by them from 1-4 pm. They were having trouble with the power that caused brownouts and some sites had no power for awhile. On the last night we were there we were forced to move because the camp kids were having a campout in the cabins and needed the space across from them which was our space. The camp staff was nice and tried to do the right thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
Was not very happy with this Campground. The site I had was small and cramped. The electrical hook up was so out of the way it to a 50 foot power cord just to hook up. The roads in this place were horrible and there are huge rocks accross from each site which almost make it impossible to manoeuver your truck in order to back your trailer in. This is the first and last time I will stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$40
I camped here over the Memorial Day weekend and saw only a few seasonal with porches as mentioned above. I walked the entire park several times and saw nothing that seemed rundown at all. I will say that the people here have been the friendliest of all the campgrounds we have been to thus far. We frequent the northeast CG's so we like places such as Normandy Farms and Lake George Escape. We found Herkimer KOA to be little bit nicer in that it was smaller and friendlier. The CG personnel were always happy and polite. The "diamond" mine was a big hit with the kids and they found a few gems. The river is perfect for tubing. We had one of the river front sites. They are a little bit narrow but you can't beat the view and the relaxation. They had several events for families and children during the weekend. My kids have made this their favorite CG. The only downside I could come up with is that the bathrooms are little outdated - they are clean but could use a little upgrade. We joked that if you took the bathrooms from Normandy Farms and put them in the Herkimer KOA, it would be the perfect park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
Mixed feelings about this park. The trees need to be trimmed which makes access difficult to some sites. The mine was fun and the park is well maintained and clean. The riverfront sites are side by side hook ups and very narrow. Not much privacy. This is the first KOA we have been to which lets the seasonals keep all their junk around (plywood trailer skirts, wood porches, wood piles, sheds, golf carts, fences, lawn junk, extra propane bottles) and it looks like a trailer park look in places. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$40
A terrific family park for a fun weekend of diamond mining or tubing down the West Canada Creek. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com